Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Larry gogan RIP (mod note #1)

• 07-01-2020 8:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭

Another giant gone :(

MOD

Can everyone have a bit of respect in the thread. This is no place for gutter comments. Sanctions will be at mod discretion.

We do not want this to go the same way as the Marion Finnucane one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

RIP, an absolute gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

who?

Unnecessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,062 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

An RTE DJ legend. Seemed to be always on the air. RIP

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Very sad
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭GolfNut33

RTE are having a rough time of late. Gaybo, Marian and now Larry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Jaysus.
    RIP

Just a minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

Larry rip a big thanks for the just a minute quiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ffs that's sad news to wake up to

Just a minute quiz was epic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Has anyone checked in on Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

who?

Shove your finger back up your hole there will ya...

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

I’m gutted. Larry Gogan was the ultimate gentleman. May his gentle soul rest in peace.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

Sad news to wake up to. May he rest in peace.

Q. What is the capital of France?

A. F

RIP Larry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Larry: Name something a blind man might use...

Contestant: A Sword

Larry: Name the capital of France...

Contestant: F

Larry: Name a bird with a long neck...

Contestant: Naomi Campbell

Larry: Name an occupation where you might need a torch...

Contestant: A burglar

Larry: Name something that flies that doesn't have an engine...

Contestant: A bicycle with wings

Larry: Where is the Taj Mahal?

Contestant: Opposite the Dental Hospital

Larry: What was Hitlers first name?

Contestant: Heil

Larry: Complete the saying "As happy as...

Contestant: Emmm...

Larry: Think of me...

Contestant: A pig in sh*t

Larry: Can you name a dangerous race?

The Arabs

Larry: The name of a famous bridge....

The Bridge Over Troubled Waters

Larry: Something people might be allergic to?

Skiing

Larry: What star do travellers follow?

Joe Dolan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Never cared much for Gay or Mazza but this guy seemed like a real gent. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Sad to hear. Like many others, grew up with him being on the radio. Always liked his voice/style: very old skool daytime radio DJ, like DJs like John Creedon these days.

Bob Harris wrote: »

The Arabs

Skiing

Joe Dolan

And he always added, 'Ah, they didn't suit you.'

Think he found the loss of his wife very hard.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

A very inoffensive gentleman, seems like he was on the airwaves my whole life probably because he was.

Rip Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

mean gene wrote: »
    Larry rip great tunes and the quiz .2fm is complete sh1t now as is Irish radio with women doing all the shows.irish radio rip

Good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

who?

They didn't suit you...

RIP Larry

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    RIP, an absolute gentleman.

Ah, he was only an aul bollix

He wasn't really, i just remember someone saying that too him after getting a heap of questions wrong on the just a minute quizz:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

The Arabs

Skiing

Joe Dolan

Gave ya a thumbs up for the Joe Dolan one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Larbre34 wrote: »
    If I were Mary Kennedy I'd watch myself in those dance studios.

Good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Also a relatively open minded DJ musically. Especially in his earlier career. You just got the feeling he loved music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

RIP Larry.
    who?

Google?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Sad to hear. Grew up watching his "Golden Hour" on tv as a kid. Parents taped an episode of it too so it got ingrained in my memory.

RIP. Didn't he quietly get taken off the radio a week ago as well? Guess they knew he was sick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

mean gene wrote: »
    Gave ya a thumbs up for the Joe Dolan one

I've read those many times over the years and they never fail to give me a laugh although even Larry himself says that some of them never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Larry helped launch manys the Irish band. He'll be sadly missed by a broad spectrum of people now that he's passed. Condolences to his family. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Wasn’t that the name of the dog in a Roddy Doyle book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

He did a the voiceovers for Special-K tv adverts for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Ronan Collins breaking down on Tubridy show.
    They were great friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,642 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The anwer is even funnier because it is correct. at the time there was an indian restaurant called the Taj Mahal opposite the dental hospital in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,642 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    They were great friends

Marty Whelan sounded very upset when he announced it this morning.

RIP Larry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

I remember first hearing Larry play Born Slippy on his Golden Hour, christ did that make me feel old.

The just a minute quiz was always great to listen to, particularly when some eejit was on and Larry would say "They didn't suit you" but we knew what he really meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

RIP

"What's the 13th letter of the alphabet?"
    "emmmmm"
    "That's right".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Lovely man who had a brilliant career keeping us all happy playing great music. His voice was so familiar and friendly and his shows were always a pleasure to listen to. I remember when I was a teenager he had a show on tv on Sunday mornings and I always got up to watch it and video tape all the songs. Thank you for the music and memories Mr Gogan. May the light of heaven shine on him and may he Rest In Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Larry Gogan came across as a very nice person. RIP.

My mother who is also dead, would say that death comes in 3s so that is 3 big names at RTE in a relatively short period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

R.I.P and he managed to stay on at what he loved to the end.

Definitely more talented then most left at the station....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

Has anyone checked in on Joe?

From the Irish Times :

RTÉ broadcaster Joe Duffy said he visited Gogan 10 days ago and that he was in “his usual great form with his beautiful family”.

“His beautiful honeyed voice, the quick wit and deep intelligence shone through,” Mr Duffy added.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Rest in Peace Larry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    They were great friends

While Gogan was the eldest of his radio legend cohort everyone else must be suddenly feeling thier age. Brendan Balfe just talking to Pat Kenny. So many household voices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

The Golden Hour was the highlight of my radio listening during my days working in a factory 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,213 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You would know the size of his contribution to Irish music by the affection in which he was held by musicians themselves. He was just a friendly, genuinely humble and nice man who loved all music.

RIP Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

RIP Larry.

One of the good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

RIP Larry, another national institution leaves us. Great DJ in his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭laguacamaya

"What star do travellers traditionally follow? "
    "Eh...........Joe Dolan? "

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭tickingclock

Definitely one of the best like Tony Fenton. The just a minute quiz and the golden hour. May he rest in peace after his long life

Were the questions actually real, the ones people are posting here? I know the pig in **** one was a brendan grace skit and some of the others just seem implausible.

The late late show certainly have their work cut out for them these days