Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wed 1st - return of Emitom

• 31-12-2019 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭

Looking forward to seeing one of my favourites in the Relkeel Hurdle @ 3.10 at Cheltenham.

Such a strong traveller in her races, and only horse to finish ahead of her is Champ.

I’m on ante post for the Stayers, and had a small nibble for tomorrow as well.

Just hope she’s at full fitness ðŸ™ðŸ»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Cracking animal, sh!te trainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭MaxBet

Jan 1

2.00 Chl -
    MISTER WHITAKER 10/1 PP / BetVictor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

Could be loosing my mind but really like Peter the Mayo man tomorrow 2.15 muss and kilbricken storm in 2.35 chelt 12 & 7s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭BoldReason

Looking forward to seeing one of my favourites in the Relkeel Hurdle @ 3.10 at Cheltenham.

Such a strong traveller in her races, and only horse to finish ahead of her is Champ.

Emitom is a gelding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Happy New Year lads. Heres to a profitable 2020 on the betting front. It can get out of hand around here from time to time but I think we're all like minded and close knit bunch at the end of the day. We are just hoping to make a few quid and enjoy the odd day at the races & share our passion that is horse racing on this mad forum. Plenty of fun, ups and downs over the next 12 months Im sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Imagine how good Emitom would be if he had a trainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

lemush wrote: »
    Imagine how good Emitom would be if he had a trainer.
    Emitom has beaten some very ordinary novices, remains to be seen if it can step up in class and I can't say I would be too confident at 5/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Presumably there’s a good reason Outlander is 100/1 in the Cheltenham 2.00!
    On the bare face of it looks like on a reasonable handicap mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Happy New Year lads. Heres to a profitable 2020 on the betting front. It can get out of hand around here from time to time but I think we're all like minded and close knit bunch at the end of the day. We are just hoping to make a few quid and enjoy the odd day at the races & share our passion that is horse racing on this mad forum. Plenty of fun, ups and downs over the next 12 months Im sure.
    Christ, what a hangover! I get awful emotional after 5 pints and 3 glasses of prosecco. Lalor each way to start off with a bang.

Saint Calvados only 2lbs higher than when winning a handicap at Cheltenham in October. Double figures available is to big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

15.10 Emitom "This is a slightly delayed return to the track for Emitom after a setback early this season. He seems to be bigger and stronger this year and I think he is very good. This is a big ask and we will know a lot more about our plans for the season after today.

Trainer

BoldReason wrote: »
    Saint Calvados only 2lbs higher than when winning a handicap at Cheltenham in October. Double figures available is to big.

14.00 Saint Calvados "Saint Calvados has been freshened up for this and lines up back in handicap company. He is only 3lb higher than when he won here in October. It will be a tough race with Kalashnikov in the mix, but it also means we will not be carrying top weight. We have been very happy with him at home and he should get his conditions here."

trainer

some other useless quotes

12:15

Welsh Saint

Nicky Henderson

We tinkered with his wind over the summer and it has really helped as he came back with a great effort at Exeter, when he would have needed it, and then won at Warwick last time in a race that really fell apart and he was pretty much left as last man standing. This is a big step up but he’s improving and will have no problem with the ground.

7/4

12:15....Grand Mogul

Nicky Henderson

He came to us from Gordon Elliott’s and was running a nice race at Newbury last time but seemed to lose his action turning into the straight so Nico looked after him and pulled him up, which was the right thing to do. He’s absolutely fine and I’ve been very happy with his work and schooling ever since. A stiff track like this could suit and I’m hopeful he can put his debut run behind him and we can move forward. 20/1

1:25.....Champ

Nicky Henderson

We looked at the Kauto Star (Feltham) on Boxing Day but this race just gave us another week after Newbury so the plan had been to come here for a while and it will also give him valuable experience over fences at the course. Whether we go down the RSA route or JLT will be a lot clearer after this but I’m extremely happy with him and see no reason why he shouldn’t put up a very bold show. 8/15

2:00.....Ok Corral

Nicky Henderson

He lost a front shoe in the Ladbrokes Trophy which wouldn’t have done him any favours although I’m not convinced it stopped him winning. We’re going back down to two and a half miles which he’s won over before and the likely good gallop here will suit. The handicapper has dropped him a couple of pounds and he’s extremely lightly raced for a ten year old. He’ll have no issue with the ground and I think he has a great chance. 10/1

2:00....Saint Calvados

Harry Whittington

Saint Calvados has been freshened up for this and lines up back in handicap company. He has been dropped a 1lb since his last run, making him only 3lb higher than when he won here in October. It will be a tough race with Klashnikov in the mix, but it also means we will not be carrying top weight. We have been very happy with him at home and he should get his conditions here. 8/1

2:35....Beware The Bear

Nicky Henderson

He ran his usual race in the Ladbrokes Trophy last time when staying in to finish fourth (again!) and we’ll probably end up at Aintree but this looks a good opportunity to get him out and hopefully he’ll go out there and enjoy himself. Jerry gets on very well with him and they know each other inside out. He’s in great form at home but don’t expect to see him doing anything too quickly early on. 9/1

2:35...Might Bite

Nicky Henderson

He hasn’t raced over hurdles for yonks but we all saw what happened at Aintree when he got rid of Nico then decided to carry on enjoying himself and showing off to the crowd! But he’s a few pounds lower over hurdles and the return to the smaller obstacles will help his confidence. Things haven’t gone his way for quite a while and we’ll be doing well to return to the days of winning King Georges and RSAs but the raw ability is still there and hopefully he can take advantage of running in a handicap hurdle for the first time since April 2016! 8/1

3:10....William Henry

Nicky Henderson

He won the Coral Cup over course and distance in March and then put up a very good effort over three miles at Aintree after that but this trip is probably his optimum and the ground should be ideal. He’ll probably come on for the run but is as fit as I can get him (without a run) and is a very solid person who has every chance here....5/1

3:10...Emitom

Warren Greatrex

A slightly delayed return to the track after a set back early doors this season. Seems to be bigger and stronger this year and I think he is very good. A big ask today and we will know a lot more about our plans for the season after today. 11/4

3:10....Janika

Nicky Henderson

He’s been chasing but Anthony (Bromley) suggested this race could be worth a shot and as he was right with Call Me Lord in the Unibet International and indeed this horse in the Haldon Gold Cup, who am I to argue! We could have run in the Handicap Chase but this race has cut up nicely and he certainly isn’t there just for the day out. 2/1

3:50....Audacity

Warren Greatrex

Has been very green on both starts so far this season but the penny is starting to drop! A stiff task today but if he can travel more strongly through his race I see no reason why he cannot be placed. 16/1

3:50....Be The Best

Oliver Signy

Be The Best will be my first Cheltenham runner. As a listed bumper it will be a hot race and will tell us a lot about the horse. 66/1

3:50....Grand Roi

Nicky Henderson

We had him entered over hurdles earlier in the season but thought we’d stick to bumpers while we can and I have to admit I thought he put up a very good performance at Sandown last month. This looks a very competitive bumper but Daphne Du Clos came very close to winning it a few years back so we need to rectify the situation. There are lots of unknown quantities here but I’m happy with our horse and he should put up a decent show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Emitom drifting.

I am having a tenner on Quel Destin. Massively overpriced at 14's, that price is wrong.

pricewise extra

Sir Psycho
    3.00 Exeter
    1pt win at 9-2

Sir Psycho
    3:00 Exeter

Sir Psycho was beaten at odds-on at Taunton last time but that surely wasn't his running and he can bounce back at a much more suitable track in the Racing TV Extra Novices' Hurdle at Exeter (3.00).

The hugely talented Bryan Carver takes over today and his 7lb claim can make the difference, as Bullionaire will have his work cut out to give Sir Psycho 19lb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

‪2:00‬

‪Lalor has got to a backable price now. The step up could well help and his first run was half decent. In addition Saint Calvados is a silly price for a classy horse .‬

‪1 ew 5 places Lalor 28/1 25/1‬

‪2 win Saint Calvados 11/1‬

‪2:15 muss. ‬

‪It’s only a matter of time with Peterthemayoman. This trip and ground looks ideal . His mark is attractive .‬

‪2 points win Betfair exchange 12.0‬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

1.10 Tramore, Fortune Street. Around 2/1 currently. Had a decent win bet on the horse, my best bet of the day.

Happy enough with Mr Whittaker but going to add a few bob on Ballyhill too at 13.0 , despite Twisters’ not running great right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Chump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Ohhh Barry Barry Barry Barry

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

Ohhh Barry Barry Barry Barry

Ive had a horrible week or so's punting since Stephens day and champ has rounded it off. I've done my ****ing conkers. Down about 1000 euro.

we have all been there Sam, take a break for a week or so. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Risk of a none stayer but Magic Saint in the next here at 10/1 ew 4 places will do me, his win over Bun Doran was boosted over Xmas when he won the Desert Orchard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Riquelme

I wonder what will they do with him now. I think the JLT is still a very big possibility especially given that Samcro is apparently a 'handicapper' now and Laurina bled. The RSA does looks deeper and with Champ's poor jumping and bit of a loose cannon mentality the JLT might suit him better.

Riquelme wrote: »
    I wonder what will they do with him now. I think the JLT is still a very big possibility especially given that Samcro is apparently a 'handicapper' now and Laurina bled. The RSA does looks deeper and with Champ's poor jumping and bit of a loose cannon mentality the JLT might suit him better.

Hopefully connections grow a pair and bring him over for the Leopardstown festival.

Was on magic saint there, travelled and jumped beautifully then folded like hot laundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

aidankkk wrote: »

‪Lalor has got to a backable price now. The step up could well help and his first run was half decent. In addition Saint Calvados is a silly price for a classy horse .‬

So close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Incredible race

Lucky 15 (x15)

W
    1st Jan CHELTENHAM 12:50 HANDICAP CHASE 3m 2f 70y - Win
    9. Doing Fine 4/1
    W
    1st Jan CHELTENHAM 14:00 HANDICAP CHASE 2m 4f 127y - Win
    10. Oldgrangewood 11/1
    1st Jan MUSSELBURGH 14:15 HANDICAP HURDLE 1m 7f 124y - Win
    3. Project Bluebook 8/1
    V
    1st Jan CHELTENHAM 14:35 HANDICAP HURDLE 2m 7f 213y - Win
    11. Anytime Will Do 10/1
    Rule 4: 10p Deduction
    More

Stake: €60.00
    Potential Returns: --

hope one wins

Just noticed next one an non runner

Jesus that's a sickener to start the new years punting.

aidankkk wrote: »

Feck I thought they were 1 -2 watching on phone ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

del roy wrote: »
    Lucky 15 (x15)

W
    1st Jan CHELTENHAM 12:50 HANDICAP CHASE 3m 2f 70y - Win
    9. Doing Fine 4/1
    W
    1st Jan CHELTENHAM 14:00 HANDICAP CHASE 2m 4f 127y - Win
    10. Oldgrangewood 11/1
    1st Jan MUSSELBURGH 14:15 HANDICAP HURDLE 1m 7f 124y - Win
    3. Project Bluebook 8/1
    V
    1st Jan CHELTENHAM 14:35 HANDICAP HURDLE 2m 7f 213y - Win
    11. Anytime Will Do 10/1
    Rule 4: 10p Deduction
    More

Stake: €60.00
    Potential Returns: --

hope one wins

Just noticed next one an non runner

Fanny **** will be having words with youn:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Surely 12/1 Might Bite off 7lbs lower than his chase mark is a decent bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

How has Skandiburg won that. Been watching racing for quite a few years and don't see that to often

Was being pushed along on the first circuit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Riquelme

Time to retire Might Bite, completely gone at the game. What a great horse on his day though the mad bastard.

Pound a stroke was punted a few weeks ago at Thurles the day racing was abandoned. Goes in next at Tramore

Shemale wrote: »
    Surely 12/1 Might Bite off 7lbs lower than his chase mark is a decent bet

When really good ones like might bite get regressive it is never pretty.

All Scorpions spit the dummy when they cop on.

pricewise extra

Sir Psycho
    3.00 Exeter
    1pt win at 9-2

Sir Psycho
    3:00 Exeter

Sir Psycho was beaten at odds-on at Taunton last time but that surely wasn't his running and he can bounce back at a much more suitable track in the Racing TV Extra Novices' Hurdle at Exeter (3.00).

The hugely talented Bryan Carver takes over today and his 7lb claim can make the difference, as Bullionaire will have his work cut out to give Sir Psycho 19lb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Poor old Might Bite, gone at the game.

Had a few other Nicholls horses backed today bar him . It's been a disaster.

Just held on :pac:

31Lenghts

Going to try the French raider Gavina in the last at hq, trainer has a shorter priced one in there but trying this ew 4 places 16/1

Thought Harry Frys horse would be a fair bit shorter in the last at Exeter myself. 6.6 on the machine. Will have some of that. But I do hate bumpers so small stakes.

On it too

MaxBet wrote: »
    On it too

Could do with a winner about now. Have had another bit on at 7.6 which has turned into a mediumish sized bet. Against my better judgement.

Winning trainer 0/131 in bumpers ffs

MaxBet wrote: »
    Winning trainer 0/131 in bumpers ffs

Yeah that was impossible to find young jockey riding ain’t bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

Couple of bets on the US of A for me this evening.

5.25 Philadelphia, Dreamers Moon. Very short at around 4/5 - 8/11ish and I don't think it will win. I've went over this and over this and it stands out as a very clear lay bet. Can't see it winning.

On a side note on today. I was slating Geraghty the last day and people on here thought I was mad. Didn't think he did much wrong today and people are slating him. Gas stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

On a side note on today. I was slating Geraghty the last day and people on here thought I was mad. Didn't think he did much wrong today and people are slating him. Gas stuff.

Following McCoy was always going to be a hiding to nothing. Saying that he’s not for me and hasn’t been for some time. I wonder will JP stay with him. Walsh already does most of the Irish rides and I think someone like Sean Bowen could do a decent job in the UK.