Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is a pacified society

• 10-06-2020 4:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 118 ✭✭

See what happens if An Garda Siochona randomly stops you with a butter knife in your pocket.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 118 ✭✭Ohio9

You'll be imprisoned for carrying an offensive weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

What about a cheese knife?

Same thing, offensive weapon. Why would you take it on you mate? No excuse = you're off to court boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If you had butter and a few slices of bread in your other pocket you would be grand.

Ohio9 wrote: »
    Same thing, offensive weapon. Why would you take it on you mate? No excuse = you're off to court boy.

Thanks for clarifying. I won’t ever make that mistake thanks to this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Does it have to be a cheese knife or would it apply to all dairy products?

If you had butter and a few slices of bread in you other pocket you would be grand.

I'll start carrying bread in my pockets.

If you had butter and a few slices of bread in you other pocket you would be grand.

And a lump of cheddar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Take it that a Stanley knife or penknife would be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

make sure you carry some cheese as well and you have a reasonable excuse for carrying the cheese knife. maybe some crackers as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Why would you need a butter knife if your not in a kitchen or eating?

Take it that a Stanley knife or penknife would be ok

If you work in a job that requires it such as a carpenter then yes, otherwise court and jail for carrying offensive weapon. Bet americans and most Europeans would laugh at us.

make sure you carry some cheese as well and you have a reasonable excuse for carrying the cheese knife. maybe some crackers as well.

Good call. Avoid cheesy crackers though, as they not believe you plan to have cheesy crackers with cheese.

Self defence. Scumbags everywhere in Dublin. It's just hilarious that even a kitchen knife would get you arrested and sent to court for possessing an offensive weapon. Nevermind about a combat knife.

Ipso wrote: »
    Does it have to be a cheese knife or would it apply to all dairy products?

*snort*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,902 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Just carry a melon baller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Self defence. Scumbags everywhere in Dublin. It's just hilarious that even a kitchen knife would get you arrested and sent to court for possessing an offensive weapon. Nevermind about a combat knife.

“Giz yer wallet!”

“Feck off before I butter you!”

What I mean by pacified society is that the people cannot defend themselves in any way other than attempting to run away. You'll be lucky if the guardians of peace show up at all. They might show up 4 hours later to find your corpse in a pool of blood after getting stabbed by a scrote who ignores the laws and holds multiple stabbing devices.

running away is always a very good option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Some very sharp very long kitchen knives, boning knife would be useful

What if they run faster than you? The scrotes often attack women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,902 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Strong chance that your attackers will be clad in athletic clothing and footwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

They often carry bigger knives too.

What about Cavan lads using a knife to peel fruit in their pockets?

Just carry the ingredients of a few "hang sangwiches" in the other pocket. Instead of arresting you, make the Garda one and he/she will join you in reminiscing over the Nenagh hurling team of 1995.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Strong chance that your attackers will be clad in athletic clothing and footwear.

You'll never get away from the ones with reversed caps and go faster stripes on their gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Batman might see you in distress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

'tis a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

So how would you defend yourself with a butter knife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This would explain all the cops stopping people coming out of cutlery stores...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Redneck Reject1971

In truth,your own personal safety relies on you.The response times from police is too long to assure your safety and well being. But you also have to accept the responsibility of protecting yourself in Ireland. There are far too many laws protecting the perpetrator than the victim.

In the end,it is the old saying.Better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The butter knife would be handy alright, I suppose, if he threatens you with a pound of butter. He won't be expecting that.

I'm disappointed that in all my years in cities I was never threatened with a pound of butter:(

Well of course, but be sure to bring his butter with you and buy a loaf of bread on the way home as well.

Breakfast sorted as well:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

OP obviously does not know what a butter knife is.

I carry a soup fork.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

businessman-wearing-a-shirt-and-waist-coat-picture-id464996641?k=6&m=464996641&s=612x612&w=0&h=Ug60bjLK-DzXY8aqKx-HWvX4-KO8AnzEaXc3wpRB_7Q=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

For the OP's benefit; This is a butter knife:

Butter-knife.jpg

Only the lactose intolerant could claim it to be offensive

cnocbui wrote: »
    For the OP's benefit; This is a butter knife:

Butter-knife.jpg

Only the lactose intolerant could claim it to be offensive

thats not a knife, this is a knife

1200px-Dessert_Spoon.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

If I can run faster than that woman, I'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I'll have the Guards round. Looks nasty.

See what happens if An Garda Siochona randomly stops you with a butter knife in your pocket.

Cops have an ego. At least you would be in a good position to butter them up :)

They might stick in the loaf.
    What I mean by pacified society is that the people cannot defend themselves in any way other than attempting to run away.

I have over a decade in various forms of combat training. In any situation of the sort I would be using all of it - to run away. Unless there is a damn good reason to stay in the fight - getting the hell out and away is pretty much goal 1.

As for a knife - strangely I would prefer to be attacked with one than by someone unarmed. The average person who does not know what to do with a knife is a hell of a lot more predictable in a fight than someone unarmed.

I run a 4:15 average over 15km. If a knife wielding druggie can catch me at a sprint - he deserves to go for a kill shot attempt. :)
    Just carry the ingredients of a few "hang sangwiches" in the other pocket.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYpSDNyVsFM
    I'm disappointed that in all my years in cities I was never threatened with a pound of butter:(

So every time you are mugged do you shout "Damn - I cant believe its not butter!"

I have over a decade in various forms of combat training. In any situation of the sort I would be using all of it - to run away. Unless there is a damn good reason to stay in the fight - getting the hell out and away is pretty much goal 1.

As for a knife - strangely I would prefer to be attacked with one than by someone unarmed. The average person who does not know what to do with a knife is a hell of a lot more predictable in a fight than someone unarmed.

I run a 4:15 average over 15km. If a knife wielding druggie can catch me at a sprint - he deserves to go for a kill shot attempt. :)

So every time you are mugged do you shout "Damn - I cant believe its not butter!"

of course if a bloke did try to attack you with a pound of butter you could reply with "how dairy"

If I fight you for that joke - you know you are going to get creamed right?

and i would milk it for sympathy afterwards

Dammit I have run out of dairy jokes. You whipped me.

definitely stopping now. no pint continuing

I give up. You are the Elit(re).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Those carrying knifes have a far, far higher chance of serious injury or death when they do try "self defence"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Has anyone considered a fish fork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

How about a scissors? I have a cool fold up mini scissors for my hobby. I often put the scissors in my pocket folded up and go about my day and even go out walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Has anyone considered a fish fork?
    Or even a fish.

"I can run faster than majority of the population so **** them" shows your IQ.