Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Guineas

• 09-06-2020 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

Monarch of Egypt currently 18s....

Looks big to me considering he came closest to Siskin last year
    Armory obviously also in mix and Siskin a good fav but at 18s Monarch of Egypt looks a cracking ew price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Monarch of Egypt currently 18s....

Looks big to me considering he came closest to Siskin last year
    Armory obviously also in mix and Siskin a good fav but at 18s Monarch of Egypt looks a cracking ew price

Might go but AOB said The Jersey for him

Someone tipped Vatican City at 20/1 here the other week and i backed 14/1 when i read it so hope he is declared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Royal Lytham for me. Fairly sweet on him. Thought he was the one to take out of the last race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Croll

Guess the Siskin SP for tomorrow? Although I wouldn't be too interested in backing him I think there's money to be made as he certainly will be lower than the 3.3 hes at on the exchange currently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

I think there's worse bets out there than 16's for Fiscal Rules.
    Yes he's only had the 1 run and Bolger hasn't set the world alight since the restart, but absolutely nothing wrong with his only run when beaten a head by Wichita.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Slattsy wrote: »
    Royal Lytham for me. Fairly sweet on him. Thought he was the one to take out of the last race.

He's my horse for early this year. Looked the best against siskin and monarch. Hope he's ready to go. Have to admin i was kind of hoping for a bigger price in some other race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Dayjur

Feels bizzare this being on tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

gazza1 wrote: »
    I think there's worse bets out there than 16's for Fiscal Rules.
    Yes he's only had the 1 run and Bolger hasn't set the world alight since the restart, but absolutely nothing wrong with his only run when beaten a head by Wichita.

Absolutely spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭BoldReason

It's not implausible that Siskin could drift to circa 7/2. He'd certainly be a bet at that.

At the risk of tipping up the whole field here I did think Fort Myers was interesting. I could see Ballydoyle trying to make this an absolute test to get Siskin beat. There is every chance the race could fall apart. If it does I think he could well pick up the pieces a bit. He is circa 33/1 generally. There is certainly classier individuals in the field but it is generally an open enough race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

I'd have said that 16s on a maiden having his second start in a classic is a horrific price no matter how promising the debut was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Free Solo being backed with the yard being in decent form, was 25/1 the other day now around 12/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Been given House Edge in 3.15 at Kempers 11/4. Been off course for a while but decent run expected, if its good enough to win i dont know but backed it anyway even if Hayley Turner is in the saddle

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Siskin with a ew on Monarch of Egypt. Rev FC also

Cant have Siskin or LYF - i think both well end up as sprinters.

Has there been any change to ground?

Slattsy wrote: »
    Cant have Siskin or LYF - i think both well end up as sprinters.

Has there been any change to ground?
    Still good to firm Slatts

The Mig wrote: »
    Still good to firm Slatts

Thanks Mod

Been given House Edge in 3.15 at Kempers 11/4. Been off course for a while but decent run expected, if its good enough to win i dont know but backed it anyway even if Hayley Turner is in the saddle
    2nd- Hayley Turner weak as piss in the finish

Dark vader 6/1

Layfayette @10/1
    5:40

Fiscal Rules @12/1
    6:40 Curragh

Gold Maze @9/2
    6:10 Curragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

That was impressive from Admiral Nelson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Lovely debut winner for AOB there. Looks very smart

Kingman some sire

Ive gone with Seamy Heffs ride in the Guineas, seems confident of a decent run

Ice Cold in Alex for me in the next. Sure to run his race I'd imagine. The worry is he is not quite as well handicapped as others but will do for me at the prices. 13/2

Think United Front in the following race also would be a bit shorter than 9/2.

Fort Myers in the guineas then at 33/1 my 3 for the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

An unbeaten 2yo is favourite for a 2000 Guineas! That sounds familiar.
    There is a bit of doubt that the sire and dam of Siskin were suited to 8f.
    There are few in this field you can rule out.

I have a bet on Sinawann at 18s.
    All the progeny of Simawa, the dam of Sinawann, got about 8f or more.
    My motto is "when I win I want to get paid". No bets at short prices for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Serious money for this SHERPA here all of a sudden.....

Siskin predictably shortening up at the front. The 4.0 he drifted to was for sure too big. Had a request in at 4.4 :( wishful thinking on my part.

Just Fort Myers for me so but would personally like to see Siskin do the job for Colin Keane if my bet doesn't win that is :)

They tried to do him. Keane having none of it. Absolute balls like a bengali tiger.

That’s a fcuking machine lads

He's 99% getting a few days for that. But I doubt he gives a ****.

Absolute world class from the best rider in Ireland, the ballydoyle boys executed that to perfection but siskin is awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Colin Keane one cool customer there. Siskin top class

Great to see. What a ride.

Vatican City wins the Derby!!

Delighted for team Siskin. Team Ballydoyle tried their damndest. A tad unsportsmanlike in my opinion.

BoldReason wrote: »
    He's 99% getting a few days for that. But I doubt he gives a ****.

Looks fine from the head on actually so should be fine actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Great winner, but that Vatican City could solve the derby puzzle, Great trial run there. Still a bit of 33/1 around, lads actually boosted it to 36

Heffernan does not want a holiday with Royal Ascot and Epsom coming up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Dayjur wrote: »
    Absolute world class from the best rider in Ireland, the ballydoyle boys executed that to perfection but siskin is awesome

It'll be some craic on Twitter hearing the English on about this new lad riding in Ireland, every racing fan over here knowing he's top drawer for years.

I wouldn't usually complain to much about Jockeys but jesus Chris Hayes gave the 1 horse there a scandalous ride. He was still on the bridle a furlong out.

Dunno would he have won but jesus he would have been a clear 2nd.
    Had no bet on it fwiw

The Mig wrote: »
    Siskin with a ew on Monarch of Egypt. Rev FC also

Monarch highly unlucky there also. Be keeping an eye on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Siskin best of a mediocre lot. Looked better given that Loup Y Fernandez didn't stay. Delighted for connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Croll

Great for the game to see some what of a superstar remain unbeaten and in great fashion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Artfu1Dodger

Was great to see the best horse come out on top under dodgy racing tactics. Fiscal rules could be another to take out of that race. Think he has a big race in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

The race was a complete farce and the fact Keane was put in front of the stewards was a disgrace.

Could you expand on what you mean by “farce”?

I thought that Ballydoyles tactics sad to see. A case of win at all costs?

Yes and absolutely how it should be

On her form with Love, and could have been closer, So Wonderful seems huge at 9s

Delighted for team Siskin. Team Ballydoyle tried their damndest. A tad unsportsmanlike in my opinion.
    There might be a stewards enquiry at Ballydoyle to find out how Siskin escaped. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

How can you not see a problem? Ballydoyle have more than half the runners in the race, deliberately attempt to box in the favourite, and it's Colin Keane who is forced to explain himself in front of the stewards for his ride and ends up getting a warning? It's ridiculous.
    121D Tattersalls Irish 2,000 Guineas
    The Stewards enquired into possible interference about one and a half furlongs from the finish involving Armory, ridden by W.M. Lordan, placed fourth and Siskin (USA), ridden by C.T. Keane, placed first, where it appeared that Siskin (USA) may have caused some interference when manoeuvring outwards to make his challenge. Evidence was heard from the riders concerned. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered the evidence, the Stewards made no alteration to the Judges placings' but advised C.T. Keane to ride with more care.

How can you not see a problem? Ballydoyle have more than half the runners in the race, deliberately attempt to box in the favourite, and it's Colin Keane who is forced to explain himself in front of the stewards for his ride and ends up getting a warning? It's ridiculous.

That’s what I thought you meant. Behaviour like that from a big outfit leaves a bad taste.

Pipe yard fancy their runner in the 4.20 7/2. I'm not a big David Pipe fan so only small win bet