Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Car washing with household items?

• 21-05-2020 5:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭

I know some of you may frown on this question. or physically get sick at the thought of it :pac: I may even get banned :)

Can anyone recommend something lying around the house to wash a car with. e.g.

1. soap
    2. washing up liquid
    3. shampoo

etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

If you really haven't got anything else,short term i would use the washing up liquid, but if you can get out buy some car wash shampoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Title clarified

The detergents in washing up liquid breaks down wax so make sure to wax car after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

biko wrote: »
    Title clarified

The detergents in washing up liquid breaks down wax so make sure to wax car after.

I must say fairy liquid is the right job for cleaning alloys in my experience. If you can leave the wheels soaking for a few minutes in a solution and then go at them with a wheel brush, it works better than a lot of dedicated wheel products.

It does strip any wax off the car as Biko has said. It's a very effective degreaser.

Why not just get some proper car cleaning stuff? You can sometimes get some in Tesco or the likes. I know Halfords aren't open yet.

Or you could buy online (like adverts.. cough cough, wink wink, nudge, nudge, nod, nod, etc.).

If I had to use household stuff, I would avoid washing up liquid. Use it on a plate and it practically dries the plate out. I wouldn't like it on paintwork of a car. If it was me, I'd prefer to use a handsoap as they tend to not dry things out as much, but still give a relatively good lather when they get mixed up in water.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭obi604

Thanks. I know I can buy special car shampoo and all this. But I’m just wondering what standard household items to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Quick answer is...............no, i wouldn't bother using the household products. Specific car cleaning products are so readily available now online that I would just products that formulated for use on cars.

Washing up liquid breaking down wax is a bit of a myth. While it is on the alkaline side of pH neutral-ness, so are practically all pre-wash cleaning agents used by week end warrior and full time car cleaning professionals, all which will degrade the wax slightly each time used. What gives the expression of your wax/sealant being removed is that washing up liquids will usually leave surfactants behind on top of the wax/sealant which reduces water behaviour.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

obi604 wrote: »
    I know some of you may frown on this question. or physically get sick at the thought of it :pac: I may even get banned :)

Can anyone recommend something lying around the house to wash a car with. e.g.

1. soap
    2. washing up liquid
    3. shampoo

etc

1. No
    2. No
    3. No

I have to be honest, why bother. You are obviously not into cars in general, so just go the garage and get the lads there to wash it. €8 and your sorted.

Now for my next thread. Is there anything in the fridge I can use to wash my hair with?

Gumbo wrote: »
    1. No
    2. No
    3. No

I have to be honest, why bother. You are obviously not into cars in general, so just go the garage and get the lads there to wash it. €8 and your sorted.

Now for my next thread. Is there anything in the fridge I can use to wash my hair with?

Eggs. Apparently they are great for the hair.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Thanks. I know I can buy special car shampoo and all this. But I’m just wondering what standard household items to use.

Similarly, I know I can go buy a frying pan but can anyone recommend anything lying around a house I could use to cook me dinner on? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

washing up liquid is particularly bad as it's apparently full of salt.

either leave it dirty or go buy some proper stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,293 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd rather leave my car go dirty another few weeks until places are opened again than use any of that household stuff on it. Or buy online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just hot water will get a lot dirt off.

1. No
    2. No
    3. No

I’m really really sorry. I didn’t mean to upset you.

Can someone recommend a Beginner shampoo to use to wash a car with? (That won’t cost an arm and a leg)

What is best for a Beginner - an old school sponge or a
    noodle wash mitt?

Can someone recommend a Beginner shampoo to use to wash a car with? (That won’t cost an arm and a leg)

noodle wash mitt?

I’ve only ever used zip wax and autoglym. The former is good and the latter awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,724 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

A lot of Halfords are open...

I got a scratch repair kit there in Airside on Wednesday.

Before lockdown I got a 5L of Turtle Wax shampoo also in Halfords) and it works quite well!
    (I figured getting a new car would be the right time to stop using washing up liquid for washing cars)

A lot of Halfords are open...

I got a scratch repair kit there in Airside on Wednesday.

Before lockdown I got a 5L of Turtle Wax shampoo also in Halfords) and it works quite well!
    (I figured getting a new car would be the right time to stop using washing up liquid for washing cars)

The shampoo - this can on obviously be used in a bucket full of water.......but can you use it also with a pressure washer and the little detergent tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,724 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

The shampoo - this can on obviously be used in a bucket full of water.......but can you use it also with a pressure washer and the little detergent tank.

I’m not sure, but in the last 2 weeks I also got a foam gun and Turtle Wax Snow Foam, which gives the car a great wash/shine on its own

No, you need snow foam for that.

bazz26 wrote: »
    No, you need snow foam for that.

You can put whatever you like in it.

Right, go ahead so and knock yourself out.

Fcuk it I'm coming clean. The last time I washed my car was with fairy liquid.:pac:

I had everything out, brush, power washer, 2 buckets etc. Do you think I could find the car shampoo? Not a chance. I wasn't putting everything back so I gave it a hillbilly car wash. And it came out spotless. There's no laquer falling off it or anything.

Go ahead and give it a wash. You'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

As a once off you can use the dish soap.

But it’s harsh on paintwork and regular use wouldn’t be recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Washing up liquid breaking down wax is a bit of a myth. While it is on the alkaline side of pH neutral-ness, so are practically all pre-wash cleaning agents used by week end warrior and full time car cleaning professionals, all which will degrade the wax slightly each time used. What gives the expression of your wax/sealant being removed is that washing up liquids will usually leave surfactants behind on top of the wax/sealant which reduces water behaviour.

I was going to say Washing up liquid removes your wax is only a "Fairy" tale :D
    As said above, It leaves a film which looks like it removed the wax.
    Best not to use it, but back when nobody knew much better it was excellent and no paint fell off cars.
    Now if you were someone that was obviously looking to take good care of your car I would certainly not recommend it.

noodle wash mitt?

Megs gold class

Megs wash mitt

I’m really really sorry. I didn’t mean to upset you.

No you didn’t upset me at all.
    It’s just a very silly statement that strikes me of someone trolling. I mean, my 9 year old wouldn’t ask that question if I’m honest.

Then furthermore backed up by asking for a beginners shampoo??/
    Just buy a bottle of turtle wax for 1.50 in deals. Sorted.

Or check the beginners isle in Halfords ;)

Yes. Bucket and something to scrub the car. Brillo pad is fine, but I’d personally use a wash mitt. They can be got for 1.50 in deals too.

The little dispenser on your power washer is a detergent dispenser yes, but it sprays such a fine concentration of the detergent that it wouldn’t be worth your while using it.

You’d be better filling a bucket, and yes, you can get them in deals too and mixing it as per the shampoo manufacturers instructions on the back and just dunk your sponge for each panel.

There’s no point pointing you towards proper products or sites as you want a basic, cheap simple wash so do as above.

Depending on the car the paint may require some protection but it also depends on if your car is maintained or simply an a to b piece of metal (leaf)?

No you didn’t upset me at all.
    It’s just a very silly statement that strikes me of someone trolling. I mean, my 9 year old wouldn’t ask that question if I’m honest.

Then furthermore backed up by asking for a beginners shampoo??/
    Just buy a bottle of turtle wax for 1.50 in deals. Sorted.

Or check the beginners isle in Halfords ;)

No offence but your 9 year old probably knows all this because you are a car detailer type person and you have drilled this in to the child.

I would safely guess the vast majority would indeed use fairy liquid without a 2nd thought. And some probably don’t even realise there is a such a thing as a car shampoo.

This forum is fairly specialised and ye seem to be sneerin that I don’t know all the ins and outs.

You could use a pack of wet wipes or a can of coke and a bit of old carpet. Or give it a bit of a rub with peanut butter and get the dog to lick it clean.

Would you wash the dishes with head & shoulders? Or brush your teeth with fairy liquid? Would you use a bar of soap to clean your teeth? Or use floor cleaner to wash your hair?

Get some car wash or car shampoo. That’s what you’ll be told in a Car Detailing forum. Good advice.

If you want to argue against good advice when you asked, it would be better for you to actually know something in the first place. You know about car shampoo so you can’t bleat ignorance as a defence for wanting to do silly things.

Seriously.
    Buying a bottle of car shampoo is not specialized. The same way washing up liquid is not called shampoo.

JayZeus wrote: »
    You could use a pack of wet wipes or a can of coke and a bit of old carpet. Or give it a bit of a rub with peanut butter and get the dog to lick it clean.

Would you wash the dishes with head & shoulders? Or brush your teeth with fairy liquid? Would you use a bar of soap to clean your teeth? Or use floor cleaner to wash your hair?

Get some car wash or car shampoo. That’s what you’ll be told in a Car Detailing forum. Good advice.

If you want to argue against good advice when you asked, it would be better for you to actually know something in the first place. You know about car shampoo so you can’t bleat ignorance as a defence for wanting to do silly things.

its some of you that are the argumentative ones.

where am I 'arguing' against good advice, I am just looking for information, that is all.

other threads are really helpful, some of you here are just smart alecks.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭jim-mcdee

To put the shine back mix some kerosene into the water after washing and wipe the car down with it. Puts a fantastic shine on the paintwork. Old car sales trick.

its some of you that are the argumentative ones.

where am I 'arguing' against good advice, I am just looking for information, that is all.

other threads are really helpful, some of you here are just smart alecks.

In fairness, all the info was giving in the first page including links to products that you can buy.

After that it’s always going to descend into caos.

There’s been loads of info given so maybe you can clarify what info you are still lacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Any hope of getting back on topic lads and stop the silly suggestions?
    It is a reality that some people just haven't a clue of what's what in the detailing/valeting world.

When the OP asked for suggestions of a "beginner" shampoo, I took it up that he was simply asking what shampoo would people suggest at a minimum. And also the basic minimum of a wash sponge/mitt etc.

vectra wrote: »
    Any hope of getting back on topic lads and stop the silly suggestions?
    It is a reality that some people just haven't a clue of what's what in the detailing/valeting world.

When the OP asked for suggestions of a "beginner" shampoo, I took it up that he was simply asking what shampoo would people suggest at a minimum. And also the basic minimum of a wash sponge/mitt etc.

In fairness to myself and other posters, the very first page gave all the advice required but the OP still went ahead posting that they knew you can buy car specific products but they want to use household items.

Post No. 05
    Linked directly to an Autoglym Package.

Post No. 06
    OP stated they wanted to use household products.

Post No. 08
    I stated that without any car specific products, just go to a garage and get it done.

Then the OP came back on talking about upsetting people so in my opinion the OP is taking the mick.

Yes. Bucket and something to scrub the car. Brillo pad is fine, but I’d personally use a wash mitt. They can be got for 1.50 in deals too.

The little dispenser on your power washer is a detergent dispenser yes, but it sprays such a fine concentration of the detergent that it wouldn’t be worth your while using it.

You’d be better filling a bucket, and yes, you can get them in deals too and mixing it as per the shampoo manufacturers instructions on the back and just dunk your sponge for each panel.

There’s no point pointing you towards proper products or sites as you want a basic, cheap simple wash so do as above.

Depending on the car the paint may require some protection but it also depends on if your car is maintained or simply an a to b piece of metal (leaf)?

Not sure if said in jest, but never use a Brillo pad to wash your car...........you will induce a lot of marring and minor abrasions to the clear coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

To answer your original question yes theres household items that work just fine, i wouldnt use soap or washingup liquid but a mild hair shampoo is just fine, ive seen a car cleaned with Johnsons baby shampoo in a foam canon and as skeptical as i was it actually worked well. It lathered well and offered decent lubrication. So if your caught out it could be a fall back. Obviously its not something i recommend using in general but just to answer your original question.

Are you interested in actually detailing your car?

projectgtr wrote: »
    To answer your original question yes theres household items that work just fine, i wouldnt use soap or washingup liquid but a mild hair shampoo is just fine, ive seen a car cleaned with Johnsons baby shampoo in a foam canon and as skeptical as i was it actually worked well. It lathered well and offered decent lubrication. So if your caught out it could be a fall back. Obviously its not something i recommend using in general but just to answer your original question.

Are you interested in actually detailing your car?

Thank you. Good comments. I’m Interested in starting washing my own car to begin with. And will see where it leads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Not sure if said in jest, but never use a Brillo pad to wash your car...........you will induce a lot of marring and minor abrasions to the clear coat.

Firstly, are people really not able to detect sarcasm that badly?

Secondly, I mean, you can wash your car using a brillo pad. Is it a good idea? - probably not really no, but if you don't give a shít you definitely could.

I think the implied thing here is that the OP literally doesn't give enough of a shít to go and buy the proper thing to do the job right, so if you don't care then use whatever because you don't care about the outcome either.

Firstly, are people really not able to detect sarcasm that badly?

Secondly, I mean, you can wash your car using a brillo pad. Is it a good idea? - probably not really no, but if you don't give a shít you definitely could.

I think the implied thing here is that the OP literally doesn't give enough of a shít to go and buy the proper thing to do the job right, so if you don't care then use whatever because you don't care about the outcome either.

Firstly, my sarcasm detector is out of batteries.

Secondly, the OP came on asking advice about household products being used on his car, to which the thread descended into some personal assumptions about his intentions, so I'll forgive the OP if he replied somewhat snarky to some posts.

The tone of this reply is definitely condescending......

1. No
    2. No
    3. No

And just for context..........I have had numerous customers admit to using items from brillo pads to red bristled yard brushes to "clean" their car, so forgive me if a person mentions "a brillo pad is fine" in the same sentence as saying what his preferred wash item is, and in a post where he goes on to offer decent advice!

Secondly, the OP came on asking advice about household products being used on his car, to which the thread descended into some personal assumptions about his intentions, so I'll forgive the OP if he replied somewhat snarky to some posts.

1. No
    2. No
    3. No

And just for context..........I have had numerous customers admit to using items from brillo pads to red bristled yard brushes to "clean" their car, so forgive me if a person mentions "a brillo pad is fine" in the same sentence as saying what his preferred wash item is, and in a post where he goes on to offer decent advice!

Thank you.

As you say I came on asking an innocent question and get above Type replies. I have no clue about detailing or even washing cars so was only asking.

Count yourself lucky you didn’t mention using only one bucket.

1. No
    2. No
    3. No

You can get batteries in deals for €1.50

Thank you.

As you say I came on asking an innocent question and get above Type replies. I have no clue about detailing or even washing cars so was only asking.

You also only seam to reply to the posts that aid in your opinions.
    You don’t answer questions from People That genuinely tried to aid you in the start of the thread.

This is not a detailing question.
    It’s a basic car wash question.
    If you are interested in detailing that’s a whole other rabbit hole to venture.

You asked a basic question and the basic answers at the start of the thread still answer that basic question.

Others including myself replied to further questions about detergent and power washer detergent containers but it all went over your head and you ignored it.

So continue to Thank the people this don’t actually offer advice or read the posts that did give you good advice and take it from
    There.

Count yourself lucky you didn’t mention using only one bucket.

I only use one bucket.
    There’s a few systems that are one bucket safe such as the Autoglym Polar Range as everything is through the foam lance. Therefore you only dunk your mitt in clean water as the shampoo is already on the car from the snow lance.

You also only seam to reply to the posts that aid in your opinions.
    You don’t answer questions from People That genuinely tried to aid you in the start of the thread.

This is not a detailing question.
    It’s a basic car wash question.
    If you are interested in detailing that’s a whole other rabbit hole to venture.

You asked a basic question and the basic answers at the start of the thread still answer that basic question.

Others including myself replied to further questions about detergent and power washer detergent containers but it all went over your head and you ignored it.

So continue to Thank the people this don’t actually offer advice or read the posts that did give you good advice and take it from
    There.

You are the Bleedin mod supposedly. Why didn’t you move it to wherever it should be then.

Some of you detailer types are really lovely.........NOT.

You are the Bleedin mod supposedly. Why didn’t you move it to wherever it should be then.

Some of you detailer types are really lovely.........NOT.

Maaaah name is Borat. Hawww ah wahsh ma kah-r? I wahsh wit tears of old gypsy.

One of the unfunniest things I’ve ever read.

Naaaaht.

Here, this video was made just for you:

Naaaaht.

Here, this video was made just for you:

Stop, my sides are killing me. Hilarious. Great humour.

You’re going to be hounded out now for underestimating just how seriously serious car washers take it. You’d be better requesting the thread to be closed before they try make a complete **** of you for daring question.