Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How times have changed!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'd do it for the craic and free booze, it would be an experience if nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MMXX

Changed for the worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Cheap flights didn't come in until the millenium.

While prices dropped slowly throughout the 90's, it was only around from 2000 onwards that they plummeted and in 1995, I would say that the vast majority of Irish people had never flown, and those that did were typically just people emigrating, in the few jobs that required foreign travel, or where wealthy (many people didn't do foreign holidays, and those that did would get the ferry to GB or France).

While you can easily get a flight to a city in Europe now for €50, back in the 80's, it could have been the equivalent of a grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

After bidding Gay Byrne farewell all of those who had attended The Late Late Show were given a Garda escort from RTÉ to Dublin Airport. There they boarded a midnight flight around Ireland and were treated to a starlight supper.

wouldnt mind it, with a window seat, flying low enough over the countryside, in daylight... altough seeing the streetlights of different towns and villages as you fly over in the middle of the night might be cool aswell, few drinks on board, be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Flying is near as common as getting on the bus these days. There was a bit of prestige around it back then. Air Lingus was a wonderful airline back in the day. Remember they had 747s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

Yeah in 1995 times were different, no divorce just yet If I remember, no internet, few mobile phones, Dublin won the Sam Maguire. Weird stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭KaneToad

ITman88 wrote: »
    Yeah in 1995 times were different, no divorce just yet If I remember, no internet, few mobile phones, Dublin won the Sam Maguire. Weird stuff

There was internet in 1995!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Mary Wilson 1995.
    How.
    You.
    Doing?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

That was the sweet spot right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'd do it for the craic and free booze, it would be an experience if nothing else.
    Exactly! It was free and experience that you wouldn't have had before. It's not as if you could book a flight to just cruise around...
    dotsman wrote: »

While prices dropped slowly throughout the 90's, it was only around from 2000 onwards that they plummeted and in 1995, I would say that the vast majority of Irish people had never flown, and those that did were typically just people emigrating...
    I hadn't flown when that video was recorded in January 1995, but went on my first flight at the age of 22 later that year, Dublin-Frankfurt-Amsterdam-Munich-Dublin with Lufthansa (it was a special deal). I decided to make use of my student discount through USIT before I was no longer a student. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A Garda escort to a late night piss up on a plane? Whats not to like. Back then the punters got ripped on champers and drove themselves home!

One of my favourite memories as a kid was the social club in my Dads job hooking up with the Aer Lingus Young Flyers to take a 747 joyride from Dublin to Cork, via the west coast, a visit to Fota Island reserve and back home on the Jumbo at teatime. Think it was my first time on a plane, at least that i was old enough to remember and it was pure magic

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Larbre34 wrote: »
    A Garda escort to a late night piss up on a plane? Whats not to like. Back then the punters got ripped on champers and drove themselves home!

One of my favourite memories as a kid was the social club in my Dads job hooking up with the Aer Lingus Young Flyers to take a 747 joyride from Dublin to Cork, via the west coast, a visit to Fota Island reserve and back home on the Jumbo at teatime. Think it was my first time on a plane, at least that i was old enough to remember and it was pure magic

That sounds amazing, it must be a great memory.

I'm sure anyone on the LLS flight feels the same, especially as dotmans said flying was prohibitively expensive. I can't imagine getting a Garda escort now, but the novelty of not needing a passport, security etc. would sell it to me. It would be about the journey, not the destination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

ITman88 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

No security checks ???

What by chance so manic who was the in the audience that night decided he would go nuts and crash the plane or have a gun with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

KaneToad wrote: »
    There was internet in 1995!

Yeah, but it was very limited at the time. I don't think it came to our area (read: supported) until 98. And the line was only upgraded for the first time last year, so I went from 56k dial up to 1Gb Fibre overnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Air Lingus was a wonderful airline back in the day.

Not really. People used to emigrate to England by bus because flying was so damn expensive and I'm sure if deregulation didn't happen they'd still be at it.

Ryanair smashed that nonsense into a thousand pieces and now the average person can fly around Europe for a few hours pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Larbre34 wrote: »

AL’s 747s never landed in Cork. Only two 747s have every landed there and one of those was an emergency. Also, it was an incredibly expensive aircraft for AL to run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

368100 wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/archives/2020/0108/1105057-late-late-show-audience-take-flight/

Is says 1995 but looks more like 1985 to me, how many would thank you for a flight around Ireland going nowhere and a bit of crap airline food now!

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

In the mid 80's, I remember taking a scout group on a 747 flight from Dublin to Shannon. It was a day out at the time.

This was in the days of the compulsory Shannon stopover for transatlantic flights.
    You boarded a recently landed US to Dub flight at Dublin airport, full of the transatlantic trash that built up on route (planes were cleaned at Shannon). Then it was just our group and a handfull of Americans that were actually going to Shannon, on the plane for the 20 minute flight down.

It was great to have the freedom to roam around an almost empty 747. The trip back by coach from Shannon for a train connection at Limerick and then home to Dublin, took hours. But the short flight on the 747 was well worth it.

Simpler times indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

While prices dropped slowly throughout the 90's, it was only around from 2000 onwards that they plummeted and in 1995, I would say that the vast majority of Irish people had never flown, and those that did were typically just people emigrating, in the few jobs that required foreign travel, or where wealthy (many people didn't do foreign holidays, and those that did would get the ferry to GB or France).

While you can easily get a flight to a city in Europe now for €50, back in the 80's, it could have been the equivalent of a grand.

Used to do regular day trips to london at that time. As airlines charged extra if your return trip did not include a saturday night we had to book back-to-back flights to make it any way affordable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

The first flight I took was as a 20 year old in the early 80's. I worked for a company that sometimes required me to take flights to London at short notice. The first one I was sent on cost over £300 Irish Punts return. The only way the company could save money was to buy a 'book' of ten return flights at a time, for a slight discount. The tickets had no date on them and could be called in as required within a defined minimum notice period, and IF there was space available on the requested flight. I remember the Irish Sea being described at the time as the worlds most expensive body of water to fly over. It was depressing to think that we were being fleeced by the national airline that we held in such high regard.

If you went out on an early morning flight you were 'obliged' to gulp down a full Irish fried breakfast in the 25 minutes available between the end of the take off climb and the start of the landing descent. Getting the food out and cleared away was a carefully planned crew procedure that swung into operation as soon as the plane levelled off. You could see the time pressure on their faces as they whizzed through the cabin flinging fried breakfasts in all directions.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop