Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Year No Beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Aren't they for chronic alcoholics where drinking on them makes you very ill? Don't think that's where OP is at to be fair!

There’s another one that’s being used these days. Pat Kenny had a psychiatrist on from St Pat’s who was talking about it. It’s some old drug that is normally used for heroin withdrawal but they noticed it significantly reduces alcohol cravings when combined with an antidepressant in at least some patients.

https://www.addictioncenter.com/alcohol/naltrexone-for-alcoholism-treatment/

That’s the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

I'm off the booze myself just over 6 months and don't see myself ever going back to be honest. The overall benefits far outweigh the buzz you get to stay going an extra few hours on a night out that I'd end up not remembering anyway.

To help at the beginning I definitely found a few books were godsends for me - This Naked Mind by Annie Grace is fantastic as is The Unexpected Joy of Being Sober by Catherine Gray. The first one basically helps your subconscious mind catch up with your conscious mind so you can view alcohol objectively and not be pulled in by the marketing / what we tell ourselves. The second book is also great as it's not preachy or anything it just helps you see the good things about not drinking.

This isn't my first time quitting but the last time I went back drinking thinking I had 'learned my lesson' and could just drink moderately from then on but of course that doesn't really last. I was never a massive drinker during the week or anything but I got such bad hangovers and "hangxiety" most weekends that it honestly wasn't worth it anymore and I've noticed such an enormous difference in my mental, physical, emotional and financial health that I would really be stupid to go back to it now.

Definitely fill your days at the start especially when you would be vulnerable to cracking, I threw myself into fitness when I discovered all this extra energy I had due to better sleep and better overall health and started scheduling early morning gym classes so I couldn't crack the night before!

The very best of luck with it, I think you said you weren't on social media but the One Year No Beer instagram is pretty good and there are a lot of other pages out there with interesting stories and advice on things like AF beers and cocktails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I'm 43 years of age. Have never in my life been on Facebook or Twitter. I'm not on here looking for attention and certainly not exlecting anyone to care. I thought it might be an idea to help me as it's the only forum i'm on and there's such a wide range of posters i felt there must be some who have been through or are going through something similiar. Even some of the last 21 days i felt like cracking so some of the posters and posts on here have given me a good boost to think positive, move forward and succeed. I wont be posting much more on it just an update every now and then. Cheers.

Don't mind the haters, there will always be one or two. Good luck on your journey, I'll be watching with interest as I'm considering a break from alcohol myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Drinking NA beers (I think they may have a tiny amount of alcohol) allows you to still go out and actually enjoy yourself in a bar without feeling self-conscious for not drinking. Once you do it a few times you realise that alcohol would not have added anything to those nights you went out drinking your NA beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I'm off the booze myself just over 6 months and don't see myself ever going back to be honest. The overall benefits far outweigh the buzz you get to stay going an extra few hours on a night out that I'd end up not remembering anyway.

To help at the beginning I definitely found a few books were godsends for me - This Naked Mind by Annie Grace is fantastic as is The Unexpected Joy of Being Sober by Catherine Gray. The first one basically helps your subconscious mind catch up with your conscious mind so you can view alcohol objectively and not be pulled in by the marketing / what we tell ourselves. The second book is also great as it's not preachy or anything it just helps you see the good things about not drinking.

This isn't my first time quitting but the last time I went back drinking thinking I had 'learned my lesson' and could just drink moderately from then on but of course that doesn't really last. I was never a massive drinker during the week or anything but I got such bad hangovers and "hangxiety" most weekends that it honestly wasn't worth it anymore and I've noticed such an enormous difference in my mental, physical, emotional and financial health that I would really be stupid to go back to it now.

Definitely fill your days at the start especially when you would be vulnerable to cracking, I threw myself into fitness when I discovered all this extra energy I had due to better sleep and better overall health and started scheduling early morning gym classes so I couldn't crack the night before!

The very best of luck with it, I think you said you weren't on social media but the One Year No Beer instagram is pretty good and there are a lot of other pages out there with interesting stories and advice on things like AF beers and cocktails.

No not on social media. Not im Instagram. I have browsed various alcohol/drug website forums which are good and spend quite a bit on Youtube where there is good stuff to keep me focused. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I'm 43 years of age. Have never in my life been on Facebook or Twitter. I'm not on here looking for attention and certainly not exlecting anyone to care. I thought it might be an idea to help me as it's the only forum i'm on and there's such a wide range of posters i felt there must be some who have been through or are going through something similiar. Even some of the last 21 days i felt like cracking so some of the posters and posts on here have given me a good boost to think positive, move forward and succeed. I wont be posting much more on it just an update every now and then. Cheers.

As always, there has to be a negative nelly.

I think your thread is a great boost to anyone trying to reduce their intake.

Positive mindset is the key.

Great thread and I have enjoyed everyone's feedback as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

rustynutz wrote: »
    Don't mind the haters, there will always be one or two. Good luck on your journey, I'll be watching with interest as I'm considering a break from alcohol myself

Cheers. I'll post again in a few months. Was thinking after 100 days. Dont want to be going on about too much. At this stage action speaks louder than words for me. Talk later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

20 days he said. Roughly 5%.

Have you been drinking, let me smell your breath!:D

It was a very heavy weekend :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

The 100 days thing is a great idea. I put a reminder in my phone for that so I could be sure to acknowledge it and look at how far I'd come.

One more thing that may help is an app called I am Sober - you put in your quit date and you can do things like read entries from people who are off it the same length of time as you, you can make pledges to look back over for motivation, you can see how much money and time you have saved or you can just simply use it as a clock to record how long you've been off drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Titclamp

You have never heard of anti booze or to use the medical name antabuse pills?!?.

Jesus.

Only alcoholics would here of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Titclamp

Alcohol Explained

Is a great book to help understand the effects of alcohol on the mind and body through science.

Better still its written by someone who's knocked it on the head. So knows the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Think about getting some counselling that tackles the reasons why you drink beyond normal amounts.

Fill up your life with other stuff. If you’re used to spending a lot of time drinking there will be a hole there. Fill it with new hobbies (or rediscovering old ones), spending more time with family and friends, travel etc so you don’t get bored and depressed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭Dorakman

Good job OP! Myself and herself decided to drastically cut our booze intake, and have given it up completely for lent.

It was difficult the first weekend, but after that, it’s been great. Not being hungover on Saturday and Sunday, means you can actually enjoy your weekend. We’ve also saved a huge amount of cash.

I think many Irish people have a very unhealthy relationship with alcohol, but sweep it under the rug as “craic”.

I quit drinking and drugs over a year ago. Feel no better for it. Don't expect things to change. Maybe they will, maybe they won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Yester

Best of luck OP. This sounds like a great idea. I'd like to do it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

One Year No Beer, Dry This and That. My Facebook is full of it. If you don't want to drink, more power to you. Just man up and do it. Nobody cares.

Good man. I’m sure you fancy yourself as a “tell it like it is” merchant but giving up alcohol can be very difficult for anyone with a problematic habit for drinking.

For anyone reading who’s trying to improve themselves: I care. Pay no heed to the naysayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I quit drinking and drugs over a year ago. Feel no better for it. Don't expect things to change. Maybe they will, maybe they won't.

That sounds like there are underlying issues for which drink and drugs acted to numb. With a clear head it may be easier to figure them out and make them better. One thing is for sure, creating ignorance to them with drink and drugs is not healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,149 ✭✭✭This is it

More power to ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭cr-07

Out of curiosity, when people are saying they are giving / gave up alcohol, do they mean completely cold turkey, not a drop to be had? Or is it more along the lines of not going binge drinking every weekend, but having a glass of wine over dinner with the missus is fine? Reason asking is I am thinking of it myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I have finally decided to kick this poison for a full year. I think/know it will be difficult at times but am determined to succeed. I've burned the candle at both ends for what seems an eternity so a years detox to fully recharge the batteries is badly needed. Anyone else do something similiar and if so are there any tricks of the trade/ideas to succeed? Thanks.

Best of luck, you seem like a decent skin chalk.

I do January to paddy's day. Really helps through the fcuking miserable weather and dark nights.

Keep at it, i would, only i go on 5 holidays a year.lolsssssssssssssssss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

I'm guessing you've more disposable income now, that's a change.

Thínk positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

cr-07 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, when people are saying they are giving / gave up alcohol, do they mean completely cold turkey, not a drop to be had? Or is it more along the lines of not going binge drinking every weekend, but having a glass of wine over dinner with the missus is fine? Reason asking is I am thinking of it myself.

No idea about others but I went completely cold turkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

cr-07 wrote: »
    its total cold turkey no drink whats so ever.

those of us who feel the need to give up the sauce for pronged periods of time tend to be the kind of people who are not really capable of the one glass of red over dinner, its the bottle (or 2 bottles) or nothing.

i have given up for a month or two a few times in the last 3 or 4 years after 25 years of constant drinking.
    the periods off it are getting longer and more frequent and when i go back drinking its less and less every time, to the point i dont know why i even bother anymore.

heavy drinking is a mugs game and as the body ages its not really sustainable anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MrKingsley

Best of luck with it OP.

I decided that I am going to seriously cut down for the year as well. I've written down 5/6 events that I am going to drink at over the year and thats it. (Weddings, stags, holidays etc.). Two months in and I've drank on two weekends and feel great for it.

I work in a bar so the temptation is always there but it's actually very empowering to just say no to a pint after work each night. Still go to pubs with friends but just stick to non-alcoholic/soft drinks.

One thing that I have found very useful is this...

I wrote a letter to myself in mid January after 2 weeks of no booze. It basically is a reminder to myself that I prefer my life when booze isnt in it. I'm healthier, more relaxed and most definitely happier.

Best of luck with it again OP and look forward to hearing about your progress.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I'll add, it takes two weeks before you are jumping out of bed looking forward to the day ahead. Your mood improves dramatically. You invite coronavirus for a scrap.

You also know who the drinkers are every Monday in work, just by their complexion.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    I'm guessing you've more disposable income now, that's a change.

Thínk positive

Incorrect, been scrimping and saving just the same. Bit worse if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I remember reading an old Mike Hammer novel where his ex gf was kidnapped.

Mike made a promise to himself that he was off the booze and staying sober until he solved the case and got her back. The first thing he did was go to the deli to grab some lunch and also a six pack of pbr beer to have with it.

He didn't consider beer to be real booze like whiskey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

Best of luck OP and hope it goes well. Keep us updated on how you are doing along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Pistachio19

I joined the One Year No Beer Facebook group over 3 years ago and haven't touched a drop since. It was free then though. I found the support great as everyone was trying to stay off it but if someone did take a drink they were simply encouraged to start again - no judgements. I challenged myself to do it for a year and am glad to have stayed off it. Best of luck. I find it quite liberating not to even think about drinking and hangovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Cab the OP get a "no drinking" buddy. Usually if you have a second person supporting you it can help you stay focused.