Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

R.I.P. Doorbells

• 07-07-2020 12:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭king_of_mayo

I was chatting to a lad about junk mail and cold callers (unbelievably I had a door to door sales guy call at the house last week!). Anyway, the guy was telling me that he was so irritated with years of people ignoring the "no junk mail or cold calling" signs he had all over the front of his house, he actually got rid of his doorbell entirely!

This got me thinking. What do I need one for? When people are coming over, I'll usually get a quick call along the lines of "We're outside".

For parcels, we have a little porche area (with the outer door unlocked) that the postmen just put them into.

Who wants to use a doorbell? Kids up to no good, door to door sales guys, people with bad intentions.

I think I'm gonna get rid of the doorbell and I imagine with more and more people wfh, we'll see the end of the them altogether.

Edit: My home office is downstairs so I can keep an eye on the porche and no ne'er-do-wells would get my parcels. Plus we live in a good area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

I use ring doorbell, handy for telling delivery people where to put a parcel or the door to door type to feck off from somewhere else entirely. Even with out a door bell these feckers bang windows to get attention.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

I dunno.. this seems more like a Mr Fegelien kind of thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't have a doorbell, and never had. In furtherance, I don't answer the door to the sort of mentally deranged individual who would actually enter the property, march up the drive as if they owned the place and then if you don't mind proceed to tap the door like a wild animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

You have a Porsche in your drive especially for putting parcels into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

If you have kids and they play with other kids in your neighbourhood then you probably need a doorbell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭king_of_mayo

Pherekydes wrote: »
    You have a Porsche in your drive especially for putting parcels into?

Ha! My bad spelling, I wish I had one!
    fjon wrote: »
    If you have kids and they play with other kids in your neighbourhood then you probably need a doorbell.

I don't yet. But I imagine they (my kids) could just go outside and Timmy and Wendy down the street will go outside when they see them. And vice versa. Or they pre-arrange times to meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I, recently, had one of those ‘Ring’ camera-doorbells installed.

It’s great, before I’d just ignore any calls that weren’t “expected”. Now, I just open the app and tell them to go away from the comfort of my couch.

I’d recommend anyone who has no time for “time burglars” to invest in one as well.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I've never lived in a house with a doorbell. I don't think I'd like one either.

Effin 'Ring' doorbells :pac: As if having someone ring your house doorbell or knock on the door unexpectedly when at home isn't bad enough. In this day and age an unexpected caller is rarely good.

One of the benefits of being out and about imo is that one doesn't have to worry about the doorbell ringing/someone knocking on the door.

No incommunicado though outdoors either as one still has their mobile on their person. Having one of them ring doorbells as well - couldn't hack that. The worst of both worlds:p. I guess it does have its purposes, mainly getting goods delivered that have been ordered online. Not something I do, well not currently anyway.

Also, as has been mentioned not having a doorbell is no barrier to having someone rap/knock almost violently on your front(backdoor if you have one) door or window/s. Unless one happens to live in a salubrious apartment block where visitors need to be buzzed in. If there's no doorbell then they can go and get the fuq. Still, they would probably chance ringing another occupant's doorbell - can't win really :(

I've never lived in a house with a doorbell. I don't think I'd like one either.

It's absolute madness when you think about it. We all have these little buttons, free for anyone to push to get our attention. Someone could wake up our entire house tonight if they wanted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

I live in an apartment, doorbell has never worked, I don't miss it! I'm close enough to the main door that the postman just shouts my name if he has a package for me and I'll hear him if I'm home. Anyone else who needs me can ring when they're outside. Even if I did have a doorbell, I wouldn't be answering the door to randomers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

I dunno.. this seems more like a Mr Fegelien kind of thread.

but surely the postman would be gay, or Feg would be interested in him … feeding off signals...

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

It's absolute madness when you think about it. We all have these little buttons, free for anyone to push to get our attention. Someone could wake up our entire house tonight if they wanted!

When you actually think about it, who actually knocks on doors or rings doorbells anymore anyway, aside from slightly unstable creatures like children, politicians, Jehovah's Witnesses and such, and delivery drivers who have yet to hear of mobile phones?

Plus we live in a good area.

:D Bragger

The opposite of a thinly veiled live in a good area thread :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Never understood the disdain people have for others knocking on their door. I even started a thread on it last year. It is basic common courtesy. Removing the means of anybody calling to your house is ridiculous, IMO. So what if its a charity or anything. It takes, what, 30 seconds out of your day?

Thinking on it now, I've knocked on strangers' doors before for loads of reasons......to hand over incorrectly delivered post, to let them know their car lights were still on, to let them know their keys are in the lock, when I found money in their driveway etc.

Is your life really that important that you deem answering the door to be beneath you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

...Plus we live in a good area.

Oh, I assumed you lived in Mayo.

Where do you live then?

jimgoose wrote: »
    When you actually think about it, who actually knocks on doors or rings doorbells anymore anyway, aside from slightly unstable creatures like children, politicians, Jehovah's Witnesses and such, and delivery drivers who have yet to hear of mobile phones?

Neighbours, friends, family, couriers, postmen, delivery drivers, me when I've forgotten my keys, meter readers etc. etc.

Neighbours, friends, family, couriers, postmen, delivery drivers, me when I've forgotten my keys etc. etc.

And if you don't know my personal cellphone number, you can take a long walk off a short jetty.

Never understood the disdain people have for others knocking on their door. I even last year. It is basic common courtesy. Removing the means of anybody calling to your house is ridiculous, IMO. So what if its a charity or anything. It takes, what, 30 seconds out of your day?

Well as said in the OP, I had a door to door sales guy last week. We're in a pandemic. This is madness and dangerous. Aside from that though, why do I have to entertain any Tom, Dick or Harry would decides to call on me? My time is precious. I'll never get it back. And all those charities are bogus.

Usually I don't answer the door but will keep on eye on the drive until the individual(s) have left. If someone doesn't have my phone number, they have no business coming here.

Definitely gonna look into this Ring app.

Last time I had one was when I was renting about ten years ago. They do nothing that a knock can't do.

Oh, I assumed you lived in Mayo.

Where do you live then?
    :D Bragger

The opposite of a thinly veiled live in a good area thread :pac:

:) Not bragging. Just there's no scrotes around. Man nearby got done for drink driving a few months back though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

My doorbell sticks when pushed and goes bing. Then if I am not home it makes a faint źzzzzzzz sound inside until I return, eventually hear it, go outside to unstick it, and then it goes bong. We say things like can you unbing the doorbell or the doorbell needs a bong to each other and no one bats an eyelid.

If one is 'home alone' do you really want unsolicited callers coming to your house, if for example one happens to be in labour :D

Very bad "etiquette" if you ask me. It's not 1995 anymore - most everyone has a mobile phone nowadays.

I cannot for the life of me, think of the last time someone came into our house who did not have my wife or my phone number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I got rid of the front door. Took it off the hinges and bricked up the door frame.

Left the door bell in place though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

I never answer the door bell.
    Then they bang on the door.
    Cant win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

fjon wrote: »

It's the very reason you don't. Mine never stops fcuking ringing with bloody kids.

JimmyVik wrote: »
    Cant win.

Who bangs on the door? Let them to to blazes! They have no business on the property uninvited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Who bangs on the door? Let them to to blazes! They have no business on the property uninvited.

Everyone who thinks I didnt hear the doorbell.

JimmyVik wrote: »
    Cant win.

Or even worse, they rattle the letterbox. You just know there's a scam artist when you hear that one.

And if you don't know my personal cellphone number, you can take a long walk off a short jetty.

Your postman has your mobile number? The guards? A random neighbour who spots that your car's headlights were left on?

My time is precious. I'll never get it back.

Literally 30 seconds. Max. Unless you live in a mansion.

Your postman has your mobile number? The guards? A random neighbour who spots that your car's headlights were left on?

I have a letterbox. Some people are known to the Gardaí, and some people are known by the Gardaí. Of course not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Our doorbell hasn't worked in over twenty years. It's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

Knock Knock

Who's there?

Doorbell repair man.....

I'll get me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Get shut of doorbell and gets an addams family style knocker. When somebody knocks at your door. Fire shoots out of the knocker and happy days

I have a letterbox. Some people are known to the Gardaí, and some people are known by the Gardaí. Of course not.

And everything fits in a letterbox.

Not sure what your comment is about the Guards, but hopefully they never have cause to knock on your door for any reason seeing as you'll just ignore them.

I get the impression people are either too lazy or ignorant to bother their hole answering the door. It s a basic etiquette thing, and common courtesy. All this nonsense about time wasting or it being people looking for something is a cover-up for bad manners.

Why should you answer the doorbell? Because somebody rang it, that's why.

...It s a basic etiquette thing, and common courtesy...

No, no it is not. I disagree. You're wrong.

My time is precious. I'll never get it back. And all those charities are bogus.

Usually I don't answer the door but will keep on eye on the drive until the individual(s) have left. If someone doesn't have my phone number, they have no business coming here.

Just reading back over the thread and this post highlights the ridiculousness of it all. You don't have time to answer the feckin door yet spend it keeping an eye on the driveway like some curtain-twitcher than you would if you'd just answered the bleeding thing in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

We have a Nest doorbell to help with security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I hate my apartment buzzer. I’ve lived in this apartment for six years and it still cuts through my soul.

I get the impression people are either too lazy or ignorant to bother their hole answering the door. It s a basic etiquette thing
    Etiquette? Etiquette, to me, sounds like a pointless system of rules that have absolutely no logical reason, and have no consequence. If this is just etiquette, then I'm glad to be ignoring it.

There is one small patch of land which is your own dominion and in which you may literally shut your door on the world. Even as a matter of law, your home is a space that cannot be easily violated. You can while away your time in your home in whatever way you like, and honestly, I don't think anyone should feel obligated to let all-comers inside.

Nobody is saying you have to let anybody into your inner sanctum, if you don't want to. I'm merely pointing out that any of the usual excuses trotted out are a cover for being a lazy so-and-so. Answer the door, don't answer it. Whatever tickles your pickle. It's fine, really.

But saying that your time is too precious to spend, what, 10 seconds to walk to the door? That is a cop out. You're just being a lazy cnut who won't get up off your hole or aren't assertive enough to say 'no, thanks' to some randomer looking for something. Which is also fine. But own up to it, lads. Hiding behind excuses is pathetic.

Almost like a teenager saying "it's never for me, so I'm not getting it".

For the record, etiquette, in this instance at least could have both a logical reason, and consequence. My grandmother had a knock from a neighbour in the 90s to say her chimney was on fire. Literally saved her gaff from burning down.

That's not etiquette, though. Answering the door to your neighbours is good common sense. I'm just saying that a blanket policy of opening your door to all-comers, out of a sense of "etiquette" is just daft to most people.

Nobody is saying you have to let anybody into your inner sanctum, if you don't want to. I'm merely pointing out that any of the usual excuses trotted out are a cover for being a lazy so-and-so. Answer the door, don't answer it. Whatever tickles your pickle. It's fine, really.

But saying that your time is too precious to spend, what, 10 seconds to walk to the door? That is a cop out. You're just being a lazy cnut who won't get up off your hole or aren't assertive enough to say 'no, thanks' to some randomer looking for something. Which is also fine. But own up to it, lads. Hiding behind excuses is pathetic.

Almost like a teenager saying "it's never for me, so I'm not getting it".

I personally think that anyone who says they 'couldn't be bothered' or are too 'lazy' to open the door are just using these expressions as a catch-all for not wanting to open the door; and they're dead right too imo.

Friends, neighbours and relatives, or decent ones at least will usually have the common courtesy to let someone know in advance if, and when they're calling over.

I think it's more a case of not having the desire/energy to deal with grifters/ conmen, canvassers etc..

As I said previously it's not 1995 - people have enough going on in their lives and a knock on the door or the doorbell ringing is not a novelty for many and rarely welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

We can't have a doorbell as our dog goes mental. When our daughter was born, it was a nightmare if anyone called. Said dog still acts as an alarm/alert system if someone comes into the driveway but the doorbell sent him to level 10 mentalness.

That's not etiquette, though. Answering the door to your neighbours is good common sense. I'm just saying that a blanket policy of opening your door to all-comers, out of a sense of "etiquette" is just daft to most people.

How do you know it's a neighbour if you don't open the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Growing up in the countryside we didn't have a door bell, the back door was always open so you just stuck your head in the door and roared "hello"