Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volunteering food/essentials to the elderly during this pandemic corona virus; need i

• 03-04-2020 2:15am
    Registered Users Posts: 18

Hi lads, I am from Ireland and got thinking tonight in ways I can help during this crisis. I want to volunteer and get others involved to deliver essentials and food shopping or whatever to the elderly and those at risk, or those who fear about coming into contact with the virus; with no questions asked.

My plan is to set up a Facebook group AND page and share it to more popular groups to get the exposure and traffic to the Facebook page. I will be just focusing on my own city, Limerick not the whole of Ireland. I know I will need money to begin this, I won't dive into this right away without any planning. So, plan is to set up a Facebook page up, once they go onto the group & page I want a forum maybe with a link that the public can click and pinned where it is easy visible to see and make it very simple, questions such as address, name, phone number and have them list the food or essentials that is needed, once it is filled out, I will received it and be notified what is needed by the customer instantly.

I know deliver services can take 1/3 days to deliver food but I want it to be within a few hours and I know by having other volunteers they might not be as reliable they could cancel last minute for whatever reason etc, I do not have any transport yet but I live near a supermarket that is about 20 minutes away. If the group pops off and I can get more volunteers involved I want to be able to forward on the information to the volunteer who are near to the customer and who can deliver within a few hours. I want to have the service available Mon - Sunday between the hours of 12am - 6pm? I'm still not sure on times, but if I get notified at 9am I know I can deliver at 12pm, but if somebody puts an order (filling out the forum) at say 4 am I obviously can't deliver until the next morning and that will be 12 pm when delivery commences. Any ideas for hours? I want to also take up a part time job soon and if the hours are affected for me, what could I do?

I just don't know how to do the forum part yet but I will figure it out. (Have figured it out) If anybody knows how I could make something like this and be notified instantly I would appreciate it, I will do some research myself. Once I have enough money to get me started, I will start off by sending a typed letter to my neighbors through their letter box offering my service and leaving my phone number and Facebook whatever they prefer they can contact me on.

I want to add, I won't be giving away free food because I am only 21 and cannot afford to do that, how would I say nicely in the letter that I will collect the money once the food/necessities are dropped off, should they leave it under a mat?

I will also attach another printed letter with the delivery mentioning the Facebook page and to advise them to let their friends or family members know and to leave a review on the page if they would like to. I will also mention the precautions I have done prior to delivery e.g wash hands etc, wearing gloves and mask etc... Once I drop the food and/or essentials off I will leave it outside the door; when collecting money they could maybe phone or message me advising me where money is being put e.g in a flower pot, mat etc... I am putting this up to see other peoples opinions/ideas etc and how I can make this more efficient. Any comments, opinions concerns will be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Let me get this straight - you want the elderly and those at risk to post their address, name, phone number online for all and sundry to see or at least hand that information to someone they dont necessarily know?

Seriously? Leaving aside issues of GDPR - you will potentially have scrotes using your service to pick off the elderly for a bit of house burglary or whatever.

Where are you planning on getting the money you detailed to start this up btw?

The elderly and other risk groups already have the Gardai and other specialist groups providing these services.

Perhaps you could volunteer your time with an existing organisation providing such services - Especially if you are getting a part time job in the near future as you have detailed.

did you type all that out in one breath

• Registered Users Posts: 81,382 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Did you get your typewriter with your communion money?

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Prinnydtt1

Can I just say ye are the most annoying vulgar trolls even when you try do something positive for others you have to be ridiculed and scrutinized, what are ye doing to help? Probably clearing out half the supermarkets, I'm just trying to help and do my bit for people who need it, I'm not out to con or get anybody ffs there is still some decent people left in the word, I'm gonna ignore yer useless comments and continue what I'm going to do, theirs a young lad doing the exact same thing in Cork and alot of them are YOUNG its always the old ones giving out, a young person trys to do something for others and gets hate for no reason, and no nobody would see their info only me, I'm starting off with my neighbors across the road they all know me they hardly think I'm going to rob them and not get there food when I literally live right across the way don't be so slow, ye must be all fairly bored

Seriously???? Just trying to help ffs.. I wanted to start up my own organisation, I'm sure now if I tried to con the elderly the guards be at my door in a minute, not my intentions at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

It’s hard to read your original post so maybe you can edit it and divide it into paragraphs. No doubt you are well intentioned and want to help. Don’t mind the nay sayers at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

Getting the elderly to post up names and contact numbers on Facebook will not work. It will be a breathing ground for criminals to have all their details and to scam them, particularly travelers.

Also the elderly don't use facebook.

Elderly know the support that is available to them and nearly every GAA club and Garda are providing services for the elderly along with St Vincent De Paul and most shops will also deliver to the elderly.

It's just a no go idea i'm afraid. You would have to garda vet all the volunteers really.

You are going into very dangerous territory here. Just contact St Vincent de Paul yourself and say you are happy to help and they will point you in the right direction.

Prinnydtt1 wrote: »
    Can I just say ye are the most annoying vulgar trolls even when you try do something positive for others you have to be ridiculed and scrutinized, what are ye doing to help? Probably clearing out half the supermarkets, I'm just trying to help and do my bit for people who need it, I'm not out to con or get anybody ffs there is still some decent people left in the word, I'm gonna ignore yer useless comments and continue what I'm going to do, theirs a young lad doing the exact same thing in Cork and alot of them are YOUNG its always the old ones giving out, a young person trys to do something for others and gets hate for no reason, and no nobody would see their info only me, I'm starting off with my neighbors across the road they all know me they hardly think I'm going to rob them and not get there food when I literally live right across the way don't be so slow, ye must be all fairly bored

"YOUNG"? No body cares what age you are. If you are posting here - you are presumed to be an adult.

I see you are now steryotyping and insulting the 'old' ones as 'giving out' and 'clearing supermarkets'. And yet claiming it's the 'old ones' you wish to help. Lol.

So wind yer neck in. You asked for advice - you got it. Dont like it? Thats tough! The world is not all lovely people and unicorns. There are people who will take advantage of the information you wish to gather and hand over to others. GDPR also covers legal responsibility of 'you' gathering such information.

The issues I outlined are ones you should pay serious attention to.

Just because someone is 'young' or even snowflakey does not magically mean that such ideas are even close to good practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,523 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

OP you would be better off helping out with an established group in your area.Its going to be very difficult to get this off the ground now .

You mentioned Limerick, there are several excellent groups doing great work in the city already. My advise would be to get in contact with them and see how you can help out.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭lurker2000

Well done for trying to help. But there are good organizations who have a track record in this area. Contact SVdP or other such organizations and volunteer to help, it’s at times like these we need to pull together and help each other. Well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭lurker2000

And furthermore, Shame on those who jumped on top of the OP beating down on their enthusiasm to help. At least they are not sitting on their butts playing computer games and having virtual gin parties with their friends 24/7 like some of their age group.

gozunda wrote: »
    "YOUNG"? No body cares what age you are. If you are posting here - you are presumed to be an adult.

I see you are now steryotyping and insulting the 'old' ones as 'giving out' and 'clearing supermarkets'. And yet claiming it's the 'old ones' you wish to help. Lol.

So wind yer neck in. You asked for advice - you got it. Dont like it? Thats tough! The world is not all lovely people and unicorns. There are people who will take advantage of the information you wish to gather and hand over to others. GDPR also covers legal responsibility of 'you' gathering such information.

The issues I outlined are ones you should pay serious attention to.

Just because someone is 'young' or even snowflakey does not magically mean that such ideas are even close to good practice.

I no nobody cares, my age does not have anything to do with it I was just stating it. Lovey people and unicorns hahaha, thats no worries. I will be paying verrrry close attention, snowflakey ? Get a grip.. The boredom must be hitting you , nothing constructive to say don’t say anything at all , clown. Pull together, stop been a nasty breed. No one can ask a question anymore without been attacked. Cop the f on, will ye

If you’re genuinely interested in volunteering, register with these guys and be guided by them. https://www.volunteer.ie/about-us/covid-19/
    Also GAA clubs around the country have set up delivery services for the housebound. Contact your local one.

Prinnydtt1 wrote: »
    I no nobody cares, my age does not have anything to do with it I was just stating it. Lovey people and unicorns hahaha, thats no worries. I will be paying verrrry close attention, snowflakey ? Get a grip.. The boredom must be hitting you , nothing constructive to say don’t say anything at all , clown. Pull together, stop been a nasty breed. No one can ask a question anymore without been attacked. Cop the f on, will ye

You are the individual going on about the "YOUNG" and hillariously throwing insult at "old ones" ie those you claim to care about.

If you believe using such descriptors is not insulting to those you claim to care about - think again.

Advice on GDPR and elder safety issues are not "attacking" your self image btw

You asked for advice. You dont like that. Well that's tough.

"Cop the f on, will ye" "nasty breed" indeed..

lurker2000 wrote: »
    And furthermore, Shame on those who jumped on top of the OP beating down on their enthusiasm to help. At least they are not sitting on their butts playing computer games and having virtual gin parties with their friends 24/7 like some of their age group.

Nope.

The OP requested advice. That was provided by regarding several factors including elder care issues and gdpr and the fact that volunteering would be more productive - as you yourself suggested.

The OP didnt appreciate that advice apparently and by return started flinging insults about the 'old ones' who they claimed to be interested in helping lol.

You couldn't make it up tbh.