Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the worst estate in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,961 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

That's what happens when homeowners can't defend themselves or property.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

They can. Why would you say they can't?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

These problems replicate anywhere you have too many social houses, house members of the travelling community or have too many mothers and not enough fathers about.

Intergenerational welfare dependence Has led us here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Kid videoing is hilarious.
    "ohhh Holy Jayyyyysus"

RasTa wrote: »

That's horrendous. What's the background to all this? When I was growing up in Tallaght those youngfellas would have felt the smack of a hurl, or worse, pretty quickly.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Brian? wrote: »
    They can. Why would you say they can't?

with what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Irish rail posted that to YouTube?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Not sure if it’s the worse but a couple of observations, those are damn fine strong windows, and the kid filming sounds about 6 years old and done an excellent job.

Jesus Christ..

their rights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Anyone know what the reason behind the attck on these two specific houses was? (If any)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Would it be fair to say that some of those people settled into that estate? Looks like a nice settled neighbourhood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

What’s the background to the house attacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Munster46

Anyone know what the reason behind the attck on these two specific houses was? (If any)
    Drugs I believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Allegedly one lad hit another lad with a hammer and this is the retaliation. Drugs not travellers is the word on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

https://www.thesun.ie/news/5618169/three-charged-violent-disorder-criminal-damage-incidents-mullingar-westmeath/
    Two men were injured amid the prolonged disturbance before cops were called to the scene and dispersed the large group.

Last night local councillors told how the mayhem erupted following a dispute among youths.

Fine Gael rep Andrew Duncan told us: “It all kicked off with a bunch of youths fighting — 13 and 14-year-olds fighting — and it escalated into adults getting involved.

"It is dragging the whole estate down. It can’t be allowed.”

The chaos, which erupted on Thursday, led to damage running into thousands of euro after doors and windows were broken in a number of houses.

John Donoghue, 39, of Abbeylands, Mullingar,
    Martin Scally 36, and Dean Donoghue, 21, both of Farran Ashe, Mullingar,
    appeared in court last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

What’s the background to the house attacks?

Inbreeding and lack of intelligence

No doubt joe and Josephine soap will be called on to cover the costs of repair or maybe even relocate the residents to brand new houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Fine Gael rep Andrew Duncan told us: “It all kicked off with a bunch of youths fighting — 13 and 14-year-olds fighting — and it escalated into adults getting involved.

No background really it seems, mindless stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Home owners is a big stretch there..... Council property so we tax paying fools will foot the bill.....

It's obvious none of them work and never have.

Rubber or plastic bullets wouldn't be enough for these vermin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

what can we expect? where are the facilities for these youths? the state needs to vastly increase social welfare payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I feel sorry for the 95% of people who live in those estates who want to live in peace but are living in fear of those types of animals

If you can't live in a house behaving in a civilised way you should be removed from society permanently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

This should be treated the same as a riot. Bring in the riot unit.

Disgusting behaviour that is being protected by those championing the rights of this 'ethnic minority'....what they always seem to forget with the rights is the responsibilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

I dont think it's the worst estate. There is many just as bad or worse unfortunately.

what can we expect? where are the facilities for these youths? the state needs to vastly increase social welfare payments.

1.5/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

2 Gardai sent to that, I'm sure more after but that's not on only 2 going into that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I dont think it's the worst estate. There is many just as bad or worse unfortunately.

True, I mean one sandwich doesn’t make a picnic.

Riot unit should go in

then all involved sentenced to life imprisonment

I know I’m a broken record on this but We need major changes to our sentencing laws and prison system also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Mike3287

Dont see the shock here?

Its normal traveller behaviour, many many estates in the country are like this.

Its just never reported by media and RTE upper classes pretend it doesn't exist.

You cant drive a car it into most traveller saturated estates in Ireland without a gang of 5 year olds surrounding and firing stones at your car

They will grow up to be useless just like parents, feel bad for the decent people living in these estates, I was one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭GerryFog

Not close to being the worst. There's estates in Dublin much worse.

Even Cappagh Road, has some nice houses in the estates but an absolute kip. The heads around the Macaris at night are a sight to behold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Mike3287

2 Gardai sent to that, I'm sure more after but that's not on only 2 going into that.

Usually zero go in

2 is good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

That's normal behaviour for them.

Just on your comment on 5 year olds - last thurs I was driving past a notorious estate in a town in mid Kildare - as you say, under 10 years old lined up on the green firing stones/cans/anything they can lay their hands on, at passing traffic.

A heavily obese man approx 40/45 drinking cans watching on, no doubt the grand dad of some of the brats.

Sad to see even under 10s are now indoctrinated into the culture of this cohort - vandalise, damage, break up, Rob, steal, then graduate into heavy drug use serious attacks and murder and this often ends up in suicide.

But , we are sternly lectured, this is society’s fault

The worst thing is, you watch the video and see all those kids battering the house and know that you have to get up and go to work tomorrow to pay 50% of your earnings to keep those kids fed and fix that house.

It’s beyond frustrating. Sometimes the American system seems much fairer to those who are prepared to work hard and play by society’s rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Covid 19 is not necessarily a bad thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

GerryFog wrote: »
    Not close to being the worst. There's estates in Dublin much worse.

Even Cappagh Road, has some nice houses in the estates but an absolute kip. The heads around the Macaris at night are a sight to behold.

I'd disagree. For the size of Dublin and the amount of wasters around i think you'd be hard pressed to find that kind of carry on. Dublin, even the dumps are over priced now so apart from the free gaf crowed you generally have to buy a house now.

What do you do though? You have to house them somewhere.

Believe me lads things would be a lot worse of we just cut them off altogether. Give them just enough to keep some what of a lid on there scummy behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The local window installers will be creaming themselves.

Paid for by your tax money

with what?

A hurl, a baseball bat or my Da's favourite a length of fire hose.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,052 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

yeah, id say the only thing those two could do is stand back. Couldnt ask two gardai to try seperate two groups with weapons.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Lack of facilities/boredom/nothing to do is an excuse used by people who are ****e parents.

I grew up in a council house in Tallaght, no playground or community centre around. I grew up fine. I had friends, a bike, a football and some toy cars. Why would we need anything else?

Years after we moved from the area they built a fancy large community centre, nicer than the one in the estate I live now, far away from any council estate.

If there was more facilities these scum wouldn't use them. They'd be hanging around the parks drinking or standing outside the shop harassing people as usual. You think people are scumbags because they didn't have a playground as a baby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

Simple solution. Guards pull up, uzi out the window, scum 0-1 society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

They aren't one bit scared of the Gardaí. Our police force are way too nice to these wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Maybe it’s time for a party of law and order to be put into government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Lack of facilities/boredom/nothing to do is an excuse used by people who are ****e parents.

If there was more facilities these scum wouldn't use them. They'd be hanging around the parks drinking or standing outside the shop harassing people as usual. You think people are scumbags because they didn't have a playground as a baby?

This 100%.

There are some areas of Derry that have plenty of money thrown at them.
    They get the play parks, facilities, football pitches etc etc.

But some are destroyed, anti-social behaviour commonplace.

Sometimes scum will just be scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

A few guards with batons would be the only job here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 iwilldare

LOL.