Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been in a fight

• 19-04-2020 6:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,116 ✭✭✭

If so how did it go?

I've not been in one myself fortunately and don't think I'd fare well either.

Was watching some fights on reddit and some were brutal. Ive not seen anything overly rough here either - mostly ruling around and a lot of shouting.

But it seems with the popularity of mma etc there seems to be a lot more throwing and trying to get on to on ground now and kicking.

So, how did your fights go and what was the worst or funniest you've seen?

If so how did it go?

I won second prize.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,116 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I won second prize.

I hope it was a brawl! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,248 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Only that one time when I crushed my enemies, saw them driven before me, and heard the lamentations of their women.

I also joined a club, but I'm not allowed to talk about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Yes in primary school, I was around 11 or 12 years old.
    I didn't want to fight but the other boy kept on at me asking to fight him.
    I needed it to stop so I said I would, we went onto the pitch, we started the fight. I punched him on his nose, it started bleeding, fight over and he never asked again. I never fought again, 100% win record :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

In school I was pretty ok . 3/4 in school and teenage discos and won them all, well I think so.
    Maybe a few draws.
    As I got older ,less fights and less wins :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Had a couple in school, but the last one stuck with me because it was really weird. I was a bit of a nerd, but by the time I got to the last year of school (like Sixth Year here), I was quite tall, doing well, and generally confident overall. I shared a History class with a couple of guys in a different class from me, who decided they didn't like me, but it was more annoying than anything else.

It came to a head at the start of a lesson when one of them walked in, walked up to me, and elbowed me in the ribs. Before I knew it, I had clobbered him in the nose, breaking it, and he ran out crying. I didn't mean to, it an unthinking response. The really weird part was that this happened a couple of feet away from the teacher, who saw it all but didn't say a word.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kg703

Had a big local gang of (rough) girls come after me when I was 15 because one of their little brothers said I hit them. I didn't - him and his little mates were throwing rocks at us and I told them to F off and they said theyd get me killed. We were a smaller gang of rockers.

Got me outside the local park dragged me down to the ground and kicked the crap out of me but I didnt feel it I was in such shock. None of my friends helped. Cried my poor little eyes out. Was terrified to leave the house for a while cause they all lived local. Wish it happened me now, I wouldn't have let them bully me!

I once did punch a lad in a nightclub (Spirit - back in the day!) and he slapped me several times on the arse and when again I told him to F off he followed me singing that I was fat - which I actually wasnt. Bouncer came over asking what was happening and kicked the bloke out. Ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

A few digs on a football pitch or two over the years, nothing that lasted more than a few seconds.

Little bloke (and I'm a mighty 5'7) tried to mug me just off O'Connell Street about 15 years ago (dang I'm old), grabbed me from behind but couldn't have placed his head in a better position to meet my elbow if he tried, he bled a lot. That was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

A few. Scary experiences most of 'em. Luckily enough managed to come out unscathed.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

bnt wrote: »
    Had a couple in school, but the last one stuck with me because it was really weird. I was a bit of a nerd, but by the time I got to the last year of school (like Sixth Year here), I was quite tall, doing well, and generally confident overall. I shared a History class with a couple of guys in a different class from me, who decided they didn't like me, but it was more annoying than anything else.

It came to a head at the start of a lesson when one of them walked in, walked up to me, and elbowed me in the ribs. Before I knew it, I had clobbered him in the nose, breaking it, and he ran out crying. I didn't mean to, it an unthinking response. The really weird part was that this happened a couple of feet away from the teacher, who saw it all but didn't say a word.

Did those lads ever bother you again and were there ever any repercussions for the broken nose?

The only 'fight' I had as a properly grown up adult was years ago walking from a concert in the phoenix park.
    Some skanger , about late 20's ,early 30's with a group of young teenager hanger ons tried to stop me to take my stuff.
    I took a swing for him . Luckily, I think, I slipped and rather than his chin, which I was aiming for, I caught him full on his throat and completely stunned him.
    I ran nonstop to O'Connell Street before I stopped to see if they were chasing me.
    Valuable lesson learned. If you can,RUN. Saved my life that lesson

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Did those lads ever bother you again and were there ever any repercussions for the broken nose?
    No, though school was over for good a few months later. The teacher certainly didn't object. It was such an immature thing to have happen, it was really out of place at that stage.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I gave my OHs brother in law a few punches a few years ago.

I like to think of it as more guidance than anything else , he tended to talk when he should've been listening quite a bit.That was all sorted out , well the Gardai gave me a bit of talking to as well.

A few skirmishes when playing football too .

I like to think I'm undefeated.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I got drawn into a scrap once outside Stephens green when some traveller lad decided he wanted to fight me, so I stood there and waited

Off came the chain; the sovereigns and onto the false rolex. Right there under the arch with all the pedestrians looking on it had the potential for something a bit Street Fighter! But alas the watch wouldn’t come off, for whatever reason and so it just petered out..

No, though school was over for good a few months later. The teacher certainly didn't object. It was such an immature thing to have happen, it was really out of place at that stage.

Why was it out of place.
    Teenager elbows another teenager and gets a box for it.
    Proper effing order. Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

I remain undefeated. I've never been in a fight, even at school. The idea of hitting someone as a method of sorting out a difference of opinion (or teaching them a lesson) has always struck me as weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Well, in school I was small and ginger, so yes, I've been in fights. Never started by me, but I wasn't going to back down just because I was small. There were 'arranged' fights in my schools (Primary and Secondary) and this is in the middle of the country, so you know, muck savages instead of knackers/scum.

Anyway, yeah, always picked on for being small and/or ginger, they'd push me thinking I wouldn't push back, but I always did. Some might have called it small man syndrome, I called it self defence. So yeah, when I was in 6th class, over the year I fought all the males in 5th and 6th. Drew most, lost some, but also won some. It stopped when the tallest lad in the class picked on me. He was nearly twice my height, so I jumped and punched him under the eye before he could even start the fight, cut him open. He fell, everyone went silent. I walked away like a movie star walking away from an explosion, and no one picked on me after that. Until secondary school.

I already had my back up against the wall from fear of the stories that people my size were put head first into wheelie bins. And sure enough the fights followed, again by bullies picking on the perceived weaker one. Always accepted the fight, which did put some of the off (I'm guessing they didn't think I'd actually agree). Again, lost some, drew some, won some. Wasn't happening as often as in primary school, but still a good few fights a year. Getting to the teen years, the punches were getting stronger, and I was getting bruised and battered, but so were they and that's all that matter right then to me, winning wouldn't have got me anywhere, but standing up for myself was. I actually got suspended for defending myself twice, and the other party didn't. So yeah, I really understood fairness early on...

This continued, sporadically, into 5th year, when again the lankiest fcuker was picking on me in class. We had individual tables and chairs. He was sitting behind me, taking the piss with all his lackies laughing, and I really had enough at that stage. So I stood up ("What you gonna do Monke?" while laughing). In one swift movement, I picked up my table, turned around and threw it into his face. Room went silent. I sat down. Someone else picked up my table and put it back in front of me. Class started and I was never picked on again.

Sometimes, words don't work, only actions. Haven't been in a (non-job related) fight since.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

A lot at school, less so afterwards, last time was 22 years ago so 29, there was 2 of them but small and not that fit, have issues with blind rage so try to avoid them, but have come close too many times since.

• Registered Users Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Well, in school I was small and ginger, so yes, I've been in fights. Never started by me, but I wasn't going to back down just because I was small. There were 'arranged' fights in my schools (Primary and Secondary) and this is in the middle of the country, so you know, muck savages instead of knackers/scum.

Anyway, yeah, always picked on for being small and/or ginger, they'd push me thinking I wouldn't push back, but I always did. Some might have called it small man syndrome, I called it self defence. So yeah, when I was in 6th class, over the year I fought all the males in 5th and 6th. Drew most, lost some, but also won some. It stopped when the tallest lad in the class picked on me. He was nearly twice my height, so I jumped and punched him under the eye before he could even start the fight, cut him open. He fell, everyone went silent. I walked away like a movie star walking away from an explosion, and no one picked on me after that. Until secondary school.

I already had my back up against the wall from fear of the stories that people my size were put head first into wheelie bins. And sure enough the fights followed, again by bullies picking on the perceived weaker one. Always accepted the fight, which did put some of the off (I'm guessing they didn't think I'd actually agree). Again, lost some, drew some, won some. Wasn't happening as often as in primary school, but still a good few fights a year. Getting to the teen years, the punches were getting stronger, and I was getting bruised and battered, but so were they and that's all that matter right then to me, winning wouldn't have got me anywhere, but standing up for myself was. I actually got suspended for defending myself twice, and the other party didn't. So yeah, I really understood fairness early on...

This continued, sporadically, into 5th year, when again the lankiest fcuker was picking on me in class. We had individual tables and chairs. He was sitting behind me, taking the piss with all his lackies laughing, and I really had enough at that stage. So I stood up ("What you gonna do Monke?" while laughing). In one swift movement, I picked up my table, turned around and threw it into his face. Room went silent. I sat down. Someone else picked up my table and put it back in front of me. Class started and I was never picked on again.

Sometimes, words don't work, only actions. Haven't been in a (non-job related) fight since.

This !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

I remain undefeated. I've never been in a fight, even at school. The idea of hitting someone as a method of sorting out a difference of opinion (or teaching them a lesson) has always struck me as weird.

Violence has solved like 90% of the world's problems though.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I haven't thrown a punch in 9 years and before that it was another 10 years. I've been in dozens of fights before that though, I used to do a bit of boxing when I was young and ended up doing a bit of door work before it was regulated and before I was legally entitled to drink. My now wife made me pack it up after I was stabbed one New Years Eve many years ago.

In my defence I never looked for trouble but I used to enjoy fighting if the truth be told, nothing felt better than giving some bully a crack on the chin. It kind of cleared the air for a while.

When I was young it was normal to have fights, I hate violence now.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Three fights in theee weeks in London in my early days there, stupid stuff. Gave a guy a few hard digs in the last row. Even though he started it, it worried me. Cut down on the booze hugely after that last one and never fought again. Sometimes saw it kick off on sites but I’d never let a row get physical, not worth it.
    Know a fella who died as the result of a fight, other guy in no way intended to kill or even seriously hurt him. Young fellas need to know that kind of thing can happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,564 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I've spent far more time breaking up and descalating fights with some rationality than actually fighting.

I started doing Door work around Limerick when I was 16 and from Friday nights in the chicken but, thru to discos down the arsehole of Till I've been in some dodgy situations.

Only once can I say I was honestly scared that was a new years eve in Roscrea where **** went mental in a hotel down there.

Followed that up with a few years in Hospitality out foreign, and never needed a bouncer.
    Fights are always best avoided, talk it down, apologize do your best not to need to fight.

If you HAVE to fight, don't get swept up in the notion of out-thinking or ground and pound.
    You never know how it's going to go and all plans go out the window when you get smacked in the gob.

Your only aim should always to be the minimum amount of violence to give you an exit.
    Going hyper, acting the hardman, it's all bollox!

You don't want to be a one punch killer, or victim!

So my advice would always be avoid it if ya can, and if you can't...
    Do enough to get out, and keep your back to a wall until you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

On a bus from Dublin to Cork a good few years ago. I was at the very back on the long seats and was dozing off, half asleep when I felt something moving beside me where I had placed my jacket. Low and behold some junkie looking fella was searching my pockets. It wasn't so much a fight as a one sided kicking until he gave me back my phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭bigroad

Door work at 16 in Limerick good man fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I think it's gone out of fashion in normal society. No harm i hated it. Won a few, lost one because I gave him a breather.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭kal7

In central London couple of lads giving my friend some verbal abuse. One of the guys starts swinging for mate, they give each other few punches.
    The guys mate then punches me, I counter punched landed good shot. He shook it off well, as we both squared up, I said do you really want to fight, he said no so we stopped and each restrained the two drunker ones. Weird one, glad he was able to take better option to stop being stupid.
    Only other fight was guy at school lose it in soccer game, through couple punches before other kids and teacher stopped him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

That's because your teacher was secretly delighted and I would have been too.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

never been in one of those after school arranged fights , plenty of scraps during school hours that started spontaneously and were over in thirty seconds , those arranged fights seemed stupid , i couldnt fight someone for the heck of it , couldnt fake the anger and no way i was i walking a km down the town from school to the back of a cattle mart with nettles everywhere , besides , the bus would be gone and id be bet harder for missing it

few during my clubbing years , ive only ever thrown the first punch once but that was because the jack ass left me sore a month earlier with what he thought was hilarious rough housing but which left me needing physiotherapy and an injured shoulder blade , i waited to return the courtesy or in other words , i had to wait a month before the gimp showed up again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Been in a number of scraps over the years. Still involved in GAA where 30 man brawls aren’t unheard of. One that sticks out most was last year, pretty harmless stuff mostly handbags with the odd connecting punch but both teams, subs, managers etc involved. I ran half the length of the pitch to where it was and threw one punch at the other teams main offender, straight away I felt one from behind on the back of the head from one of his team mates. It fizzled out after that but both clubs got hefty fines. A smaller brawl occurred more recently a couple of months ago prior to lockdown but it was over in about 15 seconds although it involved one of our players being kicked while on the ground. I had been trying to drag opposing players away from a schmozzle until this buck runs in and kicks our man on the ground. Few of us saw red and I only got throwing one dig before everyone got separated.

Prior to that I had a difference of opinion with a gentleman on the streets of Belfast one night socialising. He had his top off shouting gibberish basically looking for a fight and me with the guts of a bottle of Jameson in me succumbed to his request. Politely told him to fúck up, he caught me nicely and I connected poorly with him before he literally ran away from me. Wasn’t impressed as I was feeling like he-man that night and wanted to get into him properly.

In school I wasn’t much of a fighter, though two incidents stand out. We had one fella in the class who was an aśshole, wouldn’t say he got bullied or anything but not many liked him, obnoxious, awful personality, cheeky and just a cünt in general. I remember one day, he was winding me up just generally being his díckish self, when I just cracked and hooked him. Got caught almost straight away by a teacher who gave us detention. It annoys me to this day that the teacher joked with him later that week saying “do you still do the boxing?” The other incident that I recall was walking home, these fellas who didn’t recognise our uniform starting giving us jip thinking we were Protestants. I started giving it back and this week in particular they made a habit of being on the main road around the time we’d be walking home (my school was 30miles away). Basically the conversation went along the lines of “why are you following us” “feel like it” “fück off” “make me” “just go away” “ what you gonna do,go on hit me” right ok. Pow right in the kisser. Bust him open. He still showed up the next day wanting round two.