Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perks to this new way of living

• 13-06-2020 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭

I know there has been great hardship and loss for people due to covid 19 but I thought it might be nice to have a thread about the unexpected perks of life as we know it at the moment.

1. My parcels are left in my porch for me to grab when it suits me.

2. I don't have to feel guilty for staying inside.

3. My appointments have been switched to video call or phone call which is very handy and I hope this will be kept up where possible.

4. I got to virtually view an apartment and sign a lease online, I didn't once have to deal with anyone in person.

5. I've gotten a welcome break from the pressures of life and socialising and I'm functioning pretty well in my little bubble.

So what are the perks ye have found, if any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Phoenix32 wrote: »
    I know there has been great hardship and loss for people due to covid 19 but I thought it might be nice to have a thread about the unexpected perks of life as we know it at the moment.

1. My parcels are left in my porch for me to grab when it suits me.

2. I don't have to feel guilty for staying inside.

3. My appointments have been switched to video call or phone call which is very handy and I hope this will be kept up where possible.

4. I got to virtually view an apartment and sign a lease online, I didn't once have to deal with anyone in person.

5. I've gotten a welcome break from the pressures of life and socialising and I'm functioning pretty well in my little bubble.

So what are the perks ye have found, if any?

I've discovered my wife is quite a good conversationalist and has lots of interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

For me living close to Dublin CC, the lack of expectations around attending various nights out and general temptations has me saving quicker than ever for a deposit on refurbishment property down west to create my dream house. Plus I will be able to live there and work remotely as my company is happy as things are.

I was always a **** saver, but the pandemic has inadvertently corrected that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Phoenix32

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    For me living close to Dublin CC, the lack of expectations around attending various nights out and general temptations has me saving quicker than ever for a deposit on refurbishment property down west to create my dream house. Plus I will be able to live there and work remotely as my company is happy as things are.

I was always a **** saver, but the pandemic has inadvertently corrected that.

I am hopeful more companies will see remote working as a viable option now, so that will definitely be an advantage for people. I forgot about savings! Good point! I've definitely saved money too, not being able to go out shopping and pick things up or go to the pub or to a restaurant or get my hair done definitely has saved me a bit of money.

I definitely get it. I’m going to miss so many aspects of lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

Speaking for a friend like. Hearing a fair few seeing it as a major turning point for those lucky to have employers who are happy enough for them to work from home. Some even contemplating buying property that's affordable for them, e.g. just that bit further away from Dublin. They'll pop up to Dublin a day or so only every week. Every cloud has a silver lining.

I really hope this also gives rural Ireland a lift that it needs.

Cal4567 wrote: »
    Speaking for a friend like. Hearing a fair few seeing it as a major turning point for those lucky to have employers who are happy enough for them to work from home. Some even contemplating buying property that's affordable for them, e.g. just that bit further away from Dublin. They'll pop up to Dublin a day or so only every week. Every cloud has a silver lining.

I really hope this also gives rural Ireland a lift that it needs.

Certainly think it will spread wealth. Rural Ireland also needs to be open to the idea and welcome the influx of professionals into their communities. Off tangent slightly but I'm aware of divisions in the past between locals and "Dubs" in some places. An element of this is how we do things around here when it comes to new ideas in the community around things like GAA.

Why spend half a million on a semi detached in Dublin when you can get a bigger house on a sizable plot of land down west. With our great motorway network Dublin is incredibly accessible from all quarters in 2020 for the occasional meeting etc.

I can find positives in almost any situation. I had to think very hard for this one. But. Here they are. No traffic. Not feeling like I have a million balls in the air and they are all going to drop.

Erm that's it.

Instead lockdown has been an exercise in fear, anxiety, what ifs, irrational thinking, rule breaking, comfort eating and too much drinking.
    The hard feelings have mostly disappeared now as some normality is returning but it's been really tough. I missed my freedom and having choices.

There are days when I'm happy to sit inside and not see a single soul but I've always had a choice. Coronavirus took a lot of that.
    Simple things like having a chat with the stranger next to me on the train, sitting in a Cafe or pub with my book, strolling around shops, booking a holiday, shaking hands upon an introduction, visiting friends.

I have learned a few thing about myself and not all of them positive. I've also learned a few things about others and not all of them positive.
    That new awareness is about all I have to be grateful to coronavirus for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Lucky Lou

I am embracing this new way of living.
    No rushing and racing, tailbacks, 9-5 and pacing.
    Just being, living, loving and appreciating.
    Seeing kindness shown to even a stranger
    This is almost a poem but its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Probably the peace and quiet TBH.

It won't and can't be like this forever though nor should it be, but I would hope that the time to reflect people have had will make folk appreciate what they have more than they did before. Remote working can only be a good thing all round.

Having struggled with anxiety for the first half of my 20's in which I barely left the house, the lock-down has been nothing new for me TBH but I have seen some people badly struggle with it, personal freedom and enjoyment of life should never be taken for granted.

Its fascinating how different we are experiencing this and the reasons for those differences.
    If you are someone who has a long commute every day and hates being stuck in an office then all of this might be a dream come true. Of course it could be a nightmare either if you'd gladly take that commute if it meant being able to meet family.

So many variables at play and lots of things to find out. For anyone who is only finding peace and stillness now then maybe when this is over you'll have learnt ways of maintaining that. I will learn to embrace the Long Mile Road at 5pm on a Friday :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Certainly think it will spread wealth. Rural Ireland also needs to be open to the idea and welcome the influx of professionals into their communities. Off tangent slightly but I'm aware of divisions in the past between locals and "Dubs" in some places. An element of this is how we do things around here when it comes to new ideas in the community around things like GAA.

Why spend half a million on a semi detached in Dublin when you can get a bigger house on a sizable plot of land down west. With our great motorway network Dublin is incredibly accessible from all quarters in 2020 for the occasional meeting etc.
    The arrogance. :rolleyes:

We're doing fine in rural Ireland, thanks. Please stay in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

It's hard to know about perks because it's made very little difference to my daily routine really. I was already working from home before all this, I'm not one for going drinking every weekend, and I wouldn't be too bothered if I didn't see anyone at all in the course of a week. It's been fine. Not significantly worse and no stand out perks.

Lundstram wrote: »
    The arrogance. :rolleyes:

We're doing fine in rural Ireland, thanks. Please stay in Dublin.

This kind of proves the point I was making. Be open to new people coming into the community. Rural Ireland is on its knees. The fallout in towns across Mayo, Roscommon and Galway was horrific after the 2008 financial crisis. They never recovered. It will be worse again after the pandemic. I'm saying that as someone with a rural Ireland background.

I'm very pro spreading the wealth out of Dublin and evening things up. I'm talking about MNCs, people and everything that comes with it. Keep small towns and villages thriving and keep rural Ireland alive. Open your mind because as is, it's only going one way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭WashYourHands

Perks:

I've been able to WFH so my income hasn't been effected.

I ordered home gym equipment so I probably won't need to join a gym again after this.

I've watched some good TV (Tiger King, Dark, Space Force) and there's endless amounts of good TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

This kind of proves the point I was making. Be open to new people coming into the community. Rural Ireland is on its knees. The fallout in towns across Mayo, Roscommon and Galway was horrific after the 2008 financial crisis. They never recovered. It will be worse again after the pandemic. I'm saying that as someone with a rural Ireland background.

I'm very pro spreading the wealth out of Dublin and evening things up. I'm talking about MNCs, people and everything that comes with it. Keep small towns and villages thriving and keep rural Ireland alive. Open your mind because as is, it's only going one way.
    "rural Ireland is on its knees"

Yes, we are all starving and have no clothes to wear. Please come and spread your superior wealth and knowledge to eradicate the slums of western Ireland.

Tripe.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,949 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I loved the peace at the beginning when traffic was reduced, no morning rush, no rush hour traffic, time to catch up on jobs about the house that were permanently on the long finger. It was a welcome break from reality.

That said, I'm glad it's coming to an end. I'd love to be able to work from home forever, but I want my freedom back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Not having to talk to people
    no back slapping and over familiarity
    You can eat your lunch in peace
    Been chilled for the last 3 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

For me there's been very little, if any positives to this new way of living.

As a soldier I'm well used to a certain amount of restricted movement, recruit training, various courses & exercises plus oversea's come to mind.

But at home I'm a sports person and a social butterfly, I've lots of interests outside of work and home, all of which bar swimming have been severely curtailed. I can still run alone, I prefer running alone but races and events have all been cancelled. So too have cycle events, my gym has been closed since March, I use the pool for winter swim training but they're not re opening the pool so I've had to use the cost of membership to purchase two wetsuits for winters in the open water.

I love my Saturday night in the local, its my one night that I call my 'me time', I bring my Kindle to the bar, have a few pints, a bowl of hot chicken wings and a read. I miss that.

My Judo club is closed and all competitions have been cancelled for the rest of the year, that's a major bummer for me.

Personally right now I can't think of a single perk for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No hoors calling to the door selling lines or raffles for charities or GAA, and no "travelling" sales or tradesmen either.
    Now if they could only stay the fook away for good.

For me there's been very little, if any positives to this new way of living.

As a soldier I'm well used to a certain amount of restricted movement, recruit training, various courses & exercises plus oversea's come to mind.

But at home I'm a sports person and a social butterfly, I've lots of interests outside of work and home, all of which bar swimming have been severely curtailed. I can still run alone, I prefer running alone but races and events have all been cancelled. So too have cycle events, my gym has been closed since March, I use the pool for winter swim training but they're not re opening the pool so I've had to use the cost of membership to purchase two wetsuits for winters in the open water.

I love my Saturday night in the local, its my one night that I call my 'me time', I bring my Kindle to the bar, have a few pints, a bowl of hot chicken wings and a read. I miss that.

My Judo club is closed and all competitions have been cancelled for the rest of the year, that's a major bummer for me.

Personally right now I can't think of a single perk for me.

Do you think will people be able to go in to a pub by themselves when they open up? Surely one person in a quiet corner is no risk. I miss the pint and book as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Being able to WFH, I saved a tidy sum on diesel, along with only going to the supermarket once a week.
    I have saved and am putting that towards something I was saving for anyway.
    I loved the joy of rediscovering what was always on my own doorstep with the 2km and 5km restrictions.
    We went exploring 2 wild forests and found a mini waterfall at a river in one of the forests.
    Usually on a fine day, we would head off in the car to visit somewhere like that but all along they were in walking distance of home.
    I think I've more appreciation for my local, natural environment now.

To thine own self be true

Another negative I've thought of. €17 for parking because I haven't been taking the bus. That will change next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm loving it. I have a bit of a hermit lifestyle for the last few years, I gave up on trying to be the person everyone wants me to be, or what society expects me to be, so I was already not going out anymore, got a night job so asleep during the days, and it's been far better for my mental health than trying to be everything that everyone else says I should be.

With the lockdown, I can finally tell people to back the f up if they get too close, whereas before this you'd be seen as a mad person. It's made me more aware of other peoples hygiene too, and I hope it has spelled the end of shared workspaces. My job is networking support and can completely be done from at home, and I've told them in surveys they've sent that, because I live with my parents who are both over 70 and both with different breathing conditions, I can't chance coming back in unless I'm guaranteed my own desk, pc, peripherals, chair etc, which will never be used by anyone else. Not something they can guarantee so makes sense to keep me working from home.

While I do appreciate people seem to think that everyone should have been able to take a lesson on personal space, hygiene and general wellbeing of others, I give it a few months without a case and everyone will be back to normal, throwaway fashion, keeping up with the Jones', not washing hands anymore, etc. We've already proven we can't even keep social distancing in the first stage, most people will fall back into old routines in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Do you think will people be able to go in to a pub by themselves when they open up? Surely one person in a quiet corner is no risk. I miss the pint and book as well.

I don't know.

I was chatting with the owner of my local this evening, he's hoping not to have too many restrictions, including perspex partitions at the bar, staff in masks etc but he hasn't been issued any guidance but he's hoping to retain the experience of a normal bar.

To most people its not a major thing, but I try cram in a lot in my week, I hate time wasted so when Saturday night comes around I like to wind down with a few beers and my Kindle.

Another thing I miss is dogs, this might sound silly. But when I'm running (mostly on the beach) I can't resist stopping to pet and have a friendly chat with a friendly dog, now when I do this most owners drag the dog away and look at me like I'm a leper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

The vast majority of rural folk are "professionals" as well who commute to the nearest large town or city for work. Plus the arrogance of how its said. As if the slack jawed yokels can't be having our educated betters coming in to show us the error of our ways. Small hint, when we get a college degree it's in a specific discipline, it doesn't mean people have to doff the cap to you on everything you spout

Ya I'm sure the odd dub gets a rough time but most of the ones who come in and then whinge about not being accepted into the community are the types of fools who move to rural house then spend half their time burning the arse of the poor local Gardai making noise complaints about cattle roaring or tractors coming and going in the neighboring fields early morning and late at night during the summer doing sileage

Or hilariously arrive to a community and make zero effort to get to know locals then whinge when they sell up they were never accepted. If you move to any place you need to make yourself known in a nice polite way. It can be harder rurally as there's not as many groups etc to get involved in. But my God the amount of people from cities or other countries who buy a rural place and don't even salute someone back then you hear they are moving out again and have been whinging they felt pushed out.

Or some ignorant type who automatically assume all these culchies are thick and in need of educating, that won't get you far in any community looking down your nose, rural or not.

Sound dubs get seen as sound and be treated as such, in fact surprisingly if you are nice and friendly you might even get invited to gatherings or just to people's houses for a visit.

Act the knob and you get treated like one whether it's in a rural community or an urban area

Perks:

I've been able to WFH so my income hasn't been effected.

I ordered home gym equipment so I probably won't need to join a gym again after this.

I've watched some good TV (Tiger King, Dark, Space Force) and there's endless amounts of good TV.

You’re the first person I’ve heard or read with anything even remotely positive to say about Space Force.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,949 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I think you'll only be able to to a pub if they've always served food and you order food too. You'll be ok Mak with your chicken wings, chips and pint, but you probably can't sit there for a few hours.

That said, the coffers are empty and there's a lot of tax on alcohol, so things will return to normal soon enough. We have to live with this, not avoid it.

As an aside, I was in a shop earlier and the second person in the queue. An elderly lady and her daughter approached the checkout from the wrong side. The person working there abruptly told them where the queue was. Given the elderly lady is in a higher risk group I told her to go ahead of me. Her daughter was going to wait until I'd been served, she couldn't see around the aisle that there was more behind me, so I told her to go on too. No mutterings behind me which was nice, but a pity to see that not all shops are giving priority to older people. It was probably one of her first trips out and about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

1)Saving loads of money.

2)Realising if I didn't actually buy clothes for five years, I have plenty that need a wearing.

3) Not being under pressure to visit family down the country. Zoom working just fine.

4) Attending to maintenance jobs around the house that needed doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

No long commute to work each day being the biggest one for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

No commute was nice. I I exercised and saved more.

I live with my cocooning parents so I didn't see anyone apart from them for nearly 3 months including my boyfriend. I'm saving for a house but living at home meant I was sleeping, working and studying in the one room.

I felt really lonely and my mood which is generally very stable went up and down a lot. I like aspects of it but I think if I lived with friends or a partner I'd have enjoyed it a lot more. My friends didn't do many zoom calls either because they already had a lot on which made me feel more isolated.

Mrsmum wrote: »
    1)Saving loads of money.

2)Realising if I didn't actually buy clothes for five years, I have plenty that need a wearing.

3) Not being under pressure to visit family down the country. Zoom working just fine.

4) Attending to maintenance jobs around the house that needed doing.

Same here , attending to household maintenance , fixed a leak in the kitchen that took quite a bit of swearing and wrestling under a press , then amazingly another fcukin leak appears in the attic .
    On a lighter note , I got a new pup as the lockdown started , hes been a pleasure around the house as he tries to eat a couch.

I think you'll only be able to to a pub if they've always served food and you order food too. You'll be ok Mak with your chicken wings, chips and pint, but you probably can't sit there for a few hours.

That said, the coffers are empty and there's a lot of tax on alcohol, so things will return to normal soon enough. We have to live with this, not avoid it.

As an aside, I was in a shop earlier and the second person in the queue. An elderly lady and her daughter approached the checkout from the wrong side. The person working there abruptly told them where the queue was. Given the elderly lady is in a higher risk group I told her to go ahead of me. Her daughter was going to wait until I'd been served, she couldn't see around the aisle that there was more behind me, so I told her to go on too. No mutterings behind me which was nice, but a pity to see that not all shops are giving priority to older people. It was probably one of her first trips out and about.

That's right. We'll be going to the local when it opens and having food and drinks. There is a date during the summer where pubs that don't serve food can open. Either way food or no food I'll be sad if I can't go for a quiet drink on my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

The cheesiest, but best way that I can describe the perks of this new way of living is the personal development I've gained in some ways.

The sh*t that used to stress me out before this pandemic seems like a walk in the park.

I tested positive for it in March, right in the midst of all the panic about it, seems like a few years ago now! I was freaked out a bit, but luckily I could keep working from home, which I enjoyed. My better-half was expecting, this freaked me the f*ck out, especially with the positive diagnosis - I was so worried that covid could hit her hard, being pregnant or hurt our unborn and my toddler had been attending additional needs classes

Since then, my son was born, I've been fortunate to gain some more time with my new born than I would have under normal circumstances. I've had some absolutely brilliant days with my daughter who had been attending additional needs classes. She's amazing and even as a toddler seems to love Led Zeppelin. I've lost 8lbs in weight, begun eating healthier, started doing meditation and I'm now comfortably running 10km. I've talked to my folks more, particularly me Da.

I feel I now have a bit more time to consider others. This whole lockdown has impacted people massively and I have friends who have lost their jobs and have felt massive bouts of depression. I feel like I've become a better friend to these people, I've found more time and understanding of what empathy actually is. I've certainly not got on top of everything, like others - I've had bad days. I've enjoyed a few more beers than I normally would have had. I've felt sh*t that others are baking bread, building sheds, or leaning piano, while I'm wondering where the fook all this additional free-time is.

But I've since realized I'm using this "free-time" in different ways to do the basics. The stuff I couldn't fit in when life was at full-tilt. I feel like I'm a bit more in the moment and going a bit easier on myself. That's my biggest perk of the lock-down

I know others have had it much worse and I sincerely hope things turn for the better for those.

Anyway, if you're reading this, I hope you and yours are keeping well - you're sound and you're a ride. All the best :D:D

I'm loving it. I have a bit of a hermit lifestyle for the last few years, I gave up on trying to be the person everyone wants me to be, or what society expects me to be, so I was already not going out anymore, got a night job so asleep during the days, and it's been far better for my mental health than trying to be everything that everyone else says I should be.

With the lockdown, I can finally tell people to back the f up if they get too close, whereas before this you'd be seen as a mad person. It's made me more aware of other peoples hygiene too, and I hope it has spelled the end of shared workspaces. My job is networking support and can completely be done from at home, and I've told them in surveys they've sent that, because I live with my parents who are both over 70 and both with different breathing conditions, I can't chance coming back in unless I'm guaranteed my own desk, pc, peripherals, chair etc, which will never be used by anyone else. Not something they can guarantee so makes sense to keep me working from home.

While I do appreciate people seem to think that everyone should have been able to take a lesson on personal space, hygiene and general wellbeing of others, I give it a few months without a case and everyone will be back to normal, throwaway fashion, keeping up with the Jones', not washing hands anymore, etc. We've already proven we can't even keep social distancing in the first stage, most people will fall back into old routines in no time.

Why can't you just be the person you want to be and who cares how you are seen as long as you are doing what's right for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Literally feel like I’ve been living my best life during lock down, still working full time but will option to work from home when needed for the kids, my husband and I try alternate days. Previously I’d be out with the kids at training/matches 4-5 times a week - so would come in from work, quick change and back out the door with them, and finally home about 8ish to start house work.

I’ve had none of that constant running, I’ve cooked dinners, baked, had uno championships with the kids, walked every evening with them... Work meetings all conducted over zoom, which for some reason alleviates pressure for me, we used to have meetings about meetings, in excess of two/three hours a day, having to use zoom cut that out.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always played with my kids but I’d be lying if I said my mind was wandering to the next task I’d had to do... now 4/5 games of nothing but uno is no bother..

It’s probably not suistainable long term, my husband and I are tired, alternating days and making sure we have cover for them, he’s front line and some days I need to be in the office, but the amount we have saved in Creche fees is amazing and really wondering is there a way we can make it work with some level of reduced child care going forward.

One of my kids has aspergers...and is literally living his best life! He couldn’t give a monkeys if he never sees anyone again, he is literally a different child, no pressure of having to conform to society that he’s not bothered with, he’s also benefitted from having us home, the thoughts of telling him in August that he’s back to school, Creche etc will break me.. but as someone said above, life will return to normal and he will have to be able to deal with that too, but for now, we are having a great old time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭mayo londoner

The vast majority of rural folk are "professionals" as well who commute to the nearest large town or city for work. Plus the arrogance of how its said. As if the slack jawed yokels can't be having our educated betters coming in to show us the error of our ways. Small hint, when we get a college degree it's in a specific discipline, it doesn't mean people have to doff the cap to you on everything you spout

Ya I'm sure the odd dub gets a rough time but most of the ones who come in and then whinge about not being accepted into the community are the types of fools who move to rural house then spend half their time burning the arse of the poor local Gardai making noise complaints about cattle roaring or tractors coming and going in the neighboring fields early morning and late at night during the summer doing sileage

Or hilariously arrive to a community and make zero effort to get to know locals then whinge when they sell up they were never accepted. If you move to any place you need to make yourself known in a nice polite way. It can be harder rurally as there's not as many groups etc to get involved in. But my God the amount of people from cities or other countries who buy a rural place and don't even salute someone back then you hear they are moving out again and have been whinging they felt pushed out.

Or some ignorant type who automatically assume all these culchies are thick and in need of educating, that won't get you far in any community looking down your nose, rural or not.

Sound dubs get seen as sound and be treated as such, in fact surprisingly if you are nice and friendly you might even get invited to gatherings or just to people's houses for a visit.

Act the knob and you get treated like one whether it's in a rural community or an urban area
    Brilliant post. Arrogance of a lot of Dubs coming to rural Ireland and thinking they are above everyone is unreal. We had a Dublin couple 2 doors up from us a few years back and were up their own hole and made no effort with anyone, soon moved back.

Openly gay couple from Dublin moved here 9 months ago, got heavily involved in local community, no problem getting stuck into a sing song in the local, no ego, no bull****, get on with a house on fire with everyone as they made the effort and visa versa. Lot to be said for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭mayo londoner

Personally, last 3 months been as good as I've ever had since my childhood. Based up in Dublin usually doing horrific hours, moved back home, spent time with my parents, aunts, uncles, nieces nephews etc, and made me realise that there's way more to life than the dream of having a big bank balance.

Going back to the office in 2 weeks and know there isn't a hope in hell of ever getting WFH through them so main objective now is to find some sort of job outside of Dublin that is flexible working hours and a decent wage. Don't get me wrong, I like Dublin, just can't justify house prices and going for long walks/cycles in the proper sea air every night with the birds singing and the sound of silence for the first time since I left secondary school has made me realise how much I miss living near home.

Strangest thing is that we have fibre optic broadband and it is 10 times faster than any internet I've had in Dublin, 2 o my neighbours who are based in Dublin and moved home last couple months have said the exact same thing, whether it be in the office or my accomadation. I think this will be huge for rural Ireland in the next 3-4 years and would love to see my home get an influx of both newbies and people who are from the the area moving home for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Nicetrustedcup

Myself is the extra 2.5 hours a day that I have gained buy not haveing to travel to work On the bus!!!!

Now it’s get up 7.30 have a shower, get dressed into a tracksuit, eat breakfast and go up stairs to the home office to start working.

However it has also made he realise how lucky I am to have a job at this time and how I love what I do and enjoy it while it lasts.

But I am also finally catching up on my video game backlog. I think I might have completed maybe 10 games during the past few months !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

No pubs to destroy my weekends and wallet. No booze now and jogging 5 or 6k most days. Make the most of it.

Brilliant post. Arrogance of a lot of Dubs coming to rural Ireland and thinking they are above everyone is unreal. We had a Dublin couple 2 doors up from us a few years back and were up their own hole and made no effort with anyone, soon moved back.

Openly gay couple from Dublin moved here 9 months ago, got heavily involved in local community, no problem getting stuck into a sing song in the local, no ego, no bull****, get on with a house on fire with everyone as they made the effort and visa versa. Lot to be said for it.

"The arrogance of a lot of dubs...." , how dare they come to rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

For every one of these arrogant Dubs there’s probably 10 country folk living in Dublin bitching and moaning about how sh*t the place is. We’re all equally terrible at the end of the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

There hasn't really been many positives, it's been mostly shít I reckon but one noticeable upside is that the bank account is growing because there's no pubs to spend the money in.

Also the lockdown's got me back cycling an actual bike rather than an exercise bike....which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Honestly haven't noticed many perks.

I hate sitting at home and I'm usually fairly sociable so being away from work, friends and family was hard. My friends almost all struggled mentally so I spent a lot of time trying to comfort them.
    My necessary surgery and medical appointments have all been indefinitely cancelled so I'm basically sat here in pain every day until they're eventually done.
    People i know have taken their own life. :(

It's honestly been fcuking horrific, I'm just incredibly happy I got back to work during lockdown because of being an "essential" service. It kept my mental health in check, thankfully.

The only positive i can take from it is that it's reinforced to me that I adore the company I work for, and it's reminded me how much I love my workmates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Working from Home has been a positive for me.
    I don't call it a "perk", however, because it is something that benefits companies and society as a whole.

Maybe having shops closed has made people aware of over-comsumption. This awareness could turn in concrete actions for sustainability and environment.

I can not think of any perks.

The lockdown has hit people in different ways.

I am somewhat in the middle as I could still work and do it safely from home.
    I know people on other ends of the spectrum: from people in the UK who have been furloughed with salary topped up by employer to 100%; to the staff in my local supermarket and chemists, who have been at risk every single day and now look absolutely exhausted frankly.

And then there is the housing/space divide.
    I live in less than 350 square feet with no balcony, no garden, so if I want to get some fresh air I have to go out.
    There are people who share accomodation with strangers and, in addition to the above challenges, they also had the issue of keeping distances and constantly disinfecting common areas.

And then there is the family aspect.
    From people with no kids who organised drinks nights on Zoom; to people with kids who are absolutely exhausted by home working plus home schooling.

So no, even trying hard I can not think of any perks.
    And I am a glass full kinda person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Much less stress. No pressure to attend work nights out and listen to the boss talking shyte. I've more free time and energy to train so I'm in the best shape of my life. I'm learning new things. I'm more creative. I've started reading again.

The only thing I really miss is the motorsport and car shows. I love going to Mondello Park but all the big events have been cancelled this year which is a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

It was a great 3 months for us introverts. I had a baby in March, no visitors popping in to see the baby a day after I’d given birth. No trips to the in laws. My husband WFH so I get a bit of a lie in after being up with the baby because he doesn’t have to leave for work at 7.30.

I’ve also made more of an effort to support Irish business (easier said than done in a lot of cases) and switched to cloth nappies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Phoenix32

It's really fascinating to see how people cope so differently, some really struggle and others thrive, I guess it depends on what you enjoy in life and whether that involves groups or people or if you prefer more solitary activities. I've had to cocoon so I've been cut off more than most people but I'm used to having to be very careful as even getting a cold can leave me needing to go to hospital so I guess in that sense fear around getting ill and around viruses and bacteria isn't really different for me or the precautions I need to take aren't that different either. I'm also a very solitary person so if anyone was built for a lockdown it was me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,976 ✭✭✭pgj2015

For every one of these arrogant Dubs there’s probably 10 country folk living in Dublin bitching and moaning about how sh*t the place is. We’re all equally terrible at the end of the day!

True, I was out in Dublin just before Christmas, talked to a lot of people, all from the country, id say 1 in 10 of them were happy to be in Dublin, the rest of them were just there because that is where the jobs are, they nearly all told me they would prefer to be living in the countryside.

Phoenix32 wrote: »
    It's really fascinating to see how people cope so differently, some really struggle and others thrive, I guess it depends on what you enjoy in life and whether that involves groups or people or if you prefer more solitary activities. I've had to cocoon so I've been cut off more than most people but I'm used to having to be very careful as even getting a cold can leave me needing to go to hospital so I guess in that sense fear around getting ill and around viruses and bacteria isn't really different for me or the precautions I need to take aren't that different either. I'm also a very solitary person so if anyone was built for a lockdown it was me :p

It really is. I've had little to no fear about myself getting the virus. My fear was instead focused on lockdown neverending which was irrational.
    Funny thing is I am also very solitary and love being alone. I certainly do miss certain people but not as much as I miss my freedoms.
    Before all this most things I did by myself but they are things that stopped.

I also think living circumstances have a huge part to play. Its easier I imagine to be in lockdown with your family and a nice house and big garden than. I'm generalising I know because nobody knows what goes on behind closed doors. Its just that when I hear a happily married person with a family tell people to "suck it up". Well I can't help but wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

No motorways to Mayo, Sligo or Donegal :/