Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Power : Enhanced Price Query

• 29-01-2020 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭

So was in the Sat morning, offer on screen 11/4 on Santini. Wrote out the docket as normal, 2.25 Chelt Santini, put 11/4 on it. Went up and placed the bet. Obv horse won. Went to collect today and they are saying because I didn't put "EH" on the docket they will only pay SP? :mad:

Any advice, have I any hope of appealing??

Thanks,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭BoldReason

There is usually a time on these. Did you place the bet within the certain time?

You can usually call a bet dispute line and dispute the bet settlement. Or they would also have an email.
    Did you take what they gave you or did you hold onto the bet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

So was in the Sat morning, offer on screen 11/4 on Santini. Wrote out the docket as normal, 2.25 Chelt Santini, put 11/4 on it. Went up and placed the bet. Obv horse won. Went to collect today and they are saying because I didn't put "EH" on the docket they will only pay SP? :mad:

Any advice, have I any hope of appealing??

Thanks,

It would have said on the screen that you got the price from that you have to put "enhanced price" on the slip.

I've been in your position and they wouldn't budge, hopefully you will have better luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

Joke system.
    they must have a log of what the price is at a certain time to reference against ?
    Otherwise any clown can just write inflated odds with EH written on the docket.

Why not just pay the OP out when they see the price at that time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

carq wrote: »
    Joke system.
    they must have a log of what the price is at a certain time to reference against ?
    Otherwise any clown can just write inflated odds with EH written on the docket.

Why not just pay the OP out when they see the price at that time ?

I agree. Despite their jokey ads they are a*sholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Did they "circle" the price on the docket?
    If you ring the helpline number and quote the docket no they will prob play ball as an act of "good faith" once you are not talking huge money are u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭gillamandango

I believe it is in the T&Cs of those 'Special Bets'. My local always insists you write the special name or Enhanced Special when taking those prices..Social Media would be the best option for resolution as anyone else you speak to as representatives will all follow the same script..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Op, if you can prove that was the offer at the time your bet went on they have to pay you at EH.

Did you put the bet on when the price was on the screen?

11/4 sounds aggressive , what bookies and by any chance was there a limited stake of say € 20 ? I say this because the morning price was around 6/4 and 7/4, bookies are not in the business of taking it from behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭billy_beckham

As per thread title it was Paddy Powers bookmakers....They didn't circle the price, young lad that took it said nothing. Yeah price was on screen when I placed bet, offer was on for another while the in-shop audio said.....I stuck €40 on it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Op, if you can prove that was the offer at the time your bet went on they have to pay you at EH.

Bookmakers are not even obliged to pay you when you have a valid winning bet by law, so they definitely don't have to pay you at any enhanced odds.
    Your predicament rests entirely on whether they are willing to show you any goodwill. It's 100% in their hands. Nobody can make them do anything and they don't have to either.

As per thread title it was Paddy Powers bookmakers....They didn't circle the price, young lad that took it said nothing. Yeah price was on screen when I placed bet, offer was on for another while the in-shop audio said.....I stuck €40 on it.....

Those bets are usually a max of 20euro so they wouldnt pay you the full bet at 11/4 anyway. However they should pay you the first 20 at 11/4 anyway. I'd raise the issue with their bet dispute team if you are really pushed. But it's only going to be for 20 quid so I would think it is hardly worth it but up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Two mistakes.
    1) you won
    2) Paddy Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I saw a chap in the Powers in Cornmarket in Cork on Saturday do the same bet. He was waffling on about the fantastic value in the “enchanted prices” that Powers offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

Two mistakes.
    1) you won
    2) Paddy Power

3rd and most important mistake-

Not putting Enhanced Price” on the docket, as stipulated.

Don’t bother challenging it. Rather be more careful in future.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Bookmakers are not even obliged to pay you when you have a valid winning bet by law, so they definitely don't have to pay you at any enhanced odds.
    Your predicament rests entirely on whether they are willing to show you any goodwill. It's 100% in their hands. Nobody can make them do anything and they don't have to either.

They would be obliged under " invitation to treat" contract law.

The most common way they renege on paying out is by blaming the punter. Typically they will try to prove that something illegal is going on and/or they will refer to small print, for example the max GP is usually 500 euro etc. Or if they can prove you are hedging or skimming. But this only happens when it is for thousands.

But they cannot renege on offers , especially on a technicality.

The entire issue sounds strange to me. It sounds like a staff member has made a mistake with the computer when taking the bet and is trying to cover it up. If the bet was only € 40 surely the punter would have been informed at the time? Most of the EH bets are usually for € 20. This is always in the small print when you check the screen.

Op, when did you make the bet, was the offer on screen at the time of the bet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

PP and Enhanced Prices

- need to have Enhanced Price written on the bet
    - given that they are currently making their own show rather than using industry standard, you'd wonder how enhanced these enhanced prices are
    - the fluctuations in prices is pretty rapid in the run up to the off, meaning the enhanced priced written vs actual bet taken can have errors
    - limited to a stake of €100

Would prefer if they got rid

The most common way they renege on paying out is by blaming the punter. Typically they will try to prove that something illegal is going on and/or they will refer to small print, for example the max GP is usually 500 euro etc. Or if they can prove you are hedging or skimming. But this only happens when it is for thousands.

The entire issue sounds strange to me. It sounds like a staff member has made a mistake with the computer when taking the bet and is trying to cover it up. If the bet was only € 40 surely the punter would have been informed at the time? Most of the EH bets are usually for € 20. This is always in the small print when you check the screen.

But apparently it's a term of the offer to write 'enhanced price' on the docket (the small print). He didn't do that, so he hasn't adhered to their terms & conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Anyone know, if a market has a limit payout that says £1 million and I can see in the detailed terms that € will be treated same as £ so limit on this market is €1million.
    Type of bet of a lucky 31 is listed as valid under this market.
    So let’s say what you are betting on is about 10/1, maybe even 15/1. So times 5 selections, and if your luck comes in and all 5 win you are looking at a huge payout eg 500kish or maybe even more depending on the odds.
    Will PP pay out in this situation?? Or will you suddenly find your online account cannot be logged into anymore??

Anyone know, if a market has a limit payout that says £1 million and I can see in the detailed terms that € will be treated same as £ so limit on this market is €1million.
    So let’s say what you are betting on is about 10/1, maybe even 15/1. So times 5 selections, and if your luck comes in and all 5 win you are looking at a huge payout eg 500kish or maybe even more depending on the odds.
    Will PP pay out in this situation?? Or will you suddenly find your online account cannot be logged into anymore??

So will they pay out 500k when the max payout is €/£1m.? Is this a real question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Ah here they're not going to log you out of your account anyway :pac:
    Some of them limits are for show just in case there's a colossal payout I was told by a trader for one of the big bookies.
    I suspect if you were that lucky to get a small stake bet that paid 500k they'd pay it and plaster it all over the place for advertisement.
    But it's not a guarantee apparently some lad that worked in Henderson's had a decent stake lucky 15 for Cheltenham one year, I think it was when Riverside theatre sprinter Sacre bobsworth etc were about and he got paid the max of something like 250 or 500k but should've been 1.4 million or something mental. Think he opened his own yard in the U.S from the winnings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

You have to put EH or enhanced price pr whatevere on the docket (my local calls it Price Boost) says it in the t and c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Disgraceful outfit with their pathetic advertising. How they were not held to account when that Tony 10 clown lost that money I will never understand.
    They knew the clown was stealing it. Enough said.

It is a good question Manure, I often wonder what would happen.

I always do large accums, they never come through though, but I have won a few yankees in my time and never any issue getting paid.

The year Coneygree won the Gold Cup I won a super yankee and won several thousand. My account was suspended for a few hours, but it was a busy day and they paid up every cent.

I would not put anything past them however. My biggest advice to you is if you get 4 out of 5 up hit that "cash out" button fast. 5 winners are massively and extremely rare, they hardly ever happen.

If it did, consult a solicitor and a PR agency. You can be sure the bookie will.

Sometimes I might have 6x 20/1 winners in an accum. The online calculator will say potential returns of 2,467,789.12 etc. But when you check the bet it will say potential returns of 1.3 million. They have limits on what they will pay out.

A few years ago at Sandown the Moores had 4 winners on the Friday and had 3 up on the Saturday, at juicy prices. I had a yankee going on their Saturday winners. I remember Tanya the boobie saying if the moores horse won the last things might " Get Naaaasty ".

They pulled it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Tony 10 clown hahahaha

So will they pay out 500k when the max payout is €/£1m.? Is this a real question?

Yep I know, but there can always be funnies hidden in their terms and conditions that they may use as an excuse to only pay out a fraction of your win, albeit still a large win, eg daily max payouts and other kind of legal mumbo jumbo. Hope I can get to find out one day.
    With this bet and if the odds are even longer the potential can be even more than 1mil, and in this case yes I fully accept they will only pay out the limit of 1mil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭billy_beckham

Allinall wrote: »
    3rd and most important mistake-

Not putting Enhanced Price” on the docket, as stipulated.

Don’t bother challenging it. Rather be more careful in future.

Glad I didn't take your advice! :p

Positive result : Got on to them on twitter, directed me to call Retail Support unit. Spoke to a lady who within 2 minutes told me my bet has been settled at 11/4 and I will be paid upon presentation of docket.

Thanks Paddy....

I always do large accums, they never come through though, but I have won a few yankees in my time and never any issue getting paid.

The year Coneygree won the Gold Cup I won a super yankee and won several thousand. My account was suspended for a few hours, but it was a busy day and they paid up every cent.

I would not put anything past them however. My biggest advice to you is if you get 4 out of 5 up hit that "cash out" button fast. 5 winners are massively and extremely rare, they hardly ever happen.

If it did, consult a solicitor and a PR agency. You can be sure the bookie will.

Sometimes I might have 6x 20/1 winners in an accum. The online calculator will say potential returns of 2,467,789.12 etc. But when you check the bet it will say potential returns of 1.3 million. They have limits on what they will pay out.

A few years ago at Sandown the Moores had 4 winners on the Friday and had 3 up on the Saturday, at juicy prices. I had a yankee going on their Saturday winners. I remember Tanya the boobie saying if the moores horse won the last things might " Get Naaaasty ".

They pulled it up.

You can see the max payout values in the Betting rules, and it can vary from 50k to 1mil depending on the market. I don’t think it is over 1mil for any market. I just wonder if there can be anything hidden deep in their terms that would reduce that. Anyways will continue to assume the limit for this particular bet is 1mil, and continue to lose money on it!! Tho I did have 3/5 one time and got back €600.
    And actually one time I got all 10 premier league results in, €10 accumulator won €9k sweet!! I don’t think mark lawrenson has ever got 10/10 on the bbc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

There was no error. To avail of the offer you have to write it on the docket, simple as that.

Part the reason is, enhanced prices are not guaranteed. So if you take an enhanced price of say, 6/4, on a horse that's normally priced 5/4, and it then drifts out to 13/8, you wont get 13/8 if you wrote 6/4 EH, whereas if you had written the 5/4 as normal you would get the 13/8.

Also, enhanced prices are usually limited to 1 bet per customer and/or a certain amount. So I suppose having it wrote on the docket helps them stop someone do the same bet multiple times to get around the limit.

Be careful with max payouts. The max payout on non graded races is about 250k for Premier handicaps and 100k on races below that level. So regular weekdays are only 100k

Oh I only noticed this thread is in horse racing!! My betting is a different sport, just as popular as the Gigi’s tho. I actually know nothing about horses and don’t even bet on the grand national.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

BoldReason wrote: »
    Be careful with max payouts. The max payout on non graded races is about 250k for Premier handicaps and 100k on races below that level. So regular weekdays are only 100k

There was a local bookie in my area growing up. One day a yankee clicked for a guy and before the fourth horse won the bookie wiped the chalk off the “max payout” sign and knocked £5,000 off the limit. He did it in plain sight of a busy shop on a Saturday afternoon. He closed less than a year later after doing the same thing. Lost all his customers and was despised for the rest of his life, he couldn’t even go for a drink in peace without getting desperate abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

Glad I didn't take your advice! :p

Positive result : Got on to them on twitter, directed me to call Retail Support unit. Spoke to a lady who within 2 minutes told me my bet has been settled at 11/4 and I will be paid upon presentation of docket.

Thanks Paddy....

Fair play.

Not often you get a result off the bookies.

They pulled it up.

Cash out? On PP terms =mug punter

Allinall wrote: »
    Fair play.

Not often you get a result off the bookies.

Had 100E/W on Rightdownthemiddle when trained by Mulvanny at 20/1 on Friday night in Ladbrokes for a race in Fairyhouse next day. Woman put price on docket for me no bother. Horse won at 5/1 I think. Went to collect they offered me SP.
    Got in contact with Hayley o'Connor who worked for them at the time and she sorted payment. Any threat of bad publicity they pay immediately.

You can see the max payout values in the Betting rules, and it can vary from 50k to 1mil depending on the market. I don’t think it is over 1mil for any market. I just wonder if there can be anything hidden deep in their terms that would reduce that. Anyways will continue to assume the limit for this particular bet is 1mil, and continue to lose money on it!! Tho I did have 3/5 one time and got back €600.
    And actually one time I got all 10 premier league results in, €10 accumulator won €9k sweet!! I don’t think mark lawrenson has ever got 10/10 on the bbc.

Be careful doing big accums in Meydan and in the US, the limits are much lower there. A couple of years ago as low as 20k in the states on Breeders Cup night.

I know a lot of punters think yankees are for mugs, I think they are fine and I have won a nice few quid on them over the years. They are also a great way of keeping your powder dry coming up to big festivals. Once February kicks in you would be as well to throw the form book out the window, loads of plots get landed in February, unless you know the owners you won't know if they are trying.

Kauto wrote: »
    Had 100E/W on Rightdownthemiddle when trained by Mulvanny at 20/1 on Friday night in Ladbrokes for a race in Fairyhouse next day. Woman put price on docket for me no bother. Horse won at 5/1 I think. Went to collect they offered me SP.
    Got in contact with Hayley o'Connor who worked for them at the time and she sorted payment. Any threat of bad publicity they pay immediately.

So they allowed you to have a bet with potential winnings of €2.5kish on some low quality Irish race at overnight prices?
    And you're calling others mug punters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

There needs to be more regulation to protect the customer.
    For instance if you put an accumulator where potential winnings is 2.5m , the punters stake should be auto reduced to what the bookies max payout is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

carq wrote: »
    There needs to be more regulation to protect the customer.
    For instance if you put an accumulator where potential winnings is 2.5m , the punters stake should be auto reduced to what the bookies max payout is.

Yes this is exactly what is required and would be so easy to implement online.

So they allowed you to have a bet with potential winnings of €2.5kish on some low quality Irish race at overnight prices?
    And you're calling others mug punters?

In a shop that i had never visited before. I may be a mug but they weren't to know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Disgraceful outfit with their pathetic advertising. How they were not held to account when that Tony 10 clown lost that money I will never understand.
    They knew the clown was stealing it. Enough said.

Yea he’s a clown . **** up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

What worries me more about Tony10 is that the 100% state owned An Post has financial control weaker than a sweet shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Cash out? On PP terms =mug punter

Exactly. Who the **** would cash out on their terms.