Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solar PV Hints, Tips & Troubleshooting

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 7,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭graememk

Then I'm 99% sure the NC6 is already submitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,444 ✭✭✭championc

I'd simply go back to the installers and see will they make an application with today's date. Nobody except them will know.

I certainly would NOT be calling the SEAI and alerting them.

And I don't think there is really a link between the SEAI grant and the NC6 ???

Only link is that to claim the grant is that SEAI require a copy of the NC6 form as part of the required paperwork. Their grant, their rules. Bit like the log book and photo of car and photo of charge point for the EV charge point grant.

Its an ESBN requirement that is supposed to be sent off before the solar is installed, and if you dont hear back your good to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭DC999

Jaysus. Assuming nothing else suggested here clears it, you're out of pocket for thousands (PV, car charger and battery as battery grant was available then I guess). That's rough for you.

It's worth challenging that for sure. Am maybe the mistake is yours - which sucks but we all make mistakes. Here's my 2 cent but only thoughts, so might be pure crap to you!

Options I can see are (if others above aren't a runner): you lose it all, SEAI agree to pay it (though you didn't follow the process as you didn't know you were eligible), installer foots the full gap (assuming they screwed up and didn't tell you you were eligible), installer & SEAI agree to each part fund so no loss to you, something else...

1) 100% worth calling the installer as step1 asking them to find a solution. Surely they should have advised you (and I've assumed they didn't but only you know that)

2) Step2 is SEAI if no clear fix from installer. I assume SEAI wouldn't be very favourably to have a registered installer who is either not aware of the grants available or not bothered telling people. Surely that's part of their continuous training / learning / engaging with SEAI for the hoops they need to jump thru to be registered. Even if they are based in North (6 counties) they should still be SEAI registered I assume. You could play the fool at the start with SEAI and explain what happened, what's the option... Bear in mind it's formal then so if they say no, you've stuck bar a formal process to challenge that.

If they don't like what installers are doing, from what I've heard SEAI remove them from their approved list (so people can't get the grants using that company). That's the 'stick' to get installers to behave. Then they get back on the list when they behave. If solar is their business, they need the SEAI on-side!! So SEAI do 'have teeth'.

Worst case there should be some formal complaint process you can progress with the SEAI if you feel the installer should have flagged it. All these formal processes (like grants) have a formal dispute processes.

Is the onus on us (as buyers) to know, or installer to inform us of the grants?? You'll find out soon enough so maybe don't go in 'guns blazing for now' until you see. But if it were me I'd deffo engage the installer first (and get the right person, might not be person you dealt with for install), then SEAI.

Tis very possible you're not the only person 'caught' with that change to eligibility. Which might land in your favour with the SEAI.

3) Installer and SEAI so no, what then? If it's a very clear 'no' from the SEAI that they won't cover it, do ask for their advice on what they suggest. They may suggest the installer has a liability - not legally binding of course but helps. Might be some form of arbitration they suggest. If SEAI suggest it, it might 'influence' the installer to cover the cost to stay on-side with them.

Also could think about pursuing the installer further (if it appears it was their issue and not yours) likes of small claims court (never looked into it but possible you could threaten that option for installer, or get solicitor to draft a letter (but starts getting costly for you of course...). And takes emotional energy too. So exhaust all else before going there maybe. I've never gone down a legal route so worth thinking hard on it first

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

if your install is done then that’s it, you missed the boat

No screw up, just unfortunate timing.

The grants changed in Feb I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,270 ✭✭✭con747

Unless the installer had a crystal ball to foresee the rule changes they have done absolutely nothing wrong and as we all know who the installer is I find it unfair to insinuate they could be culpable in any way.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,798 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Yeah, in fairness I wouldn’t blame them. I phoned SEAI and they tell me that it's just tough luck but apparently I'm welcome to leave a comment on their website - which is great.

They tell me the eligibility criteria changed on the 16th Feb - seems unfair that they can't backdate this but this is Ireland - why they have a cut-off date for eligibility in the first place seems crazy.

Either way I'm glad I went ahead and got the system installed - my electricity bill is way down while everyone else seems to be complaining about rising costs and hopefully with the micro-generation scheme up and running it makes things even better financially.

I'm looking at this as a 30 year investment anyway.

Thanks for the replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭bullit_dodger

I think that's quite a mature way in looking at it. I'd be a bit cheesed off myself, but in reality not getting the grant has only delayed your payback by 3-4 years. You'll still be "quids in" down the road, but in the meantime you won't be sweating the Ukrainian energy crisis next winter as much as other (non-solar) owners. We'll all feel something, but it'll be lessened for us.

If you ever were wanting to expand your system.. you'd qualify for a grant for that one!

Yes, you could, how can I say, use poetic licence with your friendly installer on your upgrade paperwork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭DC999

Wasn't trying to sound like a ar3e there and trying to tar and feather a specific installer. I jumped to a conclusion that an / any installer wasn't bothering or gave wrong advice and facehugger99 was out of pocket for 2.4k grant. But it's clear that's not the case. I got ahead of myself in defending mode :)

We're in a 80 yr old gaff so I never paid heed to grants for newer builds. 

And I honestly wasn't targeting a specific installer. I've no idea who they are it's none of my business to know.

Anyways..facehugger99 is happy out with the install + taking the long game of 30 years. Fair play for that!  

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 wmijangos

hi Jonathan, same problem i have here, in my case i get the alarm like 2 o 3 times per day. no solutions yet. and my load of crital items goes down.

hi,

i have a solis 5 kw, with 10 solar panels of 540 watts and 2 strings, still getting the alarm of 186bb DC-OVER CURRENT. it keeps happening around 11:30 am to 2:30 pm.

any solutions?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Usually an issue with the string configuration.

Can you post details of how your strings are configured? e.g. 5 panels on each string? Which orientation are your strings facing?

Can you post up the DC current and DC voltage graphs for both strings, on a normal day and a day when the alarm triggered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭dermotx

I just got a 4kW pv install done but am a little concerned about the way the hooks were installed on my roof. I don't think they ground away enough material on the top tile which goes over the hook and the tiles is kicking up. See the attached picture. Is this normal and can it lead to any problems in the future?

Dermot

I have similar enough tiles and mine are all flush

Each string have 5 paneles, the panels are looking south. the slarm triggers at 11:30 am to 2:30 pm.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Did the alarm trigger today (on the graph that you shared)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 rachb

The ESBN have changed that. I was back and forth with them last week. Its post installation they require the NC6 and NC6-01 be sent in as the electrician has to fill the details in part 5, Microgenerations details about the inverter and size of the system after the install.

Also was on to SEAI and they only require a scanned photo of the filled in NC6 form post installation too.

hi, yes. this is afew mins ago. by the way, i am from Merida Yuc. Mexico.

A bit hard to read the values on that graph. Can you remove all lines, and just add back DC (CC en español?) Voltage and DC Current. I want to see what the values are immediately before the alarm triggered and the inverter shutdown.

I have the issue only very occasionally; usually only on a very cold, sunny day.

What inverter do you have? Looks to be a 4 string inverter?

Here you go. its a Solis 5kw. it has 4 strings, but only using two. i have it with 6 pylontech batteries.

Have you got exact model number so we can look at the datasheet? (Max MPPT voltage and current). The DC current is shown in graph as 15A (which seems high) before alarm triggered.

Per this datasheet, it looks like that inverter has 2 MPPTs but 4 string inputs. Any chance that both your strings are on the same MPPT? If it was, that would explain the overcurrent warnings.

Question

I am shortly adding a second Solid Inverter to my PV setup, it does not have a dongle whereas my first one does, is there a way to "slave" the second inverter so the first inverter will communicate the second Inverter readings on the solis app, no point buying a second dongle if this can be achieved.

I think you can if you get a data logging box and set unique Modbus IDs for each inverter. Probably just easier to get another logging stick tbh.

https://www.ginlong.com/otherinverterthere/31697.html

I have no idea then! Did you contact your installer or Solis?