Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,131 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Yeah, great that he's being charged and all, but I automatically press the skip button the second I hear that music. Glad it was successful and people liked it, but not for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,200 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I wouldn't necessarily agree with anything Ken Early has to say about football.

But that penalty in the Manchester derby was complete bullshit

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,200 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Looks like the Kingdom of Mordor is going to get the 2034 world cup.

It's like FIFA's aim is to punish fans (while extracting billions into their back pockets of course)

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭atilladehun

😂😂😂

Exactly, talking about sport has nothing to do with the truth, accuracy or even sense. That applies to the athletes who have to persuade themselves all sorts of lies to compete (see Jordan) and the journalists who have to fill columns and podcasts.

Sport is about entertainment through jeopardy. Athletes create that with their ability. Journalists frame that with their ability to talk about it.

It doesn't matter if Ken is right or wrong. It matter how he says it. If he was the oracle then there would be no need to have other contributors. Having other contributors with other views is entertaining because the actual views don't matter. It's their ability to express that view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,305 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Jesus what the hell was that politics pod? Verbal diarrhoea from both Ken and the guest. Hardest of hard passes.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

That fella was saying 'everything was better back in my day' in a more verbose fashion.

He also gave off "cancel culture is bad but I want to cancel the youth/woke people" vibes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Ken didn’t seem to have anything interesting to ask him at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭SheepsClothing

I think Ken wanted to talk about the effect of social media on the phenomenon described in his book. When it turned out the guest isn't on social media at all, he didn't know where to take things.

It's a bit of an oversight on his part, to write a book ostensibly about cancel culture and the dogmatic entrenchment of more and more extreme ideas, while having no knowledge of this piece of technology that has profoundly changed the way humans communicate ideas. Its like writing a book about air travel, when you've never flown on a commercial plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

When you put it like that it reminds me of Oisin mcconville saying anti Dublin bias was the biggest load of bollocks while also saying he wasn’t on social media (where bias/borderline hate of Dublin GAA is at its most obvious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That's two poor political pods in a row now.

The Aoife Moore interview was pretty dull too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Disagree about the Aoife Moore one.

I understand why they can't/won't, but I would like them to cover more Irish contemporary politics too, but I could see that driving audience away...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The Chris Waddle chat made me think about The Fast Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Anytime I hear his name it reminds me of:

'They're all just headphones'

Only about 12 mins into today's episode, but by jaysus Ken is talking some nonsense about Ange.

Confused as to why anyone would admire Ange's tactics last night, it was ridiculous to watch. Much better chance of getting a result against that Chelsea side whilst parking the bus.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I thought it was one of the funniest episodes in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

They're finally talking about Spurs, eh? :D

To be fair to Ang, Dier was inches away from equalising and Son came very close too. Had they equalised, they could have held out and he'd be the greatest manager of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,576 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Yeah, would find it very very hard to disagree with Ken on that one in fairness - like, it was absolute suicide, and removed his own teams impetus in the game. The only possible way they could've gotten anything is if Chelsea were so bad as to not take the repeated easy chances being given. The chances were such that simply making the right decisions would remove any possibility of the keeper doing anything about it - had Cucerella gently rolled an easy ball to Sterling for instance, they'd have been ahead even earlier and there's nothing Vicario could've done. And even an attack as rubbish as Chelsea's managed to knock in 3 eventually.

Disagree with Delaney as well, saying there was no chance of holding out by sitting back - this Chelsea team have struggled really badly against stout defending. There's a reason they were averaging about a point a game. Whatever about a bit of fatalism when it first happened - but when it had gotten to 70+ minutes, having been carved open time and time again at that point, then surely you say "ok, enough of that, lets now try and hang on for 20 mins". And I'd say they'd have had a much better chance of scoring by hitting Son on the break as Chelsea commit bodies forward too - like, in that situation there's not too many lads in football that you'd want to have more on the break than Son.

It was great to watch, and I thoroughly enjoyed, but it was a bad decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

They were also repeatedly inches away from conceding another goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

Chelsea should have scored about 10. The fact Dier almost put them in front is more a reflection on Chelsea and Poch then it was on Ange.

Saying that, it almost worked and its hard to criticise Ange for it. If they went 2-1 down earlier, we have no idea how they would have reacted. If they sat back, they almost certainly would have lost the game too. He tried something different and it didn't work.

You're second paragraph is probably a fairly balanced view of things. Ken's criticism was completely OTT as far as I was concerned. What was the phrase he used early on? Was it "credibility shattering" or something similarly ridiculous?

Does Ken say these things just to get a reaction. Feels like he's putting on a persona at times, not that it's a bad thing as its entertaining

I think there is an element of that alright. I'm not saying the podcast wasn't entertaining by the way. It absolutely was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I don't even know if it's a persona: I think he genuinely let's himself get carried away sometimes. But, sure, it's entertaining like you said.

I can remember just four weeks ago when he was hyping up the Luis Diaz disallowed goal like it was a watershed moment for football: it was never going to be the same.

Ken never takes into account that football always forgets, it just moves onto the next storyline/controversy. Things that happened four weeks ago may as well have happened four years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Ken is an intelligent guy and knows that most of these controversies are ephemeral. However he has to find content to interest people on an almost daily basis. Call it a persona perhaps…

Really enjoyed the interview with Neil the amputee footballer, seems like a decent fella