Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Celtic fan subjected to online abuse

• 20-02-2020 3:38pm
    Site Banned Posts: 4

I thought this was disgraceful.

A young Celtic fan, Chloe Reilly from Glasgow, posted a picture of herself going to the match in Copenhagen:

https://twitter.com/ChloeReilly21/status/1229818651546701824

The abuse that she received was shocking, people were commenting on her clothes, runners etc and calling her all sorts of names and making ridiculous statements.

I find this reprehensible. I don’t understand what possesses people to act like that, she is simply a young lady going to enjoy a football match and is very supportive of her club. The abuse was not warranted and I’m quite angered by the attitudes of some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Why is she getting this abuse, exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Sad bastrads with access to the internet never fail to shock/surprise me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

jcullen222 wrote: »
    Good question. Read some of the comments on her tweet, awful stuff.

Can’t you just tell us? I refuse to use Twitter, it’s a hotbed of idiocy.

Good question. Read some of the comments on her tweet, awful stuff.

Most of them are complimentary, except a minority cohort of pot stirrers. I can't fathom why people keep twitter accounts, at least those which aren't private. When you enter the arena...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 231 ✭✭Martin Lanigan

The runners are cool and the nail polish is a nice touch.

Supporting Celtic (or Rangers) wouldn’t be my cup of tea but the abuse is unwarranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I clicked on the link, and can't see any of the abuse, just loads of people talking about the abuse and bullies..
    So even if you did use it, still doesn't make anything any clearer.
    Sounds like it was rangers fans giving her abuse for being a celtic fan, but idk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Of course the abuse is unwarranted but if you have a public account and it's Celtic then you're lining yourself up for abuse from Rangers fans. Happened in reverse with a picture of a young Rangers after the match last weekend was postponed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Some grown man actually replied saying that she’s a “swamp monster”
    Always amusing when someone is sad enough to do that. Likely fancy the pants off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Gonna win big on the euro millions, buy an island with no social media or smart phones. Just like the add, but better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Some of the knobs who are abusing her are being called out, a father with two daughters was one, another was someone who tweets about mental health.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Some of the knobs who are abusing her are being called out, a father with two daughters was one, another was someone who tweets about mental health.
    Always the way. Comedy gold.

I'd bet numerous people who give Greta Thunberg abuse on social media have teenage children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Woke Hogan wrote: »

It took me a while to get into it, but it's great for following topics you're interested in and interacting with people involved. I love it now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

mordeith wrote: »
    Of course the abuse is unwarranted but if you have a public account and it's Celtic then you're lining yourself up for abuse from Rangers fans. Happened in reverse with a picture of a young Rangers after the match last weekend was postponed.

There shouldn't be a "but" anywhere in this. Abuse is wrong from either end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Republicans and Unionists in Scotland are probably as bad as those in the North for their love, of hating each other.

More or less nailed on she would bring out the trolls being a Republican supporting Celtic fan, same as a young Unionist Rangers fan probably would. They can't help themselves and are like something out of the dark ages. Hibs and Hearts run the old firm a close second.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Republicans and Unionists in Scotland are probably as bad as those in the North for their love, of hating each other.

More or less nailed on she would bring out the trolls being a Republican supporting Celtic fan, same as a young Unionist Rangers fan probably would. They can't help themselves and are like something out of the dark ages. Hibs and Hearts run the old firm a close second.
    Some vile republican scumbags for sure, but loyalists are the worst of the lot. Even Kevin Myers acknowledges that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Disgraceful behavior. Some vile people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Stateofyou wrote: »
    There shouldn't be a "but" anywhere in this. Abuse is wrong from either end.

I always try use the word however instead of but

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Feisar wrote: »
    I always try use the word however instead of but

I think Louis CK sums it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

A young Celtic fan, Chloe Reilly from Glasgow, posted a picture of herself going to the match in Copenhagen:

The abuse that she received was shocking, people were commenting on her clothes, runners etc and calling her all sorts of names and making ridiculous statements.

I find this reprehensible. I don’t understand what possesses people to act like that, she is simply a young lady going to enjoy a football match and is very supportive of her club. The abuse was not warranted and I’m quite angered by the attitudes of some people.

Just a bunch of raging current buns. Probably because the young lady is older than their rancid, bigoted, cesspit of a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Not one of those accounts has a valid photo. All hiding behind anonymity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,168 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

The Internet world isn't as complicated as people think. If you don't want unwanted attention/abuse don't go near the Internet. And before people say to me "it's my right to put pics online" then I agree with you but you will get it both positive and negative you just have to be prepared for all of it. Posting stuff on the Internet complaining about stuff being on the Internet is strange to me in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Often think how much better the internet would or could be if there was no anonymity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Some vile republican scumbags for sure, but loyalists are the worst of the lot. Even Kevin Myers acknowledges that.

The Scots can indeed do hate like few others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

mordeith wrote: »
    Happened in reverse with a picture of a young Rangers fan after the match last weekend was postponed.

Yep, and there was no big deal made of that...but when it happens to Celtic you'll never hear the end of it...they love playing the victomhood card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

frosty123 wrote: »
    Yep, and there was no big deal made of that...but when it happens to Celtic you'll never hear the end of it...they love playing the victomhood card
    Not really sure anyone is playing the 'victomhood card' here.
    Like it or not, a young girl was seemingly abused online by a lot of people (enough to have it not go unnoticed), including adults.
    What you are implying is happening, may be, but is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Nobody should bother with this "social" media bollocks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

People should be ashamed of themselves.

yes they should

fryup wrote: »
    Oh yay the great tactic of whataboutery.

Any view on what this thread is actually about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Oh yay the great tactic of whataboutery.

Any view on what this thread is actually about?

online abuse... happens throughout the world 24/7 doesn't make it right...so what makes this case noteworthy? because she's a celtic fan?

i ask you....if this happened to a young rangers or hearts supporter would anyone over here give a sh!t? no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Fenians these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭feelthepower

Her own fault in a sense really posting that to a public profile twitter, especially with the Rangers and Celtic rivalry. I'm not excusing the trolls whatsoever. There is nothing wrong with the picture whatsoever i might add.

If your going to be on social media posting things make sure your account is set to private etc. if you don't want to receive any hate.

Why you want to show complete random pictures of yourself I'll never understand.

I do really hope a law comes in some day that all social media has to be set to private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

No interest. If Nakamura’s bending in freekicks against Barcelona under the irish flag; then cool but nope....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Best way to avoid online abuse? Don't post online.

Im not even going to charge for that advice.

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Best way to avoid online abuse? Don't post online.

Im not even going to charge for that advice.

Or set to private so only friends can follow you. People bring it on themselves posting stuff for the whole world to see.

Recieving a ton of abuse and still has her twitter profile set to public.

I'm sure now she's hoping for 10,000 followers.

Mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I hope she enjoyed the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

What do Rangers fans have to do with Ireland? Nothing.

This young lady is a Glasgow Irish Celtic fan and was abused for being such. This is an Irish forum. Go figure.

Plenty of Irish Rangers fans.

Is this girl Irish ?
    I only ask as there isnt a club called Glasgow Irish Celtic

I wouldn’t say that.

Why not set her profile to private after the abuse started?

Or have it private from the get go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,433 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

razorblunt wrote: »
    Not one of those accounts has a valid photo. All hiding behind anonymity.

lets get the twitter mob going, surely we can link these accounts to real identities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Some grown man actually replied saying that she’s a “swamp monster”.
    WTF is wrong with people?

She’s a young girl, she’s beautiful and she’s excited so why try ruin it? They are showing themselves out to be ignoramuses.

Nasty behaviour indeed. Although, hopefully, she has learned a valuable lesson about how to use the internet safely. Pics like that are for family & friends.

fryup wrote: »
    online abuse... happens throughout the world 24/7 doesn't make it right...so what makes this case noteworthy? because she's a celtic fan?

i ask you....if this happened to a young rangers or hearts supporter would anyone over here give a sh!t? no
    Start a thread about your beloved Rangers and Hearts fans so.

And actually I would give a sh1t if any young football fan got online abuse from grown morons.

yabadabado wrote: »
    Plenty of Irish Rangers fans.

Is this girl Irish ?
    I only ask as there isnt a club called Glasgow Irish Celtic

I’m Irish and a Rangers fan, have never been interested in the past antics of both clubs nor am I interested in religion. Football that matters here. I condemn all abuse from anyone to anyone else who is just going about their business and supporting their team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

NIMAN wrote: »
    Often think how much better the internet would or could be if there was no anonymity.

Think how much better life would be in general if it was possible to euthanize every hateful fûckwit with such a toxic mind and toxic heart with the capacity to hatefully and publicly abuse a young girl who did no more than post a happy pic of herself on the way to a sporting event.... Jesus,

How is posting a picture of yourself at the airport dressed up to go to a match in a foreign country a bad thing? People should’ve just left her alone, compliment the picture or say nothing at all.

I never said it was a bad thing. What are you harping on about?

I simply stated a fact.

A Twitter account is not a life right.

"compliment the picture or say nothing at all"
    - "Only invest if you are guaranteed a positive return"
    ... I should be charging for this advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,076 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Didn't bother reading the comments in the tweet. It is sadly not surprising as both Celtic and Rangers whole basis for being is sectarianism and rehashing of centuries old sentiment. It attracts a certain low life element as most are from a working class background. Add in religion and divisiveness and it is like pouring petrol on a bonfire.

Put it this way it is less likely to happen to a rugby union fan.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

NIMAN wrote: »

the internet was better before they started letting everyone use it

The irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

People are going to learn the hard way that you should keep your private life private.

Nobody gives a fook about your new shoes, or your dinner, or some panoramic scene where your mush covers 80% of it. Nobody positively cares in Pakistan, nobody positively cares in Liverpool, nobody positively cares in the Vatican, nobody positively cares anywhere

On the flipside, you are, quite literally, advertising yourself for abuse from anyone, anywhere on planet earth who will 100% get away with it.

JohnCleary wrote: »
    The irony

what irony? back in the days before 'social media' when it was all just lads with too much time on their hands chatting shít on message boards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

All those trolls probably believe they have a big stick plonked down in the middle of their trousers making them give the idea that they are invincible. But, in actual fact, they're a complete pack of ignorant losers. If people ignored the online trolls. The world would be a much better place for society.