Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭tobey

There never coming back. They must be supergrasses. Who else is in a position to tell tales om both sides of the deals. Where they got it and where they sent it. Byrne was given up as a token to make the guards look good and buy them time while the dea and guards kept building intell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Brian rattigan analyst

What’s Brian rattigan up to these days? I mean does no one else find Brian the most fascinating Irish criminal ever? You are talking about someone who served a life sentence from their early 20’s and is living in Spain only in their early 40’s two decades later. I can’t imagine how that would effect someone’s development. I mean has he ever been abroad before? Ordered food in a restaurant before? Slept with many women? i can’t even imagining someone with that history even being able to function in normal society but he seems to be doing ok.

considering his gang was essentially dead and buried, not to mention his rivals became one of the biggest cartels in the word…it’s amazing to think 20 years later somehow his rival faction are essentially mostly dead or locked up and now he is the one free to live his life. What a twist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Not sure what he’s up to but he wouldn’t be going to mass everyday. Brian lived an indulgent enough life for a yob’s standard with at least one woman before his arrest for the Gavin murder. Life hasn’t changed that much. He had access to phones and the internet behind bars, which he used to direct a criminal organization from the moment he went in until the moment he came out. If he uses his brains, he won’t grow his operation and everyone stays happy. It’s his volatility that will, if anything see him behind bars again. His cocaine intake will be a factor in that, if he’s currently using. The ladies won’t be queuing up for him if he’s still wearing that colostomy bag. Purposely displaying a medal showing his brother’s face upon his release was widely construed as a message that payback was coming for his murder. Time will tell. Both Paul Warren and Paddy Doyle who were chief suspects in the murder are long dead, with Freddie looking at a serious stretch also suspected at one point to have had direct involvement in the hit. I’d bank on him not lasting too many years before he’s back behind bars for the remainder of his days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Padraic Joyce is still in charge down there. Got them to the final last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭RoosterCogburn

Nobody is "running Galway", Organised crime is very disorganized, smaller crews get supplied by larger crews and there's hundreds all over this small country, there's countless sole traders and crews you will never hear of making money every week and keeping the head low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I'll have to pull you up on that. I made my first million selling filofaxes to the mafia in NY back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭RoosterCogburn

He's a drug dealer that went to prison for stabbing a lad outside a takeaway, he's literally no different than any other knacker living that life, he's a bit smarter than the average criminal when he's not coked out of his mind, the "king ratt" moniker is pure media talk, he's king of nothing except a small group of lads loyal to him, not sure where your fascination would lie, from what I hear he's in bits since he got out

I’m sure he’s no angel or scholar but I do think his story is a bit more interesting than the typical Irish criminal. His back couldn’t have been more up against the wall. I mean at 23 we are all dopes and have no real life experience. But to get out twenty years later with no sense of the world and basically have to move abroad straight away? Was he given any help in adjusting to release life?Just as a pure human experience I find the whole thing fascinating. Not saying he’s a good bloke or anything.

In what way is he in bits now? Spending too much time trying to make up for lost time is it? Could you elaborate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭john boye

Brian Rattigan Analyst? You can't be that good at it if the extent of your analysis is coming on here to ask what he's up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭Hoboo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭john boye

Gotta start somewhere I guess

Yeah I’m working on it.

Yeah I’m working on it. Just starting off give me a break. I should have went with something like “Brian Rattigan student” or “Brian rattigan enthusiast” but I need to be objective with my research and didn’t want to pick a name making me seem like a supporter or bias.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭juno10353

Is this gangland related?

Gardaí probe people linked to mysterious disappearance of Cork man earlier this month  https://jrnl.ie/6171687

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭MickyPearse

Don't think the Kinahans ever took sides in the Drimagh/Crumlin feud. They were probably supplying both sides during it

I’m not certain who was supplying Thompson’s side, but I would suspect it was the Kinahans. However, John and Noel Roche’s family had their own international suppliers, with one of the aforementioned siblings meeting with South American cartel members as a young teenager to oversee deals, so that’s most likely where the Rattigan supply originated in the early days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Updaparish

Speaking of which Sunday world have an article out today about Craig white being released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Updaparish

There was never much in the press about the Roche's other than what happened to both brothers. I lived in Harold's Cross in the late 90s and did hear some stories about them.

One of them was there for both the Gavin murder and the Warren hit if I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 iwroteitdownforyou

They have an article about him getting weekends, that isnt him being released.

Keeping in mind that we should take any crime correspondence in this state with an extra grain of salt, it was once reported pre-regency that Craig White was the de facto leader of the kinahan crew in Mountjoy. With lieutenants thin on the ground due to the Hutch feud, it'll be interesting to see if he harbours ambitions to re-establish a presence or whether the leadership in Dubai have a designated role in mind for him. It's hard to imagine him stacking shelves in Tesco at this point in his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭fergiesfav

He saved Del Boys life at the start of the feud, so was he really a leader of a kinahan crew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭40supple

To be able to stop that hit or at least lessen the severity of it with zero repercussions inflicted on him or family members outside shows that he has sway in that grouping

definitely not the overall leader but rather within the top tier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭fergiesfav

Why stop it in the first place if he's with the kinahans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭White lighting

If he has any sense he will get out of Ireland, He will be still serving a Life sentence but out on License. If he as much as caught with a gram they could put him back in for life.

That was two weeks after Gary's murder. Gary was part of that crew, albeit in the years after White's incarceration. Maybe the word hadn't filtered down to the jailed members yet at that point that a war was about to kick-off.

Was that a prison hit your talking about