Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your older family members doing to keep occupied?

• 16-03-2020 8:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭

My mother's 73 but great for keeping up with the youngsters.

She has Twitter now and she's teaching herself computer and online communication skills (like attaching photos and the like :p).

She's downloading apps and got mass on the tablet yesterday. :)

My poor dad though - he's lost, especially without sport. And he only likes to read before he goes to sleep. Only Fools & Horses, Dad's Army and Last Of The Summer Wine (which even he is too young for) on a loop. And those movie channels with ancient films. Bit of crosswording. No different to an auld fella 30 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

That'd be me sister, I'm genuinely stoked with the prospect of so much time off work, I've so much to do here at home I'll probably end up retiring as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

My mum's dead, so that takes up pretty much all of her time. My dad's still going to work every day. I'm not sure what he'll do if he ends up having to stay at home with no sport on the television and no pub to read his paper in. I have subscriptions to a few online newspaper archives - I should probably give him the passwords to keep him out of trouble for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

They occupy themselves by giving out. My mother gives out every day. This woman lives in a big farmhouse, has two cars and no financial worries...and still everyday giving out. A dose of coronavirus would do her the world of good. She could.contract Ebola and she would still be giving out lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Rufeo wrote: »
    They occupy themselves by giving out. My mother gives out every day.

And don't the local lads know it!

One of my family has taken to dive-bombing rowdy picnickers

• Registered Users Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭pgj2015

https://www.artofmanliness.com/articles/hobbies-for-men/

would he be interested in any of the hobbies listed here?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Continuing on as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Victoria Sponges? Reader’s Digest. Fun stuff I’d imagine

• Registered Users Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Eating werther's original

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Porn............... and home drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

Agricola wrote: »
    Porn............... and home drinking.

Yeah but what are yoir older family members doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Ladybird18 wrote: »
    Yeah but what are yoir older family members doing?

Don't be ageist. Old folk like porn and mild alcoholism too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

Agricola wrote: »
    Don't be ageist. Old folk like porn and mild alcoholism too.

As a youngun I stand corrected :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Same as they always do. My experience is that elderly people’s movements are quite restricted anyway. They tend to have a routine which involves a trip to the shop but they spend most of the time tipping around the house which is the environment they’re most comfortable in.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Get them painting or working on the car, something that will benefit you.... It's like the kids they're as much use as a chocolate engine so I end up having to do the task meself

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I installed tinder on my mams phone, told her it’s an online game of “Guess Who”.

Have no idea how it’s going to work out, but reckon she’s safe enough due to the self isolation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In a nice sort of way I'm piggy in the middle.

My parents are well into their 70's and cocooning, my mother's work ethic would put anyone to shame so she's still tending to her gardens and home, my sister who lives beside her does her shopping.

Here's the piggy in the middle bit, I'm 54 and my son (who has his own home) is treating me like I'm old and insisting I don't go out and that I follow all the other guidelines for people cocooning. I'm a soldier and very active, and because the defence forces are totally focused on supporting the HSE, Dept of Health, NAS etc I've been in various nursing homes lately, which is causing my son more stress than any of my oversea's trips caused (I suspect).

I can only imagine my mother chomping at the bit and raring to go, I just wish she'd taken the time to learn how to send a text from her phone lol