Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

There's probably a market for something more than someone from Kerry/Dublin/Kilkenny telling me about all the All-Irelands they've won, Murph is usually articulate and interesting when talking about sport anyway, looking forward to starting it in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

There is indeed absolutely a market for it. The majority of Irish sportspeople across multiple generations in Ireland, all parts of the island and all socio economic backgrounds, are people just like Murph.

I'd have no interest at all in reading another book about an inter-county player - club GAA is where all the flavour is. I think it's very arguable that there's nothing more culturally relevant to Ireland than club GAA and, rather than it being something nobody is asking for, it's actually a subject there's a notable dearth of literature addressing. You're likely in the minority if you don't see it.

Post edited by elefant on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Ive read The Club by Christy O’Connor. That told a story about the place of a club in the local community. From what I’ve heard, Murph’s book seems like a bunch of fairly random anecdotes. Which is fine, but Im not interested in reading it. Make of that what you will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think there's a market for it.

It's been well publicised, in the context of books published about the GAA, and don't underestimate how much of an influence that has when people are struggling to think of a vaguely appropriate present to give some sports fan in their lives, - especially in the run up to Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Shock horror! GAA fan claims GAA to be the most culturally relevant thing to Ireland...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

It's mad , most of the country don't care about the GAA. But they genuinely believe it's be all and end all of people's lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭bamayang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭siblers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

I don't think the Christmas book gift market is enough of a market to justify it.

I just can't see a reason to read a book about a random club player. I couldn't give a shite about club GAA. Murphy doesn't have a particular hook either.

I hope I'm wrong and he does well.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I wish him the best with the book but it's ... "not for me".

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Rough night for Ken's hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Scummy Irish…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,198 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Jones found out, a complete spoofer stealing a wage.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,131 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Murph this time next year

S02E06-zSUJ1OZL-subtitled.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭bamayang

I wonder who does the audio beds now? I’ve felt for the last year they’re not nearly as good as the old ones. And today proved it for me.

They played the “just so fresh and smooth” one, which is editing gold. The choice of music, the random Babooshka, and the little “nietya nietya” all mesh together so well.

And then just after they played the recent one about Ken not going to weddings. But it’s so poor, it was just full sentences from the lads mashed into the song, no bit of subtlety at all. And I think during the World Cup, they added the “Arron aardvark” comment into the original World Cup bed “littlest hobo tune”, and you can very clearly notice the very poorly done recent additions against the old gold.

This is a completely pointless observation, but I felt I had to get it off my sad and lonely chest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I felt like they intentionally made it ****/cheesy to suit the segment. They also had to throw it together in less than 24 hrs.

I'd assume some of the other ones would take a lot of work to edit together, not something they'd be able to do in a couple of hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,301 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I can't remember if I put it here before or not, but I get the impression that Mark must be off working on something else (another BBC pod maybe?), based on the lack of any new audio beds of any decent quality in quite some time. Plus there's been the occasional production hitch, I always view this being a sign that Simon or Branno now are in charge more than Mark.

Anyone else's Spotify not updated yet with yesterday's episodes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭jones

Is it just me or does Trimble constantly contradict himself in almost everything he says on rugby?

I've noticed it any time he's on and even yesterday he's saying no way where South Africa holding anything back but then went on to say they inexplicably didn't contest some line outs near the end. I find him to be a bundle of contradictions

Post edited by jones on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,301 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Rugby is inundated with former players from the same era (Horgan, Trimble, Ferris, Heaslip, O'Driscoll to name a few) who seem to be pundits because they played, and not necessarily because of their punditry skill. It's a pity, we're possibly going to win the World Cup and the coverage is going to be the likes of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dog_pig

It’s good that they’ve taken a step back from that kind of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,496 ✭✭✭ongarite

It took WAY too long for Ken's Henry handball audiobed to be played yesterday when discussing Newcastle game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Think that's a bit harsh on BOD. He's actually capable of his technical insight, as he has demonstrated on BT in the past.

I would take him out and add in Kearney to the above. A boring weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Wasn't yesterday but up to date from this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I wasnt keen on listening to the ryder cup preview as not much interest but it was good craic. Mainly taking the mickey out of golf, the ryder cup and various players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ken gets most of his news from /r/soccer I'd say

The audiobed of Dunphy talking about Ireland cruelly losing out on World Cup qualification in 1958 is probably the best one they've ever done, but I don't want them to play it that often because I'd get sick of it otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Eeeesh, poor aul Malachy won't be enjoying this particular Ryder Cup after all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,198 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Which one was that? I heard Dunphy's voice and naturally hit skip

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.