Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭flazio

You can unsubscribe from seeing their boards posts. Just put them on your ignore list.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭kksaints

It's funny seeing how anything on the LOI on the podcast rattles them so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭CiaranW

I'd like more on LOI personally!

It's on the up and it's nice and fresh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I love the LoI coverage too. Great that they're increasing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Domestic soccer is popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Fully with you on this, the stuff with Branno is getting tedious.

We get it, you're mad bants but please refrain from reminding us every show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Did Branno just sign up this Everton fan at random or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 hibknight

I agree with some posters that I am finding the podcasts not as interesting / enjoyable as before, I'm not at a stage where I would consider unsubscribing though.

I think they could do with a freshen up of the podcast but I'm not really sure how they would do that or what they can change when they are clearly very successful already. Maybe there is just a lot of sport and the topics just all merge and seem the same day to day or week to week.

What changes do people think they could make? I know they did the survey a few years ago but that seemed to have no impact.

I was also thinking (don't think it will happen as they have a great following and make a lot of money) will any of them leave and could the podcast survive without one of them? Eoin has a good gig with premier sports, maybe he could do more permanent TV presenting. I could see Ken one day just packing it in (please don't!!), I think they are the key to the success and it wouldn't work without either, Ken would be a bigger loss if that were to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭jones

Yeah I agree, out of the 3 front lads I think Ken would be the biggest risk to just pack it in and go live in a cave in tibet for a year.

The mix between the 3 is what works for me I always think it's slightly off when any of the three are not present (yes even Murph) 😁

I think if you took Ken or Eoghan out of it I would probably unsubscribe - but I can't foresee any of them going anywhere tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,576 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Branno himself is alright (except on certain topics), but I feel like his increased inclusion drags the whole thing into bantsville a bit. He’s like the excited puppy that distracts everyone else. Not to mention that with the extra voice there’s less room for mad Ken free-forms.

Otherwise, I’d love more niche one-off stories. The endless cycle of soccer/rugby/GAA is grand, but we need more breaks from it to have a peek into some interesting story elsewhere. I know they do that sometimes already, but I want more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭boccy23

Lately it is the Political pods that I have gotten any value from. Even with Ken, the PL pods have been reduced to VAR or money or some random listener abuse. I like American Football, but they had too much US Murph on recently. If I want coverage, I will use US feeds for that.

As you say, they seem to have no niche coverage these days. Yesterday's Sharlene Maudsley one was nice and a case in point. Not something you get everywhere.

Yeah, Branno is fine, but he's becoming gradually more prominent in the show and he falls into the Murph trap of not being that engaging of a storyteller.

For instance, I'm always entertained by Ken, no matter how trivial the anecdote. Branno seems to have endless stories of meeting people - and none of them are particularly interesting to listen IMO, but maybe others like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Island Voter

Branno interjected the other day (cant remember which episode) when it was mentioned that someone they were talking about may be a Trump supporter. Being a Trump supporter is allowed, Branno. Excluding people based on their political opinions is…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭deisedude

I'd question the intelligence or lack thereof of anyone who is a Trump supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭MattressRick

I agree on the few posts about not being as drawn to the Second Captains lately as I used to be. For me, maybe that'll subside when the six nations finishes, I've lost interest in the Irish rugby teams journey to all time greatness, so I can't listen to any more breathless coverage or praise. I like the gaa shows, I think Conor McManus is good. Hes a pretty fluid talker.

On the topic of the 3 main presenters, I find that I'm happy with a show with just Eoin and Ken, I don't miss Murph as he interrupts people too much for my liking. I find there's a void when Eoin or Ken are missing. They're quite funny in different ways.

I listened to today's show reviewing the Liverpool Aston Villa match. I can't understand the negativity towards Dion Fanning in some posts on here. I always find him very entertaining, he comes out with some very funny takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭halfpastneverr

I was posting on a discussion board about SC, and going by some other posters a good few subscribers have the same opinion in regard to the pod being quite stale. Thanks for your super cool contribution though, your bus analogy really was spot on.

Are we just supposed to post positive contributions so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dog_pig

The mega fans on here tend to be sensitive to criticism of their favourite podcast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I love the 6 nations, but I hate the coverage. Irish rugby is too small, so you never get real criticism of players when other irish are involved. Need a perspective from outside Ireland in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

I guess Heimir was right after all.

Hopefully less bluster out of Bradley after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,980 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

…perfectly fine.

The Charlie O'Leary interview is a welcome surprise, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Lots of room for any discussion positive or negative, but posting that you are unsubscribing is prime attention-seeking behaviour. Nobody cares whether you do or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

but people are dying to know other people’s favourite interlude sting.

It’s an Internet forum with free discussion, if you don’t like it scroll on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I'd have to say I'm not a huge rugby guy but I do like Gerry Thornley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

with all due respect, it isn’t up to you to decide who can post nor what they can post on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Hes excellent and fair play to him calling out OTB for their arrogance over the Wales game

And this comment would make me question yours. See, political opinions are fun. Are we going shunning people again?

It's actually persecution or at least grounds for such. But you show you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭cmac2009

"political opinions are fun"... I suspect you've just reinforced his point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,980 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

He passed comment on someone’s political leanings, don’t be a snowflake.

The O’Leary interview was fantastic and a great listen, he’s in some nick for 101. Absolute legend.