Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How old are you and how often do you go for a medical checkup?

• 26-06-2020 1:33pm

I mean just a fairly standard blood / urine / x-ray etc. test. I am forced to get mine done every two years but if I were in Ireland, I don't think I'd ever have one done. Are they required for insurance or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

If you dont go to the doctors you dont know if your sick so its grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Rhythmics

32, only ever gone when I was sick and needed antibiotics, and once for a weird pain that I was curious about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

39. Had my first check up in February gone since 2003. Only went because the wife forced me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It's like bringing a car to a mechanic

They will always find something wrong with it

40. Used to go every 6 months for bloods, etc but my doctor is worse than **** so I gave up on it. There’s basically no GP services these days now as they’re using C19 as an excuse to not let people in anyway. I’ll take my chances on the Mrs being able to do enough CPR til an ambulance comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I get hurt or sick so frequently there's never an opportunity to just go in for a checkup while seemingly nothing is wrong

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

52. Serious underlying conditions, so bloods and blood pressure once a month , MRI every 6 months and various GP appts as needed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

In my 20s, I'm invincible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

34 . Was at the doctor towards the start of the month as i had just not been feeling myself the last few weeks, bit lethargic few upset stomach issues which is out of sorts for me.

Got full check up, bloods, chat on mental health stress, diet and to be fair he suggested a food diary and it did twig with me since the whole covid 19 thing and working from home my dairy intake is up a bit, Yoghurt once a day, the odd bowl of cereal , an ice cream in the hot spell etc.

Sure enough i have really cut back on some elements of dairy that are high in lactose and im feeling alot better in myself. I have got the Lactose free milk this week and will give it a go, i tried the almond milk last week and it was ok. Also got the Skyr yoghurt which is meant to be much lower in lactose also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

I mean just a fairly standard blood / urine / x-ray etc. test. I am forced to get mine done every two years but if I were in Ireland, I don't think I'd ever have one done. Are they required for insurance or anything?

Never heard of a check up x-ray, what are they x-raying?

I'd be in the doctor's twice a year for asthma prescription, he checks my blood pressure and I maybe get the flu vaccine or i got a pneumonia vaccine once too. Get a steroid cream for a rash I have, that's about it.

Did some blood tests last year from letsgetchecked for cholesterol and other stuff that might indicate a problem, came back fine, well the cholesterol was borderline but I told the nurse I would change my ways.. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

Late 30's
    From mid 20's to maybe early 30's I went every second year, blood work, blood pressure etc. My Gp did it all. Smears as needed.

Now annually, include breast check also.

Ive no underlying conditions but I believe in being proactive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Granny Smyth

Up until my 35th birthday the only time I saw a doctor was the day I was born. In the last 2 years I feel like paying him rent I am there so often! Things are going downhill fast :(

34 . Was at the doctor towards the start of the month as i had just not been feeling myself the last few weeks, bit lethargic few upset stomach issues which is out of sorts for me.

Got full check up, bloods, chat on mental health stress, diet and to be fair he suggested a food diary and it did twig with me since the whole covid 19 thing and working from home my dairy intake is up a bit, Yoghurt once a day, the odd bowl of cereal , an ice cream in the hot spell etc.

Sure enough i have really cut back on some elements of dairy that are high in lactose and im feeling alot better in myself. I have got the Lactose free milk this week and will give it a go, i tried the almond milk last week and it was ok. Also got the Skyr yoghurt which is meant to be much lower in lactose also.

I thought doctors didn’t believe in food allergies? They done nothing but scoffing when I wanted a gluten test and it took about 5 visits of convincing to let me have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I rely on Dr Google. In the last 5 years I’ve had 4 terminal illnesses and 6 severe but non life threatening diseases. Thankfully I got over all of them within a few days and no lasting effects.

The last time I went to a real doctor was two years ago. I had full bloods done and everything was good thankfully. I’m 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Mrs Corners dog has better health care than me getting regular check ups , though hes due to get debollocked shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Gorteen

56 yr old man who vowed to get yearly check once I hit 50. So far, I've had one check up. Feel as fit as a butchers dog, so will probably ignore my promise to myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I thought doctors didn’t believe in food allergies? They done nothing but scoffing when I wanted a gluten test and it took about 5 visits of convincing to let me have one.

Lactose intolerance is much better understood and accepted in comparison to alot of allergies .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I'm a total hypochondriac so I'm in there every second week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭RunRoryRun

39 now and have been getting yearly checkup including bloods for the last 6 years, since the first of the kids arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Up until my 35th birthday the only time I saw a doctor was the day I was born. In the last 2 years I feel like paying him rent I am there so often! Things are going downhill fast :(

I hope it's the same condition I have.

Mid-life-crisisitis

Ghastly thing altogether and i thought i was suffering alone until i met a couple of old school friends during covid. Our ailments were a perfect match. Shoulders, knees, hips, back, hamstrings, sciatica, RSIs.... getting old is ****ing ****. Approaching 40 is no joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Met the Missus when I was 35. She was astonished when I admitted I'd never had any check up ever.

After much pestering I promised I'd get one when I hit 40......Somehow that didn't happen. Anyway I promised 45. That shored up the situation at the time..

Anyway, I'm drifting thru the years, Smoking, drinking, eating all the wrong foods & not doing any form of exercise.

In my defense I was slim, my job was physical & my family history is good.

45 rolled around & somehow I got away with it......again!

A year later I started to feel stabbing pains in my chest & numbness in my left arm.

Of course I carried on as normal till one day when I took the kids to the local park.

I was playing & running around with them & suddenly I was brought to my knees with massive chest pains.

I laughed it off when I got up, but was embarassed at the thought of pegging out in front of the kids in public. Worse still, some randomer trying to revive me with the kiss of life!:eek:

A few weeks later I got a bit drunk & admitted what was happening to the Missus.................Next day I was literally frogmarched to the local Doctor.

My file was slim. Something to do with an ingrowing toenail in the '80s & that was it.

As I was there I demanded every test known to man. Might as well face the music & all that..

The Doctor was initally symphatetic but by the end basically told me to 'Get the fook out!'

It turned out that I pulled a muscle in my chest (due to my physical job!):rolleyes:

Anyway, I'm 52 now & seem to be doing okay physically.

Mentally? Well that's a whole other story!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Unfortunately, this is my father’s way of thinking. He won’t go to the cancer screenings that he’s eligible for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I rely on Dr Google. In the last 5 years I’ve had 4 terminal illnesses and 6 severe but non life threatening diseases. Thankfully I got over all of them within a few days and no lasting effects.

The last time I went to a real doctor was two years ago. I had full bloods done and everything was good thankfully. I’m 50.

I was the opposite. I’d search all my symptoms and would routinely ignore cancer when it came up in the list of possible ailments - “Couldn’t be that!” - but it was.

Tails142 wrote: »
    Never heard of a check up x-ray, what are they x-raying?

Chest x-ray is for lungs. Really thorough test overall. A dentist even checks your mouth for problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭fran38

51 years of age. Male. I'm so ****ed up it's unreal.
    Cerebral palsy
    Gout
    Sciatica
    Ulnar nerve contraption
    Carpel tunnel syndrome
    Chronic back pain
    Neck pain
    Mental health/depression
    Metal pins in leg after very bad accident 12 years ago.

Get bloods taken before but not religiously. Had 3 MRIs for some of the above conditions but nothing conclusive showed up (600e down the ****in swanny).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Rikand wrote: »
    Shoulders, knees, hips, back, hamstrings, sciatica, RSIs.... getting old is ****ing ****. Approaching 40 is no joke

For a second there I thought you were starting off your own version of Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes :pac:

fran38 wrote: »
    Cerebral palsy
    Gout
    Sciatica
    Ulnar nerve contraption
    Carpel tunnel syndrome
    Chronic back pain
    Neck pain
    Mental health/depression

Get bloods taken before but not religiously. Had 3 MRIs for some of the above conditions but nothing conclusive showed up (600e down the ****in swanny).

Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Shamanic practitioner I believe in the healing properties of smoke to purify the innards and cleanse the soul. Aid bowel movement ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Cerebral palsy
    Gout
    Sciatica
    Ulnar nerve contraption
    Carpel tunnel syndrome
    Chronic back pain
    Neck pain
    Mental health/depression

Ulnar nerve surgery check
    Carpal tunnel syndrome check
    Throw in muscle wasting from shoulder to hand too.
    Mental health problems check

MRI not so good for nerve problem diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Shamanic practitioner I believe in the healing properties of smoke to purify the innards and cleanse the soul. Aid bowel movement ,

Shît talk! :D

I'm 33, I'll be 34 this year. The last time I went to the doctor was when I changed GPs recently. I was disappointed that she was more interested in my type of health insurance than my medical facts. I was hoping she would offer me one of those 'whole-body scans', because I always assume I have cancer.

Ulnar nerve surgery check
    Carpal tunnel syndrome check
    Throw in muscle wasting from shoulder to hand too.
    Mental health problems check

MRI not so good for nerve problem diagnosis.

Ya, the muscle wasting is frightening isnt it? What I can lift with my left arm, I cant with my right. You have my sympathy pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Ya, the muscle wasting is frightening isnt it? What I can lift with my left arm, I cant with my right. You have my sympathy pal.

Has anyone ever suggested thoracic outlet syndrome to you

Never heard of it. Ill look it up.

Edit: Sounds like me ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

Chest x-ray is for lungs. Really thorough test overall. A dentist even checks your mouth for problems.

There's no evidence for regular screening chest Xray.

It's unnecessary radiation exposure.

I'd be concerned if a doctor was pushing for chest Xrays in someone asymptomatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Me and my big mouth! I went to the doctors to pick up me script and was told I need to see the doctor before I get another prescription. Bollox the jig is up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

32 and right now every 6 months because they found abnormaal cells in my last smear test.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

45 and I get a regular check up every year or so. By the time you hit your 40s, a regular medical “NCT” test is strongly advisable.

There is dreadful heart disease in my family history - my mother died of a massive heart attack in the middle of the night at not quite 47 years of age (she was a heavy smoker) back in 1990 when I was just 15, my father went on to have a triple bypass in the early 1990s in his early 50s after complaining of bad chest pains and my older sister has had heart issues and had a stent put in one of her critical arteries. My maternal grandfather and paternal grandmother also both died of heart attacks.

I have been pretty lucky in that despite all the damage I did to my body from my mid 30s to my early 40s with chronic alcoholism during that period, I only had fatty liver which now has nearly completely reversed - and an angiogram I had in 2017 showed that my arteries are in good condition. Had mild colitis in my late 20s/early 30s that eventually cleared up.

Also had a prostate check - every man over the age of 40 should have this done every few years - and all was good there. Blood pressure and cholesterol a bit on the high side which I take meds for. My GP is brilliant - she is very thorough and leaves nothing to chance.

Cars have to be tested every year for roadworthiness, so shouldn’t our most valuable asset, our bodies, be treated the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

33 and have bloods taken about twice a year. I have the damn under active thyroid gland so I have to monitor the Eltroxin dosage I get. It's a pain but good to have bloods checked fairly regular in case of anything else.

Up until a year and a half ago I was being pretty naughty regarding alcohol consumption and average diet. Both knocked on the head and feel pretty decent. It's amazing the difference it makes.

Also I would add that it is important to take care of your mental health as well it can often have a direct correlation to the condition of the body. I remember a quote from James Hetfield in an interview once where he said something along the lines of if you have a physical problem you go to the doctor, so why not the same for your head? It always stuck with me and eventually I had to wise up to that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

54 and once a year.

They're only as good as the doc you're seeing. I thought I was sailing through them for years, my father has diabetes so I always asked about my sugars and was told they were fine.

Got a phone call after one 'Is that Makikomi from boards.ie?'... You were in for a medical last week, yadda yadda.. ''Are you a diabetic?''

''FUCK' I said, I guess I am now.

Anyway, goes back to the doctor and we went over everything.. The bloods I'd just given weren't for a medical so I asked 'How come I wasn't diabetic in December and now in Febuary I am?.. He looks back through my file, I was diabetic for three fk'ing years and the bollox before him never said a word.

There ya go, I question them every time now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

54 and once a year.

They're only as good as the doc you're seeing. I thought I was sailing through them for years, my father has diabetes so I always asked about my sugars and was told they were fine.

Got a phone call after one 'Is that Maeve Muscular Mischief from boards.ie?'... You were in for a medical last week, yadda yadda.. ''Are you a diabetic?''

''FUCK' I said, I guess I am now.

Anyway, goes back to the doctor and we went over everything.. The bloods I'd just given weren't for a medical so I asked 'How come I wasn't diabetic in December and now in Febuary I am?.. He looks back through my file, I was diabetic for three fk'ing years and the bollox before him never said a word.

There ya go, I question them every time now
    That's slack but unfortunately despite all the good that goes on in the health service an all too common type of story.

Id not had a check up in a few years and very rarely before that. Ended up going to the doc earlier this year after checking my own bloods and getting a very very very high blood sugar reading. Turns out I have Type 1 diabetes. Not sure how long have had it.
    Had the full NCT during the initial phase of consultations and will be having a full NCT annually from here on in. No harm really.
    Late thirties.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Used to go only when sick, early 40s now and we now get an annual check up included every 2 years where it's a full on medical etc as part of medical insurance cover.

Handy to find out where you are in terms of the average in the various checks etc.

Do the cough test too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

Ever since I hit 70 I go every year. Your health is your wealth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kippy wrote: »
    That's slack but unfortunately despite all the good that goes on in the health service an all too common type of story.

Id not had a check up in a few years and very rarely before that. Ended up going to the doc earlier this year after checking my own bloods and getting a very very very high blood sugar reading. Turns out I have Type 1 diabetes. Not sure how long have had it.
    Had the full NCT during the initial phase of consultations and will be having a full NCT annually from here on in. No harm really.
    Late thirties.

Thankfully mine was T2 and I worked very hard at putting it into remission. Just before Covid-19 I was getting treatment for a stress fracture in my foot, that kept me off running (I run a lot).. Come the virus and my treatment stopped, I couldn't run and despite regularly swimming I started to gain weight, and I'll be honest here too we were exceptionally busy in work with our tasking with C-19, to handle the stress of that I drank too much too.

Anyway my bloods recently went back up into T2 ranges so I got into remission mode again, cut back on the carbs etc and I'm back on track.

Story is, I think once you're over 40 regular health screenings are worth their weight in gold. Unfortunately for me I was seeing a brain dead work doctor who didn't bother his hole with properly reading my bloods.

Now I've a super family doctor, a really good guy who I trust [literally] with my life.

I do a lot of sports, I've always competed at something but when I turned 40 things started to slow down and I wasn't recovering like I once did. I was winning Judo nationals in my weight a few years running, cycling 40+ km a day, in the gym, swimming etc but my prescription kept growing.

In my 50's now, I'm still going strong with training but with C-19 nothing competitive and recently went onto blood pressure meds. Feeling cheesed off I asked my pharmacist (who's brilliant) wtf was going on, I joked that if my prescription got any bigger I'd be bringing it to her on a memory stick.

She said 'M, you're like an old sports car. Looking great, feeling you can still put it up to the younger ones, but you've miles up on the engine and your serving intervals need regular checking'.. I thought that was brilliant.

So lads, and girls, you might think you're bullet proof but you can't hold back father time. Get your checks, but keep going too.

Years ago at a Judo competition I met an old guy, he's fought with the American marines during WWII and was stationed in Japan after the war. He learned Judo there but hadn't trained in a very long time, he was at the competition supporting his grandson. Something he said stuck with me to this day;

'If I'd known I'd grow so old I wouldn't have grown so old so young'.

Check your body, do your servicing and keep on chipping away at whatever it is you love, and if you don't love something then find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭UrbanSprawl

44 never went for a medical check in my life would rather not know ...

Me and my big mouth! I went to the doctors to pick up me script and was told I need to see the doctor before I get another prescription. Bollox the jig is up!

This sounds interesting. What were you getting? Don't worry, I'm not a guard. Be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Not since primary school, I've only had one check up, if you can call giving a gp €20 for a signature a check up.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Once a year, it’s not with my GP though, hospital appointment. Hopefully next one is the last.

I’ve pretty much lost faith in my GP after one consultation that was just so far beneath the line of acceptability, respect and professionalism that I’ve lost faith in him, to the point that now I’m seeking to change to another GP either in the same surgery or a neighboring practice... few hoops to be dived through before that gets the green light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

51 type 1 diabetic, get checked by doctor when flu jab is due, get appointments for consultant every 2 years or so, bit deaf but fine otherwise