Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bláthnaid NÃ* Chofaigh is taking a personal injury claim against RTE

• 01-05-2020 6:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm not sure of the circumstances of this but I have been lead to believe that she's a bit of a character.

Anybody know whats going on with Bláthnaid?
    Television presenter Bláthnaid Ní Chofaigh is suing her employers RTÉ, the Irish Independent has learned.
    The 'Nationwide' presenter has initiated personal injury proceedings against the national broadcaster, where she has worked in a variety of roles over the past three decades.
    Ms Ní Chofaigh (49) declined to comment on the High Court action, but it is thought to relate to grievances spanning a considerable period of time.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/tv-host-blathnaid-in-personal-injury-case-against-rte-39172562.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

We should be suing RTE for employing her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

Never heard of her. Did she fall off a swing too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’d say she’s a right battle axe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Giraffe Box

Never heard of her.
    So looked her up on the Google machine.
    She was once nominated for a 'VIP Style Award for Most Stylish Woman' and presented a few afternoon shows...that's about it really.
    Probably saw the axe coming down and thought: ''I better trouser a few bob for the future as fúck knows I'll never get a job anywhere else''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waccamacca3

She left afternoon show cos she said she was being bullied by her Co presenter. Internal investigation done and rte found there was no case. She still got work off them the St Patrick's day parade etc but as work has dried up I mean dried up for she is taking this action. She looks a right battle axe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

She left afternoon show cos she said she was being bullied by her Co presenter. Internal investigation done and rte found there was no case. She still got work off them the St Patrick's day parade etc but as work has dried up I mean dried up for she is taking this action. She looks a right battle axe

Thought it was the other way around,was it not her was supposed to be bullying "Ann something" that was on the British big brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

tipptom wrote: »
    Thought it was the other way around,was it not her was supposed to be bullying "Ann something" that was on the British big brother.

I thought it was Sheana Keane that left!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's their own fault for continuing to employ her. They haven't been able to find a role for her in about 25 years that she has been there. She is the most dislikable presenter at the station. I can tolerate Ray D'Arcy for about 20 seconds but with her it's straight to remote control. I remember being a kid during the summer when the Den was went on holiday and Echo Island was on, I couldn't stand even stand her then :pac:

They had an opportunity to dump her after the bullying accusations and they still kept her around like a bad smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

?

Your right.

Wasn't it Sheena Keane who made the allegation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

you've got that arseways and she's staff. she gets paid no matter what.She's been in RTE since she left school

tipptom wrote: »
    ?

Your right.

Wasn't it Sheena Keane who made the allegation?

It's years ago now and I think it was Sheena made the claim.
    It was in the mid 2000's and RTE had loads of money and they put three women together and I don't think it worked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Hopefully she loses the case and has costs awarded against her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Dara O Brianin famouslt tells this story about Ni Chofaigh
    [HTML]https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2poszd[/HTML]

From the 5 minute mark onwards.

TBH its shocking that she is still in RTE. I thought the bullying allegations would of been the end of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

What ever happened Keane?

Actually what happened Sinead Desmond. She used to be everywhere and seems to of just dropped off the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Orchids

Isn't she the current presenter of Nationwide with Ann Cassin, taking over when Mary Kennedy retired earlier this year or late 2019?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Orchids

Orchids wrote: »
    Isn't she the current presenter of Nationwide with Ann Cassin, taking over when Mary Kennedy retired earlier this year or late 2019?

Bláthnaid Ní Chofaigh that is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

TBH its shocking that she is still in RTE. I thought the bullying allegations would of been the end of her.

Jesus, that bit from blue peter would give the solicitors and H&S officers a heart attack if a presenter attempted such a thing today.

🙈🙉🙊

Jesus, he didn't like her at all :pac:

What ever happened Keane?

Actually what happened Sinead Desmond. She used to be everywhere and seems to of just dropped off the planet.

Yeah I miss switching onto TV3 in the morning to see her in her knee length skirts and stilettos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I’d say she’s a right battle axe.

a lightening b!tch

Anyone got the Savage eye clips? They really capture her scary psycho aura.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jharr100

Anyone got the Savage eye clips? They really capture her scary psycho aura.

Savage eye should be on the rte player !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

This isn’t working for me can someone gimme the jist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

That's what your Ma said last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Here's the link to the video:

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2poszd

I remember it well. :) And I knew exactly who he was talking about when he said it because I remembered him and Ni Chofaigh being on Echo Island together. He didn't really try hard to hide it in fairness. Any Irish person of a certain age would know to whom he was referring.

EDIT: Somebody above said the relevant bit is around the 5:00 mark but, actually, I'd watch the whole bit on children's TV presenters from around 2:00 onwards because he calls it "a vicious snake pit of ambition" and other stuff and it's easy to picture yer wan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Here's the link to the video:

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2poszd

I remember it well. :) And I knew exactly who he was talking about when he said it because I remembered him and Ni Chofaigh being on Echo Island together. He didn't really try hard to hide it in fairness. Any Irish person of a certain age would know to whom he was referring.

Oohh controversial!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭da_miser

She caught Diabetes from stuffing her face with cream cakes in the free RTE staff canteen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

This

The Heard seems to say more about her past!(Well I couldn't view all the Independent article.)

https://www.herald.ie/news/i-cant-comment-says-host-blathnaid-as-she-takes-personal-injuries-claim-out-against-rte-39172223.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭DrGreenThumb82

She's an absolute dose. Thinks she's the **** too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭DrGreenThumb82

She's an absolute dose. Thinks she's the **** too. Bossy, shrill, overbearing wagon.

The enigma that is Bláthnaid Ní Chofaigh. Ego the size of a small planet, as personable and warm as a prickly pear. Intimidates colleagues that dare take any of the shine off her. Somehow has established a cosy relationship with the Indo (must have the editor dangling over some salacious scandal), which pastes her frigid mug on the front page seemingly every other day. Her dubious "claim" has all the hallmarks of an incredibly entitled woman scorned, looking to extort a huge severance sum courtesy of the taxpayer. If there is any notion of the universe righting itself, she won't receive a single cent and her reputation will be hung out to dry by the ensuing fallout. A nasty piece of work deserves only comeuppance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

The enigma that is Bláthnaid Ní Chofaigh. Ego the size of a small planet, as personable and warm as a prickly pear. Intimidates colleagues that dare take any of the shine off her. Somehow has established a cosy relationship with the Indo (must have the editor dangling over some salacious scandal), which pastes her frigid mug on the front page seemingly every other day. Her dubious "claim" has all the hallmarks of an incredibly entitled woman scorned, looking to extort a huge severance sum courtesy of the taxpayer. If there is any notion of the universe righting itself, she won't receive a single cent and her reputation will be hung out to dry by the ensuing fallout. A nasty piece of work deserves only comeuppance.

100%

I hope she fails miserably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Forgot all about her as she's not on telly that much now. Born 12 Nov. Scorpio.

So yes, a c**t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Dynomutt

I remember reading an article where she claimed that talking to her in English was "racism", and realising that she wasn't the full shilling.

https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/blathnaids-minority-report-30044971.html

Dynomutt wrote: »
    I remember reading an article where she claimed that talking to her in English was "racism", and realising that she wasn't the full shilling.

https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/blathnaids-minority-report-30044971.html

Sounds about right.

I suspect RTÉ were afraid she'd put in a discrimination claim (sexism, ageism?) if they let her go, didn't give her work.

I remember an article previously where she was not happy with the amount of work she has been given... possibly a message being given.

Her ego is writing cheques her talent cannot cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭popa smurf

dd973 wrote: »
    Forgot all about her as she's not on telly that much now. Born 12 Nov. Scorpio.

So yes, a c**t.

You forgot to put in A red head Scorpio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

Great tits though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Let me guess, RTE will do an out of court settlement with her for a billion dollars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

surely the work RTE give her will dry up now? then we wont have to see her again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Tork

Is she no longer on Nationwide? I only watched it once after she came on board as a presenter. I was prepared to give her a chance but she was an absolute dose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Let me guess, RTE will do an out of court settlement with her for a billion dollars undisclosed amount.

I took a bit of a liberty with your post.

They do like the undisclosed settlements in RTE.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    surely the work RTE give her will dry up now? then we wont have to see her again :)

Doubtful, if anything RTÈ will want to avoid further potential lawsuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Doubtful, if anything RTÈ will want to avoid further potential lawsuits.

Ah lads, this thread is very one sided, why is nobody talking about her positive attributes, the good memories we have of her, like the way she ... eh ... ah,

or maybe that thing when.... aah, ya know....

oh wait, she was really good in that show... no wait, that was Mary Fitzgerald...

Ah feckit carry on with what ye were saying

Akrasia wrote: »
    Ah lads, this thread is very one sided, why is nobody talking about her positive attributes, the good memories we have of her, like the way she ... eh ... ah,

or maybe that thing when.... aah, ya know....

oh wait, she was really good in that show... no wait, that was Mary Fitzgerald...

Ah feckit carry on with what ye were saying

To be fair there was that time... no wait... that was Aonghus McAnally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

To be fair there was that time... no wait... that was Aonghus McAnally.

She'd do a great job running the National Ploughing Championships.
    Well paid too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

dd973 wrote: »
    Born 12 Nov. Scorpio.

So yes, a c**t.

Ahhhhhh wtf.?

From a great Scorpio who only gets scorpy when faced with nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Born in Canada, they are so placid as a rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Interesting fact, since She came to public prominence in the Early 90s, not one child has been named Blathnaid

Sociologists refer to the lack of Adolfs in modern Germany as ‘the Blathnaid effect’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Her dubious "claim" has all the hallmarks of an incredibly entitled woman scorned, looking to extort a huge severance sum courtesy of the taxpayer.

I don't know any of the details, why is her claim dubious?