Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 27th. March 2020

• 26-03-2020 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭

This week's edition of 'The Late Late Show' pays tribute to the men and women of Ireland's National Frontline Services who have been bravely leading the fight to slow down and treat the spread of Coronavirus.

Following what promises to be a very special opening segment at the top of the show, viewers around the country will be invited to join in a collective round of applause for our frontline service heroes.

Also on Friday’s show, global superstar Hozier will launch an emergency on-air appeal for the ISPCC who are experiencing an upsurge in calls to Childline.

Hozier will perform an exclusive set, live in studio, and promote a new initiative between ISPCC and RTÉ 2FM, where top Irish artists are performing across 2FM every night for a fortnight to raise funds.

Caroline O'Sullivan from the ISPCC will be there with helpful advice for parents who are dealing with children affected by the current situation.

Lee Duffy, a young, fit and healthy League of Ireland footballer, will talk about about his harrowing experience when he contracted Coronavirus and was hospitalised. Luckily, Lee has now made a full recovery and will be in studio to issue a plea to the young people of Ireland to heed warnings regarding social gatherings.

'Mrs Brown's Boys' stars Brendan O'Carroll and wife Jennifer Gibney will be talking via Skype link from Florida, and comedian Dara Ó Briain will join the show from London.

Former Irish Rugby International Brian O'Driscoll will also be on tomorrow's show, as well as legendary GAA commentator Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh.

All of this, plus more, only on The Late Late Show, RTÉ One, Friday at 9.35pm.

sleepingpuppytoes.jpg

funny-sleeping-cats4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Bualadh Bos for all front line workers, PPE would be better if we could help fund, Tubs get his rich RTE mates to help, surely Bono and Hozier could donate a few bob, if there was a go fund me, I would be happy to donate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Just announced that Miriam will host tonight...

https://twitter.com/RTELateLateShow/status/1243499619499335681

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Miriam looked to be a bit under the weather last night too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The excitement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Just announced that Miriam will host tonight...

https://twitter.com/RTELateLateShow/status/1243499619499335681

Genuinely?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Genuinely?

Yes she will be doing it tonight. Which means that, counting stand in presenters, she will be the 5th in total and the first ever female LLS host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Let me stop you there for a second micheal ,,,,,,i don;t give a b0llox about your analogy

and no we won't play the ham sandwich video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Yes she will be doing it tonight. Which means that, counting stand in presenters, she will be the 5th in total and the first ever female LLS host.

Genuinely though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

'Mrs Brown's Boys' stars Brendan O'Carroll and wife Jennifer Gibney will be talking via Skype link from Florida, and comedian Dara Ó Briain will join the show from London.

:(

have we not suffered enough??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭jimmymack

6th actually - Frank Hall presented it for a year in the 60s. Or so Wikipedia tells me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Meanwhile at the Covid-19 testing laboratory.......

C9hkiygXkAAMsG7?format=jpg&name=900x900

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭MOR316

Lee Duffy...

He contracted the virus in Italy, after ignoring the warnings and bragged on social media that he got it and would get over it because he's fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

:confused::confused:

It’s a Mario Rosenstock soundbyte for Miriam.

Best of luck to Mir, and get well soon Tubs

In these difficult times we need a line of succession planned out for the LLS to avoid Civil War breaking out, like the British Royal Family do

Maybe next in line

1 Brendan O'Connor
    2 Tommy Tiernan
    3 Eh, I don't know really. Not Ray Darcy

#BrendanForever

Skid X wrote: »

In these difficult times we need a line of succession planned out for the LLS to avoid Civil War breaking out, like the British Royal Family do

Maybe next in line

1 Brendan O'Connor
    2 Tommy Tiernan

#BrendanForever

Joe Duffy? Maybe Oliver Callan? He has been filling in for Tubridy on the radio the last few days this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Jesus, I usually need to come up with am excuse for the missus to make her not watch this. Now, I wont have to say another word other than Miriam & my work will be done.

She really is absolutely appalling. Couldn't hack a couple of hours of her front and centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Surpised they didn't give it to Lottie Ryan.

OMG! That's just soooooooooooooo amayzing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Jesus, I usually need to come up with am excuse for the missus to make her not watch this. Now, I wont have to say another word other than Miriam & my work will be done.

She really is absolutely appalling. Couldn't hack a couple of hours of her front and centre

Ha, just said it to her. Her answer.

"Ahhhh noooo, of all the f**kin women!"

KevRossi wrote: »

If a few more RTE presenters are affected by the virus her turn might not be too far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Token female LLS presenter. If a man had done it the femenists would have gone ape

The feminists, just like everyone else, have more important things to be concerned about right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I think Jennifer Zapperella would make a good host. Lighten the show up a bit. Make it more like Norton and not all about misery and death. People need to be entertained of a Friday evening after a long week.......well on Social Protection at the moment lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

MOR316 wrote: »
    Lee Duffy...

He contracted the virus in Italy, after ignoring the warnings and bragged on social media that he got it and would get over it because he's fit.

Who is Lee Duffy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

The feminists, just like everyone else, have more important things to be concerned about right now.

Other than the [mod snip] virus, feminists have nothing to worry about as we live in an equal world already. Oh and they hijacked the virus situation long ago

https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/03/the-coronavirus-fallout-may-be-worse-for-women-than-men-heres-why/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

This week's edition of 'The Late Late Show' pays tribute to the men and women of Ireland's National Frontline Services who have been bravely leading the fight to slow down and treat the spread of Coronavirus.

Following what promises to be a very special opening segment at the top of the show, viewers around the country will be invited to join in a collective round of applause for our frontline service heroes.

Also on Friday’s show, global superstar Hozier will launch an emergency on-air appeal for the ISPCC who are experiencing an upsurge in calls to Childline.

Hozier will perform an exclusive set, live in studio, and promote a new initiative between ISPCC and RTÉ 2FM, where top Irish artists are performing across 2FM every night for a fortnight to raise funds.

Caroline O'Sullivan from the ISPCC will be there with helpful advice for parents who are dealing with children affected by the current situation.

Lee Duffy, a young, fit and healthy League of Ireland footballer, will talk about about his harrowing experience when he contracted Coronavirus and was hospitalised. Luckily, Lee has now made a full recovery and will be in studio to issue a plea to the young people of Ireland to heed warnings regarding social gatherings.

Former Irish Rugby International Brian O'Driscoll will also be on tomorrow's show, as well as legendary GAA commentator Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh.

All of this, plus more, only on The Late Late Show, RTÉ One, Friday at 9.35pm.

sleepingpuppytoes.jpg

funny-sleeping-cats4.jpg

Picture of the cat is amazing.

KevRossi wrote: »

or bleedin Kathryn Thomas :eek::eek::eek:

I believe she is doing a new show COVID NATION starting next week!
    I'm absolutely sick the way RTE are milking Covid to their advantage. I dont mind current affairs , even though its overkill at the moment, but Kathryn Thomas and Covid Nation!!!! ??

Maybe next in line

1 Brendan O'Connor
    2 Tommy Tiernan

#BrendanForever

That made me think who the hell could take over, even from Master Tubridy who is generally hopeless.

There are very few when you think of it and maybe O'Connor and O'Callaghan are top dogs right now?

Jaysus.

Duffy, Darcy are woeful, Tiernan is not right for it.

What about John Creedon?
    Anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Picture of the cat is amazing.

It is. Was in a series of pictures of cats sleeping awkwardly here https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/03/26/catnap/

My favourite-

funny-sleeping-cats12.jpg

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    That made me think who the hell could take over, even from Master Tubridy who is generally hopeless.

There are very few when you think of it and maybe O'Connor and O'Callaghan are top dogs right now?

Jaysus.

What about John Creedon?
    Anyone else?

Mary Kennedy?

Alright, I’m a Mary Kennedy fan!

Sir Oxman wrote: »

Jaysus.

What about John Creedon?
    Anyone else?

Actually, it seriously makes you think! There is nobody, and that’s saying something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Muahahaha wrote: »
    It is. Was in a series of pictures of cats sleeping awkwardly here https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/03/26/catnap/

My favourite-

funny-sleeping-cats12.jpg

Looked at the link. So funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I think she was a good choice to fill in for Tubirdy, I thought the chat show she did during the summer wasn't bad.

Be nice if RTE invested their time in recruiting some new talent for the future, instead of resorting to nepotism most of the time

I think she was a good choice to fill in for Tubirdy, I thought the chat show she did during the summer wasn't bad.

"Do you have a love life in your own life?" she asked once.

I beg to differ with your opinion

I hope Mir begins her reign by instructing her subjects at home to Stay There! for the good of the nation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I'll give you all a preview

"Genuinely you're all great........... no you ARE....... no you ARE.. "

I'm watching the Tiger King tonight on screen two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Fair play to Miriam for getting a babysitter for her 56 chaps whilst this corona thing is going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Fair play to Miriam for getting a babysitter for her 56 chaps whilst this corona thing is going on.

Mags Cash is minding them

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Other than the [mod snip] virus, feminists have nothing to worry about as we live in an equal world already. Oh and they hijacked the virus situation long ago

https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/03/the-coronavirus-fallout-may-be-worse-for-women-than-men-heres-why/

MOD:
    Call it the corona virus or covid19 or don't post here again, thanks

/end mod

There's some bonus misery at 8.30 in a few minutes, the Taoiseach is making another Covid19 statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

There's some bonus misery at 8.30 in a few minutes, the Taoiseach is making another Covid19 statement

Well - lets get locked down with the Late Late.

Maybe Ryan regrets bringing in all the health care workers last week - most didn't have masks on.

Lot of people in media are getting it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

As in get locked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Mary Kennedy?

Nationwide was fierce shouty this evening.

Fierce shouty.

Well, +1 already for Miriam in the ad for the show.
    No simpering, cringing clarion calls.
    (So far)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

Surely there are other presenters besides MOC who could step up, she’s been on Prime Time all week

Mary Kennedy?

She has retired from RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Is Ryan in isolation for good ?