Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl petronas oil

• 26-07-2020 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭

Lidl has petronas oil for 7.99 a litre (last week it was tenner)good value if you do your own servicing might be handy for someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

You need the know the spec of engine oil your car requires.... The day of just doing an oil change with a gallon of 10/w40 is well gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

Oops! wrote: »
    You need the know the spec of engine oil your car requires.... The day of just doing an oil change with a gallon of 10/w40 is well gone.

You're just pointing out the obvious if you're doing a oil change probably know what engine oil you need. Spec I need was 5w-30 to vw spec 504.00/507.00 which they have 8 euros for good oil like that is good value

Whocare wrote: »
    You're just pointing out the obvious if you're doing a oil change probably know what engine oil you need. Spec I need was 5w-30 to vw spec 504.00/507.00 which they have 8 euros for good oil like that is good value

You'd be surprised how many people it's not that obvious to... Oil is never cheap when your buying it by the litre.

People can make up there own mind on that .if you think €7.99 for good oil like petronas is dear good for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I paid €23 for 1 litre of Castrol a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

Modern cars and their engines are far too expensive to be penny pinching about cheap lidl engine oil.. I'd buy 5 litres of a known brand from the motor factors... at least I know I'm not putting ****e into my engine.. and if there was an issue I'd prefer complaining to a motor factors than lidl.. I suppose ye won't bother changing the oil filter either..

Turbohymac wrote: »
    Modern cars and their engines are far too expensive to be penny pinching about cheap lidl engine oil.. I'd buy 5 litres of a known brand from the motor factors... at least I know I'm not putting ****e into my engine.. and if there was an issue I'd prefer complaining to a motor factors than lidl.. I suppose ye won't bother changing the oil filter either..

You know Petronas is a Fortune Global 500 company?

Lidl are selling the oil. That’s about it. If oil meets the spec your car needs then it’s good enough.

What are you on? Petronas is one of biggest brands of oil be in same level of Castrol

You shouldn't really be relying when you haven't a clue what you're talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Brand snob alert! What a plonker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

Sorry lads but not from lidl.. groceries yes..car oil no

Oh and I'd also keep the nasty comments to yerselves.. buy whatever makes ye happy ..let me know when lidl starts selling toyotas and VW cars..they'll probably be a steal

You still haven't a clue what you're talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Just putting this here...
    lewis-hamilton-mercedes-amg-f1.jpg

I don't see your local motor factors sponsoring a formula 1 team :D

Guess what my local motor factors sells!
    3299-EB79-9305-4-D49-8254-641517-ABA4-F7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Guess what my local motor factors sells!

Lidl oil ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

..let me know when lidl starts selling toyotas and VW cars..they'll probably be a steal

Theyre not making the oil, theyre selling it.

If Lidl bought a few thousand Yaris' off Toyota and stuck them on special, they'd still be the same Yaris the local Toyota dealer is selling.

Theyre not making the oil, theyre selling it.

If Lidl bought a few thousand Yaris' off Toyota and stuck them on special, they'd still be the same Yaris the local Toyota dealer is selling.

Lidl were actually doing Opel Corsas in Germany a few years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Oh and I'd also keep the nasty comments to yerselves.. buy whatever makes ye happy ..let me know when lidl starts selling toyotas and VW cars..they'll probably be a steal

Jesus H - you've just reminded me why the internet is actually such a dangerous place, and why getting you're info from boards is not a good idea !

I'm off to BT to buy my engine oil (BendOverLube) - if they sell it it must be the best !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

How is €8 a litre a good price? Can get it for near half that online.

It’s €12.60 a litre (€63 for 5l) in Halfords.

How is €8 a litre a good price? Can get it for near half that online.

Were and is it same brand ? .you know were talking about a top brand like petronas it be in same League Castrol .not some cheap rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

When is it going on sale? I'll buy a few.

Last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Sheet, I'll head down in the morning and scoop up whatever's left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭turbostan

You're taking the mick right?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Were and is it same brand ? .you know were talking about a top brand like petronas it be in same League Castrol .not some cheap rubbish

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Quantum-Longlife-3-5W-30-Fully-Synthetic-Engine-Oil-New-4x-5-Litre-Bottles-20L/264317403821?epid=7032265364&hash=item3d8a8b82ad:g:PRYAAOSwxe5emp1a

That work out at least 5.50 a litre and it wouldn't be a major brand of oil like petronas personally I prefer use one of major oil brands. In my eyes it well worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,790 ✭✭✭jmreire

When I need engine oil, for any make, I check out either opieoils or micks garage, and if you are driving Mercedes, then try mercedesbensof newcastle.com. Between them, you can get good bargains in top quality manufacture approved oils. And generally, once the oil meets the vehicle manufacturer's specification's, it will be OK to use it, regardless of the name on the tin / bottle etc.

jmreire wrote: »
    When I need engine oil, for any make, I check out either opieoils or micks garage, and if you are driving Mercedes, then try mercedesbensof newcastle.com. Between them, you can get good bargains in top quality manufacture approved oils. And generally, once the oil meets the vehicle manufacturer's specification's, it will be OK to use it, regardless of the name on the tin / bottle etc.

I worked in motor factors for a few years. Dealt with a few reps from cheaper oil crowds breaking in to the market. They'll admit their stuff isn't as good.

Yes, it meets the manufacturers specs. It's all about the various additives the different companies use. The cheap stuff will break down quicker. So if you're using cheaper oils, dont be leaving it in a car as long as you might for bigger names. If you change your oil on the button , every 12 months (unless you do mileage to warrant more frequent changes) then you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That work out at least 5.50 a litre and it wouldn't be a major brand of oil like petronas personally I prefer use one of major oil brands. In my eyes it well worth it

Quantum is the vw brand they sell though dealer network so id have no worries at all using it.

turbostan wrote: »
    You're taking the mick right?!!

Swear to god. It was on a Sunday and VAG 2.0 engines are pretty fussy about what oil they get. Killed me to pay it tbh.

The real killer is it’s going in for service tomorrow anyway. Could probably have gotten away with generic 5w30 without the secret blend of herbs and spices.

€23 was the price with the trade card too. Retail is slightly more again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It’s €12.60 a litre (€63 for 5l) in Halfords.

Anybody going to Halfords to buy oil is an idiot

Slava Ukrainii

True!

Although in my case there was nowhere else open that sold what I needed so I got rightly rode for 1l of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Good price for the Castrol. The Lidl price is grand for to buy a litre for to have in the boot in case your car burns a bit. For servicing you would want to be buying 5L minimum some cars even take six litres now. Most of the time I buy it by the 20 L drum. 3-4 cars on the yard all is using VW spec oil none are VW by the way. Working out at sub 4/ L. At present using Rhenoil I think is the name

Slava Ukrainii

mickdw wrote: »
    Quantum is the vw brand they sell though dealer network so id have no worries at all using it.

Thank Good to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

Not fair. Sometimes the have great offers (or at least, used to have).

I worked in motor factors for a few years. Dealt with a few reps from cheaper oil crowds breaking in to the market. They'll admit their stuff isn't as good.

Yes, it meets the manufacturers specs. It's all about the various additives the different companies use. The cheap stuff will break down quicker. So if you're using cheaper oils, dont be leaving it in a car as long as you might for bigger names. If you change your oil on the button , every 12 months (unless you do mileage to warrant more frequent changes) then you should be fine.

In each and every case, the frequency of the changes is important...I remember with a brand new Skoda Octavia back in 2012, the recommended changes were 30'000 Klms,, a fact the salesman was keen to push. nevertheless, when it reached the 15'000 mark, I took it back to the dealers to have the oil changed ( normally, I do the oil changes on all the family cars myself, as I'm in the trade ) And in the dealership, they asked me had I got the letter from Skoda officially changing the interval back to 15'000. I hadn't at that point, but told them I wanted it changed at 15'000 regardless of what Skoda recommended. It was the first change, and for the warranty had to be done in the Skoda dealership. My normal frequency is 10'000 Klms ( or 365 days, which ever comes first ) The oil I posted in my last post is from a Mercedes Dealership, and fully matches Mercedes BEVO guidelines, so I'm happy with that. The container holds 20 Ltrs, so enough for 3 years of oil changes, and it works out at very good value. ( you can see the prices in the ad, even allowing for the exchange rate. Delivery was free to my address pal, and cost me €7 to pay delivery to my house ) But from time to time, you can get good deals from either Micks Garage or Opie oil's. Worst case is if you dont have time, and have to buy there and then from Halford's etc. chances are you will pay top dollar for your oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Im curious , how do you know your average indie garage uses the correct grade oil and quality. Is there a possibility he could be using a big drum of the cheapest most popular grade oil say 5w30 and be telling the customers.
    "Oh yeah we used the correct oil for you car yes it takes 5w40 thats what we put in ! Oh what brand you ask? Oh we only use Valvoline Synthetic;) When in fact he bought a 200 litre of the cheapest non synthetic 5w30 he could get and used that:rolleyes: there really is no way of ever telling unless you actually ask to be taken out to the oil barrell in the back. Or going to the expense of having the oil lab tested that no-one will ever do

Im curious , how do you know your average indie garage uses the correct grade oil and quality. Is there a possibility he could be using a big drum of the cheapest most popular grade oil say 5w30 and be telling the customers.
    "Oh yeah we used the correct oil for you car yes it takes 5w40 thats what we put in ! Oh what brand you ask? Oh we only use Valvoline Synthetic;) When in fact he bought a 200 litre of the cheapest non synthetic 5w30 he could get and used that:rolleyes: there really is no way of ever telling unless you actually ask to be taken out to the oil barrell in the back. Or going to the expense of having the oil lab tested that no-one will ever do

Thats pretty much it. All you can do is try to do your homework as much as possible on a garage.

I do my own work where practical and have a mate that has his own garage at home for stuff that I cant get done on the driveway or dont have time for so tend not to have to deal with garages but I came across such a wide variety of attitudes in garages in my time in motor factors. From the ones that just want the absolute cheapest stuff they can get away with to very discerning ones that want the proper specs and look for certain brands, aswell as everything in between . Plenty get 2 barrels of whatever the factors are getting cheap at the time , 1 10w40 an 1 5w30 , none of your low saps stuff or manufacturer specific , just a barrel of each and every car is getting one of the other.

tphase wrote: »
    I always provide my own oil

I know I just posted about doing your homework but if youre starting off from a base of not trusting the garage to be able to supply the oil you want used, is that not a bad sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Pops_20

Is the offer still going in Lidl? I was already considering switching to Petronas Syntium 3000 E 5W-40 from Castrol Edge 5W40.
    Castrol is gone fierce dear and the offer in Lidl is savage value.

I always provide my own oil

But unless you are standing beside them how can you be sure that's what went into the car??? Just asking...

haven't checked recently but I used to get Castrol Edge on mister auto for about €10-12 a litre. Sometimes the price went crazy high but I'd wait until it dropped to a reasonable level. I'd normally get oil and filters well in advance of the next service so I could afford to wait for a good price

Its called "Advanced Planning", and its the way to go if you can do it. Best price for the best products for your car.

I am one of those "Indie mechanics".... anybody that's pulling stunts like you've described does not last too long in the trade these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

True!

Although in my case there was nowhere else open that sold what I needed so I got rightly rode for 1l of it.

Tesco sometimes have Castrol Edge VW spec oils at a tenner a litre. I always check when I go in, bought two last time and I'm about half way through the last bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

I am one of those "Indie mechanics".... anybody that's pulling stunts like you've described does not last too long in the trade these days...

Reason i ask is that i just happened to have from work a branded oil KAST sitting in shed. Decided sure may as well use this on next service. When i collected car the drum i supplied was still sitting inside his garage door unopened I knew it was mine as it was dusty. When i asked him did he use the oil i gave him he said he did I pointed to my oil still in same spot his response "ohh i had that exact brand in my own stock sure made no difference, same thing" I didnt want to annoy him with any more questions but sure anyway !

Your going to the wrong garage....

Kast is lowest-bidder supplied and rebranded as Micksgarage stuff. It’s unlikely that he found something cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

How do manage oil supplies if you service a broad range of stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

Lidl were actually doing Opel Corsas in Germany a few years ago!

Yep and they were going to do it in Ireland but some little birdies mentioned that your average Irish Joe soap wouldn't understand.