Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's Brexit Day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

UK formally leaves the EU at 11 pm tonight.

Rule Britannia! Indeed.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Nigel Farage made a tit of himself when other EU members were respectful and wishing them well. That's been the highlight so far for me.

Can't wait. Their dealings with the US and China should be interesting to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

They'll be looking for reentry to the EU in 20 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭adrian92

Hope that they don't renege on their agreement
    (But I am paranoid perhaps - the British government will adhere to the accord, so honourable, I am certain)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Rule britannia
    Britannia rules the waves
    Britons never ever shall be slaves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The penny won’t drop for a while yet.
    Wait until Europe offers them sweet F all in initial negotiations and they have to report back to Boris.

Then it will turn ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭CPTM

The penny won’t drop for a while yet.

Lovely pun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

UK formally leaves the EU at 11 pm tonight.

Even their stupid flag is practically impossible to get rid of... :p

Good luck to the UK... I mean this genuinely. I wish them well as a nation! :)

They made the correct decision to leave, but this does not mean that things will be plain sailing in the near future!

There will be some struggles ahead... but those struggles will be worth it in the longer term. Breaking free from this dictatorship, is the smart move.

But only in the fullness of time, will this become evident to most of the naysayers and doom-mongers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

It's a dreadful day. The UK will eventually get over the impact but there is no good economic or social reason for what is due to happen at 11pm tonight. It's pure misguided pride.,., with a dose of xenophobia thrown in for good measure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

I was out jogging with my then-10-yr-old son the morning after the referendum, and he was worried about the implications the way kids are ('is there going to be a war?' Etc). I confidently assured him Brexit would never happen, because it was a logical impossibility to make it work without causing huge damage, and for all their failings Britain as a country just wasn't that utterly stupid - once people realised what it would actually mean they'd think again.

Well here I am unhappily listening to the rain, putting on my trainers to go running with my now-13-yr-old.

Very different conversation ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

1 yr transition period ....then ....chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Tordelback wrote: »
    I was out jogging with my then-10-yr-old son the morning after the referendum, and he was worried about the implications the way kids are ('is there going to be a war?' Etc). I confidently assured him Brexit would never happen, because it was a logical impossibility to make it work without causing huge damage, and for all their failings Britain as a country just wasn't that utterly stupid - once people realised what it would actually mean they'd think again.

Well here I am unhappily listening to the rain, putting on my trainers to go running with my now-13-yr-old.

It might be a very good opportunity to teach a young man the wise virtue of time spent in peaceful observation, objective study of media and political patterns, and letting time pass. He is likely to learn at some point in the reasonably near future, having watched without fear that the paper-never-refusing -ink hyperbole was an ephemeral drama, that life, love and the universe went on, that much much worse things happen, that far better things happen, and that he is fortunate to live in a part of the world where he has freedom and prosperity compared to the rest of the world. Being an alarmist at any age, but especially when young, is a detrimental habit.

Tordelback wrote: »

If you were wrong about this... what other things could you potentially be wrong about too? :p

Your son is possibly questioning whether or not to trust your judgement... as I certainly would be! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

If you were wrong about this... what other things could you potentially be wrong about too? :p

Your son is possibly questioning whether or not to trust your judgement... as I certainly would be! ;)

Dad has very admirable qualities that he is passing on to his son. I envy that. He is out jogging while I am struggling to have the commitment to drying myself post shower..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

I'm going to miss @BorderIrish :(

Nigel Farage made a tit of himself

Absolutely nothing new there, then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭theological

There's going to be three groups of people in the UK tonight.

Hard core leavers who will be celebrating their alleged independence day.
    Hard core remainers drowning their sorrows.
    The rest of us who just want it over with.

Every corner of Boards you look at there are prophecies of doom. The reality is Britain is going to be successful outside of the EU. There will still be trade with the EU even if there is a reduction. Most exports already to non-EU countries and there will be opportunities to expand this with free trade arrangements when the UK has its own trade policy.

The people voted for a looser relationship with the EU on multiple occasions. That's a reasonable desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's a relief at this stage really. It's been such a mind numbingly stupid journey to here. Fed up hearing about it.

There'll be some people whooping and hollering today and waving their Union Jacks. Good for them I suppose. At least they are happy.

They can wake up tomorrow to a nice big bowl of sovereignty.

lawred2 wrote: »
    It's a relief at this stage really. It's been such a mind numbingly stupid journey to here. Fed up hearing about it.

There'll be some people whooping and hollering today and waving their Union Jacks. Good for them I suppose. At least they are happy.

They can wake up tomorrow to a nice big bowl of sovereignty.

It's about to get even dumber for a few weeks with people shouting "SEE?? We left and the world hasn't ended!! Everything is fine!! Project Fear!!"

As I said, I genuinely can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭theological

It's about to get even dumber for a few weeks with people shouting "SEE?? We left and the world hasn't ended!! Everything is fine!! Project Fear!!"

As I said, I genuinely can't wait.

It will be fine on January 1st 2021 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Some bitterness in this thread. Pretty pathetic
    Nothing much will change ..probably a few short term stumbles..

If any of you slagging Farage bothered to listen to what he actually said - he said he wanted friendship with Europe but the EU now isnt what they signed up to which was a common market which was fine.. A position I wholeheartedly agree with.

Fair play to the brits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Things will change when they start getting rid of the EU standards and then it's a race to the bottom. Food safety and crime will be interesting.

The interesting thing is they will be waving union jacks but the union is under threat from Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Don't forget to put the clocks back. To about 1952 should do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

First, we must wish the UK well. There are plenty of knockers around, but we must salute the courage and vision of the UK in determining its own destiny in such a decisive way. Its easy to go with the flow, and people give out about politicians who do nothing, change nothing, and are only out for themselves. Brexit is a big leap and change. Let's hope it goes well for them.

From the Ireland side. Well, it really has to be seen as a win win. It has the luxury of sitting on the fence and seeing how it goes. If Brexit is a huge success, then opportunity really beckons : at a stroke Ireland could unite the island, and join the newly, truly, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and be part of the new, dynamic, path be chosen by these islands together. While it may look economically bleak for NI, Éire, and the UK at the moment, with certainly some uncertainty and turbulence ahead, there could indeed be a silver lining to this cloud, in the not too distant future.

Good luck to our closest relations across the narrow sea on their courageous adventure!

he said he wanted friendship with Europe but the EU now isnt what they signed up to which was a common market which was fine.. A position I wholeheartedly agree with.

Too bad that an FTA replicating the goods part of the common market seems to be a no-go now since they want to diverge.

Some bitterness in this thread. Pretty pathetic
    Nothing much will change ..probably a few short term stumbles..

If any of you slagging Farage bothered to listen to what he actually said - he said he wanted friendship with Europe but the EU now isnt what they signed up to which was a common market which was fine.. A position I wholeheartedly agree with.

Fair play to the brits.

He claimed to want friendship while aggressively shouting and waving his little flag..

Odd interpretation of friendship.

Or maybe friendship to him means collecting pension cheques..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I really hope that here in Britain we can finally move on from this issue and begin to prioritise other issues. Some of ye here will have no idea how painful it has been to have this dominate every single agenda for three years straight with all the utter ridiculousness and hysteria accompanying it. Every single day the news is taken up with this stuff, I read an article in the paper last year that there would be a chronic shortage of pre-packed sandwiches after Brexit etc etc, that’s the type of nonsense we’ve been subjected to. People are sick to death of it, it’s the primary reason the Tories won the election as a matter of fact.

The hardcore camps on both sides are utterly insufferable. A mixture of Little Britain, tea-with-the-vicar, Union Jack wavers and red faced idiots on one side and a load of middle class Guardian reading snobbish bores on the other. Being left-wing I sometimes encounter the latter and they’re by far and away the worst; crying actual tears over a neo-liberal capitalist trading bloc and declaring they’ll be dead before they use a Brexit 50p etc.

Mention any issue to these type of people and the first thing you’ll get back is “WHAT ABOUT BREXIT?” We had a real chance at a Labour government in this country and it was f*cked up because some wet twats couldn’t let their love of the EU go and shoved us on a course for a second referendum - which as you saw didn’t work out to well.

I’m sick of hearing about this b*llocks and hopefully it dominates the national agenda less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

Hopefully it goes well because if it doesn't we're in trouble with exports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Think I'll listen to Ode to Joy on the way to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Don't forget to put the clocks back. To about 1952 should do it.
    I'm pretty sure that means the DUP need to put their clocks forward..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Will Brexit day become an annual thing where we send each other cards with dodgy rhymes?

Roses are red
    Europe is blue
    You voted out
    and left the EU

He claimed to want friendship while aggressively shouting and waving his little flag..

Odd interpretation of friendship.

Or maybe friendship to him means collecting pension cheques..

You are confusing the members of the parliament with the peoples of the EU. The likes of Guy V (and others in parliment) have attacked and mockee Farage for years...he is entitled to his moment.

As for his pension ? A bizarre point. He did his time there why wouldnt he take his pension? It is his money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,424 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

First, we must wish the UK well. There are plenty of knockers around, but we must salute the courage and vision of the UK in determining its own destiny in such a decisive way. Its easy to go with the flow, and people give out about politicians who do nothing, change nothing, and are only out for themselves. Brexit is a big leap and change. Let's hope it goes well for them.

From the Ireland side. Well, it really has to be seen as a win win. It has the luxury of sitting on the fence and seeing how it goes. If Brexit is a huge success, then opportunity really beckons : at a stroke Ireland could unite the island, and join the newly, truly, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and be part of the new, dynamic, path be chosen by these islands together. While it may look economically bleak for NI, Éire, and the UK at the moment, with certainly some uncertainty and turbulence ahead, there could indeed be a silver lining to this cloud, in the not too distant future.

Good luck to our closest relations across the narrow sea on their courageous adventure!

Can somebody call a doctor? This username needs help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭daheff

Naggdefy wrote: »

Part of me thinks this is a big conspiracy to have UK comeback begging to join & be told they can on condition they adopt the EURO.

Another part tells me the EU are delighted to see the back of Garage & his ilk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Rule britannia
    Britannia rules the waves
    Britons never ever shall be slaves!
    What utter bull$hit. You are slaves to one of the most corrupt "royal" families ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

From the Ireland side. Well, it really has to be seen as a win win. It has the luxury of sitting on the fence and seeing how it goes. If Brexit is a huge success, then opportunity really beckons : at a stroke Ireland could unite the island, and join the newly, truly, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, and be part of the new, dynamic, path be chosen by these islands together.

I think you've had a stroke!

You are confusing the members of the parliament with the peoples of the EU. The likes of Guy V (and others in parliment) have attacked and mockee Farage for years...he is entitled to his moment.

As for his pension ? A bizarre point. He did his time there why wouldnt he take his pension? It is his money.

I'm not a member of Parliament. I saw his antics. I don't find aggressive flag bearing particularly friendly.

It's not a bizarre point. Break all ties with the European Union. Except those that reach his pocket.

Some operator alright.

I'm not a member of Parliament. I saw his antics. I don't find aggressive flag bearing particularly friendly.

It's not a bizarre point. Break all ties with the European Union. Except those that reach his pocket.

Some operator alright.

His pensions is earned. Its his money.

If you found that flag waving agressive...then no point arguing with you.

Enjoy your day.

Some operator alright.

Wait... what? lol

Please explain how waving your nation's flag is inherently unfriendly? :confused:

He wasn't waving a flag with a swastika on it, while holding a banner up declaring "white is might"... :p

He was waving the flag of his nation, while they are on the verge of becoming a more independent country and going out into the big bad world somewhat alone, without the shadow of big brother EU looming over their shoulder... waving their national flag seems wholly appropriate from that perspective!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I'll celebrate when they Brexit out of NI. They don't seem to be too quick to Brexit out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Brits out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Winning_Stroke

Whatever your thoughts on Nigel Farage, he'll definitely go down in the history books. He's had a huge impact on the country, and it must be a good feeling to see something he's campaigned and worked hard for over decades to finally see the finish line ahead.

His pensions is earned. Its his money.

If you found that flag waving agressive...then no point arguing with you.

Enjoy your day.
    Is it earned though? Do you know what his attendance record was?

Ukip and former ukip MEPs rank as the worst for attendance in the entire European parliament.

How many amendments to reports did farage submit in 2019 (zero)

He has taken part in a whopping 20 percent of roll call votes.

Fisheries committee attendance...1 out of 42 meetings

Don't forget he also had his salary docked for miss spending funds.

He will get his big fat pension, along with a 172k payout.

But he earned it really?
    The above are just some examples believe me.

He is a chancer and the British have foolishly bought into his little England persona with the beer drinking and fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

A wet and miserable Friday! Very appropriate!

Rufeo wrote: »
    I'll celebrate when they Brexit out of NI. They don't seem to be too quick to Brexit out of there.
    They would if they could let's be honest.
    NI is a massive financial drain.

gmisk wrote: »
    Is it earned though? Do you know what his attendance record was?

Ukip and former ukip MEPs rank as the worst for attendance in the entire European parliament.

How many amendments to reports did farage submit in 2019 (zero)

He has taken part in a whopping 20 percent of roll call votes.

Fisheries committee attendance...1 out of 42 meetings

Don't forget he also had his salary docked for miss spending funds.

He will get his big fat pension, along with a 172k payout.

But he earned it really?
    The above are just some examples believe me.

He is a chancer and the British have foolishly bought into his little England persona with the beer drinking and fags.

He earned it by being a malcontent to represent all the other angry malcontents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Winning_Stroke

It's very funny seeing Europhiles suddenly get all concerned with big pay outs to the boys in Brussells :D Well just one boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Naggdefy wrote: »

The EU will be gone in 20 years time. Verhofstadt is already at it. Trying to turn it into a federal state with no opt in or out. Do as we say or else.

"To make it into a real Union, a Union without opt-in, without opt-outs, without rebates, without exceptions. Only then we can defend our interests and defend our values."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Even their stupid flag is practically impossible to get rid of... :p

Good luck to the UK... I mean this genuinely. I wish them well as a nation! :)

They made the correct decision to leave, but this does not mean that things will be plain sailing in the near future!

There will be some struggles ahead... but those struggles will be worth it in the longer term. Breaking free from this dictatorship, is the smart move.

But only in the fullness of time, will this become evident to most of the naysayers and doom-mongers!

When the EU collapese, Britain will be well ahead of everyone else regarding trade deals etc.