Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US President congratulates wrong state on Superbowl win

• 03-02-2020 6:49am

I could forgive non-American people for the assumption of thinking that Kansas City is in Kansas state but surely the President of the United States of America should know better?

920x920.jpg

Hands up if this is news to you. Be man or woman enough to admit it. I thought it was shared between both states myself, as in on the border of Kansas and Missouri. Also, how many think Washington DC is is Washington State? Come on, own up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Horace Wimp

But there IS a Kansas City in Kansas State as well, so, to be fair.. Could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,803 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Nothing that idiot says surprises me anymore.

But there IS a Kansas City in Kansas State as well, so, to be fair.. Could happen.

There is... but to be faaaaiiiirrr it shouldn't happen to the President of the United States.

Yes he should have known.
    However on a general point, the US system of states and their capitals is notoriously obtuse. The one you think should be the state capital (most prominent, greatest population) rarely is.

Jesus Christ. The internet is going to be covered in this today on top of the Superbowl already. People are going to be calling him a diabolical piece of atomic shlt over it.

Yes he should have known.
    However on a general point, the US system of states and their capitals is notoriously obtuse. The one you think should be the state capital (most prominent, greatest population) rarely is.

You're right NewbridgeIR. Make it simpler. Like in Ireland the way Kildare town is the capital of Co Kildare. No wait, it's not? Ok so it's got to be the biggest town in the county surely? Newbridge it is!

Wait it's not that either...?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

He has already deleted it. I was not aware of this, but as the President he should have been. He was still right though, the Kansas City Chiefs did indeed win!

Had a quick Google, and the Kansas City Kansas was named that because Kansas City Missouri was named after the Indians in the area, and it became so popular that the people across the water started naming their side Kansas City to capitalise on the Missouri one... 'Merica!

Omackeral wrote: »
    You're right NewbridgeIR. Make it simpler. Like in Ireland the way Kildare town is the capital of Co Kildare. No wait, it's not? Ok so it's got to be the biggest town in the county surely? Newbridge it is!

Wait it's not that either...?!

Newbridge has about 1,000 more people than Naas. The latter was the bigger town population-wise for many years - until Newbridge’s population doubled in the 1990s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,552 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

We're not in Kansas anymore!

Maybe he just doesn't care about the Superbowl.. Can't say I blame him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

This is definitely one of those things that doesn't matter

99% of people sharing this story:

rBFQ9FF.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

I'm in no position to criticise him.

I pay so little attention to American stuff that I literally don't know what the Superbowl is. Is it a stadium? A competition? Baseball? American football? I don't know. I mean, I could Google it, but I've survived this long without knowing...

I'm in no position to criticise him.

I pay so little attention to American stuff that I literally don't know what the Superbowl is. Is it a stadium? A competition? Baseball? American football? I don't know. I mean, I could Google it, but I've survived this long without knowing...

You can learn more about these lovely creatures here.. https://old.reddit.com/r/Superbowl/

A beautiful example:

zqxje2h9bae01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Yawn. Another snowflake complaining

rBFQ9FF.png

Except he's the president and leader of that country so it's a bit different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

As long as Trump doesn't push the wrong button, I don't care :)

ebbsy wrote: »
    Yawn. Another snowflake complaining

Yawn, another person calling someone a snowflake when it doesn't even make sense.

Except he's the president and leader of that country so it's a bit different.

Would you think less of a taoiseach for not knowing every county's capital? I wouldn't.

I actually would and I'd find it very surprising to be honest if that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

This is the worst thing that ever happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,152 ✭✭✭Allinall

Yis are all as bad as Trump.

Ireland’s counties don’t have capitals.

They have county towns.

Have a go of the county towns of Ireland here on Sporcle Quiz. A good portion of them are just the county names repeated. I'd assume the President or Taoiseach would know them all.

I'll admit I missed Derry though but that's not in our jurisdiction :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

It's great the way he uses twitter to demonstrate to the world what a half wit he is

I actually would and I'd find it very surprising to be honest if that was the case.

Surprising perhaps but not worthy of condemnation. What does it matter if Varadkar thought the county town of Kildare was Kildare town and not Naas.. It has nothing to do with the man's politics or ability to lead.

Is a reasonable expectation? Sure. But as usual, there's a line that must be drawn. How much should a leader need to know about individual states and counties..
    Allinall wrote: »
    Yis are all as bad as Trump.

Ireland’s counties don’t have capitals.

They have county towns.

So a city could be a county town? Or does it change to county city?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    It's great the way he uses twitter to demonstrate to the world what a half wit he is

Well he didn't apply to be a geography teacher, in fairness now.

Is a reasonable expectation? Sure.

That's all I'm saying here.

I stuck up a thread here out of curiosity just to see if people could name the county towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

As someone pointed out on Twitter, if Obama had made this mistake he'd have been impeached.

It just goes to show, if you have enough money even the thickest person can get the biggest job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Corrected already move along folks nuttin to sea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

If anything, it should be slightly re-assuring that a country's president is sufficiently distracted with the job of running their country, that they don't really have much of a clue what is going on in the world of sports... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

If anything, it should be slightly re-assuring that a country's president is sufficiently distracted with the job of running their country, that they don't really have much of a clue what is going on in the world of sports... ;)

But he did know the result of the game. His mistake was one of geography.

But if he was more knowledgeable on the sport, it's very unlikely he would have made that mistake. Knowing the score does not prove he knows much about the sport.

There's probably lots of NFL fans that are rubbish at geography too, but they know the sport so wouldn't make that mistake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Don’t know about you, Ads, but I’ve known Kansas City was in Missouri for a long, long time. “Kansas City, Missouri” rolls off the tongue for me.

AND this is the fucking POTUS. Slight difference between somebody in Ireland not knowing and him not knowing.

You mean county town? And yes, yes I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,272 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Don’t know about you, Ads, but I’ve known Kansas City was in Missouri for a long, long time. “Kansas City, Missouri” rolls off the tongue for me.

The first time I found out that Kansas City Missouri was in Missouri was when I was in Kansas City Missouri driving from St Louis to Denver. I think it's partially in Kansas but the city where I was was in Missouri for sure and I remember being confused by it.

This was pre-google by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

He didn't need to know any capital. Kansas city isn't the capital of Missouri or Kansas anyway. But if hes going to pretend to be interested he could at least fact check.

Considering the amount of bull**** and mistakes he comes out with he has some kneck to be spouting about anyone else and fake news.

AND this is the fucking POTUS. Slight difference between somebody in Ireland not knowing and him not knowing.

You don't have to know the name of every place in your country, in order to run the damn thing well... (Esp a country as huge as the USA)

I wouldn't give a toss if our Taoiseach didn't know where Leitrim was... so long as they were good at keeping the ship off the rocks!

Some people care about really trivial nonsense tbh!

And there is no actual proof that this was a geographical error anyway... he could very well just know diddly squat about the NFL and where the teams are based.

Don't they move their franchises around the country all the time anyway? It probably gets confusing even for NFL fans... :p

)

I wouldn't give a toss if our Taoiseach didn't know where Leitrim was... so long as they were good at keeping the ship off the rocks!

If he's going to start congratulating Leitrim on winning the Ulster championship and pretending to know about , say , GAA, he should at least make sure whether it was actually in Ulster before he goes tweeting that it is.

Plus , the next part of the tweet where trump says they represent the whole USA. Does he realise San Francisco (California) is in the USA too? This wasn't the Olympics.

That's not even Michael Nesmith's real hat!
    The team was founded in 1960 as the Dallas Texans by businessman Lamar Hunt and was a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). (It is not associated with the NFL Dallas Texans.) In 1963, the team moved to Kansas City and assumed its current name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

You don't have to know the name of every place in your country, in order to run the damn thing well... (Esp a country as huge as the USA)

And there is no actual proof that this was a geographical error anyway... he could very well just know diddly squat about the NFL and where the teams are based.

Don't they move their franchises around the country all the time anyway? It probably gets confusing even for NFL fans... :p

I don’t think not having a good grasp of the geography of the country you lead is trivial at all.

BUT, when all is said and done, this is just another dumb thing Trump has said. So you’re right in a way that it is trivial because it’s just to be added to the pile. Every dumb remark he makes is unsurprising really. It’s now an expectation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Have a go of the county towns of Ireland here on Sporcle Quiz. A good portion of them are just the county names repeated. I'd assume the President or Taoiseach would know them all.

I'll admit I missed Derry though but that's not in our jurisdiction :pac:

We from North Tipp will never recognise Clonmel as the county town. It's Nenagh

A curse to Phil Hogan for merging us :mad:

Surprising perhaps but not worthy of condemnation. What does it matter if Varadkar thought the county town of Kildare was Kildare town and not Naas.. It has nothing to do with the man's politics or ability to lead.

Is a reasonable expectation? Sure. But as usual, there's a line that must be drawn. How much should a leader need to know about individual states and counties..

So a city could be a county town? Or does it change to county city?

This isn't anything to do with capitals though. Just what state the city is in.

Boris Johnson doesn't need to know Liverpool isn't the administration hq of Lancashire, but knowing it's in England and not Wales should be a given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

He certainly knew a lot about certain players such as Colin Kaepernick.

This isn't anything to do with capitals though. Just what state the city is in.

Or possibly just what state the NFL team is in... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

It's not his worst error, but it shows an basic lack of general knowledge about the US, which isn't comforting considering he's the POTUS. Kansas City is one of the largest and most culturally significant cities in the Midwest and it's name quirk is memorable in itself. You can make any number of excuses for him, but at the end of the day, it's pretty ignorant. Middle school students are expected to know better.

Also, I don't know how capital cities came up in this discussion; Kansas City isn't the capital of Kansas (Topeka), Missouri (Jefferson City) or any other state (and yes, I knew those without looking because I paid attention and passed 7th grade Geography).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

It's not his worst error, but it shows an basic lack of general knowledge about the US, which isn't comforting considering he's the POTUS. Kansas City is one of the largest and most culturally significant cities in the Midwest and it's name quirk is memorable in itself. You can make any number of excuses for him, but at the end of the day, it's pretty ignorant. Middle school students are expected to know better.

Also, I don't know how capital cities came up in this discussion; Kansas City isn't the capital of Kansas (Topeka), Missouri (Jefferson City) or any other state (and yes, I knew those without looking because I paid attention and passed 7th grade Geography).

Bertie Ahern thought Cavan was in northern Ireland so I don't think Irish people can jump on the band wagon about this.

https://youtu.be/6py-JbDHgUc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭FreeThePants

Screen-Shot-2020-02-03-at-7.18.36-AM.png

Problem.

Solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,272 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Or possibly just what state the NFL team is in... ;)

In fairness the Giants and the Jets play in New Jersey but nobody says they're Jersey teams, they're New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Who cares? American football is a joke of a game anyway, they spent more time playing ads than actual football.

🙈🙉🙊