After bidding Gay Byrne farewell all of those who had attended The Late Late Show were given a Garda escort from RTÉ to Dublin Airport. There they boarded a midnight flight around Ireland and were treated to a starlight supper.
ITman88 wrote: » Yeah in 1995 times were different, no divorce just yet If I remember, no internet, few mobile phones, Dublin won the Sam Maguire. Weird stuff
Leg End Reject wrote: » I'd do it for the craic and free booze, it would be an experience if nothing else.
dotsman wrote: » Cheap flights didn't come in until the millenium. While prices dropped slowly throughout the 90's, it was only around from 2000 onwards that they plummeted and in 1995, I would say that the vast majority of Irish people had never flown, and those that did were typically just people emigrating...
Larbre34 wrote: » A Garda escort to a late night piss up on a plane? Whats not to like. Back then the punters got ripped on champers and drove themselves home! One of my favourite memories as a kid was the social club in my Dads job hooking up with the Aer Lingus Young Flyers to take a 747 joyride from Dublin to Cork, via the west coast, a visit to Fota Island reserve and back home on the Jumbo at teatime. Think it was my first time on a plane, at least that i was old enough to remember and it was pure magic
KaneToad wrote: » There was internet in 1995!
ChikiChiki wrote: » Air Lingus was a wonderful airline back in the day.
368100 wrote: » https://www.rte.ie/archives/2020/0108/1105057-late-late-show-audience-take-flight/ Is says 1995 but looks more like 1985 to me, how many would thank you for a flight around Ireland going nowhere and a bit of crap airline food now!
dotsman wrote: » Cheap flights didn't come in until the millenium. While prices dropped slowly throughout the 90's, it was only around from 2000 onwards that they plummeted and in 1995, I would say that the vast majority of Irish people had never flown, and those that did were typically just people emigrating, in the few jobs that required foreign travel, or where wealthy (many people didn't do foreign holidays, and those that did would get the ferry to GB or France). While you can easily get a flight to a city in Europe now for €50, back in the 80's, it could have been the equivalent of a grand.