Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ANYONE ELSE VOTE FOR SINN FEIN FOR FIRST TIME TODAY

• 08-02-2020 11:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 backslapper

I was in Limerick Hospital this week,
    I don't have the words to describe what I seen there, it will stay with me for a long time.
    That was it for me.
    I got up early this morning & on way to work,
    I voted for Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭celt262

I don't have the words to describe what I seen there, it will stay with me for a long time.
    That was it for me.
    I voted for Sinn Fein.

Fair play but Sinn Finn will only make things worse if they get into government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

That was it for me.
    I voted for Sinn Fein.

Was it somebody who opposed their military wing in a bed with no kneecaps ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ALL CAPS PRIDE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

celt262 wrote: »
    Fair play but Sinn Finn will only make things worse if they get into government.

Fine Gael are dismal on health, this their's to carry. I'd like to take a look at your crystal-ball to see into this SF future.

We all pay taxes and bust our ass to fund a health service that sees our loved ones and neighbors on trolleys. FG needs to own it and accept the kicking they're going to get today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭celt262

The grass is greener and all that time will tell...

celt262 wrote: »
    The grass is greener and all that time will tell...

Time will tell. But FG's time is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Their armed faction put a lot of work the health services way funeral directors too

Great training for young doctors trying to put innocent people back together again after being blown up

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That was it for me.
    I voted for Sinn Fein.
    In what way are you expecting SF to resolve it?
    In what timeframe will these magical changes happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

yeah I know a good few, previous FG voters, believed the reward the early risers lie and are fcucked by this housing crisis in dublin. They didnt put their names down on the housing list over a decade ago, to get the likes of the luxury free apartments now being given out. Because nobody could have reasonably foreseen this housing farce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Nope. Never have, never will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭2xj3hplqgsbkym

I’m considering it, also mainly to see if anyone can improve the Health Service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

Just voted, did not vote for SF, FF, FG or the Greens.

Very little left to choose from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Yurt! wrote: »
    Fine Gael are dismal on health, this their's to carry. I'd like to take a look at your crystal-ball to see into this SF future.

Did you listen to the leaders debate on RTE ?

They all signed on and support SlainteCare, a 10 year plan.

https://www.gov.ie/en/campaigns/slaintecare-implementation-strategy/

So, punishing Fine Gael is attacking the wrong people.... a calling card of SF/IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

I visited an old friend today. Havent seen him since 1987.
    He would be 51 today, except that he was murdered by friends of an elected politician.

Then I voted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So, punishing Fine Gael is attacking the wrong people.... a calling card of SF/IRA.

I'm sorry, but this is all I can visualise when I see posters use that term.

Hard to take you seriously when you're speaking in paisleyese.

FaroffForsakenCopperhead-max-1mb.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,419 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Home ownership is the big issue for anyone under the age of 35. And FG have done a pretty piss poor job at addressing it in 9 years. I've lots of friends renting who have young families, both partners working and are so overburdened by ridiculous rents they have no hope of raising a deposit for a mortgage. They feel utterly let down by a government that thought leaving it to the market to provide was enough. Not asking for a free house but just the chance and help to call a home their own.

SF might not be the answer but FG certainly aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I will vote for next-door's cat before I'll vote for any of those lighten fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Just voted, did not vote for SF, FF, FG or the Greens.

Very little left to choose from.

And you cant vote that mad crowd Renua either.

The real real problem for the Electorate is there is no one to vote for.

Irish Politics needs something new.

Personally, I think it's sad that people are even considering Sinn Fein due to lack of choice.

Bogus. Slaintecare has been agreed upon since 2017 and there has been next to no budget for implementation of the plan from FG since then, only sketchy placeholder reports that Simon Harris is so excellent at commissioning.

With an election staring them in the face, FG, with no coherent actions on health during their tenure, they suddenly think the cross-party Slaintecare plan needs to be implemented as a matter of urgency.

Bloody hell blues are obtuse and manipulative.

Reminder: I am not a Sinn Féin voter. FG is the party with the largest gap between their claims of competency and their actual ability or willingness to deliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

I don't vote for parties with private armies

anewme wrote: »
    And you cant vote that mad crowd Renua either.

What's mad about them?

That they oppose abortion? Hardly an outlandish position to hold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Was it somebody who opposed their military wing in a bed with no kneecaps ?

Or maybe some poor people FG got rid of with a mechanical digger.

jay0109 wrote: »
    What's mad about them?

The Renua candidate in Kildare North is campaigning on a xenophobia ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

rob316 wrote: »
    Home ownership is the big issue for anyone under the age of 35. And FG have done a pretty piss poor job at addressing it in 9 years. I've lots of friends renting who have young families, both partners working and are so overburdened by ridiculous rents they have no hope of raising a deposit for a mortgage. They feel utterly let down by a government that thought leaving it to the market to provide was enough. Not asking for a free house but just the chance and help to call a home their own.

SF might not be the answer but FG certainly aren't.

Depends on the way you see it, their lust for the rip off property prices they have been delivering, has gone unpunished right up until the last minute!

Let me guess....controlled immigration based around a points system?
    How racist is that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

That was it for me.
    I voted for Sinn Fein.

I admire your positivity but you will be sorely disappointed because SF is just another FF, FG, Labour. All supporting the same things. All supporting and implementing the policies of their rulers the EU.
    Ireland is a vassal state. Controlled and governed by the fascist dictatorship known as the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

Less than 5 years ago Sinn Fein were talking about slashing all consultant salaries and having a max public sector salary of 100,000.

Now they've decided theyre hiring 1000 new doctors and consultants. How could you trust them? It's pie in the sky stuff. You'd have to worry about anyone who would believe them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

NO

What's mad about them?

They put a leaflet in my door and it was pure hatred.

Nasty bigots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

smurgen wrote: »
    Or maybe some poor people FG got rid of with a mechanical digger.

Ahh yeah because leo came out defending the guy operating that digger , hid his identity from gardai and called the homeless man a criminal who deserved it. Totally the same

That's the same one as me.

Could not believe the leaflet.

Never heard of Renua before.

Less than 5 years ago Sinn Fein were talking about slashing all consultant salaries and having a max public sector salary of 100,000.

Now they've decided theyre hiring 1000 new doctors and consultants. How could you trust them? It's pie in the sky stuff. You'd have to worry about anyone who would believe them.

I think anyone with a brain can see the holes but they still want someone different to have a crack at it. FG promised to abolish USC over there last term, again anyone with a brain could see it can't be done. You can add there new promise of raising the standard rate cut off point to 50k to that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭PMBC

I don't vote for parties with private armies
    Im close to 70, retired and will vote for SF. I have never supported SF. I campaigned for Dev in my teens and my family were staunchly FF.
    FG have done so badly in many area, since they were given the chance, not least that they didn't even realise or understand the mood of the country that is crystallised by SF heading the polls. I do realise that heading the poll and getting the vote are n ot the same in practical terms.
    I can not see the attraction of voting for FF who banjaxed the country in the noughties and in previous elections including Jack Lynch's notorious vote buying removal of domestic rates. And who can forgEt Bertie - a MinIster of Finance without a banK account.
    Its time for a change and for SF, who admittedly cant form a government on their own and are unlikely to be accepted as coalition partners by FF or FG, to have increased representation to keep pressure on FF and FG.

How racist is that !
    Maybe read his pamphlet before trying to insinuate that I'm wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭antimatterx

No! And I can't believe why anybody would. They're a protest vote, and everything they are promising they won't be able to fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How racist is that !
    He doesn't want EU's free movement of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Yurt! wrote: »

We all pay taxes and bust our ass to fund a health service that sees our loved ones and neighbors on trolleys. FG needs to own it and accept the kicking they're going to get today.

FF started everything bad tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I always pop the shinner candidate on the bottom of the ballot before filling out the rest.

This year it’ll be different though. Because we have a NP candidate. SF will be second from bottom. Pity. If he was running as an independent, or for any other party he’d be in my top 5. Seems a decent guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

It's HSE management, all 20 layers of it, and the Union's that have the health services the way they are, it doesn't matter who is in government, it's not going to change much

That's a cop out, it's a black hole but no one has been willing to roll their sleeves up and tackle it. In 9 years under FG it has not progressed one iota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭eldamo

I accidentally gave renua my fourth preference.

Apologies in advance if they go ahead and reinstate the 8th.

Maybe read his pamphlet before trying to insinuate that I'm wrong!

I got a Renua pamphlet yesterday, the first one this campaign. It mentions a points based immigration system amongst the 10 main issues for them.
    That was all they said.

What extra did they say on yours?

Anyone who works in this country are mad if they vote sinn fein.
    I don't know why everyone who 'wants change ' have decided to vote sinn fein, there are other options.

& I don't know why so many people want change, & what change so they want? Back to 10 years ago, when we had nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Tork

No. I know why people are annoyed at FFG and want to protest. Still, there was no way my vote was ever going to go to the Shinners. They're still too shady for my liking and I dislike their policies. I'm not looking forward to hearing more of Mary Lou's foghorn voice either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

endacl wrote: »
    I always pop the shinner candidate on the bottom of the ballot before filling out the rest.

This year it’ll be different though. Because we have a NP candidate. SF will be second from bottom. Pity. If he was running as an independent, or for any other party he’d be in my top 5. Seems a decent guy.

Just curious but why would you give the SF or NP candidate any preference on your ballot paper? Have you been taken in by the ages old RTE spin that you should vote all the way down the ballot paper?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Just curious but why would you give the SF or NP candidate any preference on your ballot paper? Have you been taken in by the ages old RTE spin that you should vote all the way down the ballot paper?

I don't think I've ever gotten past about number 4 on a ballot..

Absolutely no point in giving someone a vote if you don't like them (whomever they may be)

Why run the risk that your vote might transfer to someone you cannot stand??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

I visited an old friend today. Havent seen him since 1987.
    He would be 51 today, except that he was murdered by friends of an elected politician.

Then I voted.

Who was the politician? Dr Ian Paisley? Gregory Campbell? Sammy Wilson?

I'm in my 50s and I gave my number 1 and 2 to Sinn Fein today. I've never even given them a preference down the list before and I don't even think my local Sinn Fein TD is a particularly pleasant character. It was just the obvious level of panic in the establishment and the establishment media in the last few days that their time at the trough might finally be coming to an end which convinced me to give them a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

All politicians lie, did you believe FF that the USC was temporary? Did you believe FG in 2016 that they would abolish the USC? Did you believe Labours 'red line' issues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

No. But they certainly appeal to a certain mentality. The terrorist association. Is just too off-putting to most though.
    And SF still openly using that association, rather than trying to put it in the past. Tommy McMahon, convicted IRA murderer of innocent children, prominent at the SF tent outside a polling station in Monaghan apparently.
    In the mass national media, there is a past is the past line pushed. On the ground, a different policy for the grass roits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

All politicians lie, did you believe FF that the USC was temporary? Did you believe FG in 2016 that they would abolish the USC? Did you believe Labours 'red line' issues?

But you're telling us SF will be different?

A change is what you tell us.

Now you say they lie like the other parties