Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another ridiculous personal injury claim rejected by judge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

tuxy wrote: »
    https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/woman-who-suffered-minor-in-the-extreme-injuries-after-pub-fall-loses-60k-claim-975189.html

How she could claim her jostle stones are invisible is beyond me!

This is even better. Quote from her facebook

having an AMAZING time😠teaching my son what is achievable when you work your butt off... SINGLE MOM DUTIES ��ðŸ™ðŸ˜�� @ FIVE Palm Jumeirah Dubai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Yowzers! I'd say the photo will overshadow discussion of the case.

She looks amazing in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Yowzers! I'd say the photo will overshadow discussion of the case.

She looks amazing in fairness.

It's one photo at that high selfie angle with sunglasses on.
    Her other photos are far from flattering. Especially the duck face ones!
    But perhaps I'm judging her on the type of person she is, one that can't take more than a few steps without taking a selfie rather than her looks.

I hope Emirates are looking for "passenger service agents". Ryanair wage won't pay those legal expenses.

Ah now, the other photos are hardly unflattering - and in the photo above, it's hardly just the angle and sunglasses that make her look good. But yeah there are strange moments chosen for bikini shots all right!

So this stone she fell over, has been there 100s of years and she tried to sue the pub and council?

It's great the judge threw it out and she has to pay the costs. Any idea what they may be?

I hope Emirates are looking for "passenger service agents". Ryanair wage won't pay those legal expenses.
    One of the photos is of Emirates!

So this stone she fell over, has been there 100s of years and she tried to sue the pub and council?

It's great the judge threw it out and she has to pay the costs. Any idea what they may be?

Yes it's protected so illegal for the pub to remove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

stone obviously didnt like her and hid to trip her up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,947 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I want to know what were the four drinks she and her friends had (the friends that managed to circumnavigate said stone)
    Thank god the judge threw it out and awarded all costs against her but we all know she won't pay a penny

stone obviously didnt like her and hid to trip her up

Maybe she should have sued the stone? This is after hours....

fritzelly wrote: »
    I want to know what were the four drinks she and her friends had (the friends that managed to circumnavigate said stone)
    Thank god the judge threw it out and awarded all costs against her but we all know she won't pay a penny
    Hopefully the pub at least will go after her. Why should they be left out of pocket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Maybe she should have sued the stone? This is after hours....
    Stone should have sued her for kicking him! He was just standing there where he has lived for hundreds of years! This drunk one flung herself over him! He hasn't been the same since! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Self entitled <<snip>>. How did she think she would win that case even. Dope

Hopefully the pub at least will go after her. Why should they be left out of pocket?

The pub seems to know about stones so will know you can't get blood from one.
    Unless she is wealthy they won't be getting much from her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Beeping Kitchen Appliances

Maybe she should have sued the stone?

She still can. Never give up. Leave no stone unturned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,947 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I really really hope so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Delighted SOME judges are willing to call people out on this type of BS !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just to play devils advocate on this; are historical/listed items exempt from the law?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

tuxy wrote: »
    Yes it's protected so illegal for the pub to remove it.

Saw this story alright and the photo of the stone.

Only thing I could thing of that could be done is some form of protective guard around it. But if you get drunk and aren't watching where you are going it's your own fault. There's kerbs and cobblestones all over Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

The first question her solicitor should have asked her was "Are you serious?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Ah the face of compo ireland. Here's hoping a hefty legal bill is coming her way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,010 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

You love to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Rob Keogh certainly seems to like that picture anyway....

Im sure he didn't imagine that his comment would be posted onto boards in the future ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

Because theres been plenty who have tried and been successful in the past.

Well done to the judge, why cant this happen more often (cases being thrown out with costs being paid by the scammer).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I'd say she was just unlucky in the Judge she got.

Jacqueline Linnane is a no nonsense type who won't do any special favours for attractive young women.

In contrast most of the old men on the bench would be falling over themselves to help out a damsel in distress like this. Probably worth rolling the dice on appeal.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If only medical science could find the genes for some people's hard necks and apply that to the whole body, there would never be major injuries again.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,586 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Fair play to the judge, the insurance should allow them to cast judgement on more cases on not be so quick to settle on the steps of the court house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

This is the equivalent of catching a great wave in surfing and getting tombstoned.

Poor girl probably was riding the ultimate wave, hit a lumpy spot and wipe out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

What were her ‘injuries’? As my dad would say ‘she’ll never fall on her face anyway’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,261 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

If she has enough money to drink in temple bar, she doesn’t need any more !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

O’Hanrahan Solicitors

Remember the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

gimli2112 wrote: »
    The first question her solicitor should have asked her was "Are you serious?"

That's the problem, the legal profession are quite happy to take on these ridiculous cases.

And of course the Law Society defend this claiming they don't accept bogus cases (they obviously have a different definition) and try deflect by blaming the insurance companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭dmc17

Probably didn't, but based on precedent probably realised that in Ireland you can take a free go with a half assed case and still have a good chance of getting a nice windfall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,010 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

What were her ‘injuries’? As my dad would say ‘she’ll never fall on her face anyway’.
    "Minor in the extreme" as per the story...she was chancing her not really badly bruised arm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

CucaFace wrote: »
    Rob Keogh certainly seems to like that picture anyway....

Im sure he didn't imagine that his comment would be posted onto boards in the future ha ha.

Has long-tonged Rob got any €€€? Maybe a harassment case against him is the way out of this mess for her.

topper75 wrote: »
    Has long-tonged Rob got any €€€? Maybe a harassment case against him is the way out of this mess for her.

Don't encourage her please :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Don't encourage her please :pac::pac:

Hi Rob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

she is a 6 out of 10 at best. not sure why she keeps posting pictures of herself in bikinis. delighted she lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Good shtuff, keep them coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

pgj2015 wrote: »
    she is a 6 out of 10 at best. not sure why she keeps posting pictures of herself in bikinis. delighted she lost.

Deep insecurity and sticking it to the man after allowing herself to get knocked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

69 likes on that photo. hehe

seriously, after hours used to pick up on these things within 5 posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Great to see a judge have a bit of cop on and not award her a cent.

Those jostle stones arent exactly invisible. She might look where she's going in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

yabadabado wrote: »
    Great to see a judge have a bit of cop on and not award her a cent.

Those jostle stones arent exactly invisible. She might look where she's going in future.

And crucially, she has to pay costs. That’s the important part. That will serve as the real deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

Getting personal injury claim adverts while scrolling down this post on my phone - good old Google ads at work.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Sure she is. :D

(Oh those kinds of comments from internet studs are gas).

She was a sneaky, self entitled opportunist and thankfully it backfired. She does take bikini selfies with bizarre reason. But that doesn't change that she has an awesome figure and is far from plain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Her facebook profile is hilarious, just one selfie after another with her tits out.

I was checking for research purposes only ........ for an article I'm doing :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

She's going to be a mogel and marry a foot baller.

Mark my words she's going to be a mogel, they're all on tinder too mogels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

If she can afford to pay for holidays to Jumierah, she can afford to pay Kehoe's legal costs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Sure she is. :D

(Oh those kinds of comments from internet studs are gas).

She was a sneaky, self entitled opportunist and thankfully it backfired. She does take bikini selfies with bizarre reason. But that doesn't change that she has an awesome figure and is far from plain.

had another look there at the twitter pictures. her body is actually ok, well in 2015 it was anyway but her face isnt great in fairness.