Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

road rage

• 20-02-2020 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

My daughter pulled out from her house which is on a corner , nothing coming in either direction,as she got out on the road this guy drove right up the back of her with his hand on the horn he had to be speeding and just noticed her as he came around the corner, he then proceeded to drive past her and pulled in front of her at an angle so she could not pass him, he got out and hurled abuse at her as he walked to her car, as another car arrived on the scene and he backed off, she was very startled by his actions and went to the garda station to report him , guess who was already there,the guards have told her she can prosecute him for his actions but he can also prosecute her for dangerous driving ? what a great country we live in.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

decky1 wrote: »
    My daughter pulled out from her house which is on a corner , nothing coming in either direction,as she got out on the road this guy drove right up the back of her with his hand on the horn he had to be speeding and just noticed her as he came around the corner, he then proceeded to drive past her and pulled in front of her at an angle so she could not pass him, he got out and hurled abuse at her as he walked to her car, as another car arrived on the scene and he backed off, she was very startled by his actions and went to the garda station to report him , guess who was already there,the guards have told her she can prosecute him for his actions but he can also prosecute her for dangerous driving ? what a great country we live in.:confused:

Have you ever driven in any other country. Its 10 times worse. There's **** everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Asking in AH is just not going to give the correct answers, however you are going to be given quality solutions such as burn various things to the ground and so on .

Wait a minute , the Gardai have said she can prosecute him and vice versa.
    If that's the case I'm going to be prosecuting my team leader for crimes against humanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Thats what she said, do you have proof ?

What kind of a tool goes to the guards to say: 'someone pulled out in front of me and I had to hit the brakes'. He's obviously a bit of a nut job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

There's no visible proof she was driving dangerously but there's probably more evidence he was abusive towards her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

What has an angry motorist got to do with the state of the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

the guards have told her she can prosecute him for his actions but he can also prosecute her for dangerous driving ? what a great country we live in.:confused:

I'll translate that to you

"feck off, we're too busy eating donuts. Don't annoy or we'll give you grief"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I had something similar happen to me about 5 years ago. I was in the wrong in fairness (i won't get in to it) anyway, he gets out throwing shapes, all of 5 foot 5, i get out, he sees there is a bit of a size differance and then just says "Just be a bit more careful next time" I can gaurentee if i was a lady he wouldn't have acted the same the ****ebag

sugarman wrote: »
    Because he reported dangerous driving? :confused: A lot of people do. Maybe he had dashcam footage.

Careless driving at worst. I'd say the guards probably know him very well if he drops into them every time he feels hard done by on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

"Nothing wass coming" and yet somehow he saw around the corner knew she pulled out and sped up behind her just to tell her off. She is telling porkies. She wasn't concentrating and pulled out in front of him. Lucky lucky girl. Another type of person would have slammed into her and claimed massive insurance. That said he is being an asshole and clearly has anger management issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Careless driving at worst. I'd say the guards probably know him very well if he drops into them every time he feels hard done by on the road.

The amount of assumptions in that post is impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Buy a dashcam.

The amount of assumptions in that post is impressive.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Because he reported dangerous driving? :confused: A lot of people do. Maybe he had dashcam footage.
    The only reason why he reported her for dangerous driving is because he knew he flucked up by stopping in front of her, and then abusing her with witnesses present. It is he who should be prosecuted for dangerous driving and possibly threatening behaviour.

There's going to be a car crash in this thread soon, I can sense it :)

nthclare wrote: »
    There's going to be a car crash in this thread soon, I can sense it :)

Like 99% of the threads

If i started a thread saying "Lovely day out there"

By page 3 we'd be on to something along the lines of "Well Sinn Fein can't do any worse than the other lot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Should have just run the cnut over.

Some sound advice there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

silver2020 wrote: »
    I'll translate that to you

"feck off, we're too busy eating donuts. Don't annoy or we'll give you grief"

Doughnuts are for American cops. Our Gardaí scoff Supermacs and guzzle down free filling station coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

It's the same thing surely.

Like 99% of the threads

If i started a thread saying "Lovely day out there"

By page 3 we'd be on to something along the lines of "Well Sinn Fein can't do any worse than the other lot"

Or someone saying the left are right and the right are left.
    Then the social justice warriors and incels come in screaming...

YOU'RE A WHITE MALE

Decky the OP should have decked him

nthclare wrote: »
    Or someone saying the left are right and the right are left.
    Then the social justice warriors and incels come in screaming...

YOU'RE A WHITE MALE

Look at the Flack thread! Two loons posting page after page the same thing worded slightly different. And i'm talking at least 40 pages

If you think that's bad go on some of the Atheism and Agnosticism old threads they're a scrip in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Did she blast him with piss?

Road Rage is not nice but sometimes we all get it. And its usually something that builds for me. The other day I was driving to work and in the space of a 5 minutes I had several incidents that combined made me mad.

1) Approaching a roundabout, slowed down and flashed to let a pedestrian with a pram cross the road. Car behind beeped me for slowing down.

2) Approaching next roundabout, stop to give way to the traffic on my right coming across the roundabout. But both cars don't actually come across the roundabout. They both turn left without indicating.

3) Approaching a set of lights that is red with one car stopped at the lights. Light goes green. Car at the lights starts moving slowly. I come up behind him. He slows even more which is confusing for me. I have to stop now. I realize that he is actually waiting to turn right but not indicating. I went around on the left and beeped him as I'd had enough. He beeped back even harder, obviously unaware of why I had beeped.

Road Rage does happen. But running to the garda is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

touts wrote: »
    "Nothing wass coming" and yet somehow he saw around the corner knew she pulled out and sped up behind her just to tell her off. She is telling porkies. She wasn't concentrating and pulled out in front of him. Lucky lucky girl. Another type of person would have slammed into her and claimed massive insurance. That said he is being an asshole and clearly has anger management issues

Hilarious! :) She'd be the one claiming damages if he ran into her.

Theres a corner near me where you can't see whats coming so you just have to assume that any oncoming car is not speeding and is slowing down in case theres anything stopped.

Every now and again I'll pull out and get beeped or flashed by some tool who is clearly speeding and/or not paying attention. Theres nothing anything else cars pulling out can do other than getting out and walking around the corner to see if the coast is clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

My daughter pulled out from her house which is on a corner , nothing coming in either direction

She can see around corners?

Is it a housing estate, a rat run shortcut, country lane, does it have speed bumps?

Sounds like neither party were entirely innocent, but you get angry losers in cars looking to vent their own problems out on someone else.

However the usual 200X Audi/Bmw losers wouldn't be voluntarily going into a Garda station after it.... that makes the story a little strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

My daughter pulled out from her house
    Did she reverse out?

Road Rage is not nice but sometimes we all get it. And its usually something that builds for me. The other day I was driving to work and in the space of a 5 minutes I had several incidents that combined made me mad.

1) Approaching a roundabout, slowed down and flashed to let a pedestrian with a pram cross the road. Car behind beeped me for slowing down.

2) Approaching next roundabout, stop to give way to the traffic on my right coming across the roundabout. But both cars don't actually come across the roundabout. They both turn left without indicating.

3) Approaching a set of lights that is red with one car stopped at the lights. Light goes green. Car at the lights starts moving slowly. I come up behind him. He slows even more which is confusing for me. I have to stop now. I realize that he is actually waiting to turn right but not indicating. I went around on the left and beeped him as I'd had enough. He beeped back even harder, obviously unaware of why I had beeped.

Road Rage does happen. But running to the garda is silly.

2 & 3 you were correct but can't agree with you on number 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Best thing with these fellas when they start spouting abuse is just to tell them "ah, save it for your wife!!" . That lets them know that you simply couldn't care less what they think and that their vitriol is falling on deaf ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Doughnuts are for American cops. Our Gardaí scoff Supermacs and guzzle down free filling station coffee.

I had to endure a conversation one night in a Supermac’s between two members of the constabulary. Guard A (male) was trying to persuade Guard B (female) to join him in having a 99 (to be clear to the slavering maniacs of AH this is an ice cream cone). On and on it raged. Think Fr Ted and the housekeeper and the cup of tea. Excruciating. The whole chipper exhaled with relief when she agreed to have a 99. The horror The horror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Paddigol

2 & 3 you were correct but can't agree with you on number 1

Why, out of interest? Genuine question.

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Guard A (male) was trying to persuade Guard B (female) to join him in having a 99 (to be clear to the slavering maniacs of AH this is an ice cream cone).

They must've been working on a cold case.

Paddigol wrote: »

Maybe there was nothing behind the 2nd car so the pedestrian would've had plenty of opportunity to cross after them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

pretty sure his verbal attack is classed as an assault

Two reasons

You should keep the traffic flowing. Plenty of near events at roundabouts where if you are coming to up to a roundabout your first instinct is to look left/right to see what the flow/traffic is like. You are assuming car ahead is doing likewise

Also, the number of times i see this happening, car slows to let someone cross and they get away, i'm next up and left queuing to get out

It's the little things

Two reasons

You should keep the traffic flowing. Plenty of near events at roundabouts where if you are coming to up to a roundabout your first instinct is to look left/right to see what the flow/traffic is like. You are assuming car ahead is doing likewise

Also, the number of times i see this happening, car slows to let someone cross and they get away, i'm next up and left queuing to get out

It's the little things

The pebble in the shoe as they say :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Cordell

But running to the garda is silly.

When the other driver blocks you and then steps down to you then it's anything but silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

D3V!L wrote: »
    Thats what she said, do you have proof ?

How would she have proof there was nothing coming at that point in time :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 rosemary1992

Hope your daughter is ok, what a horrible thing for that man to do regardless of what happened. It's obvious he's a nutcase if that's how he acted at the scene and then to add to it went to the Gardai afterwards. I say the Gardai said the same thing to both so that neither would do anything, hence less work for them! There is no evidence from either party to back it up, so I wouldn't worry. Hope your daughter is ok, a frightening thing to happen to get abuse like that.

DaDumTish wrote: »
    pretty sure his verbal attack is classed as an assault

Even if we had a zero tolerance justice system, which we certainly do not, it would never be classed as assault.

Two reasons

It's the little things

Fair enough. Dilly-dallyers can be annoying. But it would never occur to me to blast someone out of it for showing a bit of courtesy to another person. Especially if they're a pedestrian. As you say, it's the little things, and sometimes its nice to be nice.

Way too much pent up aggression behind the wheels and sense of entitlement as soon as people get behind the wheel. They'd never say a thing if it was in another situation - walking down a busy street, queuing in a shop etc. But put them in a car...

Not directed at you in any way - just a general observation of driving every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

You are assuming car ahead is doing likewise

And there is the reason for so many rear endings.

mordeith wrote: »
    And there is the reason for so many rear endings.

I know. I'm not saying either driver not to blame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

did neither of them have any consideration fo rthe cyclists while fluting about in their caged deathtraps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

No, because he deliberately blocked the woman's car and got out roaring and balling in an attempt to intimidate her. If he had dash cam footage he could have just gone to the cop shop to vent his spleen rather than terrorise some young wan who might or might not have made an innocent mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Fair enough. Dilly-dallyers can be annoying. But it would never occur to me to blast someone out of it for showing a bit of courtesy to another person. Especially if they're a pedestrian. As you say, it's the little things, and sometimes its nice to be nice.

Way too much pent up aggression behind the wheels and sense of entitlement as soon as people get behind the wheel. They'd never say a thing if it was in another situation - walking down a busy street, queuing in a shop etc. But put them in a car...

Not directed at you in any way - just a general observation of driving every day.

the thing is that that person could be worn down by other drivers just like you
    maybe they are in a hurry and constantly getting held up by drivers in front stopping for no legitimate reason other than they felt like letting someone cross .

it depents on how it happened. if the pedestrian is starting to walk and you slow and stop so as to let them continue then thats not too bad. but if they are standing there and you stop to let them start crossing then you are very wrong if you are holding up traffic.

Back in the 90's I remember the driving instructor saying its good to have courtesy and be helpful on the road.

One person's courtesy is another mans rage.

the thing is that that person could be worn down by other drivers just like you
    maybe they are in a hurry and constantly getting held up by drivers in front stopping for no legitimate reason other than they felt like letting someone cross .

it depents on how it happened. if the pedestrian is starting to walk and you slow and stop so as to let them continue then thats not too bad. but if they are standing there and you stop to let them start crossing then you are very wrong if you are holding up traffic.

Meh, I can see your point in some ways. The person slowing to let a pedestrian cross is inconsiderate of the drivers behind him. But then, given that no rules/ laws are being broken, I think the person who decides to blast him out of it is the bigger ****.

It goes back to my point about people not taking that approach in person. Just acting the **** behind the wheel. You never know what sort of day the person in front of you has had. Maybe they're on the edge. Maybe they've had a really really s**t day. Maybe life is just kicking them in the balls lately. Maybe they've had bad news. Someone's life is falling apart - maybe a family member/ partner/ child. But its really important that you* blast that horn to let them know that you don't approve of their driving. Because you're life is so much more important. And you really REALLY need those extra few seconds to get where you're going.

* the 'royal' you - just for purpose of discussion, not directed at you personally!