Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Skype Special - 20th March 2020

• 19-03-2020 7:54pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,063 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

How's everyone getting on with this social distancing craic, any of ye starting to go mad yet, anyway joining Ryan tomorrow will be.....

Finance minister Paschal Donohoe will be in studio to answer viewers questions about the financial uncertainties brought on by the Coronavirus.

Tony Holohan Ireland's chief medical officer will also be in studio to update on the latest on the situation.

Joining Ryan from Caaaark will be Billy and Lanlih Holland to talk about their new baby son Matthew and raising almost 700,000 Euro in memory of their daughter Emmaline.

Also on the show but not in studio will be Stephen Fry, Daniel and Majella O'Donnell, Sharon Corr, and Derry and Sallyanne Clarke

giphy.gif
    Failed to load the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,697 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Rte are lucky we have a pandemic upon us, it's providing plenty of material for the show the last few weeks, and no doubt will for many more months.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Rte are lucky we have a pandemic upon us, it's providing plenty of material for the show the last few weeks, and no doubt will for many more months.

another downside of the corona-virus -> keeping the RTE disease alive for longer unfortunately with all this extra local attention due to the inward focus of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

This weeks lesson should be how to make sanitizer gel from every day household goods.

a make-and-do retrospective with Mary Fitzgerald where they make hand sanitiser with Turdity's urine and household vinegar ?

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0127/500373-how-do-you-do/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Finance minister Paschal Donohoe will be in studio to answer viewers questions about the financial uncertainties brought on by the Coronavirus.

ah Paschal pesky wabbit Donohoe

i'm gonna send in a question in which he'll have to answer with plenty of "R" words :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,032 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Surely Tubs could get some better guests for skype chats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Lets bombard RTE asking that they show full Late Late Shows adds and all that featured Gay Byrne from years past, way more interesting than Tubridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Late Late Show Special: Misery edition

M

I presume being the national broadcaster the picture quality on these Skype interview sessions will be better than I can reproduce on a €400 laptop running off a Tesco 4G SIM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

NIMAN wrote: »

Surely what the country needs tonight instead of the late late is a good movie to forget about Corona virus for a few hours....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Tis far, far from the worst guest list we've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Ol' Donie wrote: »

The best we can hope for is an internet meltdown :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So no chance of a light entertainment show where the country can forget all about death and economic destruction for a few hours

Zero

Completely agree with you can RTE not realise that we all need a break and put on something that we can enjoy , it's gone so bad guys I work with are avoiding news on Radio and TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Tonight we have Skype.

Next week: The LLS will look like the time Krusty did an Emergency Broadcast from a Secret Bunker after Sideshow Bob threatened to destroy Springfield with a Nuclear Bomb unless all TV was cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Why is it when anyone does a skype interview on rte they use an internet connection from 2004

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

giphy.gif

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,063 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Tonight is the 5th anniversary of a fairly hectic Late Late Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Are you joking? I'd rather lick the soles of the feet of someone with COVID19 than listen to Daniel and Majella O'Donnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

EmptyTree wrote: »
    Are you joking? I'd rather lick the soles of the feet of someone with COVID19 than listen to Daniel and Majella O'Donnell.

Daniel and majella will be a welcome change to nathan and jake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭thequarefellow

Paschal, Daniel and Majella!

Just put it to sleep. Please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Rte and Skype.
    What could possibly go wrong.

M

The 300 Gardai only a few weeks in to training getting swarn in today reminded me a little of "Police Academy 4: Citizens on Patrol", long may it continue, on the job learning is best.

Police_Academy_4_film.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

What time is Stephen Fry on ?

M

statesaver wrote: »
    What time is Stephen Fry on ?

Likely last as he's the main guest.

Nothing against Sharon.
    But I’d rather hear from Jim at this time of crisis.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Nothing against Sharon.

Now, that would be interesting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Nothing against Sharon.

Ha ha, very true

Likely last as he's the main guest.

Good that suits me big time. I dont mind missing the last 8 minutes.

It's like 1986 Albanian TV

All that's missing is a well dressed general festuned with medals as the first guest

Rte and Skype.
    What could possibly go wrong.

RTE Player...what could possibly go wrong?

Everything, it's the RTE Player.

Seriously TV licence ad.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

great Irish film after starting on rte2.

'I Went Down'

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0126344/

Early Brendan Gleeson film, hard to find and never seen it released on dvd. The picture is definitely 90s tv quality

Did he get dressed in the dark?

If things get bad I'm going to report back on this 36 minute interview with Boycey from Only Fools And Horses on a Serbian Talk Show

We know Ryan.

So cheer us all up.

Jesus, when he came out and stared talking i thought he was going to cry

M

We should be taking over manufacturing plants to get them to make more ventilators and lash together rough setups in empty hotels to treat people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

statesaver wrote: »
    Jesus, when he came out and stared talking i thought he was going to cry

I thought you were.

When is Dermot Bannon on?

Tubs about to break into

"And if a Double Decker Bus, kills the both of us

To die by your side is such a heavenly way to die ..."

Fcuk off Ryan

M

Ffs, it's like an intro to Dr Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

When is Dermot Bannon on?

He's nailed himself into his expensive new gap. He may appear on skype from the bath that sits in his garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

oh **** we get it, we don't need a big lecture. Come on. A few words would be grand, not a big, patronizing speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The weekly TV lecture.
    Buzz off and entertain the fckin country instead

Tubs is having the time of his life, never so much misery in the world