Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homelessness

• 02-07-2020 3:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

How common is it for parents to kick their adult children out? By kick out I mean ask them to leave without any means to support themselves (job, savings) so that they essentially become homeless.

Do you know anyone in this position?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

What did you do this time, Mr. F?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,358 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It's the only logical thing to do if threatening to turn off the internet doesn't work.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

What did you do this time, Mr. F?

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭I Am Nobody

How common is it for parents to kick their adult children out? By kick out I mean ask them to leave without any means to support themselves (job, savings) so that they essentially become homeless.

Since your an adult now and I use that term loosely.You should be contributing to your parent's household.Instead of leeching off them because your too lazy to be constructive in society.

IMO all your failures are yours,instead of blaming your parents or society,FFS grow a pair.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Since your an adult now and I use that term loosely.You should be contributing to your parent's household.Instead of leeching off them because your too lazy to be constructive in society.

IMO all your failures are yours,instead of blaming your parents or society,FFS grow a pair.

Jaysus, both barrels there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Know of one lad whose mother, rightfully, kicked him out.

Often in these cases there is and must be a very good reason to do so, esp with Irish families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭lickalot

Were you caught sniffing your mothers knickers again?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,545 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

lickalot wrote: »

Your username suggests you are projecting, again....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'd say thats been happening since at least August 2019 and there might be some toxic fumes affecting the brain.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 30,194 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Boards.ie users seem to get the boot sometimes but in reality I find as long as you don’t murder them or sleep with there new partner you should be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

He’s a filthy kernt.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

No sexual angle with this one Feg ?

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... "

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

greenspurs wrote: »
    No sexual angle with this one Feg ?

It's early yet... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Don't agree with them sentiments Tbh. Try growing up in a house hold where alcohol comes first before everything. That causes a very skewed development outside of normal parameters which can often lead to failures down the line. Resilience is key at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,815 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No

Why are all your posts asking strange questions?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ah now, ah here, ah now, that's very harsh, hi - Mr. F. is an odd-bollocks, but I think it's fair to say he's our odd-bollocks by this stage. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

jimgoose wrote: »
    Ah now, ah here, ah now, that's very harsh, hi - Mr. F. is an odd-bollocks, but I think it's fair to say he's our odd-bollocks by this stage. :pac:

But they're supposed to come in even numbers... :pac: Supposed to.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

jimgoose wrote: »

a bollox is useful, and feg is a computer generated programme an not a real person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 263 ✭✭PatrickSmithUS

Are the figures after increasing or decreasing since the beginning of the pandemic?

No doubt, with the coming recession, that there will be a massive spike is something isn't done soon.

if we don't start treating the long term homeless as proper humans then we're on the road to nowhere quickly. The bus driver in this story clearly didn't think through what they were doing, regardless of the condition of the homeless man.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Are the figures after increasing or decreasing since the beginning of the pandemic?

No doubt, with the coming recession, that there will be a massive spike is something isn't done soon.

if we don't start treating the long term homeless as proper humans then we're on the road to nowhere quickly. The bus driver in this story clearly didn't think through what they were doing, regardless of the condition of the homeless man.

You may have noticed large amounts of homeless congregate in Dublin city centre and there is already a huge spike (spire) there.
    Coincidence, i think not.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

So-called Irish homelessness figures are a crypto-communist conspiracy generated by the looney left as a means to ban greyhound racing and give FREE HOUSES to posh gypsies.

Am I doing boards right yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,816 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Save in some rare cases, I find it hard to believe that someone can end up homeless through no fault of their own. There are a lot of bridges to burn to get there imo. Gtranted, I don't have experience of it, but I do have experience of dealing with it, and the vast majority are there of their own doing, IMO. I know that I'm currently living with my parents again, but it suits both of us. I could move out tomorrow if they wanted it. In a worst case scenario where they'd kick me out, I have a list of people who would help temporarily, and one great friend who would let me live indefinitely if needs be.

I jut find it hard to believe that no one who knows them wants to help these people, unless there's a reason. Most of the "homeless" I come across are usually just doing it to get money for their fix before fecking off to whatever house they live in. Yes, anecdotal based on my personal experiences and investigations. And yes there is always an exception, but I firmly believe most "homeless" are there because of their own bad choices and decisions, and for that reason I don't have any empathy for them (I don't believe most people have empathy either, but they like to pretend they do, all while posting it on an expensive computer or phone made by child labour from another country and warm in their own homes with all mod-cons).

• Registered Users Posts: 34,439 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Save in some rare cases, I find it hard to believe that someone can end up homeless through no fault of their own. There are a lot of bridges to burn to get there imo. Gtranted, I don't have experience of it, but I do have experience of dealing with it, and the vast majority are there of their own doing, IMO. I know that I'm currently living with my parents again, but it suits both of us. I could move out tomorrow if they wanted it. In a worst case scenario where they'd kick me out, I have a list of people who would help temporarily, and one great friend who would let me live indefinitely if needs be.

I jut find it hard to believe that no one who knows them wants to help these people, unless there's a reason. Most of the "homeless" I come across are usually just doing it to get money for their fix before fecking off to whatever house they live in. Yes, anecdotal based on my personal experiences and investigations. And yes there is always an exception, but I firmly believe most "homeless" are there because of their own bad choices and decisions, and for that reason I don't have any empathy for them (I don't believe most people have empathy either, but they like to pretend they do, all while posting it on an expensive computer or phone made by child labour from another country and warm in their own homes with all mod-cons).

Jaysus, tell us what you really think :eek:

Very good of Maggie Thatcher's ghost to drop by. Hadn't heard from her in a while.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Jaysus, tell us what you really think :eek:

I would, but I'd get banned. I'm not expecting anyone to agree, as it's entirely based on my own experience.

Your own experience with homelessness?

You forgot to return your video tapes...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gotta agree with you to a certain extent. I look at my own network and it's hard to see how I'd end up without a roof over my head. And then the empathy I agree to. That photo of that kid face down on the beach drowned is heartbreaking but how about the kids in mines in the Congo so I can have a phone?

First they came for the socialists...

Yurt! wrote: »
    Your own experience with homelessness?

I'll clarify. In my personal experience as a Garda.

OK. That actually puts a disturbing spin on your post but away you go Garda Bateman.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Yurt! wrote: »
    OK. That actually puts a disturbing spin on your post but away you go Garda Bateman.

He's right , i work in low threshold homeless services , very few are homeless through no fault of their own.