Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Eamon Ryan a troll?

• 21-03-2020 11:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭

I seriously cannot believe that someone with their full wits about them, could come up which such half-baked and stupid ideas. Is he serious, or just having a laugh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Nah, he's just a Green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A couple of steps beyond, being out of touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

He's a ludicrous champagne socialist virtue signaller with terrible ideas. His party was recently advocating that the population of our island should be increased to 10 million.

His hero 'our' current President Higgins has very similar ideas, but fortunately no real power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Just nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

mickdw wrote: »
    Just nuts

He's probably looking at how easy young Varadkar and Harris, not to mention the aul dear in Aras an Uachtarain, get away with it, and thinking "that could be me - I also could waft into power spouting bull**** and virtue signalling for the easily led masses".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

And to think the people that elected him actually mock and laugh those in Kerry that elected the Healy-Raes. :confused:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

So you failed with planting the lettuce seeds then.

washman3 wrote: »
    And to think the people that elected him actually mock and laugh those in Kerry that elected the Healy-Raes. :confused:

In fairness at least people can make out what he is taking about with out having to rely on subtitles or a translator ðŸ˜

i had this thought the other day and i do believe at this stage there's an element of this to his nonsense.

it's a poor state of affairs that he has such obvious contempt for people tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭bluefinger

You don't win friends with salad Eamon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

In fairness at least people can make out what he is taking about with out having to rely on subtitles or a translator
    Oh look

It's the mocking that the other poster was talking about, bang on queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

Surely that's a comedian doing a parody of him.? Can't be real. Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,101 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Dorakman wrote: »
    I seriously cannot believe that someone with their full wits about them, could come up which such half-baked and stupid ideas. Is he serious, or just having a laugh?

You forgot to mention whAt he said that you have an issue with.

I’d a great time in the garden today , cleated it out , built raised beds , for planted fruit and veg. Kept the kids away from screen and off the streets.

ted1 wrote: »

I’d a great time in the garden today , cleated it out , built raised beds , for planted fruit and veg. Kept the kids away from screen and off the streets.

Someone posted the link to the video a few posts up. I checked it and it is him, but its like something Oliver Callan would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They want to save the planet and tax us to that but then states they want 10 million or more on this small island, eh pal this isn't how you save the planet...

There is 17.8 million in the Netherlands
    There is 4.83m in Ireland.

Land mass of Netherlands is 41.5km^2
    Land mass of Ireland is 84.4 Km^2

The Netherlands kept there villages and cities and didn’t allow one off housing. And urban sprawl.

With proper urban planning 10 million us very possible and feasible

Someone posted the link to the video a few posts up. I checked it and it is him, but its like something Oliver Callan would do.

But can you fault what he said ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,788 ✭✭✭con747

But can you fault what he said ?

Yes, I hate feckn lettuce:)

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭downburst

What’s really worrying is the press don’t dare question him with respect to reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

In fairness at least people can make out what he is taking about with out having to rely on subtitles or a translator ðŸ˜

You really can't understand the Healy Raes? I'm not from Kerry and can understand them perfectly fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭NSAman

Ehhmoan is a failed bicycle sales man who now makes a living of the tax payer.

Is he a troll? No. Most trolls have FAR more intelligence.

Entitled, idiotic and not as smart as the Kerry lads... but yet you are paying for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

tdf7187 wrote: »
    He's a ludicrous champagne socialist virtue signaller with terrible ideas. His party was recently advocating that the population of our island should be increased to 10 million.

I'd have thought the greens would want a reduction in population (everywhere) to reduce the impact on climate change, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

NSAman wrote: »

Entitled, idiotic and not as smart as the Kerry lads... but yet you are paying for him.

Meh, could be worse, he could be advocating stuff that gets people killed, like drink driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Trolls live under dark bridges, and eat children.

Eamon lives on a South facing balcony, on the Southside, eating homegrown salads.

So, no, close but no citrus salad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Did you get the back wall painted there, Ted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

There is 17.8 million in the Netherlands
    There is 4.83m in Ireland.

Land mass of Netherlands is 41.5km^2
    Land mass of Ireland is 84.4 Km^2

The Netherlands kept there villages and cities and didn’t allow one off housing. And urban sprawl.

With proper urban planning 10 million us very possible and feasible

Alright Eamon, settle down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭BRYAN Is Ainm Dom

washman3 wrote: »

I am not very there but can understand them perfectly. Maybe you are the problem and just a bit thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭SAXA

ted1 wrote:

ted1 wrote:

ted1 wrote:
    There is 17.8 million in the Netherlands There is 4.83m in Ireland.

ted1 wrote:
    Land mass of Netherlands is 41.5km^2 Land mass of Ireland is 84.4 Km^2

We might be very happy with our one off housing now with covid 19 around..
    Different note
    Also not a farmer but we can feed our own nation.. the bashing they got for last few years was unfair. Cleaner air in China .. fish back in canals in Venice . UK need to import food to feed their population. Ever think its easier to attack a small group in society rather then look at big picture. If farming was such a well subsidised area why are people either leaving or work part time . If you worked out the hours farmers worked compared to earnings most people would walk away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭lalababa

He espoused leaving hardware stores (and I assume garden centers open) so people wouldn't go mad at home constantly looking at boards coronovirus threads.
    And yet ye think HE'S loosing his marbles.
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    He does come across like an annoying teen with asbergers though
    Not what we are used to with Irish politicians.
    Nothing wrong with what he said though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Looking across all spectrums, left, right, centre. Top talent is lacking.

FG have picked themselves up somewhat with the Pandemic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I wouldnt say he's a troll, he's just extremely out of touch and seems to be lacking in any real personality.

He has thus decided to take on this 'ultra-woke' personality as he thinks it is what will play best with the electorate but it is quite obviously disingenuous.

He's essentially the South Dublin version of Aodhan O Riordain in Dublin Bay North - extremely disingenuous and lacking in any real substance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Greens will never be a major party in Ireland, so I wouldn't worry about them, we ll probably always have some combination of ffg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Off his rocker obviously. It's a close run thing between himself and Eoin Murphy for worst politican in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What are these ideas of his? Be nice to have some context!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Looking across all spectrums, left, right, centre. Top talent is lacking.

FG have picked themselves up somewhat with the Pandemic

:confused: FG have "picked themselves up"? How you figure that.

BanditLuke wrote:
    FG have "picked themselves up"? How you figure that.

I do think fg will get a boost from this pandemic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Nicetrustedcup

Not to be mean when he said touching me , touching you

I thought he was going to start signing the darkness I believe in a thing called love !!!!

He did give me one idea I have about 6m square of grass in my garden I am thinking of turning into a vegetable garden as being honest it gives me something to do !!!

Go for it, be a nice project, probably should get our own plot going again, just couldn't be arsed

Growing veg is a nice idea but just brings rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Ever since he became leader of the greens and won a seat back for the party in 2011, he’s come across an being unbelievably smug.

The word prat also comes to mind

A smug prat.

I fear the recent election result for the greens ( despite being a protest vote against FG), will do nothing more than inflate his ego to Hindenburg zeppelin size levels.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,569 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Growing veg is a nice idea but just brings rats.

You already have rats

sydthebeat wrote: »
    You already have rats

Brings more of them though. In built up areas with no people around and veg growing, could you imagine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

lalababa wrote: »
    He espoused leaving hardware stores (and I assume garden centers open) so people wouldn't go mad at home constantly looking at boards coronovirus threads.
    And yet ye think HE'S loosing his marbles.
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    He does come across like an annoying teen with asbergers though
    Not what we are used to with Irish politicians.
    Nothing wrong with what he said though...

I don't see much wrong with what he said either, it was the way he said it, he seemed totally manic and like he was going to have a breakdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

He's not great at speeches. Varadkar's speeches have been great.

But
    • Cheap transcontinental flights (and cheap flights in general) were definitely part of this getting established.
    • Our bad air quality will increase its lethality.
    • our health service is not equipped to deal with the situation

I assume the greens' policies would have addressed the first two of these issues. Don't know what their policies on healthcare are, but it can't be worse than FG's. Personally I think policy is more important than speech writing. (Though you don't get to pretend you're in a movie.)

FG were very slow to respond. For some reason 99% of people didn't seem to realise there was a problem until our leader told them there was. But it was very clear since January for anyone paying attention. I think they should have been paying attention. We didn't need to be in thos situation at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    I do think fg will get a boost from this pandemic

Wait until the mortality figures start climbing and people start asking questions about the lack of decision making in relation to travel such as allowing the Cheltenham punters to wander to the four corners of the country unimpeded spreading the disease

That’s exactly it. At the moment it looks like they’re doing well, and they could very well be doing as best can be done with this, but at the end of the day it’ll all be judged on how it ends up. We’re a long way from knowing that at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

i actually think he was having a mental breakdown while making that speech, not joking.

maybe, but im still expecting a bounce in the polls