Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meghan & Harry: WE QUIT

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

wyrn wrote: »
    Why do you care, I wonder to bother posting here. Do you know what Boards is?

I rest my case.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Carry wrote: »
    I rest my case.

So edgy. I wish my interests were as superior and intellectual as yours must be.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭wyrn

Carry wrote: »
    I rest my case.
    Boards is a discussion board to talk about all sorts - serious and frivolous. I actually don’t care about the royals at all. I’m interested in the inner workings of the press and how articles can be written out of the barest scrap to give a biased viewpoint to influence the public.

I find the whole psychological aspect fascinating which is why I’m taking part in this discussion and not in the threads on the soccer forum where I have no interest. You don’t see me barging in there, lording it over them that I find their subject inane.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

What an absolute embarrassment Thomas Markle is. Quote from him in the papers today—

“At this point, they owe me. The royals owe me. Harry owes me, Meghan owes me. What I've been through I should be rewarded for. My daughter told me that when I reach my senior years she'll take care of me. I'm in my senior years now – it's time to look after Daddy”

She is nothing but a cash cow to him. Absolute buffoon. While I do think he probably should have had the opportunity to meet Harry before the wedding and he should have been better protected, it’s quite telling of his character that this is how he decides to handle things in the aftermath. He deserves nothing more than to be cut loose.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

All this pr1ck had to do if he wanted a relationship with his daughter and grandson was not talk to the press.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

cnocbui wrote: »
    Sorry, that went over my head (atheist). Is that some reference to a religious ritual based on cannibalism?

It's a quote from Fr. Ted.

First they came for the socialists...

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

KiKi III wrote: »
    All this pr1ck had to do if he wanted a relationship with his daughter and grandson was not talk to the press.

It's fairly simple, isn't it? His ex-wife has done an exemplary job at it so he doesn't really have the excuse that he struggled with being thrust into the limelight. All he ever had to say was "no comment" and before long the press would get the message.

He wanted to cash in on his daughters new status, regardless of how that might ruin her relationship, or affect her settling in to her in-laws family. His wording that he's 'owed' now is laughable.

Neyite wrote: »
    It's fairly simple, isn't it? His ex-wife has done an exemplary job at it so he doesn't really have the excuse that he struggled with being thrust into the limelight. All he ever had to say was "no comment" and before long the press would get the message.

He wanted to cash in on his daughters new status, regardless of how that might ruin her relationship, or affect her settling in to her in-laws family. His wording that he's 'owed' now is laughable.

At this stage I’m just here for the pure soap opera of it all- the more extraordinary their behaviour, the less and less like people these appear to me and more like characters in a very bad TV show.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

wyrn wrote: »
    I think this thread sums up the pattern of press on Meghan - over analysing nonsense to microscopic degrees.

We have 1 poster who obsesses over an open or closed coat on a pregnant woman and what it means. Now we have another who is obsessing over gifting and promoting avocados. I'd understand the hate if she kicked a puppy or hung out with murderers but this level of scrutiny is ridiculous.

I really don't care if she has avocado baths and sprays her garden with composted avocados by low-flying airplane. She's not under a ridiculous level of scrutiny about this here, the goons at Buzzfeed are. They are the ones pretending the headlines are about the same circumstances. When this was pointed out, the goalposts started shifting.

MoonUnit75 wrote: »
    I really don't care if she has avocado baths and sprays her garden with composted avocados by low-flying airplane. She's not under a ridiculous level of scrutiny about this here, the goons at Buzzfeed are. They are the ones pretending the headlines are about the same circumstances. When this was pointed out, the goalposts started shifting.

They're not the exact same stories but they're around similar enough themes that the comparisons are valid.

No, apparently they’re different because Kate was gifted one, but Meghan promoted them (by serving them at a dinner party one time) and therefore she was promoting murder, droughts, and human rights abuses.
    Or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

Clearly her father is not well mentally. Charity begins at home so when Markle and Harry front mental health charities the hypocrisy will be palpable.

One got them as a gift and the other serves them to guests and puts them in her cookbook, and because the word avocado appears in both the comparisons are valid. That’s what you are going with?

SusieBlue wrote: »
    No, apparently they’re different because Kate was gifted one, but Meghan promoted them (by serving them at a dinner party one time) and therefore she was promoting murder, droughts, and human rights abuses.
    Or something.

They are in her cookbook, lots of restuarants have stopped offering them and articles have appeared in the woke bible ‘The Guardian’ and lots of other media. We’ve been over this. Pointing out the lack of basic comprehension is apparently ‘obsessing’ about it so I’ll leave it there.

valoren wrote: »
    Clearly her father is not well. Charity begins at home so when Markle and Harry front mental health charities the hypocrisy will be palpable.

Yeah he doesn’t seem well and apparently appealed to the royal family to do something about the attention well before he took money for photographs. They then issued a statement asking for him to be left alone.

Meghan and Harry now want to work with hand-picked media who will write more favourably about their new lives as ambassadors of their own brand. Sounds very like what Mr. Markle tried to do with the photos of him preparing for the wedding.

They are in her cookbook, lots of restuarants have stopped offering them and articles have appeared in the woke bible ‘The Guardian’ and lots of other media. We’ve been over this. Pointing out the lack of basic comprehension is apparently ‘obsessing’ about it so I’ll leave it there.

You’re tying yourself up in knots trying to justify it.
    You would want to be the most over sensitive special snowflake on earth to blame someone for drought, human rights abuses and murder for serving avocado at a party (one time) and featuring them in one recipe in a cookbook.

I don’t care what the ‘woke media’ think, I’m more interested in what YOU think, and the fact that you keep repeating these hyperbolic soundbites and offering them up as if they are the most obvious explanations for all this vitriol is mind blowing.

Those are not normal, reasonable conclusions to come to for anyone and if you personally think it’s acceptable to rip someone to shreds for something so innocent and trivial then you need to give your head a wobble.
    I hope you hold yourself to the same impossibly high standards.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    You’re tying yourself up in knots trying to justify it.
    You would want to be the most over sensitive special snowflake on earth to blame someone for drought, human rights abuses and murder for serving avocado at a party (one time) and featuring them in one recipe in a cookbook.

I don’t care what the ‘woke media’ think, I’m more interested in what YOU think, and the fact that you keep repeating these hyperbolic soundbites and offering them up as if they are the most obvious explanations for all this vitriol is mind blowing.

Those are not normal, reasonable conclusions to come to for anyone and if you personally think it’s acceptable to rip someone to shreds for something so innocent and trivial then you need to give your head a wobble.
    I hope you hold yourself to the same impossibly high standards.

I think you are reading stuff into the headline that simply isn’t there.

What it actually said is “How Meghan's favourite avocado snack - beloved of all millennials - is fuelling human rights abuses, drought and murder”

What you say it says is “Meaghan is causing human rights abuses, drought and murder by eating avocado.”

The actual headline does not claim she is aware of this link and is doing it anyway, the second one does. They are not blaming her at all, in fact if anything they are spreading any hint of blame to all millenials.

I really can’t make it any clearer without breaking it down into syllables. I suspect I would have to for the half-literates who are likely filing articles to Buzzfeed for free.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,876 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Soap opera that didn't peak in time for Brexit Day Friday week though. Timing was off a bit there.

What it actually said is “How Meghan's favourite avocado snack - beloved of all millennials - is fuelling human rights abuses, drought and murder”

What you say it says is “Meaghan is causing human rights abuses, drought and murder by eating avocado.”

The actual headline does not claim she is aware of this link and is doing it anyway, the second one does. They are not blaming her at all, in fact if anything they are spreading any hint of blame to all millenials.

I really can’t make it any clearer without breaking it down into syllables. I suspect I would have to for the half-literates who are likely filing articles to Buzzfeed for free.

The headlines conflate the issues, which I’m sure you can see for yourself. It’s suggestive to the average reader.

And as I said before, I don’t care about what the millennials and wokesters think.
    I just find it interesting that you don’t come across as either of those things, you don’t seem like one of the perpetually offended types, yet you are suggesting that these are reasonable, justified conclusions for a newspaper to to come to and publish. That just doesn’t many any sense.
    Something isn’t adding up, it’s almost like maybe.. You just don’t like her.

But why mention Meghan at all? Why not just say “why the fruit favoured by all millennials is fuelling human rights abuses bla bla bla”

They knew exactly what they were doing by conflating her with the purchase of avocados and murder/abuse/drugs and by doing so they whipped up the masses into hysterical outrage and fuelled the hatred. Pathetic stuff and the definition of grasping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Clearly her father is not well. Charity begins at home so when Markle and Harry front mental health charities the hypocrisy will be palpable.

I think it's more than fair to say Meghan and Harry aren't doing well with their mental health either. Why you think her father's got mental health issues, maybe he's just an ass who doesn't know how to quit when he's behind?

Why? He has proved himself to be nothing more than an absolutely toxic and vile individual. There has been more than enough efforts to get him to cop on and he has ignored every single one. He seems pretty sound of mind to me, he’s just a trashy idiot. The irony of him waffling about Meghan “cheapening” the monarchy as he sits slating her in his soiled vest being about as cheap and low as a father could be. Cretin.

But why mention Meghan at all? Why just say “why the fruit favoured by all millennials is fuelling human rights abuses bla bla bla”

They knew exactly what they were doing by conflating her with the purchase of avocados and by doing so they whipped up the masses into hysterical outrage and fuelled the hatred. Pathetic stuff and the definition of grasping.

It followed a story online from an old showbusiness friend of Meghan, she served him avocado on toast in some palace or other and her (apparently very tasty) avocado toast went viral. Just google ‘meghan, the avocado toast whisperer’. There were countless gushing articles in Elle, Cosmopolitan, BravoTV, People.com, Foodnetwork etc. The Daily Mail were doing the woke crowd’s job for them by pointing out the avocado frenzy causes very serious social and enviornmental issues.

Edited to add that there’s no evidence of the article ‘wipping up the masses in hysterical outrage’. I really think this is crazy talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I really don't care if she has avocado baths ....

Avocado-Coloured-Bathroom-Suites.jpg

I think the masses must have kicked her avocado bath in hysterical outrage, there’s no other explanation for that big crack in the side panel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

It's true that avocados cause horrendous social and economic problems. It's true that Meghan serves them to guests and promotes them in her cookbook. It's true that she presents herself as being outspoken on social and environmental issues. So no, I don't think it's unreasonable to point out the dissonance here.

It's not that different to all the recent press stories about how people who take a line of cocaine on the weekend don't like to think how they are contributing to the massive social problems it is causing.

I think its fair to say you got whipped up into hysterical outrage about the avocado's, and I could have used a few more quotes of yours to highlight that point.

They didn't have to say anything at all about her eating avocado and conflating it with the issues associated with them. That's the point. Pretty sure most of us, including famous people, eat avocados and I don't see anyone else being held up for it in the tabloids. Ridiculous point #2: millennials aren't the only age group to eat them. Dumb point + dumb point x discussing it on boards = height of stupidity

Stateofyou wrote: »
    I think its fair to say you got whipped up into hysterical outrage about the avocado's, and I could have used a few more quotes of yours to highlight that point.

They didn't have to say anything at all about her eating avocado and conflating it with the issues associated with them. That's the point. Pretty sure most of us, including famous people, eat avocados and I don't see anyone else being held up for it in the tabloids. Ridiculous point #2: millennials aren't the only age group to eat them. Dumb point + dumb point x discussing it on boards = height of stupidity

I was going to reply properly but your post is too goofy. See previous post #1224

One got them as a gift and the other serves them to guests and puts them in her cookbook, and because the word avocado appears in both the comparisons are valid. That’s what you are going with?

You’re choosing to hone in on one specific example, I was speaking about the entire article which compares articles about holding their baby bumps, hands in pockets etc that are perhaps more directly comparable.

On the avocado one, it’s still utterly ridiculous that a paper would even have that as a headline - an extremely loose connection there.

Ah lads, wallpaper in a bathroom?

And what, no toilet roll covers? :P

Stateofyou wrote: »
    I think its fair to say you got whipped up into hysterical outrage about the avocado's

I don't think that is fair in any sane world. You are grossly exaggerating someone's viewpoint, and it is disingenuous and deliberately trying to discredit their opinion.