Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seagulls.... (nuisance)

• 31-07-2020 7:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

I recently bought a house on a road in Dublin (east coast). Lovely Quiet safe road To Rare my family. I’m there 2 years now. My problem is the noise and general nuisance seagulls are causing. A neighbour , an elderly man feeds them every morning from anywhere from 5:30 am onwards. The seagulls literally sit on the roof or flock around his garden making a huge racket Waking everyone in house Also destroying cars with their droppings . It’s especially noticeable in summer when windows are open and mornings are brighter. I’m assuming this man has been feeding them for years , he attracts not only gulls but A heron , magpies pigeons and crows. What would a person do about this without causing too much offence and creating an awkwardness between us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I read that as nuance.

I came prepared for an interesting seagull story.

Yeah ..reminds me once when my dad parked the car under some trees ...when we came back it was covered in ..bird droppings.

I don't think you can do it without causing him offense.

What you could suggest is that he start feeding them elsewhere. If they follow they follow if they don't ...they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Maybe if we didn't clean out the sea of fish, they wouldn't come inland bothering us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Your neighbor is basically a fûcking prick. He cannot be oblivious to the noise of the birds, especially at 5.30am - 6am in the morning where the silence will be deafening until the cacophony of birds basically is shattering the silence, sleep and wellbeing of everything and everyone. This with the time, effort and cost involved cleaning cars, lost sleep, stress (especially in covid situation) , he is just being an absolute nuisance and lousy neighbor.

Talk to him. Empathize that he enjoys doing what he does but force how it’s impacting your health and wellbeing negatively. With everything going on you’d appreciate if he can stop, think of his neighbors and examine other ways with which he can ‘enjoy nature’ while respecting those around him.

Better again if you can ask one or two more neighbors to weigh in for extra volume and support, it’s not designed to intimidate but it might have the desired effect.

I’ve little to no sympathy for him. It’s shïtty behavior, he just doesn’t care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Maybe if we didn't clean out the sea of fish, they wouldn't come inland bothering us?

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

This is why I rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

dekbhoy wrote: »
    I recently bought a house on a road in Dublin (east coast). Lovely Quiet safe road To Rare my family. I’m there 2 years now. My problem is the noise and general nuisance seagulls are causing. A neighbour , an elderly man feeds them every morning from anywhere from 5:30 am onwards. The seagulls literally sit on the roof or flock around his garden making a huge racket Waking everyone in house Also destroying cars with their droppings . It’s especially noticeable in summer when windows are open and mornings are brighter. I’m assuming this man has been feeding them for years , he attracts not only gulls but A heron , magpies pigeons and crows. What would a person do about this without causing too much offence and creating an awkwardness between us.

Move away from the coast.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,400 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Any chance this falls under the night time law where quiet time is from 11pm to 7am?

Hoboo wrote: »
    Move away from the coast.

The coast is fine, this lousy old weirdo gobshîte for a neighbor that’s the problem, you’d get that sort inland too.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Any chance this falls under the night time law where quiet time is from 11pm to 7am?

Good point, might be worthwhile dropping by your local Garda station and getting their feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 derekshelvin

He's breaking the law. I've had this debate on the Galway forum. Basically what you will find here is (a) people who tell you to move away or tolerate this behaviour or
    (b) those who feel this is bad form by the neighbour.
    Report him.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/pensioner-left-devastated-after-being-fined-150-for-feeding-seagulls-38933674.html

Litter Pollution Act 1997.

Wildlife still needs to be managed. I do understand the people who tell you to move away and blame us for overfishing as I can sense their sympathy for the seagulls but I more so sympathise for the people who are not causing this but have to endure it.

Laws are there to protect birds, as people will remind you, but laws are also there to protect humans. Seagull droppings, in particular, carry a wide variety of diseases and the acidic components of their droppings make it a disaster for car paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

There was a guy in court recently for feeding pigeons in stoneybatter.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/man-faces-trial-over-nuisance-pigeons-in-stoneybatter-1.4088294

I think the council would be your first call for advice on how to proceed.

The birds are only there because the guy is actively enticing them with food. They didn’t tap on his window, “hey bud, got any chow ?”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

What are ye doing still in bed at 5:30 anyway, lazy fecker!? :p

You should associate the sound of those wonderful birds, as nature's alarm clock... telling you to motivate yourself and start grabbing every new day by the short and curlys and get crackin'!!

I have more respect for seagulls and other wildlife, than most of the layabout homo sapien population! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

randd1 wrote: »
    MOD SNIP

Completely illegal they are a protected species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

get a bigger bird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭randd1

Storm 10 wrote: »

And that would stop him, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I think you should run, run so far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He probably has mental health issues, I'd say don't make any contact with him directly.

Could you make a recording or find one on YouTube of seagulls in full volume and play it out your back garden from 10pm until midnight each evening? He probably goes to bed at 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

OP nip that sh1t n the bud, this idiot is part of the cause of all these bird problems ..

MOD SNIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Storm 10 wrote: »

really ? why are they protected ? there must be about 25 billion of them in Howth alone !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Does the OP own and operate a trawler? If so, poetic justice. If not, not helpful.

He may not even eat fish!

Also, gulls are opportunistic feeders. If the seas were packet to the gills (overdoing the metaphor?) with tasty fish, they’d still be nicking chips and ice cream in Howth. Because it’s easier, and because they don’t have to go and search for it. It’s just there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

KungPao wrote: »
    I think you should run, run so far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

really ? why are they protected ? there must be about 25 billion of them in Howth alone !!

Seagulls - Wildlife Management
    http://www.wildlifemanagement.ie/seagulls/#:~:text=In%20Ireland%20all%20gulls%20and,and%20European%20Wildlife%20Legislation%2FDirectives.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

randd1, do not post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 derekshelvin

Galway is getting overrun by them. They are protected due to a decline in numbers but you'd do well to find a flat roof in the city without 2 or 3 young seagulls on it at the moment. I've lived near building sites and heard less noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

Yes he’s an early riser and an early to bed type guy. Dont get me wrong he’s a nice man that keeps a lovely garden etc. I actually think he might have a hearing problem as another neighbour complains of him playing his radio full volume while chopping wood for the fire. I’m thinking g maybe have a quiet word with him and gently suggest the gulls are a nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Stephens Green is overrun by the fcukers too, hate them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭nophd08

The pigeons, magpies and crows could be persuaded to "move on" with an air rifle from an upstairs window.... Just sayin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Stephens Green is overrun by the fcukers too, hate them!

Serves that Stephen fellah right , him and his feckin' green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

OP , you have two options, the way I see things.

You can either dress yourself up as a seagull and raise havoc in your neighbourhood in the hope your neighbours might turn against the seagull feeder .By havoc I mean ****ting on your neighbours cars and houses .

Your second option is to burn your neighbours house down leaving a can of petrol in his driveway surrounded by seagull feathers.

Let us know how you get on.

endacl wrote: »
    Does the OP own and operate a trawler? If so, poetic justice. If not, not helpful.

He may not even eat fish!

Also, gulls are opportunistic feeders. If the seas were packet to the gills (overdoing the metaphor?) with tasty fish, they’d still be nicking chips and ice cream in Howth. Because it’s easier, and because they don’t have to go and search for it. It’s just there.

"Packed" to the gills is what you're looking for.

Seagulls attacking people for food is a recent phenomenon, you never heard them stealing food from people's hands rummaging through rubbish in the 80s and 90s and causing a nuisance. Something has changed, what can it be??
    Answers on a postcard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Birds are the most annoying animal going. From the seagulls that are as big an eyesore as junkies around seafronts, to the pigeons that won't fook off from your way in city centres, to the crows that caw incessently at dusk in the country-side, to the ****ers that ****e on your car and the smart asses that sing at daybreak on the one morning you want a lie-in. And plenty more besides (like the smaller ones that fly around your table when eating outside in some warm country). Creepy bastards.

The only bird worth keeping is the chicken. Particularly when it comes drowned in gravy with a side of mash potato. Or as a burger. Or a fillet roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭youtheman

You need to Google "S.I. No. 254/1986 - European Communities (Wildlife Act, 1976) (Amendment) Regulations, 1986." It does allow for the capture or killing of some birds in some circumstances, If they are :

(i) a threat to public health or safety,

(ii) likely to cause serious damage to corps, livestock, fisheries or forestry,

(iii) likely to cause damage to flora and fauna,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

seagulls (heron gulls) are awesome, they take don't take any sh1t from humans and that's what irritates us, they occupy the same space as us and literally don't give 2 f*'s

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

The man was there long before you, as were the birds he's feeding i'd imagine.
    So if i was him, and a millennial blow in tried to have a "quiet" word with me, well let's just say you'd be forcibly told where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

In a way society has failed this gentle seagull man. Leave him alone and leave seaguls alone. They're all gods creatures.

Fun fact: Biggest seagull on record had a wingspan of 18ft and weighed 22kg. It was capable of carrying small women for short distances.

The man was there long before you, as were the birds he's feeding i'd imagine.
    So if i was him, and a millennial blow in tried to have a "quiet" word with me, well let's just say you'd be forcibly told where to go.

Doesn’t matter who is their the longest... his behavior is unsatisfactory. Being there 50 years doesn’t give him a hall pass. I’m in my place 15 years my next door neighbors about 6... should I be on that basis allowed to carry on playing loud music at all hours. Fixing a car in the driveway and all associated noise at 6am ? Does it fûck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Sky Blue 20

Strumms wrote: »
    The birds are only there because the guy is actively enticing them with food. They didn’t tap on his window, “hey bud, got any chow ?”

Oh they do tap on windows.
    My neighbours, two one one side of me and one on the other feed them.
    Of course my car gets splattered.
    They don't have a car, sods.
    They used to feed a group of Pigeons until the Seagulls arrived and drove them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

What's easier for a seagull.

Bombing into the ocean to get some fish or a half eaten bag of chips left dumped beside a bin?

Exactly. They're doing it out of convenience not some desperate grasp for food.

I can't believe people are having a problem with seagulls, they are the sounds and sights of the beach. Nothing better than hearing a wave come crashing in and the squall of seagulls in the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭global23214124

Hate seagulls and pigeons with a passion. If only you could take out a shotgun and go to town on them.

Talk with the neighbour first and explain your side of the story and try to get him to stop or do it a bit later in the day when its not 5.30 in the morning ? Failing that go to the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Contact the environmental section of the local authority and make a complaint. His actions are causing your living environment to become polluted and causing a risk to your health. He can be prosecuted and possibly be fined heavily in the district court. Your name would not be associated with such an action so he would not be made aware that the original complaint emanated from yourself. Try and get some of the other neighbours to do likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

wrong. Seagulls are natural scavengers. It has nothing to do with fish. Theyre scavengers so they'll go anywhere there is food.

M

wrong. Seagulls are natural scavengers. It has nothing to do with fish. Theyre scavengers so they'll go anywhere there is food.

They particularly like landfill sites too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

Have you a way of contacting any of his family? If so, that's the initial route I'd be taking.

It's still people's fault, for being messy cünts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

They're everywhere in Babriggan. My old neighbour there used to leave out food for a family of seagulls. The parents would regularly land on his windowsill and screech in at him to come out and give them food.

Also the 2 chicks fell out of their nest on the roof and were wandering around in front of his house. If I walked too close to the chicks the parents would swoop down and try to whack me in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Deub

Beat him to it. Feed them in the evening when he is bed.
    Two birds with one stone:
    - there may be less birds in the morning as they have been fed the night before
    - even if he is half deaf, the noise will bother him to sleep.

M

Would it be legal to have a hawk/falcon to kill them all in your area?

I was in Saint Stephen's Green yesterday, meeting a friend. As you know, the parks are full of people meeting one another outdoors, for easier social distancing.

Anyway, along comes some American (I'm assuming, based on BMI, matching denim, and a camera around his neck) who walks into a gathering of ~100 people and starts spraying breadcrumbs on the ground.

Obviously, a plague of pigeons and overgrown gulls immediately began swarming the area, causing some of us to pack up and move away from this pigeon fancier

What are people thinking? Stop feeding these flying rats in public places. I've had enough of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Deub wrote: »
    Beat him to it. Feed them in the evening when he is bed.
    Two birds with one stone:

See, there's the problem right there, the don't eat feckin stones.....:rolleyes: