Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This poxy virus

• 18-04-2020 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭

My Mum turned 70 on Tuesday in a hospital ward fighting Covid19. During the initial stages of the outbreak she was in hospital with a heart issue and must have contracted it there. Two weeks of cocooning later with my Dad she was still feeling unwell and he brought her to A&E. She tested positive the next day. Having seemed to be fighting the virus (good levels of oxygen etc,) on Thursday she received the awful news that she has cancer and now has pneumonia. Yesterday she had a ok day but today she can barely breathe. One thing on its own you could try deal with as a family but the double whammy is a real gut punch. A retired nurse and selfless woman who worried and cared about people in her community that were ill and gave of herself without expecting anything in return. My poor Dad is in bits and none of us can go near him. I stopped by yesterday for a bit but as he tested negative none of us can risk going in. I've never felt so helpless and frustrated in my life. Just wanted to get this off my chest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 PricklyPete

I don't know what to say other than that my heart goes out to you and I hope the absolute best for your mum and the rest of your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 little bit of help

That is awful. Vent away you are in a ****ty situation and not being able to be with your family when you really need to is horrible. I hope your mam improves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭overkill602

yep its bad enough getting sick but the fear of going to hospital to treat normal conditions this fecker is lurking around the corner and its evil hope ur mum pulls through our health service are the best, they seem to be coping better than most

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ah Jaysus S. :( I'm so sorry to hear that.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Abba987

Im so sorry. My heart goes out to people who cant be with their families at times like this and it could be any of us tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Thoughts and prayers are with you OP. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Unfortunately we've just had to do a video call to say goodbye to my mother who has a day or two left. She was released from hospital last Wednesday and had to go back in Friday night. We're doing ok I guess but when the time comes it will be difficult without the natural supports of a normal bereavement.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Oh no S. :(:(

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭skallywag

You have my fullest sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

Oh I'm so sorry Sweetie I really am. Awful jesus life can be so cruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

My amazing Mum passed away last night at 3am. It's been a long day. Tears, laughter, more tears, lasagne, scones and copious tea. Social media has been a godsend with the social distance regs. Calls and messages to say she was a gentle, giving and humble person. We're in shock and hurting but also honored to have had her in our lives and see how she has touched so many others in her community and work especially. She wasn't well but the virus took any chance away from her. But we have to believe it also was a release from further suffering. I think I will be ok but worried for my Dad in his 'cocooned' prison, I think he's just numb now. I thought he was her rock but now I know she was his. Cherish them when you can and keep telling them you love them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

sweetie wrote: »
    My amazing Mum passed away last night at 3am. It's been a long day. Tears, laughter, more tears, lasagne, scones and copious tea. Social media has been a godsend with the social distance regs. Calls and messages to say she was a gentle, giving and humble person. We're in shock and hurting but also honored to have had her in our lives and see how she has touched so many others in her community and work especially. She wasn't well but the virus took any chance away from her. But we have to believe it also was a release from further suffering. I think I will be ok but worried for my Dad in his 'cocooned' prison, I think he's just numb now. I thought he was her rock but now I know she was his. Cherish them when you can and keep telling them you love them.

Very sorry to hear that. The social distances at times like this deprives all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 doodledoo2

I'm so sorry for your loss.
    Your mum does sound amazing and I hope you will find some comfort in your wonderful memories and all the lovely stories people are telling you about her.
    It's awful you can't properly be with your dad and other family at this time.
    I'm sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭rubberdungeon

sweetie wrote: »

I’m so sorry for your loss, may your amazing Mums words of wisdom always guide you and may you always feel her love wherever you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Corona20

My condolances sweetie.
    Cherish the memories, laughter and love that you shared.
    Your mam will be remembered in lots of peoples thoughts and prayers tonight.
    Mind yourself in the coming weeks and months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Sorry for your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

So sorry for your loss, RIP. Thinking of you during this painful time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I'm so sorry to read this and to read of your loss.
    Sympathies to you and your family. May she rest in peace.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm very sorry for you and your families loss

I hope your dad is ok

It's an awful time

May your Mum rest in peace

Im so very sorry for your loss.

My heart goes out to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭redarmy

Sorry for your loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

My condolences on your loss. A very sad time made even harder by whats happening. RIP.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I'm so sorry for your loss. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

Please take care. I can't even imagine how difficult it is not to have the comfort of family and friends being able to gather together with you at this sad time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sorry for your loss OP
    RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

70 is no age, so sorry to hear this sweetie.

I'd love to be able to offer advice re your dad but the situation is almost impossible to get round without creating another risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

I'm really so sorry Sweetie such a difficult time for you all. I know what you're going through having lost my mam over a year ago at 70 also. You're in my thoughts be kind to yourself. May your mam rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

I am so very sorry for your loss.