Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rte investigates and more about travellers....

• 11-02-2020 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭

2 years on with ethnic status and they're still playing the poor me card, racist card etc....

For people that are meant to be so holy and yet love fighting, crime and drug dealing....

Fighting about living with a family they feud with...

Hilarious how much power such a hostile group holds....
    Over a 152mill to spend in one year...

Violence in the travelling community affects mainly travellers!!! What rubbish am I watching.....

They need to be educated and get them working.

They seem to have way to much time for feuding and causing issues not only between themselves but then robbing those that give them the money they get for nothing....

Absolutely nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Seriously how can anyone deal with this... Thanks ends and your corrupt cronies for destroying the future of the working Irish.....

I have to deal with this aftermath in work and when at home where I have to protect my property and family from roaming criminal gangs that especially love to target the elderly which Maggy cashes family or let's be honest her husband is very good at.

Why are such a neanderthal group allowed to carry on in such a manner in 2020 where I've been told in work we are in a different era where nobody can be questioned without fear of a back lash etc...

I've had a complaint sent in from a gay couple where I was questioned for asking who was with the person, not were they gay may I add..
    . It was so busy and the companion didn't stay with the pass holder, I was asked do I ask every straight person this question numerous times....

I honestly think we are in big trouble with the way things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Have we all gone mad?? Why are they given the time of day from RTE? why are they pushing the agenda

I tell you what, get a f**king job and start paying your way traveller clowns ( a job doesn't mean going on the rob)

Ta

Sure they only commit so much crime cos they're poor. Once Sinn Fein is giving them half your pay check they'll learn to behave.

Yes, it worries me but so does how fg gave them even more power.

I've no issues with helping and they as a whole need it but education is key and keeping them in it.

Funny if I took my daughter out of education is be doing time but a traveller can do as they please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Violence in the travelling community affects mainly travellers!!.
    Clearly this is the fault of non traveller society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,973 ✭✭✭pgj2015

just buy yourself a shotgun and if they break into your home, deal with them.

They intimidate and use threats to win most dealings with ordinary folk.

I've had quite a few run ins at work while not looking for any issues.

Death threats, bodily harm and other threats to family etc.

I am a fairly big guy so I have no issues standing up to them and others..... It tends to work ok as they move away but still mouthing off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Had to knock it off! Entitled *****! Yer wan with the 7 kids nobody to blame but yerself feck off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭amor3

This is a repeat, this was shown last year as far as I remember!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

I feel sorry for the children. What future do they have, what chance do they have to do better in life. It seems that there is so much prejudice against travellers they have no hope of a better life. They are Irish kids and as deserving of a chance in life and hope for the future as any other child. I don’t care, they deserve at least a chance, it’s not their fault or failing that they’re born into travelling families. When Brexit hits and the border checks happen, Irish travellers are going to be kept out of the UK. We need to find solutions to their accommodation needs and then we need to figure out the bigger issues. There are solutions, we have to stop the nimbyism and sort it out.

Raconteuse wrote: »

You must be right as rte broadcast it....

It's like the houses that were meant to have the stables..... Cough space I mean for the horses.... Stables that only a settled folk could dream of.

I've had to move 2 counties away from where I'm from to be able to afford a house.... And now commute 1hr 10-30 to get to work maybe even more totally depends on time of day and weather....

amor3 wrote: »

I only copped that now as missed the other bits last time but still either way it's promotion to the travellers and how they must get stables and a forever free home....

screamer wrote: »
    I feel sorry for the children. What future do they have, what chance do they have to do better in life. It seems that there is so much prejudice against travellers they have no hope of a better life. They are Irish kids and as deserving of a chance in life and hope for the future as any other child. I don’t care, they deserve at least a chance, it’s not their fault or failing that they’re born into travelling families. When Brexit hits and the border checks happen, Irish travellers are going to be kept out of the UK. We need to find solutions to their accommodation needs and then we need to figure out the bigger issues. There are solutions, we have to stop the nimbyism and sort it out.

Wtf....

Their parents or grandparents are the ones that oppressed them.... They pull the girls out of education and have the boys out committing crime etc...

It's within their benefits to keep the heard as they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

we're not movin into dem houses til we get stables for our horses n playground for the childer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Nazi Germany would be proud of that piece of propaganda. Shameful stuff from RTE

They arent really Irish in my eyes, they may as well be from mars because they have nothing in common with normal Irish people, they show utter contempt for real Irish people who work and pay out taxes which they benefit from, yet they steal and con their way around the country,most never working a day in their lives. i couldnt give a $hit about their kids because they are the offspring of their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

amor3 wrote: »

I'd say RTE are trying to save money with repeats now since Sinn Fein said they didn't want that mandatory broadcasting tax ( rte tax ) pushed on the public to replace the tv licence.

But back on topic... the feud in Drogheda is traveller vs non-traveller drug dealers killing each other.

I feel sorry for the children. What future do they have, what chance do they have to do better in life. It seems that there is so much prejudice against travellers they have no hope of a better life.
    They will end up like their folks unless they break the cycle. A small few of them will - and good on them. It's far more their environment than prejudice that's jeopardising their chances of a better life. It is a community that *chooses* to live separately to settled people.
    They are Irish kids and as deserving of a chance in life and hope for the future as any other child. I don’t care, they deserve at least a chance, it’s not their fault or failing that they’re born into travelling families. When Brexit hits and the border checks happen, Irish travellers are going to be kept out of the UK. We need to find solutions to their accommodation needs and then we need to figure out the bigger issues. There are solutions, we have to stop the nimbyism and sort it out.
    Very easy to complain about nimbyism when it's not literally your back yard. There are supports for travellers and their children, but they also need to accept the olive branch.

Actually, they have plenty of chances since they're Irish citizens and have access to the same (if not more, considering special grants) educational opportunities any other Irish person has.

The problem is the "protected" status of Traveller culture. It's a barbaric culture that should not be tolerated in any civilized nation, and promoting/protecting it does not help anyone. As long as the government sponsors, and maintains traveller culture, nothing will change except in dribs and drabs as some make the break away. But it'll be small numbers against the overall population. It'll continue to limp along with new generations being brought up into a culture that indoctrinates them into living like primitives.

Nope. Cut the benefits to them as Travellers. Treat them exactly the same as any other Irish citizen. They'll either play ball or leave the country for another place that provides benefits to them. Either way, it'll be a problem resolved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

This was posted in another thread, eye opening for people that never lived beside travellers.

A 50k wall,total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Sure they only commit so much crime cos they're poor. Once Sinn Fein is giving them half your pay check they'll learn to behave.

Sinn Fein aren't the ones that have caused the rampant criminality and handout dependency that is now the norm for travellers.
    Raconteuse wrote: »

It may not be the fault of us as individuals but it is the leaders too many of us vote in that have created a system hell bent on supporting them being violent destructive parasites.

Meanwhile RTE Investigates? where was the investigation into the root causes of traveller hardship, namely the unsustainable, wasteful self-destructive lifestyles they live? Where were the figures showing how much state money is spent on this tiny minority of the population both directly, through the various state agencies dealing with the aftermath of their lifestyles and cost to law abiding citizens and businesses after being victimised by them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Very horrible opinions in this thread being honest. It’s clear that with such attitudes and prejudice the travelling community will never get an opportunity to change anything for the better.
    Rent a house- did you see the program.
    Who among you would give them a job?
    Yep didn’t think so. Until attitudes change towards them and they are given a chance, nothing will change and the same ould ****e about travellers will be spouted on and on.
    But there is hope, those who voted for Sinn Fein ( proud to say I didn’t) have voted in a party that will sort out the disparity for travellers and then some.
    I still think, regardless, every little kid deserves a chance in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭sondagefaux

What border checks? The Common Travel Area will be unaffected by Brexit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Think of the Angles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Nazi Germany would be proud of that piece of propaganda. Shameful stuff from RTE

Considering half a million gypsies were put to death under the Nazis probably not best comparison..

Think of the Angles

Optuse angles

child benefit needs to be stopped after the second child, this might stop them having so many kids and save the tax payer some money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Think of the Angles

Like triangles and rectangles you mean?

Very horrible opinions in this thread being honest. It’s clear that with such attitudes and prejudice the travelling community will never get an opportunity to change anything for the better.
    Yep didn’t think so. Until attitudes change towards them and they are given a chance, nothing will change and the same ould ****e about travellers will be spouted on and on.
    But there is hope, those who voted for Sinn Fein ( proud to say I didn’t) have voted in a party that will sort out the disparity for travellers and then some.

No they won't....

It's got nothing to do with settled folk and more to do with themselves looking in the mirror....

Carrickmines tragedy was their own fault and nobody elses but yet they make it out to be everyone but themselves for anything and everything.

If the kids aren't in education then this should be investigated.

Seen as it's from last year is there any update on the mansion that one family were been built with a amazing private wall with the fancy metal fence spikes on top, and equipping with was it 6 or 7 bedroom....

What about them lovely houses but due to no stables... Where are they at with that.

This was posted in another thread, eye opening for people that never lived beside travellers.

Disgusting. And yet unsurprising. There is a halting site 1km from me. A gratis house worth a quarter million was rendered uninhabitable after one month. Scorched gardens from litter burning and general state of filth. And a constant whine for more more more, courtesy of the taxpayer. This entitlement culture needs to be stamped out immediately.

The same ould ****e caused by... problems disproportionately present in traveller society itself. Are they not responsible for helping themselves too? There are so many supports and allowances.
    They will? Would you hire a traveller and live near a halting site?
    I do too. It has to start with their parents though. Where else can it start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Scum. Sub-human scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Disgusting. And yet unsurprising. There is a halting site 1km from me. A gratis house worth a quarter million was rendered uninhabitable after one month. Scorched gardens from litter burning and general state of filth. And a constant whine for more more more, courtesy of the taxpayer. This entitlement culture needs to be stamped out immediately.

That video is shocking but not surprising, an environmental nightmare and awful waste of hard earned taxpayers money. Council in ennis built 9 houses for travellers on the Kilrush road ennis, all demolished after been burnt out. A multimillion project up in smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Macdarack

That video is shocking but not surprising, an environmental nightmare and awful waste of hard earned taxpayers money. Council in ennis built 9 houses for travellers on the Kilrush road ennis, all demolished after been burnt out. A multimillion project up in smoke.

I suspect for you, any opinion that doesn't tolerate their existence as travellers is horrible.

However, they've been receiving opportunities to change for the better for decades. How do I know? Because I've taught adult literacy courses to travellers. The vast majority bail after a fortnight.. not for lack of intelligence, but they just can't be bothered. There's no pressure on them to change... I've also taught English classes to children at primary level to bring them in line (like bridging studies) with other primary school children. The funding and investment is there already both on a local and national level.

Honestly, I find the opinions that refuse the need for change to be more horrible. Constantly looking for excuses rather than acknowledging that most travellers have no reason to change... and so they won't change.

Nope. But I have seen houses gutted by them. I know of five traveller families who were moved into houses, and four families didn't wrecked them. Why? Because they were told they would never receive another house if they did. One family did wreck the house, were thrown out, and are permanently banned from the housing lists for my hometown. All the usual places nearby were blocked for caravans, and the cops regularly patrolled the area for a few months... they've turned into very quiet and lawabiding people. Some selling of drugs but they do that away from the residential area.

It works because they were given an ultimatum that the council didn't back down on.

If they were educated to the standard needed for the position, and had the motivation to commit themselves? Sure. Why not?

You seem to think no travellers have ever been given the opportunity to work. I've worked alongside them in a variety of positions, including as professionals in Finance. The difference is that they learned to adapt.
    Yep didn’t think so.

Kinda quick to answer your own question, aren't you?
    Until attitudes change towards them and they are given a chance, nothing will change and the same ould ****e about travellers will be spouted on and on.

You seem to think that Irish people need to change in order for Travellers to change...

As for Sinn Fein, I don't think it's their problem to solve, and it's not something that could be solved in just five years. It'll take a few generations of educating and enticing Travellers away from their original culture, before we can remove it entirely, except as a footnote in the history books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

Notice that the people who love travellers so much generally don't live anywhere near them.

I believe we could solve all the anti social problems with the traveller community simply by moving them in to Dublin 4 and let our betters deal with them.

Kinda quick to answer your own question, aren't you?
    Yeah I don't get that tactic of asking a question, not waiting for an answer and then saying "didn't think so" immediately. Makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

The travellers will claim that non travellers dump on their land and they get blamed.

Big Gerry wrote: »
    I believe we could solve all the anti social problems with the traveller community simply by moving them in to Dublin 4 and let our betters deal with them.

Our "betters" would get a right landing. And deservedly so. Enda Kenny has a lot to answer for, granting them immunity with minority status. A huge blunder, and those of us outside the bubble are paying a significant price.

KungPao wrote: »
    Scum. Sub-human scum.

Nah... I don't swing that way. I went to school with many travellers. Individually, (and some families) are lovely people. Not all travellers behave the same way. Some keep quiet, look after their families properly and don't make trouble.

The problem really is the culture that they're brought into, the numbers who turn on any traveller trying to change, and the government support for them. Take away the culture, add in some education, and after a few generations, you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference between them and any other Irish person.

We cannot base policy on the few travellers who behave well, though. There is no place for traveller culture in a first world nation with laws and a level of common decency. If they want to maintain their culture, then let them do so in Africa, or in other areas, which still maintain primitive cultures.

Our "betters" would get a right landing. And deservedly so. FG have a lot to answer for, granting them immunity with minority status. A huge blunder, and those of us outside the bubble are paying a significant price.

TBH I don't think you can really blame any one party. They've all had their hands in the Traveller situation at one time or another. Either as a party or as individual politicians pushing an agenda. FF approved a lot of expenditure on Travellers through the years. We'll see what SF decide to do, but I don't expect to see much change there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Considering half a million gypsies were put to death under the Nazis probably not best comparison..

Gypsies whole different race altogether, Itinerants are an Irish thing.

Not entirely an Irish thing considering the migrations following WW1 & WW2. Many travellers in Ireland can trace their ancestry to families coming from other countries where they lived as Travellers.

But yes, Gypsies are different. Similar, but different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Im only few miles from cabragh bridge the worse thing the council ever did built those houses the ungrateful tinkers are a law on to themselves they never cared for the law. The politicians are too soft on them the courts are too soft on them and the council should sent them off to the bog plenty of bog around they can do what they want there. they have been the bane of our lives in Holycross for too long its all take take take with them. over the years i have meet and know a few that are decent family people nobody minds travellers that are decent but if you see caravans you see trouble sure even their houses like dumps with sulkies old cars mary or jesus statues should be evicted for their messiness making neighbourhoods look like ghettos and scaring decent people and drug selling

Absolutely sickening. And left-wing parties aren't going to do anything about it either - they're a sacred cow of the left (although SF associates in a less official guise might).

If I were to burn anything out the back I'd be made stop and receive a huge fine....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Big Gerry wrote: »
    The travellers will claim that non travellers dump on their land and they get blamed.

Did you ever hear such shíte?

I grew up not quite beside, but close enough to a small enough site of them - the filth they created and the trouble they caused was unimaginable. Grew up and ended up working for a place that used to deal with them all the time - same thing, constant threats and agro, always on the rob - just a horrible horrible shower of cúnts, more or less to a man.

I'd say out of maybe a 1000 interactions with them, 250 were very worrying - physical threats, being asked to fight for the money they owe and so, i've had at least 20 or 30 of them tell me i'd be killed on the way home! 250 were very annoying, just trying to bullshít out of paying, or having to take stuff back off them that they were trying to rob and that kind of thing, and maybe 10 or 20 at best were what you could call pleasant.

Anyone who has the slightest time for them, has never had to deal with them.

I don't care how racist it sounds, the world would be a better place without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭Feisar

pgj2015 wrote: »
    just buy yourself a shotgun and if they break into your home, deal with them.

Few are the things a 12 gauge won't cure!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They should have been all force-integrated years ago, but some bleeding hearts were listened to instead.
    They've been given all the tools for self improvement, largely for free, yet they choose to live in squalor, keep horses as pets and beat the heads off each other over some perceived slight.