Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying new now! Am I mental?

• 07-04-2020 05:57PM
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

My 0% PCP is up in September.
    So I started to look around and I have spotted a VW Passat GTE which will offer me 0% also.
    The trade-in price is really good compared to the other garages I have approached including Audi/Skoda/BMW.

I've read a lot on here that now isn't the time to buy so the alarm bells are ringing.
    My job is sound and I can pay the payments no problem.

They have the car is stock now, my own is ready for a service and will need new tires in around 3-4k kms or so.

My thoughts are, its zero percent after the possible crash this rate may not be there.
    The car is a PHEV, so I will get the grant for the charger now, might not be there if there is an emergency budget.
    I may not get that price for my car is a few weeks/months if there is a reset.
    I am secure in my job.

Thoughts?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,546 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

sorry and call me a cynic, but do they not just throw the cost of the "free credit" onto the cost of the car to make it look far more attractive, those more knowledgeable than me on this subject, will be along shortly...

I wouldnt tie yourself into anything, this far out. They are going to have to offer better incentives or price drops, to clear stock, I assume...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Idbatterim wrote: »
    sorry and call me a cynic, but do they not just throw the cost of the "free credit" onto the cost of the car to make it look far more attractive, those more knowledgeable than me on this subject, will be along shortly...

I wouldnt tie yourself into anything, this far out. They are going to have to offer better incentives or price drops, to clear stock, I assume...

No your not a cynic at all.

With the current car, the PCP is up in Sept, I will have refinance the remaining 17300 ( roughly that) and the rates will be higher on that, 4.9%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Idbatterim wrote: »

I've often said on here that there's no such thing as zero % finance. It's paid for somehow, by someone, at some stage.
    If a car company could get 30,000 euro from you today they can invest that money and make more money over 3/5 years or however long you pay the credit over.
    By not getting this money today they forego that opportunity and trust me, the accountants and guys in treasury will not allow that.
    So the opportunity cost is instead, lumped onto the car.

However, car companies seem to be reluctant to drop the price of cars if you want to buy it for cash there and then or go with another lender so you can't really get a discount that way either.

However, if they did this, they would be shattering the illusion of 0% credit.
    So I guess what we are stuck with is a car that includes price of manufacture, marketing, distribution, selling costs, profit margin and replacement for investment income foregone all rolled neatly into a finance package which appeals to people.

Nothing wrong with that to be honest but that's the facts of it, you are paying for the use of what they see as their money.

Selling money is way more profitable than selling cars.

And to the OP, nice one on the GTE, nice car.

Wow I see why they absolutely love the PCP thing for everyone involved in the trade...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

If your job is sound and you're getting a good deal I don't see the issue. I'd say the Passat GTE is a savage car. Drove the Golf GTE and it was fun. Good way to have something with decent performance without drying up the wallet on petrol etc and still enjoyable to cruise around with for the weekly shop.

It's important to be smart given the current pandemic but not everyone is on the verge of losing their job. If you're in a good job, probably have savings then you're not mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd hold off for the moment and let the dust settle on how the economy restarts. You have until September to decide so I'd say there will be some sort of extra drive by manufacturers to get consumers back into showrooms buying again. They have to try.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I'd hold off for the moment and let the dust settle on how the economy restarts. You have until September to decide so I'd say there will be some sort of extra drive by manufacturers to get consumers back into showrooms buying again. They have to try.

the ford attempt, is a good start IMO... dont drop prices yet, just defer payments...

Are there credit checks done for pcp? Has anyone ever been refused one? I know it's an unregulated financial product and not under the rules of either the central bank or the competition and consumer protection commission so it might be anything goes....

Deferring a start to paying for a new car because you can't pay for it is a bit reckless to be fair

Apologies if I feel strongly about this but I was a full time financial advisor in a previous life and still advise clients I had on all manner of things and this would be a red flag for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

yop wrote: »
    No your not a cynic at all.

With the current car, the PCP is up in Sept, I will have refinance the remaining 17300 ( roughly that) and the rates will be higher on that, 4.9%.

So you owe 17300 when the pcp is up, your thinking of going in again because your current car needs a service. - this is the real lunacy here.

https://youtu.be/_oG6mQ5rjFI

And you can only afford the car payments if you keep your job.

Sorry to come across as rude but it’s pure stupidity what your considering doing, now more than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Buying a new car every 2 or 3 years is hardly environmentally responsible.

You should keep your current car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭BillyBiggs

Don’t dream of upgrading the car. I think anybody buying a new car during the pandemic will look foolish to be honest. When the country is going into recession and people are struggling to buy food possibly, nobody will care that you bought a new car. Instead of the wow factor that a new car would have under normal circumstances, a new car bought during the present epidemic will likely draw comments like, “would you look at that knob.” Don’t take my comments as an insult, it’s just how I see things playing out over the coming 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

I Was VB wrote: »
    So you owe 17300 when the pcp is up, your thinking of going in again because your current car needs a service. - this is the real lunacy here.

Sorry to come across as rude but it’s pure stupidity what your considering doing, now more than ever.

I can only afford my mortgage if I keep my job. (thankfully there's only 3 years left and I've never been out of a job and my job is very secure)

Same statement goes for most people on most loans.

I also don't buy into the prices will crash opinion as many car factories have ground to a halt.

But what I would ask is why the op thinks that they need to change? Take out a personal loan and buy the current car outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

this is the real lunacy here.

Well who pissed in your cornflakes? No need to berate the man like that.

His money, let him do what he likes with you and maybe keep the begrudger out of it!

In fact for all those saying that you will be a knob if you buy a new car when you have those that cant put food on the table. If that was the case nobody would buy anything because of the homeless situation or whatever crappy excuse is currently in the press. I bought new in 2009 (last time I bought new) and nobody was having a go at me! Buy it OP, although I would try and squeeze something else out of the dealer to sweeten the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

It seems you really want the car but you know it’s risky at the moment otherwise you wouldn’t be asking for opinions on here.

No-one on boards can tell you what to do but if it was me I’d be looking to take on the least amount of debt possible for now and at least until we know how this is all going to pan out.

There’s way too much uncertainty in our economic future at the moment so it would be unwise for anyone to tie themselves deeper into debt.

It’s your money though and it’s just my 2c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

Heart vs head....

What's your daily commute and vehicle needs? Annual mileage? % of car payment as take home pay?

I have bought 3 cars on pcp. I have 1.5years left to pay off one completely and 2.5 years on the other. Can't wait to be rid of the payments and the novelty and ease of purchase of new doesn't gloss over the sheer cost. It met a need at the time when income and ability to borrow was poor but today I'd buy a 3 year old car with cash deposit. Pay off rest as quick as possible and save for next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭anewme

BillyBiggs wrote: »
    Don’t dream of upgrading the car. I think anybody buying a new car during the pandemic will look foolish to be honest. When the country is going into recession and people are struggling to buy food possibly, nobody will care that you bought a new car. Instead of the wow factor that a new car would have under normal circumstances, a new car bought during the present epidemic will likely draw comments like, “would you look at that knob.” Don’t take my comments as an insult, it’s just how I see things playing out over the coming 12 months.

I remember buying a new car back in 2009 and some eejits had the same "look at that knob" attitude. People were almost afraid to buy a new car. I bought my car at the time for myself and I didn't pander to begrudgers. I did have one of the neighbours say at the time 'oh, you bought a new car and both of us have no job'.

Since the economy came back, same people have bought cars, house extensions, fancy holidays without a care for anyone else. So people do what suits them.

You dont need anyones permission or blessing to live your own life, once you are in control of your own finances and you know you CAN pay, even with worst case scenario.

I would hold off pressing start now as well though just for a couple of months, in the hope there would be some offers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Well who pissed in your cornflakes? No need to berate the man like that.

His money, let him do what he likes with you and maybe keep the begrudger out of it!

In fact for all those saying that you will be a knob if you buy a new car when you have those that cant put food on the table. If that was the case nobody would buy anything because of the homeless situation or whatever crappy excuse is currently in the press. I bought new in 2009 (last time I bought new) and nobody was having a go at me! Buy it OP, although I would try and squeeze something else out of the dealer to sweeten the deal.

Person comes onto discussion forum and asks for opinions, not all opinions are positive people get offended.

VB opinion is valid the person is looking to get a new car on fiance and not buy it with there own money up front.

Right now with the way the economy is would I lock myself into something like this no.

The unexpected can happen and if it does it best to be in as little debt as possible.

I would even consider a credit union loan for the outstanding amount. You can have flexible payments and its unsecured so the car is yours even if difficult times come in the future.

Also list out all the other things you want to do. Holidays and travel, hobbies and interests. That's potentially a lot of money doing real things rather than just a slightly cleaner car.

Of course if you really want it go for it do but economically your better to pay off and save. I would say offers will be generous in the next 6 to 12 months as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,209 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Buy what you want,

My only sole advise is get out an excel sheet and the maths on it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,666 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Go for it, it's a car not a house, there's no right or wrong time to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,209 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Go for it, it's a car not a house, there's no right or wrong time to buy.

Its 45K + on the line, easy to throw out scant advice with other peoples money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

ARGINITE wrote: »
    Person comes onto discussion forum and asks for opinions, not all opinions are positive people get offended.

VB opinion is valid the person is looking to get a new car on fiance and not buy it with there own money up front.

Right now with the way the economy is would I lock myself into something like this no.

The unexpected can happen and if it does it best to be in as little debt as possible.

How many people actually buy something expensive like a car fully with their own money? Why would you tie your own money into it when you can at times borrow someone else's money cheaply while not touching your own? I also doubt many people buy their home with their own money up front either. Yet we still have to live somewhere even through economic downturns, unless you plan to live at home with your parents for most of your adult life.

Debt is nothing to be afraid of as long as you can manage it and have plan to get out of it when things go south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,666 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

listermint wrote: »
    Its 45K + on the line, easy to throw out scant advice with other peoples money.

It's not the full €45k at risk, it's PCP, gives walkaway options.

If it was a classic car they were purchasing there would be right and wrong times to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Those passat phev are over priced imo.
    The smaller petrol engine fitted compared to bmw and mercedes options makes it for me a non runner at the price. I know overall, it about 220 bhp but bmw 330e over 250 and c350e mercedes 270/280 bhp.
    If they had an option with a 2.0 tsi phev priced at current pricing, they would have a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

Never mind what people think, do what's right for you. Cars won't fall across the board, they just stop manufacturing/ importing them. There will be value around as there always is but on unattractive models, spec colours. Attractive ones will be sold as there is always some people buying. In 2009, people stopped buying cars, yet there's plenty 09's around. Do what's right for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭GavMan

Lets assume he must have a car and doesn't want to go bangernomics. He has to take on debt one way or the other (assuming he hasn't the cash to clear it).

Why not a new car at 0% rather that refinancing at 5? Those repayments are prob more than the PCP over 3 years. Imagine paying that in years 5 and 6!!!

If his situation is stable, have at it. There will be a recession but nothing like the financial crisis where there were systemic issues that caused it. Not a one off global pandemic that no one was predicting

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well lads
    No worries I'm not insulted or offended, 19 years on boards I'm well used to peoples opinions and each one is valid.

Ill try to respond to the points.

1. I do around 30k kms per year
    2. I can well afford the payments and there is no threat to my job.
    3. To be honest I'm not overly bothered if people like or don't like my car, Ill like it and thats all I care about.
    4. I'm not changing because of the service.... I'm looking at the various options. I have stated that in the opening post.
    5. No one can predict what will or won't happen with the economy, deals, prices of cars new or old. We can try to predict.
    6. The deal is 0%, I'm currently on my 3rd car with 0% finance, I changed usually either every 2 or 3 years because I can afford to and I like to have a nice car. I work hard for it.
    7. 2 new tires and the service it needs will set me back close on 500 euro, so if I'm changing this year anyway then why not now and say the 500 euro, tax is also due in July.
    8. Cheapest rate I can get outside of VW Bank is KBC - That amount of 17300 will cost me 18,983.52. So the cost of finance is 1500 euro. The repayments over the 3 years are 120 euro per month more than what the cost of the new car is costing per month.

Thanks for all the answers. Some v valid points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

In fairness he didnt say he's changing because he's due for a service. He also didn't say he could only afford the payments if he keeps his job. You just jumped to those conclusions.

A man in a stable job is looking at rolling over his PCP. The only thing foolishness here IMO is using words like lunacy and stupidity to describe his actions.

More power to him.

if you have the budget for pure EV, would it make sense OP? if you use toll roads, electric car tolls are reduced.

at least that way, you are getting nearly free fuel, barely any "servicing"...

the attitude I have adopted is, I will get done by depreciation or running costs, not both. Now I way prefer going down the older car route and taking the higher fuel, tax, maintenance. I wonder how the total cost of ownership would fair, if you went full electric. Or would this Phev, nearly mean your fuel bill was nearly irrelevant anyway?

In fairness he didnt say he's changing because he's due for a service. He also didn't say he could only afford the payments if he keeps his job. You just jumped to those conclusions.

A man in a stable job is looking at rolling over his PCP. The only thing foolishness here IMO is using words like lunacy and stupidity to describe his actions.

More power to him.

Man comes on boards.ie asks his for a opinion, he gets it and it doesn't suit some posters.

Nobody has pissed on my cornflakes but nobody knows how the current economics is going to pan out, 6 weeks ago if I told ya the population would have to be quarantined in your own home or face 6 months jail time or €2500 fine none of you would believe me.

Op do whatever ya think is best.

Man comes on boards.ie asks his for a opinion, he gets it and it doesn't suit some posters.

Nobody has pissed on my cornflakes but nobody knows how the current economics is going to pan out, 6 weeks ago if I told ya the population would have to be quarantined in your own home or face 6 months jail time or €2500 fine none of you would believe me.

Op do whatever ya think is best.

I'm not disagreeing with any of that but you have to admit you jumped to a fair few conclusions.

No.

I jumped to no conclusions, I only replied to the information that the op provided, he said his current car needed a service and tyres was considering changing car so it was natural to assume it was a factor in his thought process of buying a new car.

He said he was safe in his job, in this current climate nobody is safe or unaffected by covid19 in their job. (Nearly a million people claiming some kind of covid payment)

Op asked if he was mental considering this, I told him he was a lunatic.

It’s his money, he got his advice, ultimately its his decision.

Best of luck op whatever you decide.

No.

I jumped to no conclusions, I only replied to the information that the op provided, he said his current car needed a service and tyres was considering changing car so it was natural to assume it was a factor in his thought process of buying a new car.
    your thinking of going in again because your current car needs a service. - this is the real lunacy here.
    he said his current car needed a service and tyres was considering changing car so it was natural to assume it was a factor in his thought process of buying a new car.

You definitely did.

You've changed your tune back now from saying his car needing a service was the reason for changing, to being just a deciding factor, but not before insulting the OP.
    He said he was safe in his job, in this current climate nobody is safe or unaffected by covid19 in their job. (Nearly a million people claiming some kind of covid payment)

Op asked if he was mental considering this, I told him he was a lunatic.

Plenty of jobs are safe at the moment, for all you know the OP is Dr. Tony Holohan or a Director of Tesco's or is a face mask & PPE salesman or even a public service admin assistant.

The posts were scaremongering IMO.

You definitely did.

You've changed your tune back now from saying his car needing a service was the reason for changing, to being just a deciding factor, but not before insulting the OP.

Plenty of jobs are safe at the moment, for all you know the OP is Dr. Tony Holohan or a Director of Tesco's or is a face mask & PPE salesman or even a public service admin assistant.

The posts were scaremongering IMO.

I’ve already explained what I said.

People ask for an opinion, get a opinion, others don’t like a opinion and get worked up about it.

OP do whatever ya think is best.

Toyotafanoboi, it’s getting old now, my next response to another question about something I’ve already explained will be in unparliamentary terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Are there credit checks done for pcp? Has anyone ever been refused one? I know it's an unregulated financial product and not under the rules of either the central bank or the competition and consumer protection commission so it might be anything goes....

Deferring a start to paying for a new car because you can't pay for it is a bit reckless to be fair

Apologies if I feel strongly about this but I was a full time financial advisor in a previous life and still advise clients I had on all manner of things and this would be a red flag for me

I can’t honestly understand how you could ask if credit checks are done and if anyone has ever refused a PCP and then say you were a financial advisor in a previous life, there’s obviously a reason for that.

Just so you know, a PCP is a Hire purchase agreement with a balloon payment, but with conditions on the balloon. It’s the exact same underwriting criteria as any other loan, and yes many people have been refused them.

OP as you rightly say, it’s either re finance 17k and keep your car which will be out of warranty due servicing, etc

There’s there depreciation argument on going new, but the 2017 car you have is probably still due to loose another 10k at least over the next 3 years.

I can say with near certainty the price of new cars are going up (Which they are) and not down. Unless the government do something in the budget with VRT etc which I doubt is going to happen considering the year we’re going to have.

I’d say go for it, the GTE is really a brilliant car and they’ve dropped them in price to align them in price with a 2.0 auto dsl.

Cheers for reply yop. Clearly you spend a great deal of time in the car and like cars! Id be inclined to say go for it but will a phev be worth it compared to the diesel? I recently looked at the new superb phev and even at 7l/100km for all diesel fuel economy and 3l/100km for hybrid at 100km a day the payback was 5+ years. If your going to swap in 3 years time its an expensive extra.

L-M wrote: »
    I can’t honestly understand how you could ask if credit checks are done and if anyone has ever refused a PCP and then say you were a financial advisor in a previous life, there’s obviously a reason for that.

Just so you know, a PCP is a Hire purchase agreement with a balloon payment, but with conditions on the balloon. It’s the exact same underwriting criteria as any other loan, and yes many people have been refused them.

OP as you rightly say, it’s either re finance 17k and keep your car which will be out of warranty due servicing, etc

There’s there depreciation argument on going new, but the 2017 car you have is probably still due to loose another 10k at least over the next 3 years.

I can say with near certainty the price of new cars are going up (Which they are) and not down. Unless the government do something in the budget with VRT etc which I doubt is going to happen considering the year we’re going to have.

I’d say go for it, the GTE is really a brilliant car and they’ve dropped them in price to align them in price with a 2.0 auto dsl.

In an unregulated product I really don't believe the same underwriting does happen. Its outside every bit of regulation and consumer protection out there. It exists to get cars out of showrooms and lets some (not everybody) people drive away in cars they couldn't otherwise afford. They didn't exist until a short few years ago.

Thanks for telling me there's a reason financial advice was a former profession, there is a good reason. I trained as an actuary afterwards, not as if I couldn't do my job as you may have suggested.

In an unregulated product I really don't believe the same underwriting does happen. Its outside every bit of regulation and consumer protection out there. It exists to get cars out of showrooms and lets some (not everybody) people drive away in cars they couldn't otherwise afford. They didn't exist until a short few years ago.

Thanks for telling me there's a reason financial advice was a former profession, there is a good reason. I trained as an actuary afterwards, not as if I couldn't do my job as you may have suggested.

Do you actually know what a PCP is and have you ever seen an agreement?

It’s people like you that shouldn’t be on forums giving “advice”.

A PCP isn’t some sort of made up agreement that they just decide to use to sell cars. It’s a Hire purchase agreement. The person taking it has every right (Half rule, third rule etc) that they would have under a hire purchase agreement and protected by the Consumer protection act. It’s the exact same under writing criteria as a long.

So you “not believing” is quite frankly different from the facts.

I do love boards.ie for opinions :)

Thanks everyone again.

I'm still not pulling the trigger but with all the sums I've done it seems to be what I will do.
    They're now trying to see me an Arteon for another 110 PM extra. Lovely motor them but the head is saying GTE for the lower payments and to get the grant on the charger kit at home while that lasts

I see a figure of 2 billion euro cost to the economy for the 4 week lockdown!! That will have to come from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭McCrack

A lot of misinformation here and spoof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭Harika

As we are just at the beginning of the recession, I don't think car manufacturers are yet pricing that in, if some changes and extras are brought in until September is hard to say.
    I didn't look at car prices during the 2008 recession, but you might think it will follow this pattern, just quicker. Especially scrappage or in your case a better trade in price.
    If you are happy with your deal now, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Thanks everyone again.

I'm still not pulling the trigger but with all the sums I've done it seems to be what I will do.
    They're now trying to see me an Arteon for another 110 PM extra. Lovely motor them but the head is saying GTE for the lower payments and to get the grant on the charger kit at home while that lasts

I see a figure of 2 billion euro cost to the economy for the 4 week lockdown!! That will have to come from somewhere.

Am I right in thinking that both your existing and new cars are VW group? If that's the case then you are probably not in the worst position. As manufacturers they have an interest in the sale price of the new car and as financier they have an interest in "maintaining" the secondhand value meaning you won't necessarily get screwed.

The PCP market in the UK looks like it's in greater trouble than here, in part because they have been more aggressive with it and a lot fo the PCP providers are not the manufacturing groups.

Marcusm wrote: »
    Am I right in thinking that both your existing and new cars are VW group? If that's the case then you are probably not in the worst position. As manufacturers they have an interest in the sale price of the new car and as financier they have an interest in "maintaining" the secondhand value meaning you won't necessarily get screwed.

The PCP market in the UK looks like it's in greater trouble than here, in part because they have been more aggressive with it and a lot fo the PCP providers are not the manufacturing groups.

It is indeed. Skoda Superb

Oh you’ll notice a nice few changes so. Assuming you don’t have Adaptive cruise control, it’s the best thing since the invention of the sliced pan. Especially in auto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Thanks everyone again.

How are they selling at the moment? I thought the garages are supposed to be shut.
    Phone and email?
    Apparently the lockdown is costing U.K. 2.5 billion pounds a day which makes ours seem small in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

Arteon not so attractive, a big lump of a cruiser and a big jump in repayments also. Adaptive CC is a great thing but I think it has to be on automatic, it cannot be nearly as effective in a manual.

L-M wrote: »
    Oh you’ll notice a nice few changes so. Assuming you don’t have Adaptive cruise control, it’s the best thing since the invention of the sliced pan. Especially in auto.
    Mine is DSG and not the ACC which I hear is great :)

carsfan2 wrote: »
    How are they selling at the moment? I thought the garages are supposed to be shut.
    Phone and email?
    Apparently the lockdown is costing U.K. 2.5 billion pounds a day which makes ours seem small in comparison.

Email exchanges indeed. No site visits, no test drives.
    Like a strip club at this stage, view online, no touch :)
    Iodine1 wrote: »
    Arteon not so attractive, a big lump of a cruiser and a big jump in repayments also. Adaptive CC is a great thing but I think it has to be on automatic, it cannot be nearly as effective in a manual.

I've not been in one so I can't comment. I "Think" they look good, bit of a head turner IMO but never really considered them much.

Iodine1 wrote: »

To be fair it’s brilliant even in a manual, as long as you’re not in the city. I have a manual Passat and I would safely say over 90percent of the time I’m on the adaptive cruise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya we have a manual passat with acc.
    Works very well and is brilliant if you are just on a lazy drive home in the evening.
    Kind of annoys though thinking just how much better it could be in an auto.