Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perceptions about Ireland that people just assume but aren't true

14567810»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

blinding wrote: »
    Do you think that James Connolly consider himself “ Not an Irishman “ ?

He was born in Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland and lived there for 14/15 years. He was Scottish.

Are all the Liverpool and Utd fans who call themselves Scouse and Mancs British?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

James Connolly was a Better Irishman than all but a Very Few !

Ireland has always had its traitors , spys and informers.

I’d take James Connolly as an Irishman above any of ye lot any day !

• Registered Users Posts: 14,058 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

I’d take him as a Scotsman above you any day, but that’s just me. Is there any truth he played for Rangers under 6s?

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭TragicJohnson

Take it easy on the hydroxychloroquine.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

That the Irish are mad for fighting. Apart from a certain ethnic group largely not true.

Probably true about 60 , 70 years ago. They would have no trouble putting young lads fighting to toughen them up a bit in those days. This was before television.

50 years ago their would be fights outside dance halls and the like. I suppose bits and pieces of that still go on !

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Dav010 wrote: »
    33 million Americans consider themselves Irish. Does it make them Irish?

He was born to Irish parents, he most certainly considered himself Irish.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    He was born to Irish parents, he most certainly considered himself Irish.
    He would get an Irish Passport no Problem Today.

He was more Irish than the Traitors , Spies and Informers ! !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭kravmaga

1 sheep2 wrote: »
    You have an interesting approach to punctuation.

The English I have met have been very fond of the Irish. Our 'accent' has been voted the most attractive in the British Isles. Perhaps there's another reason they haven't warmed to you.

Rubbish

• Registered Users Posts: 15,791 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Probably true about 60 , 70 years ago. They would have no trouble putting young lads fighting to toughen them up a bit in those days. This was before television.

50 years ago their would be fights outside dance halls and the like. I suppose bits and pieces of that still go on !

Faction fights were a thing 150 or so years ago.
    Fill the head of a blackthorn stick with lead for extra skull smashing capability.

Men, women, everyone getting stuck in after a wedding, fair or funeral. It sounds kind of familiar.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

not remember the troubles?? went on for 25 yrs:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Positive one. That Ireland is this homely agricultural society with rolling green fields and zero crime. Very prevalent on the continent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

fryup wrote: »

Northern Ireland is not the ROI. Different country, remember?

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Figel Narage

Positive one. That Ireland is this homely agricultural society with rolling green fields and zero crime. Very prevalent on the continent.

Yeah I've heard that one a lot. If they even know Ireland exists, they think of the above and wonder if we have wifi haha

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    Northern Ireland is not the ROI. Different country, remember?

well its still Ireland,

and the title of the thread says...Perceptions about Ireland it doesn't differentiate

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭1 sheep2

kravmaga wrote: »
    The English I have met have been very fond of the Irish. Our 'accent' has been voted the most attractive in the British Isles. Perhaps there's another reason they haven't warmed to you.
    Rubbish

According to this person, my experience is rubbish. But could it be that the English don't warm to his Anglophobia?!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

In fairness we have relatively low levels of crime. We're just very good at putting ourselves down.