Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europe cheap places?

• 19-02-2020 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭

Where is the cheapest city to fly to / spend a few weeks flying out from Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Cork?

In all seriousness, go to skyscanner/Google flights and select Europe as your destination. Will give you options and prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Where is the cheapest city to fly to / spend a few weeks flying out from Dublin?

London - €20 to €50 return on Ryanair...

If you fancy something a bit further then Cologne is usually €30 - €70 return

Milan - Bergamo €50 to €100 return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭dennyk

What's your actual budget and what sort of lodging would you be using (hostel, hotel, AirBnB/holiday home)? Don't just look at flight prices, either; sure, tickets to London might be €100-€200 less than, say, Budapest, Bucharest, Vilnius, Riga, Sofia, or Krakow, but spending "a few weeks" in the former is going to cost you significantly more than any of the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

If you're looking for somewhere with a low cost of living since your mention spending a few weeks there, avoid capital cities.

What sort of trip are you looking for? If it's for a general relax then maybe eastern Spain? It's off season and accommodation should be cheap, food and drink prices are reasonable too. If you wanted to see some sights, you can get a train to Barcelona without the cost of actually staying there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,101 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Lisbon is quite cheap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭0xzmro3n4y7lb5

€20 return to Gothenburg in Sweden. It’s a beautiful place and trains are cheap in Sweden you could do a day trip to Copenhagen over the famous bridge or take a day trip to Oslo.

Sweden is beautiful and the cost of items in the supermarket is very good and food gorgeous.

http://www.goteborg.com/en/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

€20 return to Gothenburg in Sweden. It’s a beautiful place and trains are cheap in Sweden you could do a day trip to Copenhagen over the famous bridge or take a day trip to Oslo.

Sweden is beautiful and the cost of items in the supermarket is very good and food gorgeous.

http://www.goteborg.com/en/

I've found both Gothenburg and Copenhagen to be 2 of the most expensive places I've visited. Both are gorgeous (and the theme park in Gotherburg is great fun), but accommodation & food is very very pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Also looking for tips.

Looking to go on a romantic city break for 3/4 nights in march with my boyfriend. We're a young couple. Would love somewhere somewhat luxurious but still somewhat on a budget if ya get me??

Have already been to Copenhagen, Amsterdam

Would like to go to :

Rome
    Amsterdam
    Paris
    Krakow
    Budapest

Any of those!

Or If anyone has good tips for a city you can get really cheap deals?

Budget €300/450 total for flights and accom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Use the Fare Finder on Ryanair's site, to see what's available on the dates you want to travel. Love Holiday's is another site to try, just put in the dates you can fly on, and search low to high price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭0xzmro3n4y7lb5

I've found both Gothenburg and Copenhagen to be 2 of the most expensive places I've visited. Both are gorgeous (and the theme park in Gotherburg is great fun), but accommodation & food is very very pricey.

Maybe because we had come from Copenhagen, there were no direct flights then it seemed cheap in comparison. I know we got a deal on a hotel too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

Also looking for tips.

Looking to go on a romantic city break for 3/4 nights in march with my boyfriend. We're a young couple. Would love somewhere somewhat luxurious but still somewhat on a budget if ya get me??

Would like to go to :

Rome
    Amsterdam
    Paris
    Krakow
    Budapest

Any of those!

I was in rome last year in February and it was amazing, I wouldnt imagine March would be too different, Ciampino is grand for access (train, bus, taxi)

if you can manage to go midweek it will work out cheaper, booking.com do have good deals on accomodation but i always find direct with the hotel to be the best

we stayed in Piazza Del Gesu Luxury Suites, good lcation and handy for touristy stuff like the pantheon and the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, some of the little tratorias and back street restraunts do beautiful food

The metro is handy for getting to the Vatican and the Collouseum

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Kyiv

Direct Ryanair flights from Dublin

Dinner, dessert and pint in a restaurant on the central square for under a tenner

Churches free to enter and are spectacular (especially on a Sunday). Metro is 10p a ride and the stations themselves are tourist attractions of sorts. Looking at the amazing city architecture is free. Museum of miniatures is mind-melting and entry is about 1.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Also looking for tips.

Would like to go to :

Rome
    Amsterdam
    Paris
    Krakow
    Budapest

Any of those!

Krakow and Budapest are the best two for value for your buck and two great places to see and explore.

You'll get very cheap flights to both places too if you book in advance, if I could only choose one to go back to it would be Krakow.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭raheny red

Lisbon, best bang for your buck. You'll get the weather too.

cdeb wrote: »
    Kyiv, Direct Ryanair flights from Dublin

Going there soon, can't wait...!

Currently the base fare with Ryanair is €71, so add priority/bags probably close to €100 return on the 15th to 19th.

I was in rome last year in February and it was amazing, I wouldnt imagine March would be too different, Ciampino is grand for access (train, bus, taxi)

if you can manage to go midweek it will work out cheaper, booking.com do have good deals on accomodation but i always find direct with the hotel to be the best

we stayed in Piazza Del Gesu Luxury Suites, good lcation and handy for touristy stuff like the pantheon and the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, some of the little tratorias and back street restraunts do beautiful food

The metro is handy for getting to the Vatican and the Collouseum

Rome is definitely top of the list for us and yeah we can go midweek! I was looking at loads of hotels in Rome there's so many!

I might look up that luxury suite one you said, for some reason we have in our head that we want a room with a hot tub :V

So trying to find that but kind of on a budget..

Thank you!

raheny red wrote: »
    Lisbon, best bang for your buck. You'll get the weather too.

Weather would be pretty good in Lisbon, flights are expensive in March, around the €200 return.

Rome is definitely top of the list

room with a hot tub :V

Rome flights around €79 base price 2nd week of March..

If you want a jacuzzi in the room then expect to pay for it €€€€

Some of them have a Spa and wellness centre in the hotel
    Trilussa Palace Hotel - Trastevere
    around the €350 - 400 mark

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Rome flights around €79 base price 2nd week of March..

If you want a jacuzzi in the room then expect to pay for it €€€€

Some of them have a Spa and wellness centre in the hotel
    Trilussa Palace Hotel - Trastevere
    around the €350 - 400 mark

I have requested a quote from the place you stayed at, looks great.

Some small boutique hotels seem to have rooms with jacuzzi for a bit cheaper than a big proper junior suite.. ill keep hunting..

also open to Krakow/Kyiv or anywhere that's cheap for staying/eating/drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Some small boutique hotels seem to have rooms with jacuzzi for a bit cheaper than a big proper junior suite.. ill keep hunting..

Check what the jacuzzi actually is - it could be a jacuzzi bath, and that's not the kind of romantic bubbles experience you're looking for! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭raheny red

Weather would be pretty good in Lisbon, flights are expensive in March, around the €200 return.

Ugh, didn't check the flights, scrap that so. One to bear in mind in the future anyway.

raheny red wrote: »
    Ugh, didn't check the flights, scrap that so. One to bear in mind in the future anyway.

I'm going to Lisbon in April. 120euro return with tap airlines.

also open to Krakow/Kyiv or anywhere that's cheap for staying/eating/drinking!

Krakow is amazing, like a mini version of Prague, beers around €2 a pint, food half the price of Dublin...
    It's v popular, so expect to pay €170 base price return in March on Ryanair.

Aparthotel Dunajewski
    €155 for 3 nights
    and: Aparthotel Dunajewski features a hot tub.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Anywhere in Eastern Europe is fairly cheap by irish standards. Poland, Romania, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia and the Ukraine are great to visit and cheap as chips.

Krakow is amazing, like a mini version of Prague, beers around €2 a pint, food half the price of Dublin...
    It's v popular, so expect to pay €170 base price return in March on Ryanair.

Aparthotel Dunajewski
    €155 for 3 nights
    and: Aparthotel Dunajewski features a hot tub.

Sounds great, yeah I think we would like krakow! Thanks for your suggestions ill be busy for the day now on booking.com Airbnb and the likes!

It's a super place to visit, so much to do and see, easy to get around by walking, trams, taxi apps and organised tours.
    A week would be perfect to see it all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭mlem123

Honestly, nearly anywhere is cheap in Europe if you do a bit of research!

>Stay in hostels - most have kitchens where you can make your own food if you want to save beer money (also if on Hostelworld, I usually go for hostels with 8.0 score or above and I'll see if I can find one with Breakfast included, but not a necessity)
    >Predrink - You should be familiar with this one, but buying alcohol in supermarkets can save you €€€ (or if in Oslo, at the airport in duty free)
    >Transport - Europe is great for metros etc so avoid taxis (especially at the airport). Walking is free and I like strolling through lovely streets and finding cool shops and cafés.
    >Tours - If you see a daytrip you like, look it up and see if it would be cheaper to DIY (it was for us in Milan when we went to Lake Como, most tours are about €90 but easy to DIY with trains and boats)
    >Pubcrawls - Often attached to hostel life! Great way to meet people while also getting drunk for little money. Also great craic

**NB - BRING YOUR STUDENT CARD!! Many places in Europe have great cheap or free access when you're an EU citizen, under 25, and with a student card! Ex. National Gallery in Madrid was €14 entry but with proof of age and student card it was free! Also if you're an archaeology student you can get free into the Forum and Colosseum (my arts degree served me well)

Editing to add- I stayed in a great hostel in Krakow years ago and we paid about €7 a night including breakfast and when my friend was sick (food poisoning) they went above and beyond for her! I'll see if I can find the name but they're a great budget option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

A short break to Nantes, La Rochelle or Bordeaux....staying in an IBIS might do the trick....

mlem123 wrote: »
    Honestly, nearly anywhere is cheap in Europe if you do a bit of research!

>Stay in hostels - most have kitchens where you can make your own food if you want to save beer money (also if on Hostelworld, I usually go for hostels with 8.0 score or above and I'll see if I can find one with Breakfast included, but not a necessity)
    >Predrink - You should be familiar with this one, but buying alcohol in supermarkets can save you €€€ (or if in Oslo, at the airport in duty free)
    >Transport - Europe is great for metros etc so avoid taxis (especially at the airport). Walking is free and I like strolling through lovely streets and finding cool shops and cafés.
    >Tours - If you see a daytrip you like, look it up and see if it would be cheaper to DIY (it was for us in Milan when we went to Lake Como, most tours are about €90 but easy to DIY with trains and boats)
    >Pubcrawls - Often attached to hostel life! Great way to meet people while also getting drunk for little money. Also great craic

**NB - BRING YOUR STUDENT CARD!! Many places in Europe have great cheap or free access when you're an EU citizen, under 25, and with a student card! Ex. National Gallery in Madrid was €14 entry but with proof of age and student card it was free! Also if you're an archaeology student you can get free into the Forum and Colosseum (my arts degree served me well)

Editing to add- I stayed in a great hostel in Krakow years ago and we paid about €7 a night including breakfast and when my friend was sick (food poisoning) they went above and beyond for her! I'll see if I can find the name but they're a great budget option

That hostel sounds brilliant, would you have the name of it handy by any chance?!!

Would be great for an interrailing trip or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭SheroP

Hi there
    Just back from Bari Italy
    Lovely spot great value
    €10 each way with Ryanair
    Highly recommend!!

That hostel sounds brilliant, would you have the name of it handy by any chance?!!

Would be great for an interrailing trip or something.

Found it! One World Hostel - rooms are still <€9

We used it while interrailing and it was great! Close to centre and main station.

I promise I'm not paid by big hostel lobby, I just like the social atmosphere they have, even if you're with a group you can break off and chat to others when they do your head in haha Btw you could probably find one with a hot tub too :pac: Stayed in a massive one in Berlin that had it's own indoor pool haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Romania is very cheap and maybe one of the most under rated countries in Europe.
    Well preserved cities, mountains, sea, the best preserved delta in Europe and ranked third most important biosphere after the Great Barrier Reef and the Galapagos islands. The people are very friendly and the people under 35 to 40 speak English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

RobertKK wrote: »
    Romania is very cheap and maybe one of the most under rated countries in Europe.
    Well preserved cities, mountains, sea, the best preserved delta in Europe and ranked third most important biosphere after the Great Barrier Reef and the Galapagos islands. The people are very friendly and the people under 35 to 40 speak English.

I lived there for 2 years. Its a great spot and Bucharest is cheap, safe and fun!

Some great suggestions here !!

Now sorry to be annoying everybody but does anyone have any suggestions for Italy ? I've never been , and considering heading to peschiera del garda for a week in june? (after seeing so many recommendations online)

anyone know if its very expensive to eat / drink there? accom seems okay.

maybe head up to venice then afterwards for a few days on the train? Or would anyone suggest another location?

Obviously for more of a summer holiday than a city break!

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Some great suggestions here !!

Now sorry to be annoying everybody but does anyone have any suggestions for Italy ? I've never been , and considering heading to peschiera del garda for a week in june? (after seeing so many recommendations online)

anyone know if its very expensive to eat / drink there? accom seems okay.

maybe head up to venice then afterwards for a few days on the train? Or would anyone suggest another location?

Obviously for more of a summer holiday than a city break!

Bologna is fantastic. The Emilia Romagna region of Italy is considered the food capital of Italy. It was some of the best food I've had anywhere, nevermind Italy. Day trip potential to Florence, Modena and San Marino. Venice would have serious crowds.

Food capital sounds good to me. Yeah after a bit more research we decided against Venice.

Going to Rome instead as we have never been. So it'll be verona for 2 nights then lake garda then Rome! For now anyway! Ha..

Anywhere specific to stay in bologna or just anywhere near city centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Poland is probably the winner from Dublin as there are quite a number of flights and not that far away. It very cheap also for accommodation and food/drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Beersmith wrote: »
    Poland is probably the winner from Dublin as there are quite a number of flights and not that far away. It very cheap also for accommodation and food/drink.

Lot's to do there as well and the locals are friendly, speak english and have a lot in common with us Irish.

The food and drink and accommodation is not only cheap but top quality.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

ted1 wrote: »
    Lisbon is quite cheap

Lisbon is heaving with tourists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,623 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Cascais is a bit laid back and you can get into the city by train.
    Kind of like staying in Bray instead of Dublin but with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Also not cheap with accommodation or food really

I disagree with this! I've been twice and found it very budget friendly.

Someone mentioned Cascais, which I thought was very pretty but it can be a bit fancier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Crete

Flights are pricier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Italy. Have a look at Desenzano. Fly to Bergamo with Ryanair. Get train from there to Desenzano. You can cross the lake on one of the ferries or travel up the side of the lake in one on the local buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Italy. Have a look at Desenzano. Fly to Bergamo with Ryanair. Get train from there to Desenzano. You can cross the lake on one of the ferries or travel up the side of the lake in one on the local buses.

I'd say lots of places in Northern Italy is very cheap atm. Just remember you may have an extended stay ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Really? I was there last August with herself and the difference in food prices in Dublin was ridiculous. Went to a great tapas bar (tapas 22?) and it was less than 40 quid with drinks!! Next night went to a steak restaurant recommended by the guardian and again left with a bill for less than 50 quid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Food capital sounds good to me. Yeah after a bit more research we decided against Venice.

Going to Rome instead as we have never been. So it'll be verona for 2 nights then lake garda then Rome! For now anyway! Ha..

Anywhere specific to stay in bologna or just anywhere near city centre?

Bologna is quite small but is a fantastic place to visit. If you get a chance take a trip out to Ferrara....it is a walled city and I'm fairly sure it's a UNESCO world heritage site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Gary Gurney

why would anyone be booking a non essential trip to northern italy now is beyond me.

Putting the country's health and safety at risk just so you can cash in on cheap flights has to be the height of ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭GreyEagle

Check what the jacuzzi actually is - it could be a jacuzzi bath, and that's not the kind of romantic bubbles experience you're looking for! :pac:

Take it from me, jacuzzi bath and sachet of bubbles do not go well😟. Been there, done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Most of Spain..