Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ripping down political posters (not this again)

• 17-01-2020 04:07AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭

The president of a political party's youth wing made a post on twitter openly boasting about tearing down a poster of Leo Varadkar. Now, I'm not a fan of the Taoiseach but tearing down political posters is not right. It legitimises others doing it to your posters. In a democracy, everyone is entitled to their say. Worryingly, this ripping down posters as a form of activism has become a growing trend in recent years.

I won't name the perpetrator without a mod's permission but politicians (and aspiring politicians in their youth wings) are fair game for naming and shaming in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Tear them all down - horribly garish looking things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

It's either tear them all down or leave them all up! But selectively tearing down the posters of the opposing party is not only childish but illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,087 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

coinop wrote: »
    In a democracy, everyone is entitled to their say. Worryingly, this ripping down posters as a form of activism .

Not sure how the posters constitute people having their say, they only ever say the politician's name. On the other hand I can't imagine a less effective form of political protest to dignify with the term activism. And I certainly can't fathom why you'd call it "worrying". I mean, what consequences of this are you worried about? Won't see all the ugly crooks looking to rob you blind on your way to work? Heaven protect us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Boredstiff666

Where does the logical sense of someone come from who thinks that if they blanket an area of the country with pictures of themselves. That this will automatically make the public run to a voting booth and vote for them.

I think it just shows that they regard the public as dim witted morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,576 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Where does the logical sense of someone come from who thinks that if they blanket an area of the country with pictures of themselves. That this will automatically make the public run to a voting booth and vote for them.

I think it just shows that they regard the public as dim witted morons.

I don't know about people covering an area with posters but I know somebody who ran in the local election last year and she didn't use posters or leaflets.
    Later on she regretted it because some of the older people who didn't use social media weren't aware she was evening running in the election.

I don't know about people covering an area with posters but I know somebody who ran in the local election last year and she didn't use posters or leaflets.
    Later on she regretted it because some of the older people who didn't use social media weren't aware she was evening running in the election.

Well that just proves that those people could be dim witted morons who vote for people who they either know, maybe local, related too, like the look of or other silly reasons.

Or it could be that the person who wants to be elected is a dim witted moron who thinks they just put their name forward making silly claims and sit back thinking .........thats it they will vote for me.

If you want to be elected.....go out and meet the people and have sound valid ideas and facts to back them up.

Sticking a pic up of anybody certainly wouldnt convince me to vote for anybody. If it does you...........seriously seek help and quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Galway city.

My money is on that waste of space Joe Loughnane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,152 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Posters shouldn't be allowed. Simple as. I see a number of LAs and tidy towns groups asking candidates not to put posters up. I also see a number of candidates, at least one from Galway city, saying they will not poster. This particular candidate got elected in the local election without any posters.
    People say it gives new candidates a disadvantage as they aren't well known. I'd say if they are not well known they've done very little in the way of public service to that point.
    Not advocating tearing down posters. That's just childish.
    Would question the intelligence and as a result the suitability of the person doing it to be a public representative......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

which youth leader of which party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

kippy wrote:
    Posters shouldn't be allowed. Simple as. I see a number of LAs and tidy towns groups asking candidates not to put posters up. I also see a number of candidates, at least one from Galway city, saying they will not poster. This particular candidate got elected in the local election without any posters. People say it gives new candidates a disadvantage as they aren't well known. I'd say if they are not well known they've done very little in the way of public service to that point. Not advocating tearing down posters. That's just childish. Would question the intelligence and as a result the suitability of the person doing it to be a public representative......

Its probably time to call it a day on these things, we ve moved onto other methods of advertisement now

which youth leader of which party?

I will gladly say if a mod gives me the green light. I should note that the perpetrator is no stranger to controversy and has made headlines before for all the wrong reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Treppen

I will gladly say if a mod gives me the green light. I should note that the perpetrator is no stranger to controversy and has made headlines before for all the wrong reasons.

If it's on a Twitter account just include the name. If it's in the public domain it's in the public domain
    Pics or gtfo
    New account chinny reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

And what would these people who don't use social media do if they did see her posters? They won't be able to see her policies and most just vote for the same party or someone who's comes to their door not someone littering the country.
    Or maybe she just wasn't a good candidate and that's why she got so few votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

So many put up at junctions, crossings and traffic lights and hinder ones view.

Shouldn't be allowed with 100 metres of any of the above.

Most not put up correctly and fall down in the wind and become a danger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

My biggest objection is they just dumped the poster on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Then, she wasn't working hard enough with an important demographic to get herself known. If the older people without social media access were important enough to her, she should have made it her business to be known to them... through actions, not words posted on web platforms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The president of a political party's youth wing made a post on twitter openly boasting about tearing down a poster of Leo Varadkar. Now, I'm not a fan of the Taoiseach but tearing down political posters is not right. It legitimises others doing it to your posters. In a democracy, everyone is entitled to their say. Worryingly, this ripping down posters as a form of activism has become a growing trend in recent years.

I won't name the perpetrator without a mod's permission but politicians (and aspiring politicians in their youth wings) are fair game for naming and shaming in my opinion.

In fairness at least he admitted to it (stupidly). The Shinners in my area were actually putting up Labour posters a week after the by-election in November in an effort to get them fined. Absolutely pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I presume this is the work of young rascal, Joe Loughnane. A very angry man. The best way to teach Joe a lesson would be to cut his social welfare benefits and make him get a job. He can keep the overthrowing of the State and communist stuff for his spare time.

He’s a textbook example of a loser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

There are illegal posters of Varadkar up all over the place. Posters are supposed to display a candidates name and be displayed in their constituency. What FG have done is put up a load of unpaid for ads for their party.

They also put posters up before the election was announced, which was also illegal.

There are illegal posters of Varadkar up all over the place. Posters are supposed to display a candidates name and be displayed in their constituency. What FG have done is put up a load of unpaid for ads for their party.

They also put posters up before the election was announced, which was also illegal.

So if these were defaced which is an illegal act. Can you commit an illegal act on something that isnt legal?

Surely the illegal act would have to be committed on something that is legal for the act to be illegal?

So if these were defaced which is an illegal act. Can you commit an illegal act on something that isnt legal?

Surely the illegal act would have to be committed on something that is legal for the act to be illegal?
    Actually I think I might have been misinformed, after looking up the rules.

Regarding the name, I just found things saying you have to display the name of the printer, not the candidate.

Regarding the time, it looks like the rule is "from the date of the election announcement". So putting up posters in the morning before a lunchtime announcement cement is not following the spirit of the law but is following the letter of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Timfy

Anyone who takes political advice from a lamppost shouldn't be allowed to vote in the first place!

No trees were harmed in the posting of this message, however a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Timfy wrote: »
    Anyone who takes political advice from a lamppost shouldn't be allowed to vote in the first place!
    Surprisingly some people barely know who's on the ballot, even on the day. If you have an issue with it get onto those who make the laws rather then presuming your method of candidate selection has any level of superior intelligence.

Posters are a terrible idea. Just a waste of time and resources and there is always litter. But apparently they affect the votes so they will continue to be used unless regulations curtail them.

There are lots of ways of informing people of who is on the ballot. A billboard with equal space for every candidate would be one approach. Publication on a website. Announcement on radio and TV... The current system favours the candidates with the most resources.

Well that just proves that those people could be dim witted morons who vote for people who they either know, maybe local, related too, like the look of or other silly reasons.

Or it could be that the person who wants to be elected is a dim witted moron who thinks they just put their name forward making silly claims and sit back thinking .........thats it they will vote for me.

If you want to be elected.....go out and meet the people and have sound valid ideas and facts to back them up.

Sticking a pic up of anybody certainly wouldnt convince me to vote for anybody. If it does you...........seriously seek help and quick.
    I think it just proves you have a fixed opinion that is not for changing. Leave people to their own choices. You could of course be more constructive and point out the offence of them to common intelligence to prospective candidates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Yer man Dick Roche.

I remember his posters around Bray.
    Some one got creative and neatly penned in Cock above his name.
    His eyes were cut out of some of the posters so it gave him a strange menacing look.

Granted, it was still minor vandalism but at least the perp put a bit of effort into climbing up and down a ladder etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Posters are a terrible idea. Just a waste of time and resources and there is always litter. But apparently they affect the votes so they will continue to be used unless regulations curtail them.

There are lots of ways of informing people of who is on the ballot. A billboard with equal space for every candidate would be one approach. Publication on a website. Announcement on radio and TV... The current system favours the candidates with the most resources.

Thats an oxymoron

Not really; my point is that rules should be changed. I was acknowledging that they would continue to be used unless rules are changed.

is_that_so wrote: »
    I think it just proves you have a fixed opinion that is not for changing. Leave people to their own choices. You could of course be more constructive and point out the offence of them to common intelligence to prospective candidates

Actually you have no idea of my opinions and I am all for people to make up their own minds regardless of those on Boards who think they are next to god themselves.

As for becoming someones instructor in anyway..........show me the money first and I will consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Actually you have no idea of my opinions and I am all for people to make up their own minds regardless of those on Boards who think they are next to god themselves.

I'm better than god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,058 ✭✭✭conorhal

Ger Roe wrote: »
    [/B]

Then, she wasn't working hard enough with an important demographic to get herself known. If the older people without social media access were important enough to her, she should have made it her business to be known to them... through actions, not words posted on web platforms.

So she should have ....put up some posters!

I find the same old arguments about posters tiresome.

They're about creating brand association and recognition in the voter, just like every other ad you see on a bus shelter or hoarding.
    Are people so stupid as to argue that's ineffective and pointless? If it didn't work, advertisers wouldn't spend millions every year doing it.

As to how 'messy' it all is. Well that's democracy. Suck it up.
    I think the reaction to election posters is merely an extension of the standard (I might even say deserved) reaction to politicians in general, people look up and see their gurning faces and think to themselves, 'oh would they ever just f!"$* off'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Winning_Stroke

I'd a lot of respect for Sean Gallagher in 2011 being the only candidate not to use posters. Didn't do him any harm and were it not for RTE stitching him up, he's have won.

That being said, tearing down posters is a scumbag thing to do. I'll put my house on the perpetrator being a) a regular at the ol' Palestine solidarity committee meetings b) having numerous photos of themselves carrying the hammer and sickle flag over the years c) been in college for at least a decade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Why are we not naming the f*ckers who did this? A lot of us would like to know so we can make sure to give their organisation a wide berth on our ballot papers.

The culprit was not self-confessed drug dealer Joe Loughnane of People Before Profit. It was actually young brat Róisín Nic Lochlainn of Ógra Shinn Féin in NUIG who made headlines when she threw a milkshake over Justin Barrett in Eyre Square late last year. She posted this on her twitter at around 2:30am last night.

Pkryjmh.jpg

However, the post was only up for about 20 minutes before she deleted it - a clear admission of guilt. She knew it was wrong. Luckily I got a screen shot. She then retweeted this subtle message of guilt (which has not been deleted - yet!)

m25gEey.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Wow SF are really outdoing themselves with their stupidity in this election so far. Long may it continue. If these are the members of their party.. oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,322 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The culprit was not self-confessed drug dealer Joe Loughnane of People Before Profit. It was actually young brat Róisín Nic Lochlainn of Ógra Shinn Féin in NUIG who made headlines when she threw a milkshake over Justin Barrett in Eyre Square late last year. She posted this on her twitter at around 2:30am last night.

Pkryjmh.jpg

However, the post was only up for about 20 minutes before she deleted it - a clear admission of guilt. She knew it was wrong. Luckily I got a screen shot. She then retweeted this subtle message of guilt (which has not been deleted - yet!)

m25gEey.jpg

Policing Twitter at 3am to catch dangerous criminals like this.

Good man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I'm always a bit torn when it comes to vandalising political posters. On one hand it's a comment on the political system that maybe the public should be free to make, on the other it's an easy way to strong arm some political parties/politicians. I think it comes down to how it's done. I saw one in Cork yesterday with 'LIAR' written in the corner of a Simon Coveney poster. I think that's alright; somebody's given their view without overwriting Coveney's message. As much as I don't like seeing the election posters around I wouldn't agree with ripping down the posters of any any candidates you don't like, and/or covering up what they've printed on the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I’d actually help put these ones up

thumbnail_Niall20McConnell2011.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

So it was a Shinner woman.

I suppose a couple of generations ago the likes of her would be in a nightclub trying to lure some innocent protestant to a violent death.

That's progress.

Iv only ever saw this once.

It was during the abortion referendum some student young fella ripping down no posters and throwing them into a busy road junction in the middle of town. In the middle of the day. Then going off on his bike back into the college.

Political statement me hoop. Go and litter your own home town ya little sh*te.

Iv only ever saw this once.

It was during the abortion referendum some student young fella ripping down no posters and throwing them into a busy road junction in the middle of town. In the middle of the day. Then going off on his bike back into the college.

Political statement me hoop. Go and litter your own home town ya little sh*te.
    It's all pretty juvenile. There was a shot of a purple haired individual doing it to anti-repeal posters in Dublin. There might even have been a video of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Bobblehats wrote: »

He will need all the votes he can get to get to 1%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Wow SF are really outdoing themselves with their stupidity in this election so far. Long may it continue. If these are the members of their party.. oh dear.
    Just be glad its tearing down posters is all they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,087 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

He sounds like he needs help alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'm always a bit torn when it comes to vandalising political posters. On one hand it's a comment on the political system that maybe the public should be free to make, on the other it's an easy way to strong arm some political parties/politicians. I think it comes down to how it's done. I saw one in Cork yesterday with 'LIAR' written in the corner of a Simon Coveney poster. I think that's alright; somebody's given their view without overwriting Coveney's message. As much as I don't like seeing the election posters around I wouldn't agree with ripping down the posters of any any candidates you don't like, and/or covering up what they've printed on the poster.

I've nothing against defacing them with graffiti to an extent, that's making a statement of opposition like you've pointed out, but destroying or removing them altogether is essentially censorship, and f*ck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 BlastaBorgaire

Do you have any proof that this person done it? Aside from the fact they took a photo of it lying on the ground? If not you could be in breach of some nasty defamation laws! Careful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

This is a WUM, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Winning_Stroke

Do you have any proof that this person done it? Aside from the fact they took a photo of it lying on the ground? If not you could be in breach of some nasty defamation laws! Careful!

Hi Roisin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭AlanG

Anyone who thinks posters don't work is a closer fit to your offensive post. There are a lot less people engaged regularly on social media than most heavy social media users think and it is extremely difficult to reach a new audience on social media as users are selective in who they engage with.
    The reason there are so many posters around is because they are proven time and again to work very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭branie2

They're eyesores