Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst thing you or a classmate did in school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

We did a lot of messing around in 4th and 5th year in school back in the late 90s.
    We left a window slightly open in the science lab, then broke into it after school and stole all the sodium out of it.
    Brought the sodium into school the next day and threw a lump of it into the toilet at lunch time. It was like a bomb going off in there, I don't know how the toilet didn't explode. The whole place was full of smoke and some poor young lad taking a dump in the toilet beside it.

Another time one of the lads got a hold of the woodwork lab key and got it cut at lunchtime. After school they brought the portable goalposts from the pitch and set them up inside the woodwork room.

We brought in weed killer another day and drew a big cock on the hurling pitch with it, came out perfect after a few days. You could see it as you drove by as the road went uphill. The principal went daft and threatened to cancel the grad until the culprits were found. A girl in the class then squealed on us and a bunch of us got expelled, but this was later reduced to suspension when parents got involved. We glued the padlock on the squealers locker, she replaced it so we glued it again. She didn't replace it then, so we threw fish in it.

Another friend threw fireworks in the bin in the assembly hall when the place was full of teachers and students. Another suspension.
    Threw an apple about 20 yards across the hall at lunchtime and bounced off the teachers head

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Heighway61

At the end of the school year each class would be photograhed at the front door of the school. The teachers would be photographed last. Some fifth years, who were finishing that year, prepared buckets of sludge - bottles of sauce, milk, eggs etc, and peed in the buckets to add flavour. When the teachers lined up at the door the fifth years were at the windows of a classroom on the floor above and emptied the buckets down over the teachers. The were a mess. They might have been leaving in a few days but were still expelled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Ah, this week’s Walter Mitty thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Dognapper

A guy in my class wrote f,,,k in his own feces on the toilet wall , wasn’t until years later we found out that he was being sexually abused by his father and apparently playing with your own sh1t is a warning sign of that.

Someone else broke into the canteen after hours and was immediately caught when they found his name spray painted on one of the walls.

We paid a homeless guy to sit into one of our classes before all of us he then tried to attack the teacher.

A father of one of the students ran over some over some kids foot and then tried to hit him for damaging his car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Best thread on boards!

Keep her lit

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Dognapper wrote: »
    A guy in my class wrote f,,,k in his own feces on the toilet wall , wasn’t until years later we found out that he was being sexually abused by his father and apparently playing with your own sh1t is a warning sign of that.

That's shocking!! It actually reminds me of the time I was doing a training programme in Sligo IT back in 2004. I went into a toilet cubicle there one day and there was swear words written in excrement on the walls of the cubicle. It was a fairly regular occurrence for their weeks I was there and I was wondering to myself what type of individual would do something like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

You were all some lot of scumbags in school weren't you?

Most we ever did in school was talking in class or cheating on a spelling test. The 70's were a different breed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

The best ever event in our school happened when I left. Mobile phones were after becoming more popular and one of the guys found out the head teachers number. He pranked him to say that he was from TG4 and were coming to do an expose on the senior rugby team in a number of days time. The Head Teacher went into overdrive, buying new tracksuits for the senior rugby team, planting flowers and shrubs at the front steps, ensuring that the front driveway was freshly cut on each side, eagles painted on front gates and every teacher, member of staff and student in their sunday best. The student texted that they will be arriving at x'oclock and will be filming immediately, everyone was made stand outside and after 45 minutes of waiting, he realised it was a prank and blew his nut. The students involved were suspended but will forever go down as legends.

Not as crazy as the stories in here, but one thing I always remember from Primary school, was "shítball"
    Our school was in the middle of the city, and the play area was just a massive gravel area.
    The gates to the school would be op[en to students from around 8 in the morning, and classes would start at 9. If you got in early, you'd kick a football around in the "back yard"
    Every now and again, we'd come into school in the morning, and a homeless person would found asleep in a corner of the yard.
    Then once or twice a year, you'd come into school in the morning, and there would be a massive shíte in the middle of the yard.
    Someone would always get a plastic football, and roll it around in the *shít, until the ball was covered, and then shítball would begin :D

The purpose of the game, was to wallop the ball in any direction around the yard, in hope of hitting someone. Everyone was on guard. You knew where the ball was, and you stayed well clear of it. Occasionally, it would come into your general area, and you needed to quickly decide if you wanted to take the risk to attempt to kick it, and open yourself up to getting hit, or if you want to leg it, to avoid getting hit.

Anyway, in my 5 years in this Primary school, I never got hit, but I remember this one lad who was on my class. Tall, skinny lad. Definitely a bit simple, from a poor enough background, but never caused trouble, and had a few friends. This one winter morning, shítball was in play. And it was one of those heavy plastic footballs. It was the type of morning, where getting hit with this ball would leave a stinger for weeks. Nevermind what it would do, while covered in shíte.
    What happened next, was like a tv show, at least in my memory. Tall lad, seemed to be standing directly in front of me. Maybe 30 feet away. I looked to my right, and one of the travellers had just put his foot right through shítball, and it was travelling at a speed, directly at tall lad. Except he was oblivious. I seemed to look him right in the eye, as the ball clattered into the side of his face at full power. In my memory, everything slows down, and i see the ball ripple through the side of his face as pieces of shít explode all over him.
    There is a moment of absolute silence, before we hear the loudest scream\cry erupt from his mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

I remember 2 incidents involving eggs.

For anyone birthday they got an egging after school.

There was a shop/petrol station down the street and to get home one of the lads whose birthday it was had to pass by.

I was there ahead of him, went into the shop to buy eggs and as I was coming to the door here was your man legging it past the shop. He was about half way across the length of the forecourt and rapidly approaching the point where he'd be gone out of sight.

I had 2 choices, run after him or take a shot.

I dropped my bag, opened the egg carton and grabbed one, positioned myself.

I let the egg rip, as it was flying through the air I roared "HEY HOGAN".
    I can see this all in slow motion. He turned his head to look back at me while still running, approaching the wall that would have him out of sight.

As he turned the egg was flying through the air. It hit him square between the 2 eyes as his head fully turned back.

Ya couldn't make this up, it was a one in a million shot, I'd never be able to repeat it and probably more chance of winning the lotto than it happening in the first place.

My luck didn't hold out though, the following year, same lad, same location, he was standing chatting to someone, I fecked an egg at him and hit a girl 10 feet to his left, right between the eyes, totally missed but didn't miss at the same time :D

She had shell in her eyes and everything, total accident but I removed myself from the scene fairly lively. Probably should have stayed to see was she alright :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

In my all boys CBS secondary school back in the 80s, you would be given the bumps on your birthday. 30 or more lads grabbing you and tossing you as high into the air as possible, usually way more times than your actual age to prolong the torment. I got it done to me probably every year because my birthday was usually the first week of the school year and the lads were itching for a victim after the summer break.

Once, they did it to this guy and on the last bump/toss, they all ran and let him drop 10 or 12 feet onto the concrete. I can still hear the bang his body made hitting the ground!!. Remarkably he seemed to be unhurt and got up and walked away from it without complaining.

Different times!

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭md23040

I posted this before but still chuckle about the prick...

At a dump of a boarding school in the early 1980’s, run by a bunch of satanic priests, their only mission in life was making ours an absolute misery. The worst by far was the dean of the school, who in charge of discipline and he considered his role to be one of legitimately battering as many pupils as he could on a daily basis. As such he was hated completely by all boarders who frequently crossed his path.

To cut a long story short he got a new Fiat car, his pride and joy (even though it was low end), and less than one week into ownership, a merry band of rebels got up in the middle of the night, for some kind of revenge and spent a number of hours jumping for joy on top of the car and pulverising the roof to a sorry state of its former self.

Basically, without much evidence to go on other than any of the 200 plus hate-filled boarders could be culpable, he decided on a Mexican stand off and banned evening rec time. Instead everyone had to gather standing in the hall and no none could leave for 90 minutes until the culprits admitted to their guilt. Given this frame of mind he was in it for the long haul, as was clear from his temperament on the third evening saying it would last indefinitely until he found out.

Anyway, that evening there were confessions and Darth Vader himself was in the driving seat. One of the lads went in and confessed with remorse from the bottom of his heart. Next thing a deep raspberry-flushed psychopath jumped out of the confessional box screamed incoherently, then after about a minute of utter silence for all gathered to watch, he got back inside to offer absolution and hold to the oath of silence henceforth about the matter. The guys were absolute legends and had a few weeks left before leaving the school in final year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Sirsok

We went down to Superquinn on a Friday to buy fish.

We placed them in various parts of the school, under teacher podiums, on top of black board lights(so they would heat up), in any free lockers. By the time we returned on Monday it was unbearable and by lunchtime we had to evacuate certain parts of the building.

Twas great

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Typical 'hardman' teacher pushing his weight around in class when we were in 4th year, kept picking on one particular lad. Went on for months until the lad flipped and swung a box at the teacher which resulted in the lad going to a new school and the teacher to hospital with a broken eye socket. Fun times were had at the Christian Brothers School.......

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

unhappys10 wrote: »
    As he turned the egg was flying through the air. It hit him square between the 2 eyes as his head fully turned back.

Ya couldn't make this up, it was a one in a million shot, I'd never be able to repeat it and probably more chance of winning the lotto than it happening in the first place.
    :

I had the exact same experince, but with an apple. Yer man was way down a laneway - he was a neighbour, and he had thrown a punch at me as he ran past me. I threw an apple I was eating in a big arc, and called his name. Just as he turned around, it hit him right in the nose. It came from above, so he didn't even see it coming. Like you said, the whole thing seemed to happen in slow motion - apple flying, him turing, apple explodes on his nose in a blast of blood and apple bits. Complete fluke, no way I could ever repeat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

I had the exact same experince, but with an apple. Yer man was way down a laneway - he was a neighbour, and he had thrown a punch at me as he ran past me. I threw an apple I was eating in a big arc, and called his name. Just as he turned around, it hit him right in the nose. It came from above, so he didn't even see it coming. Like you said, the whole thing seemed to happen in slow motion - apple flying, him turing, apple explodes on his nose in a blast of blood and apple bits. Complete fluke, no way I could ever repeat it.

Good memories :D

I get such a laugh remembering it, great stories to be able to tell!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Hoop66

There was a gig in the canteen/tuck shop area of my school and the equipment was left in there overnight. 2 guys in my year broke in, pissed, and nicked a load of it, amps and everything. They dragged the stuff away to one of their houses which bordered the school field.

What they hadn't figured out, in their drunken state, was that the ground was wet and muddy and they made clear tracks right to where they'd stashed the gear.

Didn't exactly take Poirot to find the culprits...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭sweet_trip

Burnt the school down twice. Closing it for months.

Smashing the windows.

Knocking down walls between classrooms.

We barely even had tables or chairs that weren't snapped into bits or driven through windows/the ceiling.

Set a prefab on fire.

Numerous teacher assaults.

Horrific bullying beyond anything you could imagine that was rampant in the school for years and made people kill themselves. School turned a blind eye to it all.

Couple of stabbings.

Numerous teachers cars vandalised.

Toilets and sinks smashed to bits.

Animals tortured/killed in the yard for the craic.

To name a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

sweet_trip wrote: »
    Burnt the school down twice. Closing it for months.

Smashing the windows.

We barely even had tables or chairs that weren't snapped into bits or driven through windows/the ceiling.

Set a prefab on fire.

Numerous teacher assaults.

Horrific bullying beyond anything you could imagine that was rampant in the school for years and made people kill themselves. School turned a blind eye to it all.

Couple of stabbings.

Numerous teachers cars vandalised.

Toilets and sinks smashed to bits.

Animals tortured/killed in the yard for the craic.

To name a few.

:eek::eek::eek: Where was this?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Compton. (Obviously I have no idea where it is but first thoughts were actually democratic republic of congo.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,679 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

cool

That's shocking!! It actually reminds me of the time I was doing a training programme in Sligo IT back in 2004. I went into a toilet cubicle there one day and there was swear words written in excrement on the walls of the cubicle. It was a fairly regular occurrence for their weeks I was there and I was wondering to myself what type of individual would do something like that.

It’s bad alright , I couldn’t help but feel for the lad when I found out suddenly all his acting out and being a pure scumbag made sense.

Rural school. not mentioning any names.

I bet city schools were way worse though. Particularly a lot of the dublin ones with legit drug addict students and criminal families.

Rural school. not mentioning any names.

I bet city schools were way worse though. Particularly a lot of the dublin ones with legit drug addict students and criminal families.

To be fair I went to a school In Dublin and it was bad but my niece is in a rural school now and the way she described it it’s a rape and drug factory.

Dognapper wrote: »
    To be fair I went to a school In Dublin and it was bad but my niece is in a rural school now and the way she described it it’s a rape and drug factory.

Yeah they can be. My rural school was worse than a prison. It was hell on earth and the teachers and principal were complicit in it. It was truly a fúcked up place.
    Lots of special needs kids were sent there too, because it was advertised as a school that specialised in that stuff. Mostly autism and kids from abusive backgrounds.

Those kids were targetted the hardest and their lives were made hell.

We also had no facilities. No GAA pitch, no canteen, no lockers, no music room, no clubs or social activities, no selection of subjects, the list went on.
    We were all funneled into the hallways at lunch and told to shut up.

Yeah they can be. My rural school was worse than a prison. It was hell on earth and the teachers and principal were complicit in it. It was truly a fúcked up place.
    Lots of special needs kids were sent there too, because it was advertised as a school that specialised in that stuff. Mostly autism and kids from abusive backgrounds.

Those kids were targetted the hardest and their lives were made hell.

We also had no facilities. No GAA pitch, no canteen, no lockers, no music room, no clubs or social activities, no selection of subjects, the list went on.
    We were all funneled into the hallways at lunch and told to shut up.

There is actually a school in Laois not to far from me where the principal is being investigated for bullying kids , this is a primary school not even a secondary, the things I have heard would turn your stomach.
    All I know is if it was my kids then the principal wouldn’t be given the chance to be investigated, I know it sounds like I’m acting the big shot but I’m sure a lot of parents would feel the same way.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭jh79

In Primary school one lad sh*t in another guys school bag while we were out on a break.

Possibly the same guy broke in to the school and destroyed the heating system. We got a couple weeks extra holidays out of it

jh79 wrote: »
    In Primary school one lad sh*t in another guys school bag while we were out on a break.

Possibly the same guy broke in to the school and destroyed the heating system. We got a couple weeks extra holidays out of it

Someone in my school actually put pigeon in another lads school bag , he opened the bag and the pigeon Nearly took his eye out , everything was also covered in crap in his bag.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Kylta wrote: »
    When I was in primary school a teacher had a fit in the class, while he was on the ground two pupils rained kicks into him while another robbed his wallet. They didn't realise.that a Christian brother from another class that was directly overlooking our class seen the whole thing. Needless to say they were beaten senseless. Their all dead now. One was stabbed to dead and the other two died from overdoses in later years.

Was it Gonzaga or Blackrock you went to?

That reminds me,
    There was a big classroom in our school and there was a folding wall,
    it folded like an accordian .
    It was really heavy duty.
    If we had a free cass we would run the length of the class into the wall to annoy the teacher on the other side.
    One time a fella sat in a desk (the joint ones) and we slid him up the isle as fast as possible into the wall.
    the whole thing came crashing down !