Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people wear sunglasses indoors?

• 01-05-2020 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,173 ✭✭✭✭

I have noticed this a lot lately in supermarkets. What's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

They’re not allowed make unnecessary journeys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Hintel

I've been doing.this lately

Can't be bothered taking.them off atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

prescription sunglasses ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

billyhead wrote: »

I wear them indoors if I have a headache or if the glare seems a lot, even some shops, (a certain Tesco) I used to frequent that didnt have natural light, lots of LED or flourescent light, glare? can give me a headache or if I have one, make it worse. Dont know why it happens but sunglasses help. (Have been doing it for years).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

They go well with my pyjamas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

They’re hiding their lizard eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Your Face wrote: »
    They go well with my pyjamas.

Goodness, are you one of the "indoor pyjamas" brigade??:eek:

Reminds me of a Monday night on a beer years ago with a few from work. A lad in the pub had sunglasses on (this is around 1am in a late bar) and we decided he was blind or a Cnut so to find out one of the lads put out his leg to trip him the logic being if he fell he was blind and we would help him up and apologise but if he stepped over he was a cnut.... he stepped over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Mine are a prescription. Without them I can't see properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Easier check out the ladies while wearing a pair of shades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

This should answer your question OP.

:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,977 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Cuts down on glare for those with light sensitivity due to glaucoma, migraines or cataracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

People wearing sunglasses as protection for their eyes from Covid-19. 5 entry points on your face. Mouth two nostrils and two eyes. The as nutty as people wearing masks but if it makes them feel better then I'm happy for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Reminds me of a Monday night on a beer years ago with a few from work. A lad in the pub had sunglasses on (this is around 1am in a late bar) and we decided he was blind or a Cnut so to find out one of the lads put out his leg to trip him the logic being if he fell he was blind and we would help him up and apologise but if he stepped over he was a cnut.... he stepped over.

Oh, well that would have been alright then. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sunglasses in shops nowadays is to prevent virus from getting into your eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I did this (slightly) earlier. I cycled to the shop but forgot to take the sunglasses off, but only for 20 seconds, I'd say. And then I felt embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,714 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

That's real clever an all. Really good that you were willing to trip up a blind fella rather than ask - like an adult.

Happened me before. Go out with prescription sunglasses on during the day and end up staying out later then planned. So I have been in pubs with sunglasses on at night.

Happened a friend where he came up for the weekend and we're his prescription sunglasses and turned out he Completely forgot his normal glasses so he was in sunnies all weekend.

These things happen. It's not a choice between being blind or a cnut.

P.s. Blind doesn't necessarily mean someone can't see anything. Having very poor vision or a light sensitivity.

I work with a bloke who is probably blind and wears sunglasses all the time. He has a big screen in the office and his keyboard has large yellow keys. He's probably technically blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Maybe they think they are at a Rave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    The as nutty as people wearing masks but if it makes them feel better then I'm happy for them
    People who wear maks during a pandemic are nutty:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It's to hide the fact that you've smoked a ridiculous amount of weed , if they're in the supermarket , it's to buy munchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

It's a helpful signal to others that you are a total dickhead.

Not including people who genuinely need to wear them of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

Not many people do, but some places have huge windows and glass roofs, which is lovely but they can be as glarey as outdoors.

I’ve had to put on shades in some garden centre restaurants for example.

Some places have awful lighting. There’s one branch of Tesco I can’t go to because I get a headache every time.

Some people are very sensitive to bright lights - migraine etc

Some people may have forgotten their regular glasses and are wearing prescription shades for driving so just continued to wear them.

Others may think they look cool

Lots of reasons.

And how would you tell the two apart?

How would you know if someone is wearing sunglasses in the supermarket because they're a total dickhead or just forgot their clear glasses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

But how do you differentiate between the two?

🙈🙉🙊

Usually when they condescendingly ask that you to clean their table and you’re actually a customer in the cafe.

I was browsing a shelf in a cafe / shop a few weeks looking at various types of sauces they had, just before covid 19 kicked off and these two middle aged “ladies who lunch” - shades on indoors, Range Rover outside said to me “I’ve been waiting ten minutes for my order! Also this table hasn’t been wiped properly.”

“Excuse me?”

“The service is terrible. Where’s the manager?”

“How would I know I’m shopping?!!”

She didn’t even apologise - just sort of sighed.

That was followed by patronising the waiter who was really helpful and friendly.

You can’t buy a personality that’s for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I have some varifocal sunglasses so if I have those on I have to leave them on on a shop as I generally dont have another plain pair of glasses with me ok

Usually by their manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

Those who need to wear them usually look fairly sheepish doing so as they are afraid of being thought a dickhead.

You can spot the dickheads as they normally want to look like counterfeit version of Conor McGregor or some other pointless twat or the heavily artificial wans who want to shag the McGregor clones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭TommyGun2017

Could have been on a bender all weekend. If you’re eyes are covered you still look fresh

Usually by their manner.

If it's their manner that tells you about their character then it doesn't sound like the sunglasses are really that important.

In reality, it's just one of those completely irrelevant points that people are prejudice about. Back in olden times, the same conversation could have been about why people wear their hat indoors.

I used to worry about what people though of me wearing sunglasses in a shop or whatever so I would always take them off even if my clear glasses were in my backpack. Now I usually just do whichever suits me and don't worry about what people think. Supermarkets are usually very bright places anyway so its fine.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Why do people wear sunglasses indoors?

Maybe they're on a mission from God :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Ordinary glasses make you look old. Sunglasses look, well like sunglasses

Xertz wrote: »
    Not many people do, but some places have huge windows and glass roofs, which is lovely but they can be as glarey as outdoors.

I’ve had to put on shades in some garden centre restaurants for example.

Some places have awful lighting. There’s one branch of Tesco I can’t go to because I get a headache every time.

Some people are very sensitive to bright lights - migraine etc

Some people may have forgotten their regular glasses and are wearing prescription shades for driving so just continued to wear them.

Others may think they look cool

Lots of reasons.

"Puts on electrician hat " , As a former maintenance electrician who did contract work for large numbers of offices , buildings etc and who was regularly asked or told that lighting was the cause of staff having migraine , my advice was to go down the medical route first along with see an optician as the majority of buildings are designed with lighting suitable for office and members of the public .

As a migraine sufferer, I know it's a pain in the bollix, I mean head.Migraine is attributed to stress, poor or unsuitable diet , some meds, even posture and very occasionally lighting.

If it's their manner that tells you about their character then it doesn't sound like the sunglasses are really that important.

In reality, it's just one of those completely irrelevant points that people are prejudice about. Back in olden times, the same conversation could have been about why people wear their hat indoors.

I used to worry about what people though of me wearing sunglasses in a shop or whatever so I would always take them off even if my clear glasses were in my backpack. Now I usually just do whichever suits me and don't worry about what people think. Supermarkets are usually very bright places anyway so its fine.

No, wearing sunglasses indoors is a fashion faux pas.

If it's your thing then fair enough.

No, wearing sunglasses indoors is a fashion faux pas.

If it's your thing then fair enough.

Oh, I don't worry about your fashion faux pas.

I just do what suits me.

Now, there could be a discussion about what kind of person goes around worrying about others' fashion faux pas.

Oh, I don't worry about your fashion faux pas.

I just do what suits me.

Now, there could be a discussion about what kind of person goes around worrying about others' fashion faux pas.

I'm not worried in the slightest.

Why make an issue out of it then?

Earlier you said it was a sure sign of a dickhead. Then you said you could only actually tell the dickheads by their behaviour. Then you said wearing sunglasses in a supermarket is a fashion faux pas.

I probably just wouldn't worry about other people's fashion faux pas. That's why I just wear the sunnies in a shop if I couldn't be bothered switching them for the clear ones. I just suit myself and don't worry of it upsets some fashion conscious people.

Why make an issue out of it then?

Earlier you said it was a sure sign of a dickhead. Then you said you could only actually tell the dickheads by their behaviour. Then you said wearing sunglasses in a supermarket is a fashion faux pas.

I probably just wouldn't worry about other people's fashion faux pas. That's why I just wear the sunnies in a shop if I couldn't be bothered switching them for the clear ones. I just suit myself and don't worry of it upsets some fashion conscious people.

It's generally considered a faux pas to wear sunglasses inside.

From my experience it's usually arrogant arseholes who wear shades inside.

Unless you have glaucoma or in MIB or some other condition it is totally unnecessary and frankly looks ridiculous.

To each their own, just giving a heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Players can not get a read on you when you make a bet.
    You can look at the other players without them knowing.
    The bright lights can be tiring if your are playing for hours.

"Puts on electrician hat " , As a former maintenance electrician who did contract work for large numbers of offices , buildings etc and who was regularly asked or told that lighting was the cause of staff having migraine , my advice was to go down the medical route first along with see an optician as the majority of buildings are designed with lighting suitable for office and members of the public .

As a migraine sufferer, I know it's a pain in the bollix, I mean head.Migraine is attributed to stress, poor or unsuitable diet , some meds, even posture and very occasionally lighting.

The issue is some LED lights are poor retrofits and flicker at close enough to mains frequency. Some people are sensitive to it, some aren’t.

Some of the early stuff wasn’t great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I’m probably doing this lately. It’s once I’m out and about and have touched things I dont want to touch them.

Xertz wrote: »
    The issue is some LED lights are poor retrofits and flicker at close enough to mains frequency. Some people are sensitive to it, some aren’t.

Some of the early stuff wasn’t great.

I tip my hat to you , sir.

The flickering is the problem.In larger open plan areas , you would hope the circuits are spread evenly across phases.
    I always thought daylight fluorescent was always the best choice with early LED being ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

I tip my hat to you , sir.

The flickering is the problem.In larger open plan areas , you would hope the circuits are spread evenly across phases.
    I always thought daylight fluorescent was always the best choice with early LED being ****e.

I think the flicking may be pulse width modulation. This turns the LED on and off fast to adjust brightness.
    If it is fast enough it causes no issue but some of the poorly designed ones use low frequencies and causes headaches in a small number of the popultion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Ah , the same kind of people who wear sunglasses at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I wore mine inside today because they’re prescription and I forgot my real glasses so it was either leave them on and be able to conduct my business or take them off to appease others and struggle to see where I was going and what I was picking up. Option A please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

It's to hide the fact that you've smoked a ridiculous amount of weed , if they're in the supermarket , it's to buy munchies.

The fu*k is munches

From my experience it's usually arrogant arseholes who wear shades inside.

Unless you have glaucoma or in MIB or some other condition it is totally unnecessary and frankly looks ridiculous.

To each their own, just giving a heads up.

Ah. OK. I'm not worried about what other people consider a fashion faux pas.

You've no idea whether someone is wearing sunglasses and they're a dickhead or if they have glaucoma or if they are just suiting themselves and they don't care about what others think.

I don't worry about fashion faux pas. I see some people wear loose jeans and not the fashionable skinny ones and you can't see their ankles because they're wearing full length socks and not the fashionable pop socks. I don't worry about other people's fashion because it's not important to me.

I just do what suits me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

For some people the future's so bright, they just gotta wear shades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Because we're too cool for school ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's ok, they are probably just on a mission from God:

mig000gfjlszsayqxgku.jpg