Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Beersmith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭jaykay74

As someone who doesnt mind Miguel it grates me to hear Isak pronouced as [I]sak rather than [EE]sak. Most people use the [EE]sak way, no ? Unless I am way off…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Hotkeys I can take or leave but the new one… "You seem exceedingly smug" from Dunphy is great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Blud

Christ I hate when they talk wrestling. They might as well be talking about an actor dying as Hulk Hogan. It shouldn't be on a sports podcast, it's not interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭halfpastneverr

Ah I thought it was a grand episode, slow sports news day anyway unless you want more tiresome transfer news chat. I quite liked the chat between Ken & Branno beforehand too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

This is a bizarre take. Wrestling is absolutely in the show’s wheelhouse and given how much wrestling has influenced combat sports and politics it’s completely valid to talk about probably the most consequential wrestler of all time dying. This is a show that talked about Bob Dylan being shíte for 15 minute a few months ago, if you don’t like them having broad taste the problem is your expectations and not the podcast.

With respect, yours is the weird take. First, to say that combat sports that have generally been around for centuries have been influenced by WWF/E would be taken as an insult to any athletes in those fields. To argue that Hogan has gad any influence on politics is equally as bizarre - appearing on stage at a rally doesn't influence politics. There are people actually elected to roles who don't influence politics, a cheerleader like Hogan definitely does not.

Your Bob Dylan comparison is relevant, but then he didn't have an entire show with a guest speaker allocated. Ozzy died during the week and his wife has had more influence on current events than Hogan, what with her comments on Kneecap etc, and I absolutely wouldn't expect a show on that either.

Hogan dying doesn't provoke a sports discussion as he was not involved in sport, and shouldn't provoke a politics discussion as a mere useful idiot to Trump. It was a dire episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,293 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

to be fair it definitely influences both. It’s not that combat sports use wrestling moves, it’s that combat sports use wrestling everything else. UFC in particular… building characters and hype, promotions, the bravado around the owners and commentators… McGregor was pure WWE. (There’s also plenty of crossover in the participants; Ken Shamrock, CM Punk, Brock Lesner, Rhonda Rousey etc).

And every bit of MAGA and the MAGA playbook is unfortunately hugely inspired by WWE. Trump is a literal WWE character, speaking in ‘kayfabe’ and ‘shoot’ terms. It’s terrifying, but it’s true. (And of course again plenty of crossover in participants here too… Linda McMahon is current secretary for education, then there’s the likes of Jessie Ventura, Kane etc).

Also, the show has never been just sports… the lads cover things they’re interested in. It sounds like you just hate wrestling, which is grand, but Eoin obviously used to love it so I can’t really begrudge him diving into it once every few years (and that’s really all it is).

Tbh I’d actually love an interview with some/any of the big Irish names in WWE at the moment, going more into the athletic performance aspect of it.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Firstly - you're absolutely right, I do hate wrestling - guilty as charged! I cant understand any adult who would even have a passing interest to be fair, but then I doubt the crowds at wrestling are populated by the brightest people.

There is obviously a wrestling influence on combat sports re some aspects outside the ring - the ring walk maybe one, but nothing in the actual sport itself. Combat sports don't draw influence from dramatic performance. I see less influence on hype/promotion - that's there in every sport. When football brought in the individual walk in for the club world cup, nobody thought of wrestling - it was clearly NFL influenced. Bravado is there in all combat sports - all the way down to traveller call out videos!

None of Hogan's politics stuff warranted a podcast, and none of his wrestling stuff did either. Clearly the lads can do what they want, and me starting a post with "i hate when they talk wrestling" is also a completely fair position to take. It was the least interesting pod of a summer, which is saying something in Lions season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Raoul

I know a few people who are highly intelligent and like wrestling and even go to some of the Irish wrestling events. It's not my thing but I don't see why you would insult people that like it.

Does the NFL do individual walk ins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭dog_pig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,059 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Enjoyed the Hogan podcast a lot, I like when they sway from the norm (and rugby). Hogan is right in my wheelhouse of characters that I either know of or know well from early childhood. There will be some maybe good, some maybe sh*t documentaries about him over the next few years, and I'll consume them as well.

For someone as into rugby as Simon to think that was a penalty is wild, wild stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Raoul

Whatever you think of Branno, he is bringing some great content to the podcast. I thought the UCD episode was fantastic stuff.

The BBC guy thinking anyone here thought the fecking Lions was the pinnacle for Australia really shows the bubble these tours operate within over in Britain.

I know it’s the summer but Christ find something better than cricket to talk about lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,293 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

That's actually the kind of thing I wish they'd do a lot more of - I want interesting stories from any sports stuff that's happening around the world. Like, we had the first Chinese snooker world champion, and it's a fella who was just back from a ban in a match fixing scandal, and it didn't get an episode. We had an Irish woman working as the race strategist at a formula 1 team that they never spoke to, and still haven't now that she's one of the best F1 pundits on tv. And after Diana Taurasi's comments on the WNBA, I'd love an episode going into that. These are all character things with huge potential for interesting insight. So whenever there's something noteworthy going on, even (or especially!) in niche sports, I think they should cover it.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Big time. Have said here before, I'd love a Transworld sport element to the show.

I'm a massive ken fan but i definitely don't need another ken reads twitter show.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Also wish they did more niche pieces, like they would do on OTB, cut down a bit on soccer, but the amount of bitching I see on their Patreon page and elsewhere the rare times it's not wall to wall Premier League coverage, that'll never happen.

They had the opportunity to look at Eddie Jordan's career and overall influence when he died but they barely managed five minutes at the end of an episode. I wouldn't be holding my breath for a show about Bernie Collins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭cmac2009

They had an extensive and in-depth user survey some years ago and I can't recall anything changing thereafter. Seemed like a pointless exercise. Maybe people just wanted more of the same. They could really do with a bit of a refresh. Doesn't have to be major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Yeah they never even mentioned it after it had been completed. Very odd altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Hoppermcgrath

I’ve like many listened since their Newstalk days and subscribed all the way. I think Indo Sports podcast is already a better podcast. I often skip days on SC feed. Never do that with Indo and I love all sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭atilladehun

I wouldn't agree with that at all. The indo one is just another show, like many out there, and its good but it's not compatible to the unique offering of second captains.

I know i said i wanted a broader scope from SC, but not in a bits and bobs style. Top quality contributions, wouldn't like the lads chatting through all manner of sports.

The SC dynamic is what most podcasts dream of. There's lots of friends who have podcasts but they don't have the writing talent.. there's plenty of pros that have podcasts too, but they don't have the dynamic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Cricket is great.

SC should just be Ken reading out tweets and Murph rhapsodising about cricket.

For GAA at least, the Indo Sport’s coverage of the buildup to the All-Irelands was very good.

Second Captains isn’t nearly as unique as it once might have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,272 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I stopped listening to the second captains a while back - just didn't have the time. I do find that the Bits & Bobs format that Indo Sports pod does is great, it might be the only one of their pods I listen to in a week and it gives a nice overview on a bunch of things. As said here by others, the main focus has to be the Premier League which makes the podcast less compelling if you're not a soccer fan.

I'm enjoying their Second Captains Saturday show though on Radio 1…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Hoppermcgrath

I would have totally agreed with you previously on the uniqueness of SC dynamic, but as is suggested above by another poster I don’t know how unique it is anymore. Take hurling. I cannot get enough hurling podcasts but I find I listen to Indo, Smaller Fish, NT Hurling Pod at a minimum before I listen to SC. The dynamic between Skehill/Paul Murphy/Will; Mullane/Eddie B, Verney; Willie/Cyril/Brian/Bubbles etc is in my view more natural and flowing than SC. It’s not that I don’t enjoy SC still at all (I personally love the cricket chat and would listen to Ken on PL for eternity) it’s just that there are comparative offerings that just weren’t there before and I don’t think SC is always essential listening (except for Ken and PL). I personally think Indo is, but happy to differ on that. Thanks!

Murph stanning for the Camogie board after such an obviously unhinged statement was not on my bingo card. I can’t imagine many of the players will have appreciated it so he’s not even going to bat for the native sports here, just the idiots who caused the embarrassment we suffered through earlier in the year.