Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is music snobbery even a thing?

• 28-07-2020 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

People act as if liking music is a personality trait. What is up with people listening to dad rock thinking they're the judge and jury about what makes some music better than others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

People like to appropriate things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

What is up with people listening to dad rock thinking they're the judge and jury about what makes some music better than others

Personal taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Personal taste.

Or lack of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Sinus pain

Oh god - I used to go out with a guy when I was 16 and he was such a music snob. Would laugh at anyone who didn’t like his taste in music. You couldn’t like the spice girls or kylie - had to be the Beatles or oasis - dumped him

Truthvader wrote: »
    Or lack of it

Well not really.

It's 'personal' taste. Key is in the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Sinus pain wrote: »
    Oh god - I used to go out with a guy when I was 16 and he was such a music snob. Would laugh at anyone who didn’t like his taste in music. You couldn’t like the spice girls or kylie - had to be the Beatles or oasis - dumped him

Hahaha that's hilarious. It's so weird. I have mates that think because they like Bruce Springsteen and they're in their 20s that they know authoritatively what "good music" is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭global23214124

You can think you have a great taste in music and shun others for their taste but at the end of the day it doesnt matter. They can be up their owns holes about it and you probably won't change their opinion. I have a pretty broad range in music from techno to jazz and for me its all about enjoying live acts regardless of genre or what others think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

To be fair only what I listen to is cool and hip and jive and if you don't listen to it well you suck, I laugh at you!

You can think you have a great taste in music and shun others for their taste but at the end of the day it doesnt matter. They can be up their owns holes about it and you probably won't change their opinion. I have a pretty broad range in music from techno to jazz and for me its all about enjoying live acts regardless of genre or what others think.

One thing I notice about me is I can't tell 'bad' music. I would say my taste isn't refined but yet I'll listen to complex music and enjoy it. To me, music is something is impossible not to like, even the most generic pop song, if it can get you dancing, it's doing something cool and amazing.

So, I am very open to music, like truly open, but I also have no filter of bad music except for other people's opinions.

I kind of think the whole basing your identity on whatever music you like or whatever was the first step towards the whole identity politics sh1te we're dealing with these days..

But yeah, people judging others for their taste in music these days is kind of ridiculous..

Unless you're into Irish rappers or death metal..then there's something wrong with you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Look, as long as I don't have to listen to your **** taste in music and you don't force it on me work away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

I kind of think the whole basing your identity on whatever music you like or whatever was the first step towards the whole identity politics sh1te we're dealing with these days..

But yeah, people judging others for their taste in music these days is kind of ridiculous..

Unless you're into Irish rappers or death metal..then there's something wrong with you..

Cannibal corpse ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

A lot of music, especially popular music, is just terrible with little actual musical talent involved. I don't know if that makes me a snob. I feel the same way about a lot of popular films and television like those Sharknado type films or Love Island type television. Yes, they are popular and make loads of money and their stars are now celebrities but they've still terrible. Anyone claiming that they are just as good or credible as Lawrence of Arabia or Breaking Bad is either an idiot or being deliberately obtuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

Much the same as a meal from a top restaurant is better than McDonalds. I like both depending on my mood but one is objectively 10 to 100 times better than the other. Sophistication can be measured.

I might like junk food sometimes but I won't pollute my ears with the musical equivalent.

Arctic Monkeys act as an interesting band if you want to see musical snobbery encapsulated by one band.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

People act as if liking music is a personality trait. What is up with people listening to dad rock thinking they're the judge and jury about what makes some music better than others

God damn patriarchs imposing their tastes in music on their children.

I disagree, identity politics and pop music are both designed for middle of the road pedestrian types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

I get ye op, I really do ..........but.

If you like music, and I mean like it and listen to it alot.

Well you kind of get an ear for the notes especially if you play music. You then start to realuse that the vast vast majority of music you hear is music made to offend as little people as possible. If it offends the ears of more than 3 per cent of the population it probably wont get on the radio. You may say, so what isnt that what you want.

No its not.

You see the human brain likes to know whats coming next. You might not like Bob Dylans voice, its not because its a bad voice its just not a voice you feel comfortable with, you cant understand it because you cant subconsciously predict it.

Some of the best music in the world that will give you the best joy is the albums that will take 10 to 20 listens before you can even sing bits of the song back.

Captain Beefheart for me gives me feelings of unadulterated joy because he has sounds and notes and progressions that you wont hear anywhere else. Did I love it on the first listen, nope but it interested me. When you listen to it after a pile of listens you realise there can be 4 or 5 different tunes going on at the same time in the same song and yet sound somewhat like one song.

The first note in hard days night by the beatles was unheard of in popular music when it was released it still sounds new now. Thats what music snobs want.

I might ask you your favourite arctic monkeys album, I bet you wont say tranquility base hotel and casino unless you have heard it 20 times. Opening note still blows me away, Ive heard it 1000 times. Its a concept album about a hotel and casino on the moon for the rich, amzing themes and ideas throughout the album you wont get until you can understand how all the characters speak.

Lyrics like
    "The leader of the free world
    Reminds me of a wrestler wearing tight golden trunks
    Hes got himself a theme tune
    They play it for him as he makes his way to the ring.

Theres a Trump reference for the Trump haters. The whole album is choc full of great lines and verses.

I could go on all night but people want music that on first play can be understood and everybody knows what will happen next so they can bob their head. Thats fine in social settings. Its human nature but listen to Sam Smith stay with me then Tom Pettys wont back down and you will see how it all follows the same patterns. The whole of pop music is like this they just wear different haircuts and use a different setting on their synth each generation, rappers dont even try hide it they just change the rap over the same songs every few years.

Thats why music snobs are music snobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

Hahaha that's hilarious. It's so weird. I have mates that think because they like Bruce Springsteen and they're in their 20s that they know authoritatively what "good music" is

They don't, Bruce Springsteen is ****e

A lot of music, especially popular music, is just terrible with little actual musical talent involved. I don't know if that makes me a snob. I feel the same way about a lot of popular films and television like those Sharknado type films or Love Island type television. Yes, they are popular and make loads of money and their stars are now celebrities but they've still terrible. Anyone claiming that they are just as good or credible as Lawrence of Arabia or Breaking Bad is either an idiot or being deliberately obtuse.

But by the same token, shows like Love Island have their merits. If it wasn't so scripted it's actually pretty cool. It's a social experiment with fake tans and fake tits as the bells and whistles. It's interesting for us as humans to see human dynamics from a birds eye pov play out in such an environment.

i_surge wrote: »
    I disagree, identity politics and pop music are both designed for middle of the road pedestrian types.

No, what I'm saying is the identity politics crap wouldn't fly now if people weren't basing their personalities on being punks or mods in the 80s..

But by the same token, shows like Love Island have their merits. If it wasn't so scripted it's actually pretty cool. It's a social experiment with fake tans and fake tits as the bells and whistles. It's interesting for us as humans to see human dynamics from a birds eye pov play out in such an environment.

Ah here..

No, what I'm saying is the identity politics crap wouldn't fly now if people weren't basing their personalities on being punks or mods in the 80s..

In my experience the types who go for are a bit simple and gullible and easily influenced but at pains to curate a sophisticated image for themselves of obscure bands and books (that they haven't read).....while secretly loving pure cheese.

The people who actually appreciate good music for themselves and their own taste, not to impress others usually have the mental acuity to see fad movements for what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Part of the fun of being a music fan is being able to argue with people about it.

In my experience a lot of the people who give out about so called music snobs can be pretty closed minded themselves when it comes to music. Likely to dismiss bands or entire genres after listening to one song, once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

It would've seemed impossible to say this a few years back, but there's some decent tunes coming from Irish traits these days

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Some music is just better. Simple.

Pirate Metal FTW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

It's like literature.

There are authors who clearly know what they're doing, have a subtext, write intelligently and tell a good story.

In music, you have all of that plus melody, rhythm, intonation and naturalness to judge that on. Some bands figure it out for one song by luck and they're chasing that success throughout their (usually short) careers. Others know exactly what they're doing and if they're not massively successful, they'll have a loyal cohort of followers who get what they're going for and read into the lyrics and be drawn to the music more.

Taylor Swift is a good example of a popular music act now - many people know who she is (that song with the goats is the only one I've had the misfortune of hearing) and she has had relative commercial success. She recently released an album with many artists I really enjoy. I gave it a really good go. I got four tracks in the first time I tried and two the second. I might revisit it or try and find an instrumental version where her vocal layer has been removed. I may even throw it into ProTools and attempt to remove it myself.

I'm not a music snob, I just hate her voice, shallowness, lack of lyrical substance, appeal to people I perceive as less musically inclined and the fact that actually talented artists that I like had to collaborate with her for whatever reason (exposure? money? NWO? they like her? Hahaha no way).

I don't diminish anyone else for liking the stupid bitch, I just refuse to engage with something of such a low calibre. Any more than I'd read Cecilia Ahern or bilge like that.

No my friend it is you who has the something wrong if you don't like Irish rap and death metal!

That is incredible musicianship, whatever about if you enjoy it or not. Personally I'm never more myself than when thrashing to this or sipping tinnies and smoking rollies to the above. But I'd be just as happy with a bit of Shostakovich or Radiohead. :D

I'm not sure if this track is too bold to actually post:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

One thing I notice about me is I can't tell 'bad' music. I would say my taste isn't refined but yet I'll listen to complex music and enjoy it. To me, music is something is impossible not to like, even the most generic pop song, if it can get you dancing, it's doing something cool and amazing.

So, I am very open to music, like truly open, but I also have no filter of bad music except for other people's opinions.
    Yet there are people who don't like music at all. I'm probably one of the only people in work who can play music, and my taste wouldn't be mainstream so you'd possibly class me as a music snob, but I regularly get abuse (lightheartedly) from people who come into my area.

To counter this, I ask if they've any requests. They usually have just go quiet, although the latest one to take me up on it wanted to hear Tommy Fleming. (Great stuff!) :pac:

Other people have mentioned television and food, but would you have any sports snobbery? You have rugby snobs looking down on soccer fans, and soccer snobs sneering at the GAA's 'bogball'. Snobbery is everywhere.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I like my music like I like my beer, dark and heavy.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I was very much a music snob, where I would judge people just listening to top 40 music. Thinking my music taste gave me some layer of “culture” or some nonsense.

But it doesn’t. It just makes you unable to enjoy a song in a moment. I will never miss an opportunity belting out Mr. Bright side or ABBA. Me being a snob made me think I was above that. The whole ranking concept of music goes when you realise music is there to just be enjoyed.

Anyway I got over myself and realised it’s just good people find an outlet through music in whatever form.

chrissb8 wrote: »
    I was very much a music snob, where I would judge people just listening to top 40 music. Thinking my music taste gave me some layer of “culture” or some nonsense.

At some point you come to the realisation that since you're listening to a CD or Spotify, your taste in music isn't underground and your snobbery is unfounded on that basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

McGaggs wrote: »
    At some point you come to the realisation that since you're listening to a CD or Spotify, your taste in music isn't underground and your snobbery is unfounded on that basis.

All the ambient Mongolian throat music I listen to is delivered to me from the Gobi desert on cassette tape.

Music snobbery may have been some bit excuseable in the 80's or 90's when you had to buy tapes in shops and stuff..

In this day and age it's just kind of edgy teenager sadness really..

Apart from Irish rap..Irish rap is just tragic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

I love all kinds of music ranging from the 50s to todays music, I love music on general. Music can soothe the soul as much as it can release the beast. But I also truly love lyrics, how can you beat sha la la la or tra la la la (ok i'm taking the piss). It is vary rare in todays music that you'll get great lyrics and music. So even now has we post some people will be listening to sh!te music. But hey its your music so enjoy it. After all we all have an acquired taste in music, whether we be tone deaf or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

Most people have a dreadful taste in music.
    I have an excellent taste in music :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Apart from Irish rap..Irish rap is just tragic..

And the Marilyn Manson, Slipknot type stuff. Music to wet the bed to

Early Marilyn Manson was pretty good..

All the ambient Mongolian throat music I listen to is delivered to me from the Gobi desert on cassette tape.

Pfft, I get my Balkan inspired Peruvian folktronica smuggled out on minidisc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Black Sabbath are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Black Sabbath are great.

The only post of yours ill ever agree with

mick087 wrote: »
    Most people have a dreadful taste in music.
    I have an excellent taste in music :pac:

But your doctor told me your deaf

McGaggs wrote: »
    Pfft, I get my Balkan inspired Peruvian folktronica smuggled out on minidisc.

I get my Afghan music smuggled out in a complete radiogram thats located in a camels arse. Sometimes I can't get all the manure out and I think thats why the sounds sound sh!t

Ipso wrote: »
    And the Marilyn Manson, Slipknot type stuff. Music to wet the bed to

And also to spread excrement all over the wallpaper

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Kylta wrote: »
    And also to spread excrement all over the wallpaper

Wallpaper = shít

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Wallpaper = shít

I blamed the parents the lad didn't even want Walls. How can you be rebellious if you have walls with wallpaper on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

You haven’t lived until you’ve heard Who’s Eddie’s rendition of Wagon Wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I find people who are almost exclusively into one genre or style of music to be quite strange. I went to school with a lot of lads who divided themselves into three groups; the rockers were into stuff like Metallica, Slayer, Foo Fighters, Green Day, punk bands; the next group were into the dreadful claptrap that was popular dance music at the time; the final contingent were into indie music - REM, Radiohead, Weezer etc.

Most of them eventually grew out of that clique or grouping they had identified themselves as being a part of. That said, you'd still see a few of the hardcore rockers wandering around the town - receding hairline, ponytail, unkempt beard; wallet chain, denim jacket, slow lumbering walk, cider face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

If you want to listen to country and Irish and don’t inflict it on me, work away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I find people who are almost exclusively into one genre or style of music to be quite strange. I went to school with a lot of lads who divided themselves into three groups; the rockers were into stuff like Metallica, Slayer, Foo Fighters, Green Day, punk bands; the next group were into the dreadful claptrap that was popular dance music at the time; the final contingent were into indie music - REM, Radiohead, Weezer etc.

Most of them eventually grew out of that clique or grouping they had identified themselves as being a part of. That said, you'd still see a few of the hardcore rockers wandering around the town - receding hairline, ponytail, unkempt beard; wallet chain, denim jacket, slow lumbering walk, cider face.

What were you into yourself back in the day? T. R. Dallas?