Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email Niamh on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
New AMA with a US police officer (he's back!). You can ask your questions here

Rules question - taking incorrect relief

  • 10-08-2020 6:02pm
    #1
    Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭ billy3sheets


    In a recent competition, one of my playing partner's ball ended up under a tree but in a shallow rabbit hole. I suggested he could take relief from the rabbit hole but was unsure what the relief was. He took 2 club lengths without penalty and was able to play the ball.
    After the round, I looked it up and it transpires that no relief would be allowed as the ball was already unplayable under the tree.
    Now, this player has won a prize in the competition.
    What should happen here?
    a. Nothing as the relief was agreed with the group
    b. A 1 shot adjustment to his score as penalty for the unplayable lie
    c. DQ for signing for the wrong score


Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭ tax_tutor1


    Based on information set out- no relief due therefore should have taken relief under penalty and disqualified as he has signed for lower score than he actually scored.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭ DuckSlice


    I think if he was able to take a stance at the ball then he should get relief. Was the tree preventing him from taking a stance to the ball?


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭ enfant terrible


    In a recent competition, one of my playing partner's ball ended up under a tree but in a shallow rabbit hole. I suggested he could take relief from the rabbit hole but was unsure what the relief was. He took 2 club lengths without penalty and was able to play the ball.
    After the round, I looked it up and it transpires that no relief would be allowed as the ball was already unplayable under the tree.
    Now, this player has won a prize in the competition.
    What should happen here?
    a. Nothing as the relief was agreed with the group
    b. A 1 shot adjustment to his score as penalty for the unplayable lie
    c. DQ for signing for the wrong score

    Did he think he could hit it where is laid?

    Sounds similar to this
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZywNB9MjZe8&t=169s


  • Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭ Russman


    Just had a brief search in the rules app for this and it might be a bit grey.
    Rule 20.2E says normally a penalty must not be added or corrected after a competition has closed bla, bla....

    And then goes on to say a player must be DQ’d even after a competition has closed if they returned a score lower than what was taken on a hole, for any reason other than not including penalty shots that, before the competition closed, the player didn’t know about.

    Could it be argued that your player didn’t know about the penalty ?


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭ bren2001


    Under a tree is really not specific enough. Its rule 16.1 and he would not be given a free drop if he was unable to make a stroke due to the tree. Its one clublength not two.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭ billy3sheets


    etxp wrote: »
    I think if he was able to take a stance at the ball then he should get relief. Was the tree preventing him from taking a stance to the ball?

    Absolutely. Thick conifer type.


  • Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭ billy3sheets


    bren2001 wrote: »
    Under a tree is really not specific enough. Its rule 16.1 and he would not be given a free drop if he was unable to make a stroke due to the tree. Its one clublength not two.

    It would definitely have been an unplayable lie. It would have superceded the rabbit hole and a penalty should have been applied.
    It was sorta thought of as a lucky break that it was in the rabbit hole. But no one definitely knew the rule at the time.


  • Registered Users Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭ PARlance


    What's a "shallow" rabbit hole? I can imagine a few using that one.


  • Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭ billy3sheets


    PARlance wrote: »
    What's a "shallow" rabbit hole? I can imagine a few using that one.

    It was about an inch deep and 4 inches wide but was clearly scraped out. Ball was sitting right in the middle of it. As opposed to a rabbit burrow.


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭ RoadRunner


    Ha, is he a buddy of yours? If not he might not put his name down beside yours again :P

    1) You told him he could have relief.
    2) He took it.
    3) He won comp.
    4) You're trying to DQ him :D


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 25,534 ✭✭✭✭ GreeBo


    PARlance wrote: »
    What's a "shallow" rabbit hole? I can imagine a few using that one.

    It's about 5 ants deep..


  • Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭ billy3sheets


    RoadRunner wrote: »
    Ha, is he a buddy of yours? If not he might not put his name down beside yours again :P

    1) You told him he could have relief.
    2) He took it.
    3) He won comp.
    4) You're trying to DQ him :D

    Not a buddy but I know him and don't want to fall out with him. I stand to gain nothing from him losing his prize. :D


Advertisement