Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children and drug debts

• 10-02-2020 5:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

How common is this? Was just listening on 98FM to Adrian Kennedy talk about this. Also know a lad in my class who's younger brother run up a debt for ecstasy and coke on 'tic' (around €750), and the dealers came knocking on their door. Had to pay it eventually but was threatened to be kicked out the next time it happened since it was such an inconvenience for the parents.

Anyone know stories like these?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,673 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’ve known of a few cases, but honestly have no idea how common it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

How common is this? Was just listening on 98FM to Adrian Kennedy talk about this. Also know a lad in my class who's younger brother run up a debt for ecstasy and coke on 'tic' (around €750), and the dealers came knocking on their door. Had to pay it eventually but was threatened to be kicked out the next time it happened since it was such an inconvenience for the parents.

Anyone know stories like these?

How old are you talking about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

Graces7 wrote: »
    How old are you talking about?

16+

But I've heard cases as young as 13.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭endainoz

Happened near my way in rural Clare. A young lad owed a few thousand and a boyo from limerick came up to his parents house looking for the money. He said to the parents if he didn't get paid he'd burn the house down.

He got his money anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,673 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

16+

But I've heard cases as young as 13.

Younger than that again -

Children as young as 10 dealing drugs in Dublin - study

Yeah heard of a case in west Limerick recently..young lad owed a good bit..drug dealers arriving up threatening his mother..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

You said children fedge stick to your guns

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

It's fairly common , I knew one fella and they threatened his ma with a shotgun , I knew another fella whose brother was kidnapped , they tied him up , took pictures of him and went to his parents house and showed them the pictures and told them they have to pay up or he was dead, the same gang kidnapped another fella brought him to a forest and kicked the crap out of him looking for money that his friend owed. They caused another fella to kill himself because he couldn't pay up. The fella that done all of that was shot dead a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Isn't this pretty much what that fella in Drogheda who got chopped up was supposed to have been up to?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

People like drugs and don't give a fook about what happens to get it into their gobs/veins/arses/ear holes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭julyjane

widespread. I've heard of a few who ran up debts well into 5 figures and their families paid it off. one of them is related to me but nobody knew the full extent of it, 8000 here and 2000 there, probably more somewhere else. His family got together and paid a few thousand but I don't know if they gave it to him or who they gave it to but there's still people looking for him and he's moved away for work apparently.

A few have died by suicide and their families were still pursued for the money. The ones collecting the money are probably under pressure from someone else higher up the chain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

julyjane wrote: »
    A few have died by suicide and their families were still pursued for the money.
    Exactly what happened to my parents' friends' son in England. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭wally1990

My cousin when he was 17 owed 2k for coke he got on tick

Long story short the gangs called to house and our grandmother's house with weapons and threats to burn it down for a few weeks

Aunt got a CU loan and paid them off and moved out of the area in cork

Same cousin is in and out of jail (now 29) 3 times

Just a scumbag deep down

He def has mental issues from his childhood (dad a heroin addict) and step dad beat him but its still no excuse for what he /himself has brought to our family

I stopped talking to him after so many failed attempts to get him on straight and narrow
    (gave him money, did his CV, helped apply for. Jobs, crash in my place when he was homeless you name it)

Getting into drugs at that age is going down a bad path and it's absolutely selfish

I've no sympathy anymore
    I've seen it all with my own family

He has no consideration or remorse for what he did to his mam and younger sister or grandparents

He was always the victim and still plays that card

Sorry for the rant but just annoys me

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

A lad i was in school with ran up a debt (10K - he was using the product he was supposed to be selling). His parents paid.
    About a year later, a more "serious" group knocked at the door, debt was 20K this time.
    They sold their house and moved down the country.

Chap moved in with his uncle who had a restaurant, and basically the two of them snorted the restauranted closed, the guy ended up having to do drug runs to south and central america.
    Ended up badly, he got HIV as his addicition worsened, but unlike Michaela McCollum, he was never caught ( think he did 2 runs)

his brother got in similar but not as serious bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Not that uncommon.

Most its paid up so it's never heard about

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The wife's brothers girlfriend has paid approximately €10k on drug debts for her son.

He works himself but runs out very fast and disappear for weekend no problems at all.

She was made redundant and got around€30k so it's near all gone if not so.

People have called to the door...

For me one call would be too many.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Jaysus what does one do, pay or go to work.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

It's not a recent thing either, I know a lad who's parents had to part with their SSIA savings, to clear his debt.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭4Ad

A lad I know nephew (knobhead, by all accounts) owed a few thousand, the drug dealer called to the family home and threatened them.
    They went to the Gardai, they told the family get a credit union loan and pay the debt off...
    They did...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

It's very common from about 14 up in certain areas. I know lots of people who have been in this situation, and even some youth workers etc who have paid off debts for teens. Lots of the teens end up storing drugs to pay the debt. I know one lad about 16 was caught holding a reasonably large quantity - his family nearly died. He ended up in court, had to move out of the area as he had lost the stash. He turned out alright though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Not surprised. Heard of stories of young teens with large debts and rising cocaine use among teenagers anyhow. Its rife.

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Anyone heard anything from srameen?

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭BlaktainPicard

Surprised drug dealers allow credit lines to be honest..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭pgj2015

jesus, why would you have kids? i wouldnt pay them a cent, id let the guards deal with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭BlaktainPicard

pgj2015 wrote: »
    jesus, why would you have kids? i wouldnt pay them a cent, id let the guards deal with them.

unfortunately these lowlifes wouldn't see a problem with taking out their "debt collection tactics" on you

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Go on out of that fegelien - we all know you're just looking for a lead on a dealer who'll give you tic.

Pay for own drugs you fúcking chancer!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭pgj2015

unfortunately these lowlifes wouldn't see a problem with taking out their "debt collection tactics" on you

im sure their methods have backfired on them plenty of times, the house they go to might have a bigger thug in it than themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, happens now and again.

Woman I know, her 12 year old son had a spot he used to hang around in a local forest (read: an acre of trees between two housing estates) with his mates. Guy arrived one day randomly, left a bag and asked this kid to mind it, said he'd be back later to get it. Never arrived back, kids went home, as you do.

Next day, the bag was gone, and the guy arrived looking for it. Kid shrugged and the guy lost the plot telling saying they owed him 20 grand and he'd be back for it. ****ting themselves of course, and the guy did come back, said he'd been needing favours when there was no money. Real deal, he found out where the kid lived and all. Kid had the sense to tell his Ma rather than try fix it himself.

The mother had to engage the local shinners to sort it out, the Gardai said they knew who the guys were but without any crime having been committed there was nothing they could really do.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

You don't know what you'd do though.