Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda brutality in Clonmel April 2020

• 04-05-2020 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭

What do ye think of this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

Any chance of the rest of the video leading up to that point? Otherwise we only have half the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

So what do you propose they do if the person resists, let them go? Quite evident they were struggling to put on hand cuffs because of the person's refusal to comply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Homer wrote: »
    Any chance of the rest of the video leading up to that point? Otherwise we only have half the story?

Not a chance.

What do ye think of this ?

What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

Still not good, 3 cops millin into a lad face down on the street , who didn’t look like he was putting up a savage fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Rodney King wishes he was that bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

just a pisshead on the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,303 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

If this is Clonmel why does the video say Dublin?

Hasn't there been a string of arrests for violent incidents in Clonmel recently including an arrest over a fatal stabbing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Could be hours of footage before that but its edited to suit a narrative. If there was excessive force the victim is entitled to report that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Homer wrote: »

You know there is a history there in a country town like Clonmel. This guy must be a regular at the cop shop and have a coffee card to warrant a beating like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

cj maxx wrote: »
    If this is Clonmel why does the video say Dublin?

Its not my video, I don't live there but unfortunately I do know the kip well. Its outside the old Regal theatre on the Davis Road. Easy for three people to hit someone once they are handcuffed on the ground. There is another video of S B getting a few belts on the legs in Garrymore few weeks back floating around too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

is AH now basically a facefeck feed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

People complaining about brutality are probably the same folks that would be calling for some sort of vigilante justice in retaliation to some unsavoury act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Certainly looks like excessive force to me. There may be some reason for it but it should be investigated nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Watched the first half of that thinking to myself "nothing wrong here, big strong hure resisting arrest, no problem with a firm knee in the back or standing on his legs".

Then the 3 of them started laying into him and I thought "ah here..."

That said, we don't know the background. The fella might be a complete scumbag. In which case it's still highly questionable and most likely illegal to give him a pasting, but also understandable and I'd be looking the other way.

I've known plenty over the years who I'd be happy to hear about getting a doing by the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Resisting arrest and kicking out at officers, what are they supposed too do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

It's objectively excessive. They have lost their cool in that video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

I’d need to see the full video before forming an opinion. It doesn’t look great going on that clip but with lots of these clips that’s the point.If the guys not resisting arrest does this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It's what Guards do when they think no one is looking, it was caught on tape this time though. They would not do that in a crowded situation where everyone has their camera out. This is a glimpse into the reality.
    Look at Maurice McCabe, and the hell that man went through for speaking out, he had the Garda Commissioner, Martin Callinan in High Court over the creation within Tusla of a file containing completely false allegations of serious sex abuse . The Guards are one twisted entity, instead of convicting corrupt members, they will defend them, and attack anyone who blows the whistle. Even the high court case was settled with hush money on the steps ' a settlement'' all to keep the reality from the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Impossible to tell from that footage as to what provoked the reaction from the Gardai but up to that point they were doing everything by the book. At 1.22 it looks like he's holding on to the guy on the rights ankle and seems to lift his head. Possibly spitting or trying to bite ? That's the only thing I can guess at seeing as they all reacted at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

That looks more urban than Clonmel.
    Anyone translate the shooters commentary yet?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

I think it could be a Traveller on the ground there.

(Number of Thread pages rockets from 2 to 37..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

He would have to have done something pretty heinous for me to think that this is acceptable.

He was beaten about the legs with a truncheon, he took swinging punches to the ribs and its looks like those other punches made contact with the back of the head.

All while he was in a prone position unable to defend himself.
    There were three of them and still couldn't handcuff him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Resisting arrest and kicking out at officers, what are they supposed too do?

Restrain him using appropriate restraints and techniques. Not give him a savage beating.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

The biggest question is if Iarnród Éireann know that their logo is being used with gay abandon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

That looks more urban than Clonmel.
    Anyone translate the shooters commentary yet?

That is Clonmel. Beside Larry O’Keefes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭SAXA

I have been a bit past acceptably drunk a few times. Garda were very fair. In the video he is a danger to himself and is too drunkto know

And no one knows if that person has Knife gun or a anything else. Most times these play out right.

My brother in law who is a Garda got stabbed and is currently in hospital because the asshole had a concealed knife....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Some people will try to defend anything.

If 3 gardai can't restrain one undersized male when he's already face-down, limbs immobilised without beating the sh*t out of him they need to find another line of work.

Cops aren't above the law, that's assault and a potentially deadly one at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Once you resist arrest you lose all sympathy from me I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

So drunk people or people with profound mental health problems (who are transiently not of sound mind) should get a brutal beating? Sound logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭Feisar

Two of them open up on him at the same time which tells me it was controlled, as in one lad didn't loose the head. More like, "right, lets give this lad a clipping" type of scenario.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

There's a reason why the Guards are totally against body cams.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Mess with the bull, get the horns.

That'll cool his jets and soften his cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Mess with the bull, get the horns.

That'll cool his jets and soften his cough.

Thats a pretty silly comment. If you were on the receiving end of that assault..... I wonder would you be soo flippant?

Gardai have been shown again and again to be self serving and highly corrupt in this country.

Two wrongs doesn't make a right.... Presumably our victim was upto some shenanigans in order to need restraining, but the Gardai have totally overstepped the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Kurwa!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

There has been deaths in garda custody before, in Clonmel too. I would love th see the full video of events and also hear the garda's version.

Miike wrote: »
    So drunk people or people with profound mental health problems (who are transiently not of sound mind) should get a brutal beating? Sound logic.

Mental health explains why these things happen but does not excuse the behaviour that goes with it. You are still responsible for your behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Clonmel is a town that has suffered hugely at the hands of drug gangs in recent years , you should make a video of what the drug gangs do to people or their families who have a drug debt .

Mental health explains why these things happen but does not excuse the behaviour that goes with it. You are still responsible for your behaviour.

And cops assaulting a prone person on the ground with closed fists? Are they responsible to the law or should we shrug our shoulders because we hate scallys more than we have respect for the rule of law?

The only difference between a thug causing hassle for people on the streets and these three bozos is that they are in uniform and John Paul the public nuisance is in his civvies.

If they don't have the temperament to not beat the sh*t out of someone when effecting an arrest, they should find employment doing data entry in a corner cubicle away from people.

This is not a commentary on the state of AGS generally, we can really do without gents like these in our police force.

Yurt! wrote: »
    And cops assaulting a prone person on the ground with closed fists? Are they responsible to the law or should we shrug our shoulders because we hate scallys more than we have respect for the rule of law?

The only difference between a thug causing hassle for people on the streets and these three bozos is that they are in uniform and John Paul the public nuisance is in his civvies.

If they don't have the temperament to not beat the sh*t out of someone when effecting an arrest, they should find employment doing data entry in a corner cubicle away from people.

This is not a commentary on the state of AGS generally, we can really do without gents like these in our police force.

You see we dont have a full story. We have a segment in time. You know its not that simple and there is probably a history of blackguarding going on there.
    I am no fan of the guards but I hate druggie scumbags more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

There's a reason why the Guards are totally against body cams.

They're not though. Every representative body is in favour of them.

Its not my video, I don't live there but unfortunately I do know the kip well. Its outside the old Regal theatre on the Davis Road. Easy for three people to hit someone once they are handcuffed on the ground. There is another video of S B getting a few belts on the legs in Garrymore few weeks back floating around too

He wasn’t handcuffed. That’s what they were trying to do. Would love to see why he was being arrested!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

That doesn't look great for the Guards involved. Belting into a fella when he's pinned on the ground.

You see we dont have a full story. We have a segment in time. You know its not that simple and there is probably a history of blackguarding going on there.
    I am no fan of the guards but I hate druggie scumbags more.

So who do cops have license to beat the sh*t out of?

Pickpockets? Drug peddlers? People parking illegally? Anyone they see fit?

You hate druggie scumbags, fantastic. But you're shrugging your shoulders at a whole other category of scumbag. We don't need context, these guys could have easily killed the guy had a blow landed in the wrong place. Worse still, there was a fairly high profile case in Clonmel where a teenager died in custody in extremely controversial circumstances and the family never got answers(not making a judgement on this case, we still don't know what went down). These rocket scientists with short fuses should know better.

These chaps must have had a head-cold the day they were taught about restraint or their responsibilities under the law generally in Templemore.

Assaults like this don't have a grey area, in no reasonable way could it be said they were defending themselves. He was subdued before they started landing blows.

P45s and investigations all-round. The law doesn't care what colour collar their shirt is.

Yurt! wrote: »

Actually we need more of them, scum thinking (knowing) they can do what they like needs to stop. A mainland Europe military style policing style is what is needed. IMHO of course, I can lean towards authoritarianism in my views with dealing with blights on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Feisar wrote: »
    Actually we need more of them, scum thinking (knowing) they can do what they like needs to stop. A mainland Europe military style policing style is what is needed. IMHO of course, I can lean towards authoritarianism in my views with dealing with blights on society.

Era we saw first hand in the North how that works out.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Era we saw first hand in the North how that works out.

Not the same when it's a biased sectarian foreign oppressor. NI always gets rolled out as an example of how it doesn't work. How come France/Spain/Germany etc don't have the same problem?