Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take away pints

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

If i can't be reasonably satisfied (line of sight of process) that a hand has not touched the rim or lid of my glass / cup, I am not touching my lips to it. Same before this outbreak.

Geuze wrote: »
    Every pub can sell off-licence, can't they?

You can walk into a pub, and buy cans/bottles to take away?
    Well today I learned that yes - that us true:
    https://www.revenue.ie/en/companies-and-charities/excise-and-licences/excise-licensing/publicans-licences/index.aspx
    'A Publican’s Licence allows the holder to sell alcohol for consumption both on and off their premises.'

• Registered Users Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭inisboffin

I think the issue is not them selling bottled stuff, it's selling open pints.

That means open alcohol is being consumed off premises (the premises are closed for sit in/outside service).

That means people either drive home with the open pint (is this illegal here, it is in the US for sure), or consume outside (technically illegal). You see the loop here.

The other thing is the 'gathering' aspect. Again, if people are distancing I don't have a big problem with it (no different to festival season, except the pubs are closed and we are in a pandemic!), but it doesn't sound like they were and they weren't discouraged by the business either (but that's a whole other argument).

• Registered Users Posts: 14,410 ✭✭✭✭cson

inisboffin wrote: »
    That means people either drive home with the open pint (is this illegal here, it is in the US for sure), or consume outside (technically illegal). You see the loop here.

Depends on the State in the US - in Alabama for example not only is it legal to have an 'open container', its also legal to drink away so long as you're under the BAC limit.

cson wrote: »
    Depends on the State in the US - in Alabama for example not only is it legal to have an 'open container', its also legal to drink away so long as you're under the BAC limit.

You're right, forgot it was state by state (I think it's about 4 out of 5 don't like it there, and you can guess which states they are ;) ). Still do we really think people are driving home in their cars to Knocknacarra with full pints? :pac: Driving with open booze may actually be legal here though, but can't see the majority waiting to get up the hill.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭thesandeman

inisboffin wrote: »
    Still do we really think people are driving home in their cars to Knocknacarra with full pints? :pac: Driving with open booze may actually be legal here though, but can't see the majority waiting to get up the hill.

A Guinness in one hand and a mobile phone in the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just banned a poster for encouraging drinking while driving (post deleted).
    Please don't be next, I have better things to do than banning trolls.

Update re the pints thing. Friend in Dublin posted pics today of a few spots doing take away booze. Most were (like the 12) selling Growlers of craft brew, particular to them OR harder to get.

A pub in Rathmines is doing pint delivery (it says you have to order (pricey) food but it's common knowledge that you can just get the pints or cocktails no bother).
    It's actually quite cool - a van with a keg and a tap arrive at your house and it really is a fresh pint. Someone else may speak to the legality of this, but honestly this seems like a good option if someone did it here.

The others were a couple of pics of places doing take away beer/wine. There were some people sitting apart but big groups also gathered, and he saw gardaí move people on.

My question is, as we move forward and ask people to social distance, why is the thing discouraging this not addressed? They could even let Monroes have a few socially distanced tables outside with minimum seating. Just like letting people in the shop a few at a time, that would control it and also say again 'only for consumption in designated area' or something, and slap a €20 deposit on the glass?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,992 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Caribou are doing wine, cans and growlers as part of their take away offering.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Caribou are doing wine, cans and growlers as part of their take away offering.

'And he whistled for a growler and he said "My men".....'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

The f*ck is a Growler

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Buddy74

Andrew00 wrote: »
    The f*ck is a Growler

A Growler is a refillable container, into which draught beer is poured for home consumption. Today’s Growler comes in many different shapes and sizes – 2 litre, 1 litre, 64 floz, 32 floz, glass, ceramic, plastic and stainless steel as well as many novelty shapes.

Galway Bay Brewery have them or did. If you like the beer your drinking you can take it home. Only seen it really popular in California's craft brew places

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

growlers.jpg

Growlers are very common in brewpubs to sell their beer to fans without the hassle of commercial bottling.

Regarding the future of pubs selling more pints/cocktails for delivery I've been thinking those heat sealing machines they use for bubble tea would work great for that.

https://youtu.be/Kt6PdTP9mlI?t=129

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh, cans of Guinness from Lidl is all I need.

It's been clarified now. Pubs can legally serve pints (and other beverages) for takeaway.
    However they must be consumed further than 100 metres from the premises and not in a public place.

I suppose that means you're fecked if you live next door to the pub?

I forgot to add you may also travel outside of the 5k limit in order to collect your take away pint as it's classified as essential the same as groceries etc.
    You couldn't make it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,705 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I suppose that means you're fecked if you live next door to the pub?

Or above it :-)

Visit your mate who lives 105m down the road and drink it in his garden.

Or above it :-)

Visit your mate who lives 105m down the road and drink it in his garden.

Can I travel up the fifty miles to get a pint and drink it in your gaf?
    Mr O' can do the opposite and have one in mine.
    Tis all legal.

Yep this. Makes no sense at all.

Somebody will probably appeal it. I suppose in fairness nobody would be prepared for an anomaly like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭ChewyLouie

Monroe's are getting setup for Dial-a-Pint, poured at your door...

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=3286976727987541&id=195227873829124

• Registered Users Posts: 25,705 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Tis all legal.

I just measured it on Maps: we're 120m from one of his favourites. And we've got a balcony large enough that we could socialise outside with someone and maintain social distancing.

We'll expect to see you when Paul G starts offering takeaways.

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭Boxcar_Willie

What's stopping off-licences selling draught beer in a plastic cup for €2 ?

It’s the ‘not in a public place’ thing. Off license vs On license I’d imagine? If they open it they are serving.

What’s the legality of carrying the open pint though, from the pub to the private space? Is it grand once you don’t take a sip? #temptation! Lol!

ChewyLouie wrote: »
    Monroe's are getting setup for Dial-a-Pint, poured at your door...

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=3286976727987541&id=195227873829124

There's a biteen of a grey area there as well lol. (See attachment).
    Going by that you will have to go to the pub, order your pint to be delivered, pay the bar person and go home and wait until he/she catches up with you and gives it to you.
    Legally you can't ring in and pay by card.
    If Monroe's van gets there before you leg it home your pint could be left under the mat or in the recycling bin.

Forgot the attachment. Here you go:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

God we are sad if publicans are that desperate, i hope there is a list supplied so as i can avoid these premises infuture,,,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Its a nice novelty idea, but a novelty is all it is. The whole point of a pint is that its a very social thing and usually it will lead to several more than one pint. What are you supposed to do when you've gulped down that first sloppy "pint in a plastic cup" in 5 minutes and it's someone else's round? Ring Monroes to send the van around again? :pac:

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Its a nice novelty idea, but a novelty is all it is. The whole point of a pint is that its a very social thing and usually it will lead to several more than one pint. What are you supposed to do when you've gulped down that first sloppy "pint in a plastic cup" in 5 minutes and it's someone else's round? Ring Monroes to send the van around again? :pac:

Are we going to see a van doing constant loops of a single estate? :P. With 4 households to a garden if social distancing? Pick yer local now, yer booziest neighbours, and make a plan! LOL!

JoeA3 wrote: »
    What are you supposed to do when you've gulped down that first sloppy "pint in a plastic cup"

In one of the Dublin services it's a proper pint glass, you just leave a deposit.