Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who can’t follow plots and storylines

• 05-01-2020 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭

What is the matter with these people? They watch 8 seasons of a series and then in the final season they’re asking “which one is he again?”

Btw, I’m not even slightly suggesting that one gender is more guilt of this than the other...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Serious answer, we share this planet with a lot of dim people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Nearly 50% of people have below average intelligence

Because most TV shows are rubbish and do not warrant attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Miss Elizabeth

Yes. My friend and I watched the film To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything! Julie Newmar when we were around 13.

It's not a great film but we watched it more than once. Think it was aired a few times on Sky movies which she had. Anyway one day she said something to me about it and it turned out she genuinely didn't realise John Leguizamos character was in drag.

Hes one of the main characters and the story centres around him. :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Btw, I’m not even slightly suggesting that one gender is more guilt of this than the other...

Why not?
    In general I'd expect women to be better at remembering names and faces, interactions and character relationships.... except if it's some series they're not interested in like some sci-fi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MMXX

I think it's to do with... wait. The... ...wait there. What were we talking about again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

As a kid, I used to mix up Sauron and Saruman in the Lord of the Rings books all the time.

As an adult, I hadn't a fecking clue what was going on in One Hundred Years of Solitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

So the cops knew that internal affairs was setting them up the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Oberkon

For a long time I though Cagney was Lacy and Lacy was Cagney
    Shocking I know .,

Oberkon wrote: »
    Shocking I know .,

Neither of them were lookers, so I didn't care what their names were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,714 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

GetWithIt wrote: »
    Nearly 50% of people have below average intelligence

That's a shocking statistic. But I've heard that 50% of junior doctors finished in the bottom half of their class in medical training.

Answer to the question, people have different levels of investment in different TV shows. My Mrs watches Gray's Anatomy and Nashville. I never really cared one way or the other but I often watched them if I was around with her as they're pleasant shows even if they're not really my thing.

I might have asked stupid questions too. Luckily my Mrs isn't easily irritated about trivial things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,090 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I'm thick, and dim, and can't follow a plot. Or maybe I am not all that invested in tv shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Went to see Jumanji 2 with my GF a month ago and it just so happens another couple (early 20s) where sitting beside us.
    The girl kept asking him "who's that again?" - "who's he now?" loads of times. Your man got annoyed and called her stupid (which is actually more stupid to call your girlfriend stupid!) then in one scene as you get a close up on Karen Gilligans mid-rif he says "niiiice" outloud. Yes, "niice" in front of his gf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I know a lad who watches nothing only Only Fools and Horses, and Friends. Has a head like a sieve. Asked him before, "would you not watch Breaking Bad, 24, The Sopranos, GOT", "Nah I couldn't watch them, too much concentration"
    He'd have to put down the phone for more than 10 seconds. I'd say his mother has to remind him what his name is and what day of the week it is every day.
    There's some people out there and I dont know how they're able to get out of the bed in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

This guy I knew years ago asked me was Band Of Brothers about the Vietnam War. This was just after we watched an episode of it on tv in which the Germans feature heavily. He wasn't the brightest spark, he was also convinced the USA is a continent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Lived with someone who couldn't follow the plot of anything, constant questions about what was going on. She's was studying to be an actuary and I believe she now has a high up job in London. Personally, I find it more difficult to remember names in a book over characters in a film that have a face and a voice to go on. Reading about the Warsaw rising was the hardest as I can't even pronounce the names as many of them are Polish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i dont mind someone not keeping up with a series or soap etc if they havnt seen it all or if it was a while between eposodes

what anoys me is when its in a film . your 20 minutes in and we have both seen the same amout of it. we both have the same info n the charicters . how do i know if they are related or used to work together or sleeping with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

So why did the D.A. put it before the Grand Jury? Was it because Internal Affairs want to nail Clancy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

I had a friend who asked me what was the difference between Islam and a Muslim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

i cant follow em nor write em.....but i have an aim to write a novel sometime in seven days because geffery archer said it takes 1000 hrs and there is no way around that ...and i will be damned if i let that lying bastard be right!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Ficheall wrote: »
    As a kid, I used to mix up Sauron and Saruman in the Lord of the Rings books all the time.

As an adult, I hadn't a fecking clue what was going on in One Hundred Years of Solitude.

I seen the second lord of the rings film before the first one. I didn't have my glasses with me so for the first half of it I thought they were the same person. That was a really confusing film for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I seen the second lord of the rings film before the first one. I didn't have my glasses with me so for the first half of it I thought they were the same person. That was a really confusing film for me.
    IT WAS NINE HRS LONG!

NINE ****ING HRS !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Went to see Jumanji 2 with my GF a month ago and it just so happens another couple (early 20s) where sitting beside us.
    The girl kept asking him "who's that again?" - "who's he now?" loads of times. Your man got annoyed and called her stupid (which is actually more stupid to call your girlfriend stupid!) then in one scene as you get a close up on Karen Gilligans mid-rif he says "niiiice" outloud. Yes, "niice" in front of his gf.
    Well, at least he was paying attention! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

"Why are they doing that?" when you have no more information than they do (no more house shares is heaven).
    Ficheall wrote: »
    Montgomery Burns thought my son Ronaldo was my son Rolando. Can you believe that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Went to see the new Star Wars film recently and experienced it as a confusing muddle of characters hyper-leaping and space-battling from planet to planet, with often inexplicable motivations and strange plot twists. At a certain point, I just decided to watch the spectacle and stop worrying about making more than superficial sense out of it.

In many cases, I don't think it's our fault if we can't follow the storylines. If the writing were better, we could follow them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Raconteuse wrote: »
    "Why are they doing that?" when you have no more information than they do (no more house shares is heaven).

Montgomery Burns thought my son Ronaldo was my son Rolando. Can you believe that?
    And here was me thinking it was Orlando!

A few of my family members are terrible for this sort of thing and seem to look upon me as some sort of all-knowing oracle (which is sort of true too! ;) ).

"How could you have know that? Did you see this before?".
    "No, yer man just said it a few minutes ago."

In their case, it's usually because their hearing is terrible. I really opened up their worlds when I suggested using subtitles. Now we just need to organise subtitles for real-life speech... :D

He wasn't the brightest spark, he was also convinced the USA is a continent.

Well North America and South America are continents in their own right.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continent

So you can see where he was coming from.
    But there are plenty of exceptions like Cuba is not in the USA but is in the North American continent etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

. But I've heard that 50% of junior doctors finished in the bottom half of their class in medical training.

what do you call the person who finishes last in the class in medical school?

Doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

Oberkon wrote: »
    Shocking I know .,

me too and I think it's because 'Lacy' was less fancy than 'Cagney' and things that are lacy are fancy. Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭GS11

kowloon wrote: »
    Lived with someone who couldn't follow the plot of anything, constant questions about what was going on. She's was studying to be an actuary and I believe she now has a high up job in London. Personally, I find it more difficult to remember names in a book over characters in a film that have a face and a voice to go on. Reading about the Warsaw rising was the hardest as I can't even pronounce the names as many of them are Polish.

What does a Polish man give to his wife on their wedding day that's long and hard.

His Name

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I'm usually pretty good with this stuff but I really struggled following the plot of season 2 of True Detective. I had to watch explainer videos on youtube once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,212 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Some people get into a habit of asking questions and then everything being explained to them.
    Another reason is some people can't shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

There's definitely a large subset of people out there, and social media has compounded this, who see themselves as the stars in their own show and can't focus on something which requires them to pay attention to something other than themselves. We all know people like this. Don't follow news, current affairs, tv series, their only topic of conversation is themselves and their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Well North America and South America are continents in their own right.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continent

So you can see where he was coming from.
    But there are plenty of exceptions like Cuba is not in the USA but is in the North American continent etc.

He was literally talking about the USA, I tried explaining to him that its part of North America and listed some of the other countries, Canada, Mexico etc but he was having none of it. He was convinced he was right. (This was circa 2001, pre smartphones and easy access to Google)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

My memory is terrible. If I have to wait six months between the end of one series and the start of the next I completely forgot what's happened. It's so bad that I've given up watching things until they're finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭UI_Paddy

I get it with long running series that have huge casts like Game of Thrones but then there are other shows like Breaking Bad with the two central characters and a few others that play a part in their story, which I think can be followed a bit easier.

Personally, unless someone is a hardcore fan I can forgive them even if they forgot characters or plotlines in either. I've been asked by a fellow Star Wars fan who is Tarkin, so glad that we got Rogue One to give him more screentime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    I know a lad who watches nothing only Only Fools and Horses, and Friends. Has a head like a sieve

Alright Dave?